We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous but not much other than the hotel here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leeds, UK
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Gorgeous but not much other than the hotel here”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in Sept 2012 and has a wonderful time.
The hotel is located about 90 minutes south of Cancun, so it is a decent transfer time. It is a very large complex but the Aventura Spa is one half of the complex, and adult only. Didn't visit the other half so cannot comment on it.
The rooms are in a series of 3 storey blocks and a decent size, with a double Jacuzzi bath and a small triangular balcony with a distant sea view. The coast here is rocky, but the hotel has created a long lagoon (400m) and built several bars in this area as well as creating some sandy beaches and raised areas. The best sunbathing we found was on the raised areas as there was a lovely breeze and decent views.
The lagoon is open to the sea and contains the most wonderful variety of sea life. I snorkelled there most days and saw groupers, zebra fish, incredibly big conch shells, and best of all, on three different days, actual rays. The lagoon varies between 12" and 7' in depth and is so safe my wife finally tried to snorkel, after 30 years of not putting her face in a sea. The hotel lends out snorkel masks and tubes, (but you really need your own flippers)
Besides the life in the lagoon, there are many Iguanas which sun themselves on the rocks everyday and also eagles and frigate birds galore.
There are 4 restaurants of which the Oriental themed one was our favourite. The head waiter Peter (Pedro) and the Sommelier (Edgar) were excellent. This restaurant was part of the Palace chain and will be a Hard Rock themed hotel in 2013. The waiting staff and gardeners etc were fantastic, with a real positive attitude. In fairness. some of the male reception staff weren't on the same level, but overall here and at the Beach palace we found most staff to have an exceptional attitude.
The El Greco restaurant is nearest the pool area and serves Mediterranean themed food, the Mexican themed restaurant was Ok. Didn't think much to the Italian themed restaurant, quite gloomy and not particularly good.
Besides the restaurants, there is a pool bar which serves good burgers and salads etc.
Being bigger, this hotel has a better selection of shops than the Beach Palace, but we hardly bought anything. E.G.. You get $100 towards sunglasses, but they start at $230 so are not particularly good value.
We spent a lot of our resort credit on their excellent wine list as well as two wonderful spa treatments, well worth it. My masseuse, Betty did an incredible job.
Overall a wonderful hotel and well worth spending a week at.

Room Tip: Facing the pool is quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shinyhead69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Shinyhead69! Wow! Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the installations and services of the hotel and most of all: that your wife had her first experience with the ocean and snorkeling! We would like to thank you for your comments over the service of Pedro, Edgar, Betty and the staff in general; they are the soul of the resort and it is because of their extra efforts that we can extend authentic travel experiences. We hope to welcome you once more and create many other new adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,353
    1,146
    366
    250
    184
See reviews for
793
2,689
34
341
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Prior to every vacation I spend hours on tripadvisor reading comments about the resorts. This is the first time I have ever commented and feel the need to because of all the false accusations. First off, I have never seen a resort completely revamp themselves like they are doing, $80 million dollars is being put into this place! This will take some time, 95% of the Cove side is finished and probably on 50% of the Spa side is done. At this time you cannot even walk over to the spa side because of all the construct, which means the gym is still closed for anyone that likes to workout. My husband and I are Palace members and were not planning on vacationing in November, but the deal was too good to be true with the understanding that we would be there while they were under construction. Actually, we found the construction interesting and gained so much respect for all the Mexican workers.

Being a Palace member we know to book everything prior to arrival and with an email to Ofelia (Aventura's vacation planner) we had our spa appointments lined up. Upon arrival, our favorite bellmen Manuel remembered us from last year and it was great to see he was still there, he is a huge asset to this company. Fastest and easiest checkin ever!!

Don't believe everything you read.... everything was open on the Cove side as explained when booking our vacation. The new Heaven side will not be done for awhile, they say December 1st is the grand opening. They have hundreds of hard working people there doing everything they can to meet there grand opening deadline.

Because the spa side (Heaven side) is under construction you must go to the Cove side's main lobby and tell the bellman you have an appointment for the spa and they will take you by golf cart to the spa. We had the luxury to use our favorite spa and once again Emilio was excellent!

The food was excellent! Remember it is all what you make of it. If you are not happy with ANYTHING you eat, they will prepare ANYTHING you want however you want. Our favorite was the grill chefs at the buffet because they could prepare me fish, chicken, steak however i wanted it.

Special thanks to Antonio (Bellman), one day it rained all morning and wasn't going to stop anytime soon, and Antonio called his brother who worked in Cancun and he said it was sunny there so he got us a taxi and we went up to Hard Rock Cancun for the day! Speaking of taxis... ask for taxi 1308 CeCelio, only taxi driver in Mexico who keeps both hands on the wheel and doesn't text and drive.

What keeps us coming back to Mexico? The staff at this resort, period! They are the most genuine, caring, hard working people I have ever met . Please tip when you visit Mexico, it frustrates me to no end when people demand so much and then never tip. Just remember, back in the states we tip for everything we pay for at 20%.

This will be the resort to be at next year with concerts such as: Further - playing in January (sold out), String Cheese Incident tour in February and Dierks Bentley's tour called Boots in the Sand will wrap up a busy February. Love seeing all the concerts you are bring to the resort! Now, if you book Jack Johnson or G Love I will be there!

Congrats to everyone that makes this resort ROCK!! A business is only as good as it's help and all of you ROCK!!

Room Tip: Our room was 9218 9 is the building number, 2 is the floor, even numbers face the north and odd nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Laura T! First of all we would like to thank you for your review and most importantly, the faith in our service. We are glad to hear that you come back over and over because of our exceptional staff and that people like Ofelia, Manuel, Emilio and Antonio make you feel welcome just like family. We are thrilled to hear you like the new vibe and that you will be back to have a good time or to be moved by our various events! We hope to welcome you soon among family and friends! Stay up-to-date and learn all about our promotions, special events and more on our official website!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed at the Aventura Spa in July with my husband and 2 college-aged sons. The resort has wonderful staff, beautiful grounds and really good food. They are becoming a Hard Rock and were in transition when I was there. Since I've seen both Palace resorts and Hard Rock resorts (and like both brands) I didn't find it weird. In fact, had it already transitioned to a Hard Rock, there would have been more activities for my college boys to do at night!

If you like nature this is the resort for you. It is very lush with lots of animal critters including monkeys! The beach is a cove where you can kayak or swim but pools are better for swimming. This resort is fairly close to Akumal Bay where we always go to swim with the turtles and is a cheap cab fare away. It is also close to the Mayan ruins, eco parks and caves with cool cenotes and the gorgeous Paradise Beach in Tulum! We used this resort as a hub as we are an active family and enjoy excursions as well as our time on property.

The spa was fabulous! We all got massages with the resort credit program. We also had a romantic dinner on the beach which was lovely and fun. The resort credit will continue with the Hard Rock and I'd encourage anyone to utilize every last dime - it's a GREAT deal and they make it super easy for you to redeem the credits.

If you have any questions about the property feel free to contact me as I've seen both brands.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrissyMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear CrissyMaryland! Thank you for your great review. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time and that you enjoyed the resort and what it offers as well as its proximity to every activity you love doing. We are thrilled to know you took full advantage of your resort credits and could attend some spa services we are renowned for! Thank you for the great pictures, they are lovely! We hope to have the chance once more to receive you as a guest and have you enjoy at the fullest the completed new facilities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was at this resort several years ago and thought it was great, so we Made reservations in July to come here again this week - 11/11/13. I have never had a worse experience! We were told a few weeks ago that they were giving us a room at the Cove because renovation was still occurring at the Spa. We were told that all facilities were open and available to us. When we arrived this afternoon, we found that not only did they not have king rooms for us, but most of the amenities were not open. When we complained about the changes to what we were promised, they refused to refund our all inclusive fee or to place us in a different hotel. We even contacted resort management to no avail. We were not the only people complaing. We met several others at check in and later in the bar who had similar complaints. If the resort management had been truthful prior to our arrival, we could have made reservations elsewhere or delayed our trip. As it is, most other resorts are sold out because there is a PGA event nearby this week. Because of this experience, we will never again staying at a Palace or Hard Rock resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rodandlynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear rodandlynda! Thank you for taking the time to write about your dissatisfaction. We are sorry to hear that you are not enjoying yourself at the fullest and we would like to give you proper follow up through a private message.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here this past year (2013) and had an excellent time. The staff are very good at they do and entertained the guests poolside with many fun games and activities. We stayed on the spa side. Restaurants were good (not fantastic) but good. We enjoyed our stay here very much and found the entire property to be very well run by professional staff who are very eager to pleasse the guests. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Allison C! Thank you for your great review! We enjoy knowing that you had an excellent time and that you liked our services and facilities and most of all, the entertainment! We are glad to know that our staff standed out and helped make your stay with us even more enjoyable. We hope to welcome you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The deal for $1500 resort credit was absolutely worth it. My wife and I had four massges each and they were great. The food was good for an all inclusive. The entertainment was nothing great, but we had a great time overall

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rakesh_lahoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear rakesh_lahoti! Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you had a wonderful time and most of all, that you took advantage of our great promotion to maximize your time at the spa. we hope to welcome you once more! Stay put to our official website for new promotions and event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hialeah, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I am very late in writing this review but better late than never. I visited the Aventura Spa Palace in May of 2013 and had an incredible time. Everything was top notch. Check-in was a breeze and we were pleased to put our resort credit to use to upgrade our room.
This resort is beautiful from the grounds to the rooms. Everything is well maintained. The food was incredible at all the restaurants. I took advantage of the room service a few times and the food quality was just as great and they were fast getting it to me. The staff went above and beyond in all aspects. I have never been treated so well by staff anywhere. It is well maintained and the rest of the resort & staff make up for the beach. While we were there, they had begun renovations as the resort was bought out by Hard Rock. It will be interesting to see if it maintains the excellent service being under a different company.


Resort is pretty Awesome. We stayed there for around 5 days. Had lot of fun. The resort credits was an added bonus. Their spa I think was the best feature. Loved their massage. We totally loved the restaurants at the resort. Pretty awesome food.

Can't wait to go back in a few months !

Room Tip: You Should Be Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Gilbert305! Thank you for your amazing review! We can see that you had a blast and used to a maximum what was offered by our resort! We are glad to know that you are coming back and we would like to take this opportunity to address some concerns you expressed. The company was not bought by Hard Rock; the owner bought the franchise and decided to elevate its resort to a brand recognized internationally for its high quality of products and services. The service given by our staff will continue to escalate to higher standards, as the management is seeing through the guests’ satisfaction from check-in to check-out. We are glad that you enjoyed using your resort credits and we are proud to mention that we are keeping up with the promotion with some changes to remove the limits that were put to redeem those in the previous promotion. Overall, we wish to welcome you once more and give you an even more surprising and unforgettable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
17.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,865 reviews
6.3 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,842 reviews
16.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,142 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Property: Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing