We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total misrepresentation” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Total misrepresentation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

There is no longer an "Aventura Spa Palace" nor treated as such. They make it crystal clear that they are now Hard Rock Hotel. They are under major construction with nothing happening in there lobby and all stores are shut down. Great advise, stay away from this joint till after April. Then good luck with there prices.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,142
    1,111
    356
    247
    178
See reviews for
721
2,563
32
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hope your expectation is low! Resort has a long way to go to be an upscale experience....2-3 star accommodations with fair to bad food. Service is good but the resort looks like someone ran out of funds to finish it... Stayed in a sky loft suite which is a joke with plastic chairs and a hot tub from the 90's! Give this resort another year if you are expecting a nice experience

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ozzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Initial disappointment with small rooms, a broken air conditioner, poor wifi, small pools, no ocean access and a small gym with well worn equipment containing a variety of stains was overcome by a great spa experience with Gabriella A, a couple of decent restaurants (Mexican and French), a fun excursion with Xplore Adventure, great weather, and entertaining nights in the Sun Bar with some excellent rock cover bands that unfortunately didn't play long enough. It turned out to be a great week but it took some work get to that point. Much prefer Hard Rock Punta Cana where we had been twice before and will go back to next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
2 Thank LovinLifeInNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Because of a disastrous stay at Hard Rock in Punta Cana a couple of years ago, we were given a complimentary certificate for three days in a Presidential suite, all inclusive, which means everything was included, including tips. We chose to use the three day certificate, along with a seven day stay from December 1 to December 11, 2013. First, we were to be on the Heaven side of the resort (all was under construction). We weren't made aware of this, we were just put on the family side of the resort. There was construction all over the place. We were not informed of this prior to arrival so that we could make a decision about whether or not we wanted to go somewhere else instead. Restaurants weren't open. But, the worst part of the trip was on departure and after. Which was also true about our stay in Punta Cana two years ago. Hence the Complimentary Certificate.

We are ready to checkout and take the transportation to the airport. We are informed at the last minute that we owed $120.00 for the three day complimentary certificate. Never saw a guest ledger indicating that, never told that we would have to pay anything for our "complimentary" certificate. They had about four different reasons for the charge i.e., tips, taxes, balance of reservation. . . all bogus. We were told that if we did not pay this $120.00, they would not check us out and we therefore would not get our luggage, a ride to the airport, etc. We were held hostage until we paid this amount. So, under protest, we paid the $120.00. I have been in touch with Customer Care (I don't even think she is with the resort. She appears to be a go between). I explained that the Complimentary Certificate was all inclusive (including tips). The certificate said nothing about being responsible for any kind of charge. I also furnished the reservation confirmations which showed that nothing was due. The only guest ledger I received was paid without dispute. The was no guest ledger for the $120.00 charge. I have e-mails where it is admitted that the resort was in error. Not my fault. Now they come up with bogus ledgers that did not exist when we left the resort. I cannot believe that almost a month after leaving the resort, they are still debating with me about this charge. We have nothing in writing saying that we owed the $120.00. Knew nothing about until 15 minutes before we were to leave. There should have been no surprises. We requested and received copies of our guest ledgers the day before and received similar ledgers for the same price (which did not include the $120.00). We never expected to run into this problem as we are trying to walk out the door and be told we couldn't leave unless we paid this charge.

We are Palace Premier members. If this is how we are treated as members, I don't think we will be returning to the Hard Rock resorts. This is truly a shame. When the resort was Aventura Spa Palace, we loved going to this resort. I really wish someone from the resort would have made an attempt to contact us instead of the Customer Care who are supposed to be media specialists? This is not very good guest relations.

Vicki J.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Vicki6102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro M, Customer Care Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Vicki6102, We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to share your travel experience with us. We are very concern with our guest satisfaction and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during you stay. As you well stated, the charge mentioned was incorrectly applied, however after you brought this matter to our attention our team has identified and resolved an issue that caused an incorrect charge for the gratuities at your check out, for this issue please accept our sincere apologies. Rest assured that changes have been made to ensure this type of situations do not occur in the future.
We will be sending you the details to refund you money back to your account, via email through our customer care department.
Thanks again for your comments and we hope we can welcome you again in the near future here at of the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya.
ALL IS ONE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This Hard Rock Resort does not accept service animals unless you are blind, so I have been forced to cancel my trip and incur huge financial losses. The manager of the couldn't even call me back after leaving 3 messages, so that I could get the final word from him that they discriminate against disabled people. I was put on hold several times for hours and finally told by the only manager I could talk to who was only the front desk manager, that they do not allow service animals unless you are blind. I have travelled several times to Mexico and around the world with my service dog and have rarely ever come this problem especially with an American sourced company.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 23Grateful23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My boyfriend and I travelled here last Christmas and it was absolutely amazing!!! Totally exceeded expectations.. Our vacation this year prompted me to write a review because this place is fantastic! I highly recommend it to anyone and all future vacation have big expectations to fill after staying in this resort!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

My wife and I headed to the resort with great expectations as we have close family friends who recommended the place and whose judgement we truly trust. When we first got the we were very please as we were served a cocktail while checking in and we were helped right away. We were tak to our room and our luggage was carried for us which was very nice. The rooms were spacious and very nice. The problems all began the next morning when the construction began. The were renovating the rooms right above us which created crazy amounts of noise in our room. Construction continued from 8-5 everyday but Christmas day(thank god we had a day off) the noise and smell of the paint traveled into our room daily and made the room useless during the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
5 Thank Jesse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,151 reviews
16.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
23.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,620 reviews
22.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
17.6 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Property: Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing