We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific, AS USUAL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We're been to Aventura Spa Palace 4 times now. "Palace" is right. The staff treat you like kings & queens. Even so far as to be called "My Lord & My Lady" by the exhuberant bell-hop/porter, "Jay (Leno)". Exceptional service with a happy attitude all the way. The beds & bedding are terrific, food great. So many people favour the Italian restaurant, but they are all good. Note there is no beach, but a lagoon - safe for everyone and some fish to look at. The disco could use a reno including some windows (as of Feb '09).

All is good there. We'd go & recommend to everyne. We compare everywhere to Aventura and not really anything has been as good.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yolanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,057 - 3,063 of 6,629 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2010

This hotel is huge! We stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed it. We were in room 2409 on the concierge level and it was worth the extra money we spent. The staff was friendly, check in was easy, and the property is great. Now before you book this trip remember THERE IS NO BEACH! Read the property description! It's not like they say there is a beach and then there isn't one. The spa was amazing as well, definitely worth the money. ONly complaints we had were that the drinks were a little watered down, but just order everything with top shelf liquor. We heard everyone complain about the time share presentation, but maybe we didn't look like their clientele, because we were never asked to participate. Food was hit and miss. Definitely edible, but some places were really good and some were just ok. Mundaca Steakhouse, and the Greek place were both really good. Overall it was a good place to go. Would definitely go back, great value for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigmanu56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

This was my 2nd visit to Aventura Spa Palace. I went once back in 2004 and returning this year I was amazed all over again at how Absolutely Beautiful this resort is. We found the staff to be over-accomodating and the service overall was great! Over the entire 8 days we were there we had 1 late night meal at one of their 8 restaurants that had incredibly slow service... We knew it was because they had just gotten in 1000 new guests from Frito Lay and they were serving a private meal for 1000 out on the beach. Other than that, the staff here bent over backwards to make us happy.

Tipping is not required at this resort, but with that being said 1 measly US dollar goes a long way in Mexico, so we tipped a $1 and whether we were laid out in the farthest corner of the beach next to nothing or if we were laid out next to the pool those servers came to find us and came to find us quite often! By the end of the week they knew our names, knew our drink preferences and knew exactly how we liked things.

We did the sales presentation that everyone complained about on one particularly cold day where we couldn't go outside anyways. It was actually pretty nice and although we weren't interested they were great about it... Gave us the $80 cash we had given to someone else in the airport, plus 2000 pesos in spa credit, and a free tour. I read all of the complaints about how the pesos weren't even enough to cover an entire massage, and how they wanted it to be worth more, but it's still $158 in spa credit that you didn't have before. We happily shelled out another $100 or so and enjoyed a romantic aromatherapy couples massage together.

The spa is EXCELLENT. Even if you do not get spa services, I recommend you pay the $25 one day and relax in the wet spa area.

Food was very yummy, but is also MY BIGGEST COMPLAINT. I have a pork allergy and EVERYTHING is made with some type of pork fat in it. The sauces on the steaks, even the french fries are fried in grease where a slab of bacon has just been fried. My stomach was upset most of the time because pork seemed to sneak into almost every dish I ate. Other than that, the quality of the food was excellent. They really do a good job in the restaurants.

Rooms are small... which is another complaint of mine. However they are nicely appointed and laid out. The two person jacuzzi was one of our favorite amenities. The stylilng in the rooms is clean and contemporary. And yes, you have tiled floors... Felt like ceramic tiles to me but in a tropical climate like this I shudder to think how nasty the floors would be if they were carpeted. This seems like a no-brainer to me.

The NightClub was fun and the shows are well put together. We enjoyed many a nights dancing into the wee hours with hordes of other drunken resort patrons. We had an absolute blast in La Discoteca. Beware Karaoke night... It was lame and the club is on the side of the resort where kids are allowed and there were kids in there at 10:00 at night. I was so annoyed...

All-in-all if you visited this resort and you couldn't enjoy yourself you might need to check your pulse to see if you are still allive.

Great place to get away from it all!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jocee_Joce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

My boyfriend and I are 26 years old and traveled to Aventura Spa Palace for New Year’s Eve 09-10. The hotel was a quick 45 minute ride from the Cancun airport and less than a $20 cab ride from Playa Del Carmen. From the moment we arrived, the service was fantastic. First of all, we were a bit nervous that the resort was split: about 2/3 Spa-adult side and 1/3 Cove- family side, especially since we were traveling during one of the biggest family vacation times. However, we never crossed paths with any children our entire trip there, despite the presence of many kids on the Cove side. We stayed on the Spa side of the resort during the day, which was no problem because the larger pools and the better cove were on the Spa side. At night we often ate and attended the performances on the Cove side of the resort, but never really noticed the kids that were there!

The service was attentive from start to finish. The bellhop that welcomed us immediately grabbed our bags, but more importantly a drink of our choice! Our room was clean and fully stocked when we arrived and stayed this way throughout our trip. If we needed anything, it only took a quick phone call downstairs and the staff responded promptly.

The main pool was pretty full everyday, but the staff stayed attentive and made sure all of our needs were met. The entertainment staff kept the pool a fun and upbeat place. They were funny and always looking to make sure the guests were having a good time from pool games and trivia to dance lessons and cooking lessons. If this isn’t quite your scene, there were plenty of other quieter pool areas to choose from.

The food was good, nothing extraordinary, but very good. We were never unsatisfied with a meal and we tried all of the restaurants. Breakfast was definitely the best meal of the day, but we enjoyed all of our lunches and dinners too. We made good use of the room service getting snacks and appetizers each day!

We attended the New Year’s Eve party at the resort. We were apprehensive at first, wondering how much fun a party with strangers could really be. However, we had a blast! The resort had all of their entertainment perform, from their fire dancers at cocktail hour to the circus show inside during dinner. Like the rest of the stay we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly!

While there were free excursions available we did not use them. We booked a great trip to Chizen Itza with Yukatrecs- HIGHLY RECCOMENDED! People on the resort who used the resort excursions seemed to enjoy them!

I would recommend the Aventura Spa Palace, it was a good mix of upbeat fun and laid back relaxation!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonLindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

By boyfriend and I went to the Aventura Spa Resort the week of Dec 4 2009. We were amazed by the service and quality of food at this resort. Located about 15mins from Playa Del Carmen right on the water. They offered a shuttle bus to and from several destinations once per day. The only negative on this is sometimes the bus was full on way to town in the morning. Taxi’s were reasonable as well into town. This is an adult only resort and caters to couples. The restaurants offered a great selection of food as well as service and even 24hr room service with a large menu. I just couldn’t believe how nice the staff was in all areas of the resort. They had nightly shows that exceeded our expectations, multiple pools, areas to lounge in, rock climbing wall, biking, snorkelling on site etc. The rooms were very clean, including a large Jacuzzi tub, balcony with hammock and in-room beverage bar. They offered nightly turn down service as well.
They have several sister resorts that you can use with your wristband, next door at the family resort, in Playa Del Carmen at PlayaCar as well as in Cozumel if you are there on a daytrip. After a long day of scuba diving and walking, PlayaCar allowed us to use one of their rooms to shower and freshen up before we ate dinner 2 separate days at their resort.
I would highly recommend Aventura Spa Palace as it surpassed all of my expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BLHToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

This place was awful and completely misrepresented online. It was no where close to a 4 star resort. The rooms were ok- certainly not luxury or spacious and could use some updating. The worst part about the rooms- they are not sound proofed at all. There is a crack under the doors and everything is tile- which makes the sound bounce off the hallways and echo. It was miserable and we were unable to get any sleep. We even tried changing rooms- with no better luck.

The food is mediocre at best. The service is just awful. At the pool- forget about trying to get a drink delivered- you are better off going to the bar and waiting in the long line. The staff will say what they think you want to hear- and on several occasions out and out lied to us.

We had received spa gift certificates as part of our package- which we found to be completely useless. It's a classic case of bate and switch. As soon as you pick the services you like from their menu- they tell you these are not eligible- even though it is not written anywhere that there are exclusions. Next comes the heavy sales job to purchase services 3 or more times the value of your certificates. We did not end up even using the spa after this fiasco.

Additionally - we were bombarded by the constant pushy sales people trying to get us to buy trips and such. We chose an all inclusive so we would not have to deal with this- it was really annoying.

And finally - the week we stayed at the resort there was a group of 1000 people on a free reward trip determined to drink and party as much as possible. This group completely overtook the resort and made our 'relaxing' vacation anything but. I felt like I was on spring break in cancun!

I can not recommend this resort- it was not worth the money at all and there are far nicer, friendly and more upscale resorts you can stay at for less money!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacation798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Jan 4-10. Just spent the last week at the Adventura Spa and it was everything you read about, the most beautiful resort with all the amenities anyone could ask for. The restaurants were first class. The staff were wonderful and ready, willing and able to help you at all times. We choose to tip our waiters at the pool and restaurants. Be sure to ask for Maria or Ledyi if you want the best service at the restaurants. These 2 ladies became like family at the end of the week. Our only complaint for the week was that on Tuesday the Silpada Jewelery Convention arrived (450) with spouces. I have to tell you that I will never ever book another vacation without asking if "Silpada" convention will be going on. This group of people, not all of them, were rude, demanding and entitled from the moment they arrived. They treated the staff as if they were their servants. There was one night where a group could not get seated right away in the Mexican restaurant and you would have thought the world came to an end. They abused the staff from the moment they arrived. I was embarrased for them. This group took over the pool and beach area the rest of the week and they were lound and obnoxious. Book the Adventura Spa but be careful to never book during convention week! Silpada usually books convention during January, last year they booked the Atlantis! You have been warned!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klf53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,135 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,429 reviews
16.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
23.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,999 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
16,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Calle Carretera Federal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £252 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing