We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

A perfect 10 days. This was our second time at this resort and will not be our last. We had an ocean front room which was large well equipped and attended by the maid perfectly.
Grounds are maintained to a very high standard.
Liked all the restaurants but favourite was Asian for evening and the Sanwicherie for breakfast and lunch where the service was impeccable. We were seated at around 7.30 every evening at which ever restaurant we chose with out having to wait.
Sea was a little rough this year but we know from our previous time it can be very calm and beautiful.
Would take a private transfer next time as being the fourth stop and over 2 hours from airport to hotel was a bit much.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank br0wn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 23 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,243
    1,509
    504
    224
    148
See reviews for
213
5,983
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

My fiancé and I stayed at the EDSS from the 12th-26th April 2011 & would go back their again in an instant.

We arrived at the hotel by private taxi transfer after a long 11hr flight and were greeted with a by friendly staff, a welcome drink & a cold flannel before being checked in and taken to our room which was an ocean front & although there was no sea view was amazingly spacious with a super comfy bed!

The service in the hotel was second to none. My fiancé has been to the Maldives & he didn't think it held a torch to the EDSS. Everywhere you go the staff greet you with a Hola and a friendly smile.

The food in the restaurants was gorgeous. We loved Vida, Mia Casa, Klay Talay & La Carretta. Carlos in Klay Talay was the best waiter ever, & the manager in La Carretta makes the most amazing Mexican coffee!

We tended to go to the main bar in the evening where they have the entertainment, & must give a shout out to Luis & Janet who were so attentive to us. The cocktails are amazing and are made with premium brand liquor which we were suprised to see. A must see is the acrobat show. Its like cirque de sole on a smaller scale.

The only two minor things I could fault the hotel on is the beach is quite rough, so it isn't great for keen sea swimmers, but to be honest this really wasn't an issue for us at all. The other little niggle is the people who walk up the beach trying to sell you massages at the spa, although if you say no a couple of times they leave you alone.

All in all a fantastically friendly & romantic hotel.

P.s. Try the dinner on the beach it's definitely worth paying the extra for!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leamsun_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 23 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

This is a great resort. Go for the swim up room...it was so nice to just jump into the pool from the back door of your hotel room and swim right up to the bar. Mr. T is the bar tender at Guacamayas and he was great!

Food is pretty good. If you are someone who eats out a lot at chains then you will love the food. If you are a foodie or eat out at higher end places then the food will probably be lacking that "punch". Food was never bad though. Dinner: Klay Talay - asian food. Ask for the fried rice. It was excellent!. Lunch: Arrecifes. One of the few buffets at any meal. They seemed to have a great variety. Breakfast: Vida Garden Grill. It has really unique dishes. Just because it isn't mentioned doesn't mean you cant ask for it....example: If you want sausage or bacon...just ask!

Tours: Be careful. We booked 3 trips with Delta Vacations/Traffic Tours. 1 was cancelled and were never notified. We did get a refund but only after some work on our part.

The ATV tour ($75) was great! it was 4 hours and we went to a wildlife park where we could feed monkey's (through a fence), swam in a sink hole and zip lined!

Chitchen Itza (Mayan ruins) is neat place. However, it was 80 on the beach and 110 at ruins. It is NOT close to the resort. Its a bus ride (A/C, bathroom, etc) but it is about 2 hours. It makes for a VERY long day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the swim-up bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmt1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 28 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We went over the Easter Weekend and so only had 4 nights. This resort is probably in the top of our travels, as we have stayed at Sandals and this is equivalent if not better! Went for an adult only weekend away without kids, had 2 other couples with us and we had the best time! The 4 days felt like a week we were so relaxed coming home! All the positives that others post sum things up so I won't go into as much detail.
Service- They never say No. A hint for others is that you don't have to sit and eat, a couple of times we went and asked them to deliver burgers and pizza to the pool where we were laying around having drinks and so we didn't have to move to the restaurant. The dinners were wonderful, not rushed and it was so nice to have a dinner where you could relax over each course and have your wine- we loved being able to have a 2 hr dinner if we wanted.
Food- Everything was incredible 5 star all the way! We didn't have a single thing that we didn't like and as for portions it was perfect, we never left so full you felt like exploding and if you wanted you could easily order more than one option from each area on the menu.
Beach- it wasn't the best but it was wonderful, we snorkled right off the beach and the best part was when we went out a bit further we ended up swiming with a sea turtle- one of the highlights! The service on the beach was amazing never without a full drink and you have to try the big stirfry lunch that they do-incredible! Also order a mango margarita-yum!
Rooms- the most comfortable beds we have ever stayed on in a resort! amazing- I was a little bummed that we didn't get towel art everyday as the rest in our party got some neat stuff- but if that is my only complaint.....
Overall, we will definetly go back and plan on doing so once a year. The only draw back that I would change given we were only there for the 4 nights was the bus trip from the airport to the hotel was way to long well over 2hrs! So next time we will hire a private transfer.
Enjoy! it was worth every penny!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripleakids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 23 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

I just returned this past weekend from the El Dorado Seaside. My first time in Mexico and it was a wonderful experience. The resort, staff and accomodations exceeded my expectations. I am a swimmer and love the sea and so was a bit disappointed by the beach but we took a 5 min taxi to Akumal and found Giant Turtles and a beautiful beach. I came away from the resort wishing I could stay longer. The gourmet inclusive was a hit for me but I can understand how others may miss the "buffet" as the portions are smaller but it is elegant dining so you would get the same portions at any high end restaurant in Canada/ US. I never left feeling hungry and enjoyed trying new dishes. It certainly was the best 5 star resort I have been to thus far. I must add that the distance from the swim-up room to the beach was brief. I have stayed at resorts that you had a good 10-13 min walk or had to wait for a mini-train. I really like the smaller sized resort for the personal service, charm and tranquility.... Thank you El Dorado for making my first experience in Mexico so terrific.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank articdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 23 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We absolutely loved our room. We did not expect it at all. Took a while(~1.5hr) to get here from Cancun, because on the way we "unloaded" people to other hotels on our way. This hotel was the last stop. Food was fantastic. Service unbelieveable - 24 hrs. Beach was so-so, a bit too rough and also sandbags are a bit spooky. I snorkeled beyond sandbags, there are pieces of corals there and lots of fish was hiding in them. We loved our stay very much, and 4 days later we were offered to try Eldorado ROYAL for the last 3 nights. So we took off and if I had to choose, I loved Royale more - 7 gourmet restaurants defeat Seaside ones. Also because Royal is MUCH larger resort, their Gym and other amenities even better. However, seaside is smaller for those who does not like large resorts.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OttawaFunTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 28 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Thank goodness for all the helpful tips on this website - for this reason we chose this resort. We set up a driver through the Cancun's airport website - highly recommended as for about 70USD/person (roundtrip) you are taken straight to the resort which is about 1.5 hrs. Now that we're comfortable with the area, I'd probably rent a car next time to avoid all the overcharged taxi rides to different attractions. We were treated so well from the minute we arrived and the resort was so beautiful it took our breaths away. I upgraded before-hand to a "beach front" (not ocean front) which placed us a few second walk to the beach and nice shade from the palm trees. The swim up rooms would be great if you came with a group to party as it got pretty wild over there lol. I expected a small and poor swimming area from other reviews but found that not to be the case at all. True, we brought our Teva's due to the coral but you can walk out really far or snorkle and see the most amazing fish. I like how it's protected bc I've been to a resort in Puerto Rico where you couldn't even enjoy the beach due to waves and currents. We spent every day in the sea, the water was warm and there was so much area to cover and explore. The pools were nice and warm as well but the beach kept drawing us back. Sunrise is a beautiful time and yes we reserved a beach bed one day but found there to be open beds come available during the afternoon. The outdoor grill on the beach made amazing seafood and you can sit on a picnic table enjoying the beach front. Our favorite restaurants were Mia Casa, Arecifes, the Garden Grill and the Asian restaurant. Not a fan of the mexican restaurant, flat boiled beef is not a beef tenderloin. The best bet was always to order seafood and it was absolutely amazing in all the restaurants. Some mornings we got a late start and loved the room service! Their omelettes and fresh cut papaya were to die for :) We took a cab to the Tulum ruins and came back with the most amazing pictures (wear your bathing suit, there's a postcard ready beach). We also spent a day in Playa del Carmen and got all of our shopping done (make sure to barter with them) - the ferry stop is in the centre of town if you want to spend a day in Cozumel. The outdoor bars were so relaxing during the day if you needed a break from the sun - there's nothing better than leaning back on a swing and forgetting the world. Alberto at the smaller bar was so friendly and Dario at the Garden Grill really made us feel welcome. We never encountered anyone that was rude until we got back to Michigan lol. And finally, this experience not only gave us time to reconnect and destress, it also introduced us to people from all over the world. We heart Canada :) We never asked for help from the Concierge bc we never needed anything that wasn't already set up - great resort, memorable experience, great friendships made, and lots of romance :) Only regret, next time we will come more prepared with conversational Spanish to show the kind workers more respect :)

Room Tip: Upgrade 35$ USD/person/night = beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RN125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 23 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
21.6 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#56 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,686 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.9 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
2.2 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing