We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort ever!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Although we had a slightly shaky start to our recent holiday at EDSS ( our room was very musty smelling and had not been cleaned very well), the efficiency with which the management dealt with the issues and the subsequent 14 days were quite simply sensational.
This resort is adults only and is geared towards couples either honeymooners, or just those with a reason to celebrate an occasion like 25th,30th 40th wedding anniversaries, or, like ourselves, 2 couples who love International cuisine, top quality bar and restaurant service and a smile and courteous Ola from every member of staff.
When you come across such total professionalism and courtesy in a resort, it inevitably rubs off on its guests and everyone is friendly with each other.
We had read all the reviews on here before going and can add many more outstanding names to the list......Arecife's restaurant was brilliant for lunch ( inside) with Brenda meeting you at reception and treating you like Royalty....and remembers your name after only a couple of visits. The Vida restaurant was excellent especially for breakfast with David the most courteous of waiters. Our favourite restaurant was the Mia Casa ( only 6 visits there!) ....to dine in any restaurant comparable in this country would cost a fortune and special thanks to Raphael our waiter who made every visit ( but especially the last night) so very special.....not forgetting the bar staff in the Lounge Bar from early evening to late at night especially Abrahim ( who left the bar one night to go and find another bottle of brandy when the top quality stuff ran out)....and finally the amazing Jesus at the Gaviota swim up bar who spent 5/6 hours a day working in 90 degree heat but never complained and served every drink with a smile.
A big thank you to everyone at EDSS. We will be back but it was so good I could not go again too soon as it needs to be a special treat.......but it will happen!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank jimdiffley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,305 - 6,311 of 8,544 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

WOW.. this place is amazing. If you are after a relaxing time in a resort/paradise where staff do everything they can to make your stay perfect then you have found your resort.

It is so romantic and chilled out, it must be what paradise is like!

As a complete sun worshipper i was worried about the weather this time of year, however, it rarely rained and when it did it was a welcomed break and the storms were fantastic to watch, plus the sun came straight back out afterwards.

Can not recomed this hotel highly enough and one day would love to return!

Only worry now is how do i top this amazing resort next year?

Have an amazing time, and dont hesitate to book here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Rob_T7330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Every year we travel for New Years, this year we treated ourselves to this spectacular property. We had a fantastic time, the staff to guest ratio is unbelievable!! Service was great, room was great, resort is a little farther from the airport....BUT WORTH THE EXTRA drive!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stephaniefromcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

After going on3/4 holidays a year I have found this hotel to be the best allround, staff, food , service, room all outstanding. If I had the money I would go ever time I had a holiday. Fault less:)

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jamie0199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

What can i say we have had the best honeymoon and that is down to all the hard work and effort of the staff.
when we arrived in mexico the airport was really busy and after a 10 hour flight another 2 hours in the airport is not what you need :( however once we arrived at the resort everything was forgotten.
we had upgraded our room to a swim up suite and i would highly reccomend you do this if you can,it is nice just to relax outside your room somedays rather as going to the beach and you have your own bar which will supply endless ammounts of cocktails and margaritas!!!!

the resteraunts were all amazing with the italian being our favourite,we didnt really go to the international but heard it was really nice aswell. in total there are 5 restraunts and all were great.
the beach was lovely and weather superb, we worried about it being rainy season but only had 2 hours rain the whole time we were there.
obviously people have some small problems but we honestly never had any and made some great friends, we have allready recommended this resort to others and are ure they will not be dissapointed it is paradise!!!!! book now and dont miss out you will love it!!!!!

Room Tip: swim up suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank stuart r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We have just returned from this lovely hotel, which we stayed at to celebrate our Honeymoon for 10 days - I used tripadvisor to choose this resort and research the area, so thought I'd add our views too!

We travelled with Thompson and the flight and transfer were very good. The greeting at the hotel was nice, with a cool drink offered and a little welcome meeting.

The Room
Our room was fab! We had booked a Swim-up suite, which was a good size, with great air-con, HUGE comfy bed and a jacuzzi filled with bubbles and champagne on the side for our arrival. Nice! If you are a pool person, I would definitely recommend this upgrade. We thought it was well worth it - nice to have the pool at your doorstep without having to get your stuff together to go try find a bed at the other pools. (we didn't really use the other pools, but the spa pool looked nice and the activity one was a bit too loud and lively for us!) we stayed in block 41, which is on the end of the bigger swim-up blocks and I would recommend this block or the other end - block 38, as the two middle ones are opposite the pool bar and not as chilled. But depends what you want. If you want privacy, don't get a swim-up as they are quite 'sociable' due to the close proximity to eachother and people swimming by to get drinks of course! From what we saw though, all rooms on the resort seemed nice.

Beach
We thought the beach was lovely. I was well prepared for all that had been described on here - sandbags, rocky sea, coral sand etc. And so none of it bothered me. Yes, the sand is coarse underfoot and the sea isn't great for a big swim - but for paddling and relaxing it was great! The big beach beds were the best! (when you could get one - towel game was well in place I'm afraid!) And the hammocks were great too. There was always a nice breeze and hundreds of pretty butterflies floating by - paradise! Drinks service was great too. We also heard a lady say she'd been stung by something in the sea... We got nibbled at by a couple of friendly fish, but that's it really!

Weather
I know this is nothing to do with the hotel, but I realise many people worry about the weather at this time of year in Mexico - please don't! We had great weather. It would cloud over at times, but we never had a day of full cloud and it was still very warm. It rained a fee times, but never longer than ten minutes. It was very humid, wet heat - but bareable. Just be sure to pack a much higher factor than normal as you burn fast here!

Food
This was the only thing at this hotel we found a little disappointing. Don't get me wrong - it was still a very good standard, but we eat out a lot and I am a cooking enthusiast at home - so we know what we like! Breakfast was great, plenty of choice to suit all tastes with a menu and buffet on offer. Lunch was also very good, where you had the choice of the sandwicherie outdoor restaurant (serving burgers, sandwiches, salads & pizza), the indoor restaurant arrecliffes (buffet service with salads, Mexican tortillas, soups and varied pasta/stew dishes on dif days) and the beach BBQ (serving hotdogs, burgers, salad, rice dishes, fajitas etc) - so a good choice! The evening is where we had a couple of issues... We tried all the restaurants and thought the Italian was the best. The main problem I felt, was that there was more emphasis on the food looking beautiful (which nit always did) rather than what it tasted like. Alot of the food was over-seasoned and salty, sauces tasted a bit 'soup' like (out of a tin) and some things just didn't really match the menu description, so you sometimes got something you hadn't perhaps expected. We found after a while, it was better to be specific and ask questions/make requests when ordering - they would always try and accommodate you. I also think it's worth mentioning we both got upset stomachs whilst there - but this could be the rich food/change in diet/ice in drinks - who knows? But it make us have to watch everything we were eating/drinking for a few days, which wasn't ideal. Overall though, I'd say it was very good. I think most people will be blown away by the presentation and fancy choices - certainly better than the standard AI buffets I'm sure. But if you're a foodie, eat out a lot and enjoy cooking with lots of fresh ingredients - you may be disappointed...

Service
We found everyone who works here to be friendly and hard working. Everyone just wants to ensure you're having a fab time. The bar service was always quick and they could whip up anything you wanted. The restaurant service was also good, but as a few others have said - you have to wait a long time to get a table if you go after 7.30pm. Not a massive issue as you can sit in the bar and they will buzz you, but can be annoying at times. One night at the Italian we were told they could not get us in at all (arrived at 8.30pm) as the waiting list was too long - there were loads of empty tables but these apparently had been 'booked' - so maybe that is what we should've been doing...
People trying to sell you spa treatments and moonlit dinners were a real pain - this should be stopped in my opinion.

Activities
We didn't get too involved - but there was plenty to do if you wanted to. Beach/pool games and nightly entertainment etc. We did do the snorkle tour with the beach hut guys which was good, and also used the kayaks. You can also do ceramic painting - you buy a plain jug/vase/plate/bowl etc and then paint it and they get it glazed for you to take home - great gift idea! The guy who runs this is very sweet and i thought it was such a good idea for a relaxing activity.

Out and about
I would highly recommend using the local 'collectivo' bus service to get around. They are little White vans you can get on the highway and run between Tulum - Playa Del Carmen. They go past every ten minutes and run from early morning until about midnight. They are much cheaper than taxis and we felt a safe and handy way to get about. We used these to visit Tulum ruins (you only need a couple of hrs for this so don't do a day trip!) and also visited Playa Del Carmen a couple of times. Definitely go to Playa Del Carmen for a meal out one evening - it's well worth it for a change of scenery and there are lots of nice restaurants to chose from and shops to browse. If nothing else it's nice to be in the hustle and bustle of the local town instead of being immersed in the resort. (also, the food makes interesting comparrisson!) We also did a trip to Xel-ha which was fab (booked through the guys in the beach hut - much cheaper for same trips than Thompson). There we snorkelled with tropical fish and swam with dolphins (extra cost) which was amazing. There are so many trips that appealed in the area - just which we could've fitted them all in! You certainly won't be stuck for things to do when travelling here.

So overall I would definitely recommend this hotel. It really is a little slice of paradise and the food thing is really down to personal taste. I wouldn't say it's the ultimate in five-star, flashy luxury - if you want this, I'd look elsewhere... It's laid-back luxury, ultimate relaxation with excellent customer service and a genuinely friendly feel. Lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank k-tipsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The best holiday ever. And both of us are well travelled. Our honeymoon was perfect. The accomodation, friendliness of staff and a la carte food was just perfect. No complaints what so ever. This hotel was voted most romantic hotel in the world one or two years ago and I can understand why. We are booking for next year so that says it all really. If you have booked to go to this hotel you will be in for a real treat. Peaceful but not stuffy. Relaxed yet friendly. Roomservice is included and a free mini bar which we emptied everyday hahahaha. Most all inclusives charge a roomservice fee and you pay for the minibar but not at this hotel. We tipped the waiters 20 mexican pesos with meals which is a couple of pounds but this is at your discretion. We were told at the welcome morning that their tips are included in the price of our holiday so it is not expected and is up to the guests. This was a breath of fresh air as normally you dont hear this. We were happy to tip though as the service is first class. Have a wonderful time in this idyllic place. It really is paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 123Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
22.0 mi away
Maria Del Mar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#56 of 392 in Riviera Maya
1,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
#1 of 455 in Riviera Maya
716 reviews
4.6 mi away
Joy Tulum
Joy Tulum
#58 of 98 in Tulum
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £251 - £778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing