We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the El Dorado Seaside Suites. We had an amazing time, food was great, brands of alcohol very good and staff very polite, eager to help. A special thanks to Josua, Hibram and Isaac from the main bar, they were absolutely fantastic and never let your glass go empty. A little disappointed with the beach but stayed around the quiet pool each day lounging on the palapas. Only negatives were continued pestering for spa treatments and lobster dinners which were extra.
Overall an amazing hotel and we would definately return.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms seemed to be slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DebSteve103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6,416 - 6,422 of 8,741 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

ARRIVAL.
After an 2 hour bus journey from cancun airport to the hotel in which with only one other drop off at a another resort it was great to be meeted with a freezing cold glass of champagne! As there were a lot of couples arriving at the same time we were seated together and checked in as a group which was fast and smooth after a long flight and bus journey which u can buy cold corana on the bus for a few dollars :) . Would recommend getting a taxi straight from airport as it only takes 45 mins and is worth the 70 dollars which we did on returning to the airport to beat the long ques! After checking in we were transported to our great room in a golf buggy with the bell boys following us! We stayed in room 4126 which was a clean and spacious room with mini bar tv and balcony etc! Mini bar was stocked with coke diet coke sprite and sol! U can have more of one or the other if you speak to ur personal concierge which is a great added bonus! Huge jacuzzi in room and huge tiled double shower! Room service was great when u wanted to relax or to have a quick snack! Tv had loads of english speaking channels and always had 5 or 6 movies on which changed weekly! There is also a dvd library in reception with books etc which is a nice treat if u fancy a night in with room service and a cold beer from the mini bar! :) there were two main pools a quiet lap pool and a more noisy pool both were great although we had to get up at 530 am EVERY morning to gaurantee a pool side bed as they were takin really really early! This was a major downside to our holiday as there are limited beds beside the pools! The beach is nice but split in two as one end is too rocky to swim in! The other end is really nice and great for snorkelling and kayacking even though still a bit rocky! The food was incredible and thats coming from a chef!!! Breakfast not up too much but really enjoyable for omelettes etc! U can even have champagne or bloody marys with ur breakfast!! Lunch we loved the beach barbucue and the sandwichirie with pizzas and loads of diffrent burgers and lovely sandwiches! Can be really busy but great to just stand and have a drink and some pretzels looking out to sea or watching the up to date football on the big flat screen tv,s in the main bar while u wait for ur table! Dinner is when all the resturants are open and our personal favourite was mia casa the italian but beware it gets really busy so go early! Try the salmon tartare and the chicken rissotto and the beef tenderloin! Exceptional!! Also the house red wine is excellent! There is also klay talay mexican vida garden grill and arricfes for dinner which were all a high standard! After dinner shows i cudnt give much info as we were back in the room most nights after too many cocktails! The drinks are all great with oscar and anna round the pool keeping you wet all day and night! There are more than 30 cocktails to try!!!! The beer is flat and dissapointing and only one kind available! All the staff are extremly hard working and always smiling and saying hola! The chefs on the beach bbq are machines constantly cooking in that heat!!!! Huge respect to all the staff which we did tip but was really deserved!! We only done one trip which was the couples catamaran trip which was excellent! A couple of things the hotel could improve on but overall we had a great holiday as did everyone else we met! Enjoy and book up!!!!!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gingeraskit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We spent the first 2 weeks of September 2011 at EDSS. It was our 2nd time visiting this resort. I haven't stayed at any 5 star resorts so i won't try to compare EDSS to other resorts. The five circle rating here says "Excellent" and i am confident that this resort is excellent. We had a perfectly relaxing vacation both times we stayed here. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are very nice and the food is very good. The beach is small but big enough for the resort, a perfect place to relax. The thing that really stood out for us on both trips was the tremendous staff at EDSS. Everyone we dealt with did their best to accommodate our needs and was very friendly. They seem to work very hard to provide the best service possible. From check in to check out we had nothing but a great experience. I feel the need to mention the names of the staff that we dealt with daily. William at Vida is tremendously knowledgeable about wine and many other things at EDSS, thank you William. Lucy and Estela brought us drinks all day on the beach, always with a smile and something pleasant to say. I am curious as to how far they walk on a given day at work. Lucy, mi amor, thank you so much, your smile brightened my day. Guadalupe kept our room spotless and beautiful everyday. The restaurants are filled with servers that rival or are better than servers at the finest restaurants in the U.S. I have many to thank. Rene at Arrecifes was great on both of our stays and stands out among the many great employees. Noe Dzul and Margarita both provided impeccable service at Arrecifes as well. Erik, a romantic concierge was very friendly and i enjoyed several conversations with him. Wilber provided room service as well as humor. We saw Ignacio at Arrecifes, Mia Casa and also at our dinner under the full moon on the pier, we enjoyed his sense of humor and clearly he keeps things running like a well oiled machine. Perla was our personal concierge and she went out of her way to make our stay memorable, also Santiago and Rebbecca in that office were very helpful. Santiago i regret not taking you up on your generous offer but i was very busy reading my books on the beach. Even the gentleman who checked us in was tremendously helpful and though i have forgotten his name i have not forgotten the things he did to make our stay enjoyable. Normally i am not inclined to write reviews but the staff at EDSS deserves any recognition they get. Thank you to everyone at EDSS. When we return to Quntana Roo we will certainly be staying with you. Ray Vann Nuevo Mexico, Estados Unidos.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are less expensive, the gardens are beautiful and these rooms aren't more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Have just returned after 2 weeks staying at the edss and cant praise it up enough. On arriving at the hotel i was stunned to see it was equally as beautiful as all the pictures i had seen on the internet, our room was modern, spacious and immaculate.
The staff from all areas of the hotel are so helpful, even with the obvious long days they work they were always happy and approachable.
We were most impressed with the restauants having so many to choose from meant everyday was to suit our taste, the service and food we received throughout our whole stay was faultless.
Little touches from the towels made up in our rooms to havin drinks served to your sun beds made this holiday just perfect.
The activities my partner joined throughout the day meant we ended up meeting lots of lovely people who we had lots of fun with and actually made the last week of our holiday extra special
I was slightly anxious after previous hotel experience and wasnt expecting 5 star but that is exactly what it is.
We will definatley be visiting this hotel in the future, since returning and showing round my holiday snaps one of my family members is now booking up for next year
Thankyou all at edss xx

Room Tip: we stayed in block 21, the rooms were faultless and we couldnt hear noise from any other areas of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kmv532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Have just returned from 2 week vacation at EDSSS and cannot thank the staff enough for their efforts to make the experience memorable. The hotel is adults only, most are from the UK and secondly USA and Canada. The food was very good, our favourite resturaunt for breakfast was the Arrecifes run by the most competent and pleasant Brenda, with delicious omelettes prepared by ever smiling Martha, supported by Orlando. Our favourite evening meal was served by the expert waiter Gasper, and the fantastic effort to make the experience special did not go unnoticed. All the staff are so welcoming and the entertainment is fun and varied but very relaxed, join in if you want to no problem if you don't and we think Aaron is brilliant. All beach staff from the gardeners to the waitresses like Aricely make you welcome and add to the overall experience. We stayed in room 2114 a junior suite and were very satisfied with the facilities, cleanliness and standard of beds.
We have one observation that we feel needs improvement and that is that the main pool is in need of refurbishment as some of the tiles are cracking/missing but I am sure the management are aware of this and it may be that they need to do this work when the hotel is less busy. However, to balance this statement there are workmen in the pool daily undertaking remedial repair work.
The hotel grounds are stunning and would recommend that visitors take the time to walk along the main entrance road to the hotel to appreciate the excellent gardens and natural inhabitants, the iguanas make a fascinating sight wandering freely.
The size of the hotel lends itself well to meeting people, and we certainly met some lovely people during our stay. Equally the layout of the beach beds, hammocks and discrete lounging beds around the grounds allow for couples to spend special time alone.
We will definitely return and cannot thank all of the staff that made this holiday so memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anneandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Just returned from 11 nights at EDSS,this being our first trip to Mexico.After a long flight and trf a cold champagne was most welcome. The lobby is small and no bar area which is needed for the humid nights one main bar and a smaller one both outside.

We were in room 3612 but asked to be moved the air con smelt dreadful and made us have a headache,they moved us after two lots of workmen had a look at the system and it made no difference.

The beach was a bit of a let down the sand was very course,this is a man made beach. Getting into the sea a bit tricky a lot of stones hurt your feet a bit.

The staff were lovely very friendly and liked it if you tried a little Spanish chat with them,they all spoke good English though. They work really hard all day .

The food was good the Italian,Mexican and Asian were our favourites,we had breakfast in Arrecifes and lunch in the sandwicherie but got very busy and sometimes were told there were 19 couples in front of us so we used the beach bbq,this is where a buffet or snack bar would have been handy.

We went into Play Del Carmen with Ali and Gaz thanks for a great night,we also went to Tulum and Akumal beach on the bus this was cheap and easy to use.

This was a great holiday and the people we met made it for us thanks.

Room Tip: Not rooms opposite swim up bar if you like afternoon siesta
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kazbaz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at the EDSS. This was our third trip to Mexico, having stayed in Playacar / Playa del Carmen previously we decided to try the area of Puerto Aventuras this year.

First Impressions were very good, whilst the hotel entrance is simple and understated compared to the larger resorts, we were greeted with champagne and hot towels upon check in and promptly taken to our room on a golf buggy.

The property is beautiful with lovely gardens, wildlife and bali beds / hammocks dotted everywhere underneath the palms

Our room was a standard junior suite which was very spacious, and kept immaculate by our maid. Mini bar was replenished daily with beer soft drinks & water. Unfortunately our room in block 39 was directly opposite the main swim up bar and above the swim up rooms. Noise was a problem some nights with guests below partying until 3am one night. We are not party poopers by no means but a little bit of consideration for other guests please?? We did ask to move rooms and the hotel apologised and promptly moved us to a garden view room which was much more quiet and very spacious with a separate lounge area.

Food and Service in the restaurants was good, our favourites being the Asian & Mexican for dinner. For breakfast we ate at Arrecifes which was buffet and met Martha a lovely lady who cooked our omlettes to perfection. Lunch was good at the Sandwicherie (very popular be prepared to wait at peak times between 1-2 pm) and the Vida Garden grill.
We had room service twice - breakfast was very good, evening not so good - food although arrived within 30 minutes was lukewarm. A snack bar would be much better than using room service for those evenings when you do not want a full meal.

Beach, whilst not the best we have been to in Mexico, was still lovely. For those of you that are beach lovers you may be disappointed - man made with fine crushed coral over a concrete / rocky base, ants were a problem around the beach loungers at times. The water was shallow, lovely clear & warm with plenty of fish swimming around you. We saw the famous barracuda a few times. If you wanted one of the shaded loungers / bali beds on the swimmable beach you had to get up early to reserve one. The beach drinks service was fantastic with Lucy constantly providing cool refreshments on those hot days.

Evening Entertainment - shows for 40 mins which were not very good, followed by live music (very good) and a DJ. All bars are outdoors which made for uncomfortable evenings when it was hot & humid. This is where we feel the hotel fell short - an air conditioned lobby bar where you can relax and not have to shout over the loud music would be a much appreciated addition to the hotel.

Given the hotels remote location we did venture out using the local collectivos - a safe & cheap way to explore. We had done all the main sites - Chichen Itza , Xel Ha, Tulum on previous visits, therefore we only did small trips this time. We visited the beautiful Akumal beach 10 mins south of the resort and swam with the turtles, Puerto Aventuras for a bit of shopping, lunch whilst watching the dolphins & sea lions and walking round the Marina, and lastly Playa Del Carmen for an evening out (£12 by taxi)

Overall we had a lovely holiday and met some great people. For the price paid it was good value for money, 5 star luxury it isnt but then we didnt pay Ritz or Mandarin Oriental Prices. We will definately return.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are fine but if you are a light sleeper like me request a garden room - more spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aligaz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
22.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#56 of 399 in Riviera Maya
1,419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
#1 of 477 in Riviera Maya
731 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £273 - £705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing