We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rats outside your room and poor service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rats outside your room and poor service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

The hotel was set in a wonderful setting with plenty of palm trees and a lovely beach. When we booked we paid over £200 extra for a sea view, what we got however was a palm tree. There is no sea view at this hotel! On opening my door to go for food one night i was greeted by a rat outside my room (on the first floor), probably no wonder as they ask you to leave you plates outside after room service and the left over food can be sat there for hours. If you haven't been to Mexico before you will probably think the service is good, however this hotel had the worst service out of the 4 hotels ive stayed in mexico. Having to wait 40 minutes for someone to bring our luggage after a 14 hour journey seemed like a joke considering the lobby was a 5 minute walk away. When we had a power failure in our room it took the hotel over 2 hours to send an engineer to sort the problem out. There can be 3 staff on a bar who will all ignore you and make you wait ten minutes to be served even when there is nobody else there. Also witnessed one of the beds on the beach collapse onto a couple whilst they were sunbathing requiring both of them to go to hospital.

Room Tip: Do not upgrade to sea view as there quite simply is not one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nsparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 29 December 2016
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,358
    1,526
    509
    226
    148
See reviews for
218
6,107
47
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timberlea, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I travelled to the El Dorado Seaside Suites in the latter part of March 2011. We had an incredible vacation. The resort was beautiful and clean. The staff were very friendly and looked after our every need. The food was very good. We enjoyed every meal. We never left the resort and we treated ourselves to a morning couples massage on the beach. The best massage ever!!!! We are planning on returning to this resort in March of 2012. We have recommended the Seaside Suites to other couples and we are bringing another couple with us in 2012. This resort is perfect for the couple who wants to get away for a romantic vacation. It is a smaller resort that really caters to couples. We spent most of our time at the spa end of the resort. The bartender "Eduardo" and bar waitress "Lucy" were awesome!!!! We had a junior jacuzzi suite that overlooked the swim up bar. These suites were great and I think better than some of the beachfront suites. Do not let the very few negative reviews sway you. We looked at all of the reviews before travelling to this resort and I am so happy that we did not listen to the negative reviews. Go to the El Dorado Seaside Suites and have an "Awesome Vacation"!!!

Room Tip: Jr. Jacuzzi Suites are great.....2nd floor was great. We loved the suites that overlooked the lazy r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kmac1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed here in September for our honeymoon wow that’s all I can say the staff were of a very high standard always very polite and always said olla i mean every member of staff obviously people have stayed here and had problems but we had none it was just perfect all the restaurants were amazing don’t be put off by the dress code as long as you top has a collar and flip flops you will be fine we stayed mostly at the swim up bar during the day Jesus what a top guy you don’t have to ask for a refill it’s there the main bar also great all the staff fantastic if you get a chance go on the bar crawl to playa del Carmen it’s well worth it just for coco bongo at the end don’t use the shops in resort very pricey we stayed in room 4115 which was close to everything and of a very high standard we had the romantic meal which was just amazing and to top it all off the Jacuzzi run and candles around it with flowers all over the bed it was wonderful plenty of sun loungers on the beach we never had to look for long if you want a sun lounger at the quite bar get up early we went there at 7 am all full but wisent much if an issue the beach is 2 sec away and there was always one there try all the cocktails there great if you want there branded vodkas gin rum you must ask most shops and bars take pesos and dollars playa del Carmen is great 5th avenue is brill just be ready to be bombarded by people trying to get you in their shops what more can I say just go there you won’t be disappointed we have some vouchers that we were given so if you are going there over the next month send me a message I will be happy to post them to you ant question feel free to message me I will be happy to help

Room Tip: 4115 was our room very close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim8377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Me and my partner spent a week here and absolutely loved it!
The food is excellent, for an all inclusive, this really steps up the game, so much choice, all presented beautifully and so tasty. My favorite was the Italian, the say you dont need to make reservations, but we always did in the morning with our concierge as this avoided any waiting or disappointment, which i have read on a few other reviews, but if you dont mind a 30 minute wait its fine.
Paulo at the beach was great, we did snorkling, scooba diving and kayaks and all the entertainment team were excellent. My partner played vollyball everyday and the shows were usually pretty good.
Rooms were nice, but needed a little paint / update compared to other Karisma Hotels, but thats being very picky. We had to stay on the beach all the time, which we didnt mind, but if you want a bed round the pool (which there arent many to choose from) you need to be up very early, we were up at 7am one morning and all the beds were gone, but plenty on the beach and we didnt normally get to the beach until gone 10:30, so no need to rush!
Definitely will go back, great holiday!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s99mmyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Pros
Warm welcome & great service provided throughout. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Hotel is well maintained and very clean. Ocean front rooms are spacious and quiet. Decent choice of restaurants and alcholic drinks. Free 24 hour room service available. Excellent range of excursions.

Cons
The quiet part of the resort has no sandy beach. Need to rise early to get a decent sunbed. No air-conditioned bar. Resort is fairly compact, sunbeds on lively part are very close together. Staff continually try to sell you extras (spa treatments, romantic dinner, wine by bottle etc). Hotel is fairly isolated so no shops, bars within strolling distance.

Room Tip: Most of the Ocean Front rooms do not an ocean view, as blocked out by palm trees (does provides welc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Factor_1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 28 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the El Dorado Seaside Suites. We had an amazing time, food was great, brands of alcohol very good and staff very polite, eager to help. A special thanks to Josua, Hibram and Isaac from the main bar, they were absolutely fantastic and never let your glass go empty. A little disappointed with the beach but stayed around the quiet pool each day lounging on the palapas. Only negatives were continued pestering for spa treatments and lobster dinners which were extra.
Overall an amazing hotel and we would definately return.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms seemed to be slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebSteve103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
largs
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

ARRIVAL.
After an 2 hour bus journey from cancun airport to the hotel in which with only one other drop off at a another resort it was great to be meeted with a freezing cold glass of champagne! As there were a lot of couples arriving at the same time we were seated together and checked in as a group which was fast and smooth after a long flight and bus journey which u can buy cold corana on the bus for a few dollars :) . Would recommend getting a taxi straight from airport as it only takes 45 mins and is worth the 70 dollars which we did on returning to the airport to beat the long ques! After checking in we were transported to our great room in a golf buggy with the bell boys following us! We stayed in room 4126 which was a clean and spacious room with mini bar tv and balcony etc! Mini bar was stocked with coke diet coke sprite and sol! U can have more of one or the other if you speak to ur personal concierge which is a great added bonus! Huge jacuzzi in room and huge tiled double shower! Room service was great when u wanted to relax or to have a quick snack! Tv had loads of english speaking channels and always had 5 or 6 movies on which changed weekly! There is also a dvd library in reception with books etc which is a nice treat if u fancy a night in with room service and a cold beer from the mini bar! :) there were two main pools a quiet lap pool and a more noisy pool both were great although we had to get up at 530 am EVERY morning to gaurantee a pool side bed as they were takin really really early! This was a major downside to our holiday as there are limited beds beside the pools! The beach is nice but split in two as one end is too rocky to swim in! The other end is really nice and great for snorkelling and kayacking even though still a bit rocky! The food was incredible and thats coming from a chef!!! Breakfast not up too much but really enjoyable for omelettes etc! U can even have champagne or bloody marys with ur breakfast!! Lunch we loved the beach barbucue and the sandwichirie with pizzas and loads of diffrent burgers and lovely sandwiches! Can be really busy but great to just stand and have a drink and some pretzels looking out to sea or watching the up to date football on the big flat screen tv,s in the main bar while u wait for ur table! Dinner is when all the resturants are open and our personal favourite was mia casa the italian but beware it gets really busy so go early! Try the salmon tartare and the chicken rissotto and the beef tenderloin! Exceptional!! Also the house red wine is excellent! There is also klay talay mexican vida garden grill and arricfes for dinner which were all a high standard! After dinner shows i cudnt give much info as we were back in the room most nights after too many cocktails! The drinks are all great with oscar and anna round the pool keeping you wet all day and night! There are more than 30 cocktails to try!!!! The beer is flat and dissapointing and only one kind available! All the staff are extremly hard working and always smiling and saying hola! The chefs on the beach bbq are machines constantly cooking in that heat!!!! Huge respect to all the staff which we did tip but was really deserved!! We only done one trip which was the couples catamaran trip which was excellent! A couple of things the hotel could improve on but overall we had a great holiday as did everyone else we met! Enjoy and book up!!!!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gingeraskit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 28 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,842 reviews
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#94 of 388 in Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
2.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing