We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Week!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Week!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon this past week. The entertainment staff (specifically Alain, Cesar and Aldo) are partially responsible for our excellent stay. They work at the main activity pool and we looked forward to seeing them everyday because they are so fun! We extremely enjoyed all of the resort activities and shows. There were times we wanted peace and quiet while enjoying the ocean and other times we wanted to be social and meet new people and we found all of this possible. There are plenty of cabanas on the beach and we always were able to find one every when we waited until 2 in the afternoon.
The food at all the restaurants was delicious- the Mexican and international were are favorites however the quesadillas from room service were our most favorite! The service was beyond great and they even supply hand sanitizer before all your meals! Even the breakfast buffets were great and they have made to order omelets.
We did the snorkel tour at the resort since we had never been and it was great. We then did the Snorkel Extreme excursion which was also amazing!!! Zip lining, snorkeling, lunch, cenotes and repelling was all included!
This is the perfect resort for couples of any age! We are 25 and 26 and made many new friends our age however there are couples of all ages there! Not palace for singles though. The rooms were amazing- we stayed in the new building on the 4th floor and while it was a few minutes walk to some of the restaurants we had a beautiful view of the jungle and ocean! Our only complaint is that the ATM was broken the whole stay but it was not hugely important to us. They provided sunscreen, lotions and books throughout the resort too! AMAZING!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,450
    1,547
    512
    227
    151
See reviews for
221
6,214
47
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I want to start off by saying that the only reason I didn't give it an "excellent" rating is because there were a few hiccups. That being said, every single one of them was handled with exceptional expertise and care, mainly by the general manager Gerardo and his assistant, Miriam.

We had booked our honeymoon getaway for 12 days at seasides.
Once we got there, we mentioned that we are honeymooners and even had photocopies of our marriage certificate ready (it wasn't necessary, however). We were told that while they didn't have a honeymoon suite available, their sister resort (Maroma) had one. We said we'd love to be transferred. They even gave us $200 to transfer. We were to stay the first 3 nights at SSS and then transfer.
We are assigned a concierge in case we need anything. Carrying a key to the safe did feel bulky and.... not very safe. ah well.

Here's a very rough description of things I think are helpful for future guests, especially honeymooners :)
Day 1: Our gardenview room at SSS was under reno. We were then upgraded to an ocean front view room (!!!). It was very, very ,very nice. Given that we went during the rainy season (November), having a view of the beach, daily, made the rain actually look romantic. The view was awesome! The room at night, however, was noisy, but we could care less. The music didn't bother us at all.
Day 2: went on an excursion to Chitchen Itza. We booked with sunwing rather than the resorts' official (private) excursion company for 2 reasons: (1) the tour is given in Spanish and English only. On the historical site, we were divided into English and Spanish speakers and the 3 hour long tour was only in English. We LOVED all the info and were happy to not hear the explanation in 2 langauges... you know what I mean.

Day 3:
Sunny day at the beach: the number of beach beds was enough. We always had access to one, but we preferred sitting on the sand or chairs anyways. The beach, however, has rocks. Bring beach shoes!
FYI, it's jelly fish season.
We were introduced to timeshare opportunities and rejected the offer. In exchange for listening to them for 90 mins (including a tour of the presidential suite, which actually felt cool), we got $100 (taht could only be used on resort services).

Day 4: Got ready for our transfer to Maroma.
Ok- The entry to Maroma's grounds needs CHANGE. It felt like the taxi driver was gonna kill us after driving for what felt like 15 minutes in the jungle. SSS had a very romantic entryway. In comparison, Maroma needs change.
The lobby at Maroma also needs remodeling. It looks quite cheap, again, in comparison to SSS.
This resort feels like a FIFTH of SSS and therefore was a bit of a shock when we got there. SSS is just a castle next to this one. The restaurants and service, however, were simply equally amazing.
Time for going to our room at 3 p.m. (long wait, but had lunch and went to the BEAUTIFUL white sandy beach). The manager at Maroma tells us there is no honeymoon suite. I make them call SSS and tell them to bring me back (and they pay the cab back as well). The manager tells us that Gerardo told him we could only return 5 days later.
We accept to stay. Afterall, we are there to simply relax and the beach there is even nicer, so why not (we told ourselves).
The room we were given was the LUXURY suite: 2 indoor showers, 1 outdoor, 1 indoor king size bed, 1 outdoor twin bed, a kitchen (God knows why at an all inclusive), a dining room, a liing room area in the dining room with a TV, a full bath with a big Jacuzzi, a TV facing the bed and a third TV in the living room area next to the bed area...
OMG- HOW AMAZING IS THAT???

Day 5:
we go to the beach- BEAUTIFUL
The resort is quite quiet and small. It's REALLY relaxing, but ... feels isolated (not secluded).
Maroma is next to the pier, so if you don't wanna see people coming to the are to go on excursions (i.e. catamaran ride, jet ski rides or swimming with the dolphins), then you won't like this one.
We spent the $300 we had amassed on a couple's massage. NICE!

Day 6:
We went swimming with the dolphins. We did this activity through Luis, the resort's official excursion desk. (They are not part of the same company, but both resorts had an excursion booth from the same company.)

Day 7: Beach day BEAUTIFUL

Day 8: Beach day

Day 9: return to SSS
On our way OUT of Maroma, we see 12 CHILDREN (8-10 years old) in the lobby. We realised that the 'generations' side of MAroma, where our luxury rooms were, is for all generations... so although this is supposed to be an ADULTS ONLY resort, it actually allows children in a part of their pool area and beach as well... so really. If we return during the high season, will it be as relaxing and quiet as it was during our trip? Won't we hear children yelling and running a meter away? hmmm... not sure this is fair to those of use who pay extra for 'adults only' (food for thought)

We got to SSS and sat with Gerardo and told him our story. We were upgraded from a garden view room to a SWIM UP room! Again, AMAZING.

The room was the smallest in size, but how cool to be able to swim to a bar and go back into your own room. By then, we had walked around a lot and wanted to relax in our room. It felt great to have both water and bedside at your side! :D

Day 10: excursion to Cozumel to go on a real submarine ride.
The submarine ride was amazing. We visited the second largest reef in the world (after Australia).
The 30 min ferry ride to and fro, however, was HORRIBLE. But we didn't vomit, we held back- oh yes we did.
We didn't book this one with sunwing, and could see that while you pay less, you must sit through the same explanations in 3 languages. Oh my! It's better to pay a little more to have more explanation in English.

Day 11:
Rainy day. Our spa experience at Maroma was so good, that we opted for another one:D
Boy were we happy. The spa at SSS is SO much bigger. You get an hour long access to the bath facilities and they have individually wrapped combs, toothbrushes, razors... things that a good spa should have. It was great. The dry sauna didn't work, unfortunately. I didn't care. I had an amazing time.

Day 12: return to Canada.
SUNWING's restrictions on how much weight you can carry is honestly ridiculous. Next time, we will opt for the elite (~$150 each) in order to have priority boarding and to be able to carry 10 kg more each.
Also, my husband's arm-rest was broken and duck-taped... strange...

We returned safely from an AMAZING trips. All the little bumps in the road were quickly replaced by peace and tranquility (upgrades were amazing).
We would absolutly return to SSS if the addition of new rooms won't work against the quality of food and service.
Maroma is amazing, but the inclusion of children at an adults only doesn't seem right when people pay more to be surrounded by adults only.

On that note, my husband and I are in our late 20s. I would say that 15-20% of guests at SSS were in our age range; 45-55% are in their 30s-40s while 25% are in their 50s+ We are both quiet people and didn't make it to any late night shows, so really, we can't comment on how 'exciting' and vibrant the resort is from that perspective. But if you're going to simply be together, be surrounded by beauty and romance in Mexico, than this is the place to go.

Last but not least, we would like to thank our travel agent in Montreal: Quynh Dieu (qdieu@cruiseshipcenters.com). She is great: thinks of everything you don't and helps you get what you want without stress. HIGHLY recommended. We've always found things on our own, but I wanted to make sure we enjoyed our honeymoon without having to make compromises and therefore opted to request the help of a professional, and boy were we right to do so! Thanks Q.!

Room Tip: Bring your marriage certificate in case you need it. Talk to Gerardo!!!! Ocean front suites are la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The best hotel I have ever stayed at up to now, stayed nov 18 for a week in a ocean front junior suite
Rooms = fantastic very spacious, jacuzzi bath in the room, good size balcony! view of the ocean very nice there are a few palm trees but gives it a more tropical feel! rooms were cleaned everyday, tv with good choice of films! fab air con + large walk in shower also the bed is very big &every comfy, mini bar in room very good choice of drinks.
Service= this is what makes the hotel for me the service was immense 24hour room service brill if you fancy a quiet night the staff couldn't do enough for you they are very polite and quick and efficient each block of rooms have their own private concierge who look after you and arrange anything you need, waiters walking up and down the beach all day serving drinks the best service I have ever experienced & I have been to many countries & hotels.
Food and drink= amazing!!!!!!!!
Spa = amazing !!!!!!!!
Dress code = I wore smart/casual chino shorts at night in the restaurants and a polo shirt or shirt they are fine with this as long as you dress reasonably smart, during the day just had my vest and swim shorts on this was ok too.
Beach = amazing, half is rocky due to the reef very good for snorkeling lots of fish but also half the beach is very smooth, soft sand ideal for spending time in the sea
Would definitely recommend this hotel had a brilliant holiday at a brilliant hotel!!!! Will definitely one day be back as this was our honeymoon and will be remembered forever thanks to all the staff at Edss hotel :-)

Room Tip: Get ocean front suite best location and view of the sea, premium block rooms do not look appealing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christopher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our first long haul trip, we went to this hotel as a celebration for my husband's 60th birthday. It was everything Thomsons & the various sites we researched in the internet led us to expect, and much, much more! Although the hotel is on the small side compared with others in the area, it is well scoped and landscaped and beautifully tended and maintained.

All the staff treated us like royalty, but in a superbly friendly way. Thanks especially to Heriberto and Brenda in Arrecifes for our wonderful breakfasts and to all those who served us in all the other restaurants. The food everywhere was amazing, masses of choice and all so fresh and beautifully prepared.

Our swim-up room (3501) was terrific, just the right distance from the swim-up bar for peace & quiet when needed, but close enough for us to grab a drink when we felt like one. I went through practically the entire cocktail menu during our 2 week stay - loads of choice including some made up for us by the bartenders. Also plenty of named brand spirits, etc so loads of choice, and of course several choices of beer.

Entertainment every night with some great acts, plus they opened a new "theatre" while we were there, with a Michael Jackson tribute act which was tremendous.

All in all a totally amazing holiday, a true "all-inclusive" and such good value for money. We will definitely be going back in the not-too-distant future.

Room Tip: 3501 is a good swim up room and well worth the upgrade. Enormous bed, double jacuzzi, dining table p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbottl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at the Eldorado from 10-24 November 2013- Big thanks to Claire Cox and the team at Thomas Cook WGC for their help with the booking! We arrived in a tropical rainstorm at night so at first we didn't know what to think, however the next morning was bright and sunny and we were able to really take in the beautiful setting. The place is like an oasis in a jungle of tropical plants, palm trees, exotic birds and butterflies, iguanas and racoons with rooms, bars and restaurants located within it, and designed in such a way to compliment the surroundings. We were located in what are designated to be the basic junior suites, but the room is spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom has a wet room, and two sinks and seperate toilet cubicle. air con is fantastic, The bedroom/living area is fab with excellent air con, king size bed and a jacuzzi big enough for 2!

The suites we stayed in are the furthest away from the reception, bars and restaurants, which are at best a 5 min walk away- tip take a light plastic mac, because when it rains, it really rains, only short and sharp bursts, but you are soaked within seconds!

Beach is beautiful and the four poster beds on the beach are a brilliant idea! We really reccomend you eat breakfast/lunch at the beachfront bbq as it is so lovely. Other reasturants are of a good standard, The Kay Talay was our favourite as we received the best food and service there. The only disappointing one was the gourmet pub, which is the only one you have to book. The food was not of good standard in our view. Room service (which is included in the all inc package) is excellent.

Staff overall are very friendly and helpful. Customers really are king out there- nothing is too much trouble. A lot of people have mentioned the towel art- and it really is impressive!

In terms of the currency, american dollars are widely accepted so if you get a better exchange rate with the dollar than the peso, that may be the way to go.

there are activities on site for the more adventurous, but equally there are quiet havens you can go to for R&R. I have said to friends I have felt like I have been in rehab for two weeks, with tequila as my medication!

There is a spa on site, but it is rather expensive, and with such relaxing surroundings, you don't really need it. The fact that it's adults only is also a bonus.

Room Tip: although the swim up rooms may seem attractive, noone really uses them. In addition, the beacfront s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I have just come back from a wonderful week at El Dorado Seaside.
Overall I have to give them two very big thumbs up!
We are not the big boom-boom party types and wanted a place where we could kick back, relax, enjoy the sand, surf and sun. All of which we had in abundance. We always had a great spot on the beach. The beach beds are rather decadent and wonderful.
We don't normally go for the all-inlcusive resorts when we travel...I like wandering and getting lost in whatever city I visit, that's how you find the great little spots hidden away!
This trip though, we wanted to just relax and have everything already taken care of.
And El Dorado Seaside more than delivered.
Most restaurants are quite good. The new gastro pub (for which you need make reservations) offers some truly delightful treats. The beach grill also offers some outstanding delicacies. The ceviche is delicious.
What really impresses me though is all the little environmentally conscious decisions taken by the resort. They have, it seems, decided that sustainability can be profitable. It certainly take a little effort and results in beautifully lush garden paths and dense foliage. I laud them for this if for nothing else!

Thank you Karisma.

If you do choose to go to this resort and you enjoy snorkelling, don't stick to the first two sandbanks, head out to the breakers where the waves break (750m-800m out) that's where the reef is. Watch the snorkelling groups go out, you can't miss their orange lifevests. I headed out on my own and didn't regret. I even spooked an octopus, what a beautiful sight! Just be careful not to touch the reef or to get slammed into it by the waves.

All in all, I very much loved our stay there and will probably think about this place if/whenever we decide to do another all-inclusive vacation.
Thank you also to Sunwing for all the organisation of the trip. Cramped plane but a small price to pay for such a wonderful vacation. I for one would rather spend money on the resort than the flight there..

Cheers.

Room Tip: We had the Junior Jacuzzi room and it's lovely. Honestly, I can't imagine needing more. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cyrile V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was our first time to Mexico - my daughter is a travel advisor/manager and she had visited there on an Educational work vacation - she recommended this for us knowing how fussy we are. The overal resort is clean, tidy and beautiful. It is an adults only hotel and well sized for the guests there - its not huge as someone else as put but not over small either. The food is all served to you, even breakfast in the Vida Garden grill. there are options to self-serve if you prefer but we liked being pampered. All the restaurants have there own specialities so we went to all of them more than once. Favourite for breakfast was the Vida Garden Grill. The Gourmet Pub ( a restaurant ) was one of our favourite places to dine in the evening and needs booking book a place can be secured by booking as soon as you arrive, we booked a few so that if we liked it we could go again and if we didnt we could cancel. The Italian does a wonderful steak option. A tip for all the a la carte restaurants - look at them menu and choose your main option and then ask for things on the side ie i asked for risotto as a side when it is actually one of the mains - Thats is just one example - In the Vida grill you can also choose what you want - eg order eggs benedict and ask for bacon & toast plate on the side.

The pools are all nice but i preferred the quiet pool - the only thing is that if its busy all the double sunbeds with canopies get taken up quickly but there are others on the nearby beach .

The small bar near the quiet pool was also our preference for a pre or or after dinner drink, more intimate than the main bar.

The main bar has entertainment around 9 pm and its better than at a lot of hotels we have been to, although some of the acts are mimed (but not all). Most evenings after the main slot of entertainment there is a group on that is situated in the outdoor bar area and we preferred the live music later on. A tip if your in this area at night is if the weather is a bit hit and miss get a seat undercover as if it rains everyone piles in for seats! saying that we only had one rainy day/night in the 2 weeks we were there. The buggy vehicles were in full flow when it rained ferrying people around the resort to keep you dry. The only slight minus is that there are no indoor bars but they are currently building another building with indoor bars, restaurants and nightclub which is indoor.

Trips:- we booked ours with the aquatic kiosk man on the beach just as you enter the sandy beach - They are the same price as in reception but the guys there are much more friendly and helpful and they dont push you. We did the Indiana Joes trip which is a trip to the jungle with 10 zip wires, a swim in a Canote (sink hole) and lunch included. We also went on a boat trip from Maroma marina (The sister hotel to the Seaside suites is located there) - I didnt snorkel but my husband did and he said the reef was stunning - apparantly the 2nd largest reef in the world! Our other trip was at night and to Coco Bongos which is an amazing nightclub which words cannot express how fantastic it was just google it it is located in Playa del Carmen - not Cancun!

I arranged a trip myself to Tulem ruins which I did by bus which called a collectivo (ask the concierge or holiday rep for info on how to do this). It only cost me a couple of dollars each way and 5 dollars entrance to the ruins. If you like nice beaches there is a gorgeous beach in the ground of the ruins so take your swimsuit and towel (I didnt take mine unfortunately). There are a lot of gift shops there too but did seem expensive for what they were selling.

The airport has fairly OK food at an OK price so thumbs up for the airport. We did book the VIP lounge but our places were cancelled due to the company double booking us.

We stayed in a standard room for first few days which was great but we then upgraded to a Premium suite for the rest of 2 weeks because we purchased a small holiday package from Oriental vacations. I wont talk about this on here but feel free to message me for information - This was a good experience with no sales push. The Premium suite is far better accomodation than the standard rooms but they are in a large block - 6 floors high - which is not as pretty as the smaller blocks. Nevertheless the room itself was luxurious. Beds in both rooms extremely comfy - memory foam I think?

The beach - great sandy beach lots of beautiful fish which i fed with bananas and had them circling me for more food! My husband went a bit further out to the reef and saw even more posh fish. warning he swam in a shallow area due to a speed boat being nearby and caught is leg on the coral (unintentionally) so be careful as he got a cut to his leg...oh and take your beach shoes if you have any or loan some flippers from the aquatic kiosk (snorkels available too). There are lion fish and stone fish hiding away here and there which are dangerous but if you dont touch them or bother them they wont touch you. Ask the man in kiosk for advice on what they look like but dont let this put you off as i never saw any.

The staff are friendly and helpful. If you need anything ask you concierge and she/he will get what you want or need.

The Spa we were given a 50 minute massage with the upgrade and we payed a bit extra to extend to an 80 minute. This included a thermal journey before the massage which was great in itself - then a Mayan experience which was magical - then the massage. again if you want further explanation of this please message me.

The shops in the hotel grounds are very expensive - It is good to take all holiday essentials tablets, suncream, toothbrush etc as they are 2-3 times more expensive than home and cheap quality. We went on a trip to Playa del Carmen shopping but personally I wished I hadnt bothered as the shops were either cheap tack or expensive designer shops.

There is also option of 24 room service with most things available to order.

Thats all I can think of for now - if you going enjoy it because we certainly did!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank juju080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,055 reviews
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
2.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
18.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing