We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My wife and I came for 10 days for our honeymoon. It was magnificent!! The personal service, the quality of the rooms, the choice of food and the beautiful location. Whilst here both my wife and I became ill. Within 10 minutes of contacting reception we had the site doctor examining us. A few injections and we were as right as rain. Overall the whole trip was great

Room Tip: Swim up room was definitely worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,708
    1,590
    521
    229
    154
See reviews for
237
6,492
51
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is the only word I can use to describe the magnificent two weeks my partner and I experienced at EDSS. From checking in to departure we couldn't find fault in any aspect of the holiday. Everybody has a smile on their face and are so welcoming you feel so special. You will find that Excellente is the buzz word at this resort and it encompasses everything about the resort/holiday. The Entertainment team are supberb and I want to give special mention to Martin, Aldo, Cesar and Alain (LuLu) they worked so hard in making our day around the pool so funny. We particularly enjoyed joining in the water volleyball (beware of Martin's unsporting tactics - but he was on my side) and water polo to having my own personal water aerobics sessions with Martin and Alain. Even when rain stopped play the entertainment then moved to the outside bar for a quiz nothing stops the fun here. From morning to night the entertainment team are there to make sure your holiday is memorable, they really are a fantastic group of people.

The restaurants are superb, there are so many to choose from and even if you do have to wait which only happened twice this can be done at the outside bar and you are given a bleeper to notify you your table is now ready. My favourite lunch time venue was the beach bbq - the venue fantastic, eating your lunch by the turquoise sea watching the Mexican airforce (a flight of Pelicans) flying past information is something you don't see every day!

Our room was the standard jacuzzi room which I can only describe as magnificent. I did wonder if I would have prefered a swim up room but we had room 4017 (1st floor) with a lovely view of the swim up pool which we used after coming off the beach which was approx 5 min walk from our room. The room had a mini fridge which was restocked every day at no extra cost. The bed was the biggest I have ever slept in and was so comfortable I looked forward to getting in to it every night. There was air con in the room which you really do need and a safe inside your wardbrobe. Yes you do had to carry round the key but it so small it will fit inside your handbag/purse - and it's not intrusive. Esther cleaned our room every day with some magnificent towel art it was lovely coming back in the afternoon to see what creation she had made for us. You had the option of clean bed linen and towels everyday alternatively these would be changed every 3 days. The jacuzzi was fantastic and the best bit was as we weren't in a swim up room no other guests could see you in it but this isn't the case if you opt for the swim up room.

We booked our trips to Chitzen Itza, Coba and Mayan Village and the Royal Dolphin swim through Lomas travel in the reception area of the hotel. Each trip was fabulous but if there is one that you should do it's the Dolphin Swim. I am not a great swimmer but everybody has to wear a life jacket and the 'Foot Push' was unbelievable. The only downside was the price of the photographs (which we didn't buy). If the venue where you swim with the dolphins brought the price of them down they would sell more. Lomas travel are cheaper than Thomson and ran all their trips every day which Thomson don't so you can plan your activity/chilling days to suit your time scales. We paid for our trips in Pesos which worked out cheaper than paying in dollars. The shops on site will take both Peso and Dollars so I would recommend taking both currencies although the staff on reception will change currency for you.

The hotel is so eco friendly and we really enjoyed the morning excursion around the grounds to see exactly how ecological the hotel is from it's recycling programme to it's programme for introducing coconut trees to it's coral reef building programme. Previous reviewers had commented on the 'ugly wall' but if they actually looked into what the hotel is trying to introduce they would appreciate what in the future will be a coral reef so magnificent that all the hotel's hard work and forward planning will be worth while.

Our experience at the EDSS was so fantastic that we will be back in two years time to celebrate my 'special birthday' and I cannot wait. This truly has been an unbelievable holiday and one that I would highly recommend to anybody. There is nothing that I could fault with regard to location/hotel/staff even the rain was warm which didn't last for long and even whilst it rained the staff worked non stop to clear away the rain/leaves from the outside bar area. The beach is fantastic with both sun beds and cabanas plenty for everyone. My only gripe was the people who get up early to bag a Cabana then don't use it till late morning. The only plus side to this was it rained on a couple of occasion and had we seen the occupants we would have moved their towels under our umberella but as we hadn't we just left them there to get soaked. We personally had no problems getting either a sun bed on the beach or by the main pool. Usually we went for breakfast around 8.30am put our towels on the bed then went to eat and then made our way back to the pool. The hotel policy is that sun beds/cabanas with towels on them and not being used for 40 mins would have the items removed but we didn't see this being enforced. Whether this is the case in this height of the season I couldn't say.

If you are thinking about booking this hotel do it - you won't be dissappointed.

Room Tip: You don't need to pay extra for sea view or swim up the standard room is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed at this Hotel 13th nov 2013 for two weeks, weather was very changeable , the staff at the resort were really good,could not help you enough. the food at this hotel was very good and although you could not book a table (only in the gourmet pub) we did not have to wait long for a table. the gardens around the resort are kept well they even rake all the edges. the beach was small and had plenty of sunbeds. the room was large although when we left the builders moved in??plenty of towels + beach towels available at any time.we had room 4022 which overlooked the swim up pool + swim up bar.
We only have one grumble + found when talking to quite a few american's that a few had been upgraded on arrival to the hotel? is it only the american's receive this service ? the drinks were good and the beach service was excellent .
We had one upset not the fault of the hotel as when we arrived in the airport it was absolutely pouring with rain and when we opened the cases in our room one of the cases was half full of water? which took days to dry the clothes as it rained for the first 3 days.

Room Tip: no complaint regarding our rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morganSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

What a wonderful resort. From the moment you get there and are greeted with a cocktail, you feel completely spoiled. We stayed at the Premium Swim-up Jacuzzi Suite and basically never left. The pool off our room was wonderful. Big enough to get some good swimming in. The fact that the bar was right across the pool from our room was a bonus. The bartender Miquel and the waitress Lucy were just the best and spoiled us non-stop. The grounds are lovely, the rest of the staff can't do enough for you. The food is excellent and we loved the fact that it was all fine dining and no buffets. The personal concierge is a really nice touch and again, they can't do enough for you. The spa was fabulous and a wonderful end to our week. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Go for the Premium Jacuzzi Swim-up room if you like peace and quiet with all the amenities you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nortonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I visited El Dorado Seaside Suites the week before Thanksgiving. The resort is beautiful - the rooms are clean and modern, the grounds are well maintained, the food is great, guess safety is also a priority - but it's the people who make this a superior experience !!! Our butler HECTOR was a total class act - he was professional, efficient, friendly - clearly one of the people who made this an exceptional experience. The entertainment crew - Martin and LuLu - amazing - you must meet these guys - the nicest and funniest guys you'll meet!!! Jose - our server at the Pub was also a stand out guy. You'll find the staff to be helpful, friendly and very hard working. We had a premium swim up sweet in the new building - and we used it ! There is no privacy since there is a restaurant and pool deck across the pool but that's really not a big deal. Having a swim up bar and food right there is great !! The afternoons "happy hour time" could tend to be a little rowdy depending on the people at the pool bar - again it's about the people who make it a great experience. There is really a small area of beach that guests can swim - there a plenty of chairs/beds - it's also very crowded. The Gourmet Pub was my favorite but the food at all the restaurants was very good. (skip Mia Casa - average food and the service was below average). The buffet area on the beach for breakfast and lunch was another favorite. There is also a "nudest resort" attached to the property - day passes are available and that is also a very nice resort. I was a "guest" of members - and the only negative would be there is a great amount of pressure to attend the informational meetings to become members - I thought after the first 5 times saying no they would get the idea - I later discovered the employees get paid by the number of guests referred to the meetings. I would recommend this resort !!!

Room Tip: The Premium Swim-up suites are nice - be sure to request a room that gets the sun all day - I had ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AtravelJunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The first two weeks of December 2013 will stay in our memories as one of the very best holidays ever. This hotel, I would recommend to everyone who values the quality of service, gourmet food and exotic surroundings. The hotel is located in the palm forest with multi level palm trees, creating fantastic scenery and great feeling of being surrounded by nature.
The rooms are luxurious, spacious and ...........dark,.but we had a flashlight. Other than that, rooms were really great. Quality of food was beyond first class. All restaurants served excellent small portion food, that you never felt as binging. There is no buffet dinners there except for Mexican nights, which provide a superb food and entertainment. plentiful bars and great service made you feel home.
There is no point of writing more than that because I can assure you, previous reviewers provide more than enough details and compliments.
We did not realise how level of service can exceed your expectations. It was something that in a long travel life we were speechless when we encountered Encarnacion and his personal attention to caring for our every need. Please do yourself a favour and ask that he is your waiter and then let him be missed for a day (his day off), to experience the difference.
Overall, It is a marvelous resort and we wish for nothing more than we got. I would be there in a flash, if I could afford more time. The resort should change the name to "one fantastic service" to make your vacation memorable.

Room Tip: there are four types of buildings: single story bungalows with own pools two storey, some with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Lovely resort on a very beautiful beach. Exceptionally friendly service. Staff took care of all your needs, no exceptions. The food was great - except a few things here and there.... limited options for fresh fruits and juices (I couldn't drink alcohol as I was pregnant so missed the variety of fruits and juices). Food tasted great but was limited for the fact the it is a gourmet resort - they seemed to be playing it safe with no exotic dishes etc..
Lots of fun stuff to do for all ages. Lots of cabbanas/beds to hang out on the beach.
Our anniversary pkg included a candle light dinner by the beach and a romantic breakfast in bed !! And a 2 for one massage at the spa !! We had a magical time.
Hanging out in the ocean was so much fun because they have created artificial reefs which broke the waves well before they got to the beach... so you could hang in the water just bobbing up and down and not worry about huge waves bothering you.
Beach waitresses were fab and prompt in their service.
The beach front Junior Jacuzzi suite we stayed in is a great value... we had the ground floor suite and it was great coz you could just walk out to the beach and sunrise and sunset... the view was great from the room ! But the rooms were damp and clothes were hard to dry - they did a great job of cleaning the rooms though.

Overall loved the experience. Will go back again.

Room Tip: Beach front suites are better if you like coming to your room often during the day. They have a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbuff124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
5,518 reviews
0.6 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
18.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
16,021 reviews
16.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing