We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Spent Christmas at El Dorado Seaside Suites in Mexico and it was magical. We arrived on the 18th Dec and has amazing weather. Check in was quick and easy and then taken to our room 3106. Room amazing, large bed and Jacuzzi made it. Our bags arrived in a matter of minutes. Looking out of our room you could see the sea and it was really quiet as near the end of the resort. Our Concierge Alejandra was such a great help and always had a smile and chat for us. If you go, speak to your concierge as they can sort anything out for you, not just complaints. Spent most of the day lying on the beach and it was so peaceful and not crowded. My husband spent his time scuba diving and used Dive Mike who picked him up and dropped him off at the resort.
Food - I have to aviod gluten and the staff were excellent, they made it really easy for me to select food. There is so much choice but during the day we had breakfast and lunch eating at the White Gazebo as was right next to the beach and outside, Brenda made sure we were looked after. Service was brilliant throughout the resort. We had one night were the service was not great and we complained and was asked to go back in a few days which we did and was treat amazingly.
Christmas Day was lovely lying on the beach and Santa wanders along for photos.

If you want somewhere to relax and forget about the outside world this is the place to be. Staff so helpful.
DO NOT go to see about saving money of your next holiday as it is a con and they want £12,000 for a timeshare type deal.
I do not have a bad thing to say about the resort and will go back again

Room Tip: We got a sea view and was lovely as only a minute walk from the beach. Block 27 has the White Gazebo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mad_as_cheese72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,625 - 4,631 of 8,640 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife Veronica and I stayed at the EDSS from 14th January for two weeks and were fortunate to meet Yvonne and Tino (see previous report - Yvonne S, Croydon) with whom we enjoyed a Tequila or two (thanks Tino). We agree 100% with everything that Yvonne has written and would like to add a few items of our own to her review.

We stayed in room 602 on the top floor of the new block and the view was amazing. The room was HUGE as was the bed which was queen sized and could easily sleep four (no, we didn't). The bathroom was very well appointed with his and hers sinks and a self contained shower room that was approx 4 ft x 5 ft. The shower was always powerful and there were no issues with hot or cold water as you sometimes find in Caribbean resorts. The bath was a hydro version and two would fit in easily. The under floor heating in the loo was a bonus! The balcony was large and had two chairs, a table and bed!

We flew from Manchester and upgraded to the premium section of the Dreamliner. The seats are large and comfortable with more leg room than other jets we have been on, but one issue is the fact that the T.V. is situated in an armrest and has to be lifted out to watch it. This means that if the person next to you wants to go to the toilet, you have to stow away the T.V. so that they can pass. This is a minor irritation though as the rest of the flight was excellent.

As Yvonne has said, the takeoff and landing are so quiet as to be remarkable. On the outgoing journey the sun was shining through the extra large windows on our side of the aircraft, no problems though, as you simply adjust the dimmer switch under the window which dims the window so reducing the sunlight glare.

The food is the usual Thomson standard though and is over reliant on cheese, which if, like me, you are not a cheese eater, the meal becomes something of a main course only. On our return journey we found that the pat of butter supplied with the main meal was rancid and when we brought this to the attention of a member of the cabin crew she managed to find some, taken out of one of the crew’s meals, that was OK. However, when we were served our breakfast meal prior to landing we were served another pat of rancid butter. All in all though, we both felt that the overall premium experience was worth the extra.

Cancun Airport arrivals was awful. There must have been six or seven flights arriving within a short period and the authorities had insufficient staff to cater for so many people arriving at the same time. It took us about 1.5 hours to get through passport control and when we finally got through to luggage reclaim, the cases from our flight had still not started to come through. Another 30 minutes later, now with cases, we made our way to the coach transfer only to find that it was now raining (we landed in bright sunshine). It is 1.5 hours to the hotel and by the time that we had arrived there, we were in the middle of a tropical storm that lasted most of the night. Fortunately, the hotel provides umbrellas in each room so these things must have occurred previously.

The staff has to be the best aspect of the hotel. Wherever you go, no matter who you meet, everyone says ‘Hola’ and smiles. They go out of their way to please you and no request is too large or small to be resolved quickly for you.

A big thank you goes to, Aaron in the Arricifes breakfast restaurant who was the most accommodating manager we have ever met (guest note: if you like hash browns you have to ask for them). The restaurant is both self service and a la carte and the omelettes here were to die for. Blanca the hostess and Wilberth the waiter were also most helpful and we particularly appreciated the plate of pastries with a chocolate message ‘safe trip home’ written on it, which Wilberth and Aaron presented to us on our last morning.

Elmer, the barman and Luisa and Estela, the beach waitresses at the Los Cotorros bar, near to where we sunbathed daily, always supplied us with drinks on a regular basis without us moving from our sunbeds. The drinks were all top shelf and Elmer even had a bottle of Chivas Regal as part of the all inclusive package, however, he kept this under the counter and you had to ask for it. One day he ran out of Chivas as Lief and Annika from Sweden, who we met at the bar and are now good friends, had just polished off his last bottle and no more was available until the next day (thanks Lief).

At the Garcitas bar we met Graciela, Margarita and Miguel who were the friendliest and most accommodating bar staff, in fact once they knew your favoured drink you didn't need to ask for it, it just magically appeared in front of you. On our last day Graciela and Margarita made us some lovely ham wraps to take to the airport as they knew how expensive the airport food could be and we really enjoyed them. It was a lovely touch, many thanks girls.

It was my wife’s birthday whilst we were there and I spoke to our concierge and asked if they could arrange a bouquet of flowers for her special day. For $50 not only did they deliver a fantastically presented display to our room but Abelardo, our room boy, placed balloons all over the room and made a three tier cake from towels, held together by champagne glasses, which looked fantastic and was placed on the bed for when we returned. There was also a bottle of ‘champagne’ in an ice bucket and two glasses. Veronica was so pleased. A big thank you to Patricia and our other concierge (I’m so sorry that I have forgotten your name) and Abelardo, who decorated the room, always keeping it spotless whilst leaving beautiful towel art on the bed each day.

As Yvonne says, the food was amazing. I don’t think that we have ever been to a hotel with such good food and we have been to Sandals, who could learn lessons from EDSS on how to prepare and present quality food.

Our favourite was also La Vida grill with La Carreta (Mexican) a close second and Klay Talay (Asian) third. We thought that the Mia Casa Italian was overrated, especially as the Arricifes becomes an Italian restaurant in the evening and there was usually a thirty minute wait for a table at Mia Casa.(They give you a ‘bleeper’ and ask you to go for a drink until your table is ready).

We only tried the Sandwicherie once and were amazed to find it doesn't do sandwiches. Nevertheless, there always seemed to be queue of people for this one so we only ate there once. It was OK but there were better options.

The gourmet pub is nothing like a pub and the menu we found confusing. The food was good, although our impression of fish and chips and theirs differs considerably.

We did not use room service although the people we spoke to that had used it spoke highly of the service levels.

We know that it is something of a contentious issue with reviewers of EDSS but we come firmly down on the side of those who say that if the management say that there is a dress code for dinner, it should be adhered to. We don’t like to see girls in skimpy shorts, people eating whilst wearing baseball caps, men with shorts and flip-flops etc. during dinner. If there is a rule, they should enforce it or remove it.

We only went to Piccadilly Circus (the theatre) on two occasions and the entertainment was good, however, the theatre is more like a church hall and doesn't accommodate that many people so quickly fills up. The real action takes place at the Guacamayas bar where we saw a couple of live bands who were very good. The bar team here has to be the most hard working of any we have seen anywhere. They literally never stop and are constantly remembering orders from two or three customers at a time and always get it right.

We booked a massage at the Spa and although it appeared expensive (about £110 each) it turned out to be the most amazing day. We didn't just have a massage, we were taken through a series of treatments including, stream room, sauna, plunge pools, hydrotherapy, exfoliation and then the massage followed by the relaxation room. Altogether we were there for about four hours and came out feeling fantastic. We highly recommend the service.

If you like Palm Trees this resort is the place for you, they are literally everywhere. We felt that they had actually taken over the resort to the extent that areas within the complex were almost dark during the day. The hotel’s Eco policy is to be commended but may be a little extreme in some areas.

The beach gave us mixed feelings as the part in front of the main block had been eroded by previous hurricanes and was now replaced by a sea wall and an array of large sand bags so no swimming was possible here. Further down the resort was a beach that was quite nice but was narrow and always busy but at least you could swim here. This was the most disappointing aspect of the resort.

We sunbathed near the Los Cotorros bar which was towards one end of the resort and next door is the Hidden Beach Resort which appeared to be owned by Karisma and is a Naturist hotel. There is a large fence separating the two resorts and although the Naturists can come in to the EDSS (providing they put clothes on) you have to pay $100 for a day pass to enjoy the naked facilities next door (that’s what we were told by our Rep.) should you wish to do so. We had great fun sipping our cocktails on our beach bed regularly watching the guests from EDSS come casually walking past us as though taking daily exercise and then sneaking a peep through the fence when they thought no-one was looking.

The weather spoiled our first week at the resort as, apart from the tropical storm, the afternoon clouds came across each day and it became quite cold in the evenings. This all changed for the second week when the sun finally arrived on a full time basis and there was no need to wear a fleece in the evening. However, the resort does not have an indoor lounge bar where guests can relax with a drink if the weather outside is not so good. We appreciate that this could be a rare occurrence for Mexico but it’s something to take account of, especially as a lot of the guests are of an older generation and don’t always want to listen to live bands.

Apparently the hotel is building a new reception area away from the main body of the complex (near the Spa) and the current reception is to become another restaurant. This should hopefully reduce queues in other restaurants.

There are several WiFi points around the hotel and reception is available in-room also. The charge for this is $50 per week, $25 per three days or $10 per day. We paid the charge but found the reception at the beach to be less than adequate and complained. Frequent messages telling us that the server was unavailable appeared on our I-Pad and at check-out our complaint received a discount. The in-room service was OK though. We understand that from May this year WiFi will be included as part of the all-inclusive package.

We generally had a great time at EDSS, met some very nice people and came home thoroughly relaxed and a great deal overweight due to the excellent food and rather too much Tanqueray Gin, Tequila, Bacardi, Chivas Regal and Jack Daniels (not all together). Generally, the staff, the food, the accommodation and the ambiance far outweigh any negatives that might be picked up from this review and we would thoroughly recommend the resort to anyone who enjoys the luxuries of life as we do.

Room Tip: The new block has excellent rooms and amenities and rooms above the third floor have views above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank michael_boshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

What is better than a 5 star adults only all inclusive with 7 restaurants "à la carte" restaurants without reservation? I don't know! Good food, great service, amazing food (they have a Gourmet food policy), very relaxing vacation! The rooms are well furnished, very clean and the bed is soooooo comfortable! The fact that it is not a big hotel, 280 rooms with so many restaurants and no limit to how much food to order makes it even more amazing!
Would definitely go back for another week of heaven!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojoben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This adult only resort is nearly perfect. Great a la cart food, the best service, great entertainment team, and if you love pure relaxation and some yoga, volleyball, snorkelling, canoeing, tennis, good food, and great location, and reasonable evening entertainment, go here.
Couple of warnings, don't bother with swim up, the rooms are very dark, and swim up is freezing, same for all pools, not heated, which is ok for aqua aerobics, but swim up bars never used. Also , age old problem of beach beds, here you have ultra comfortable double bed four posters on the beach, and normal beds, all of which get taken by about 8am. they need more on the beach and less round the pools, as few people want to be by the cold pools.
This resort is simply the best we have ever been to, romantic, great service.
If you are very aware of sounds then I wouldn't go for premium upgrade, the rooms are fab but the floors are like drums when people walk, and cleaners start at 6:30am!!! Sea front top floor best I would say. Worth a visit to Tulum, and don't use organised trips, go jump on a collective (large taxi) very cheap and comfortable.

Room Tip: Front row top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DPB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just got back from this little piece of heaven.
We upgraded to the premium block as it wasn't that much of a price increase. Was it worth the upgrade??
For us yes as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary so the upgrade paid for itself. We showed our marriage certificate and we got some great freebies......
Candle lit dinner on the beach
Couples beach massage for 50 mins
Bottle champagne
Free wifi on unlimited devices
Room romantically decorated on return from dinner on beach (rose petals on bed etc)
Gourmet breakfast in bed.

If your not celebrating and the modernness of a room doesn't bother you then I'm not sure it's worth it although we got a sea view as was on 3rd floor.
The rooms are immaculate and spacious.

The beach is a bit disappointing but nothing is perfect, just take your water shoes. But you get used to it never bothered us after the first day. The sun loungers do go by 7 with people reserving them, which is disappointing but not sure how they can stop it. So you get the attitude if you can't beat them join them.

Our favorite restaurant was the Vida garden grill, as it was nice to have a sit down breakfast off a menu. All restaurants are great... Try the gourmet pubs meatballs.

We never went in the swim up pool as we spent all day on the beach. The swing bar was were we spent most our evenings. The bar and beach service was superb. Highly recommend either the Mexican flag or rainbow shots.... Scrummy.

As for trips....
We booked dolphins on Cozumel before we left uk. No transport . We just jumped on the local collectivo to playa del Carmen, then onto a ferry... The time with dolphins was amazing.

Tulum
Again got on a collectivo. Very cheap to do. Take a towel the beach is gorg but couldn't spend a day. We then went from tulum to akumel to swim with the turtles. That was amazing. We hired a guide for about £15 for an hour each... Well worth it. Saw about a dozen.

My biggest tip is invest in a waterproof camera.... The pictures we got of the turtles was gorgeous.

The only downside is it's a long way for a week but would I go again... Yes!!!!
It's not utopia but if your expectations are reasonable you will not be disappointed.
If your looking to book do it!!!!
If you are going soon enjoy .... I'm jealous!!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My Italian husband (Tino) and I stayed in room 416 from 13 January for two weeks for our honeymoon. We've been home a few days, still recovering from the jet lag and trying to get used to the rubbish weather here! I will be breaking this review into headings for ease of reference.

The Thompson Experience:
When we arrived at Gatwick (our outbound airport) we were advised that the flight was delayed by an hour. That was fine. Flying out on Dreamliner was great. We travelled in standard class, and were rather shocked that, unlike a lot of long haul flights that my husband and I have undertaken, you were expected to pay for additional snacks and drinks over and above the booked meal. Fortunately we had a breakfast at the airport, if we had not we would have been starving. If you flew premium everything was unlimited. It was a struggle to get just a simple glass of water too, which I find pretty unacceptable for a ten hour flight. Anyway, the flight itself was fine, we did not notice the take off or landing. There was no rep to meet us at the airport so hubby and I were almost conned by a nice man who tried to assist us with our luggage and to find our transfer coach. He expected tips but we did not have any cash and advised him, which he was okay with. Just beware of these friendly faces upon arrival. At the resort itself we had little to do with the reps, we met them at the welcome meeting only. They also waved us off when we left, which was a nice touch. We had a rep to escort us to the airport and through immigration which was a nice touch. However, the staff on the flight back were not as helpful. They seemed too preoccupied with their private in jokes and ensuring that everyone slept, as it was a night flight. There was no customer care whatsoever, which is shame as they had done an okay job up until then. We probably will not be travelling with First Choice or Thomson again though.

El Dorado Seaside Suites:
The Room -
We were in the new block and when we first arrived, in the dark, Tino was not too pleased. However, in the morning when we got up to see the sunrise at around 5.30am, we had an ocean view, a view of the roof of the jungle and we could see and hear the wildlife communicating with each other. The room was extremely comfortable, and the bed ... WOW! It was huge and both of us could sleep like star fish! We made use of the jacuzzi, which is located in the bathroom in these new rooms, and also noticed that the floor in the loo has underfloor heating! Great if you get up in the middle of the night for a pee and forget to put your slippers on! We cannot fault the room at all.

The Staff:
Exceptional from start to finish. They work tirelessly to ensure we are all happy and excellente whilst staying there. Big shouts out to: Alva our concierge, Anna the beach waitress who really looked after us, Lorenzo the mischievous waiter at the beach restaurant at breakfast and lunch, Jose Luis our chambermaid who kept our room immaculately clean and provided daily towel art surprises (on the last night we slept on rose petals!), Lu-Lu (Alain) of the animation team ... and so many others whose names I simply cannot remember. Thank you to all of you for making our trip to special and I hope you enjoy your next days off ! Finally, a manager (not sure if he was the hotel manager) phoned us on our last day to say thank you for staying, and if there was anything else we needed before we leave to just let him know. I just begged him to kidnap us!

The food:
Amazing! We ate at every restaurant, and Vida Grill seemed to be our favourite overall. I particularly liked the mango mouse. Yummy! La Carreta is great and I would suggest that you read the Mexico guide in your room prior to going there to get an overview of Mexican cuisine. We loved the buffets they do on a Wednesday but I really, really, really liked the Veracruz Style fish. We went to Mia Casa - yes the food is exceptional, but the restaurant itself is a bit formal and stuffy. We preferred La Trattoria at Arrecife's, although Tino was not happy that cheese appeared on his seafood dish. This is a minor thing and you would only know that cheese on seafood is a big no no if you were Italian. I would also like to add that the female maitre Ds are 100% better than the men in the khaki uniforms. The men just don't seem to have a clue how to organise the restaurants.

Drinks:
Guacamayas is THE bar at night. Before dinner we liked the quieter bar near Mia Casa for an appertivo. It also has a nice beach side lounge. Garcitas near our block was a swim up bar but also does light lunches such as salads and smoothies. The tequila bar in La Carreta is great and I have to say they made the best margaritas. We noticed that the cocktails tended to get stronger as they day wore on, fairly light alcohol whilst on the beach, but as soon as the sun went down the alcohol strength significantly increased. We did not complain though! The bars have all drinks, lots of international brands and the staff have a good knowledge so you can ask for what you want. Tino has become a tequila connoisseur with a little help from the barmen. We are now anejo drinkers as opposed to the clear, cheap stuff you get for shots. Try it or a nice riposato!

Room Service:
We used it a few times. On our first day there was no coffee in the room so we ordered two cups and a couple of croissants. Instead we were brought a huge pot of coffee with cream and milk and about a dozen mini breakfast pastries. We felt so embarrassed and guilty when ordering room service, but it always felt like a naughty little treat!

Entertainment:
We went to a couple of shows at Piccadilly Circus. I agree it is a bit of an awkward venue and trying to be an auditorium, but the shows we saw were very good - Just Amazing and White Fusion. The animacion crew really do their best to entertain but there are informal events often happening at Guacamayas most evenings. We got dragged in to join a Canadian Wedding Party which was fun. If you want rowdy nights go to Cancun or the Canary Islands!

Excursions:
We always avoid the reps sales pitch and go with the local providers. We booked Chichen Itza/Valladolid with Alberto at V-Acquatics. Some people have said this is a long day but it was just right for us. We also used Lomas in the lobby to go to Xel-Ha. We felt it was pricey at 199 USD each (including swimming with dolphins but excluding the photos) and a whole day there was perhaps a bit too much. We took ourselves to Playa del Carmen via the collectivo as well. We had no problems with any of our trips. Our best day was Chichen Itza and we would have liked to have spent more time at Vallodolid.

The Spa:
We had intended to have a couple's massage but we cancelled this to do more excursions. We went to the hydrotherapy on an overcast day, which was alright, nothing special really. The spa is pricey though, and I would say that after two weeks walking a mile along the beach each day, you don't need a pedicure or cellulite reducing wrap!

Other guests:
Yes there are a lot of guests from North America and Canada escaping their winter, and who can blame them. We met Gary and Christina from Alberta, Senior Clingon (strange young chef travelling on his own from Canada- what a mistake to make at a couples' resort!), Brian and Laurie from Michigan, and some others whose names we did not catch. Our UK based network included: Jay and Michelle, Joanne and Mark, Dave and Marie, Mike and Veronica and the couple from Formby. We all had a blast!

Location:
It is a small resort, but it is kept very clean and well looked after. They are big on sustainability as well. The resort is immersed into a very well maintained jungle environment. There are several swimming pools, some busy, some quiet and chilled out. The beach is fine, the sea is safe and there is an artificial reef. It is not ideal for swimming but great for a paddle and watching the fish around your feet. The sand is coral based and white. There are pieces of coral further up the beach. There are activities like kayaking and snorkelling (equipment provided free) which this beach is perfect for.

Overall we had an amazing time. It was just what we wanted. The worst part was having to come home. This place is magical, exceptional and thoroughly relaxing. I have no idea who those people were who complained about EDSS, and I also wonder if they stayed at the same resort as us! We would love to go back one day and we have already recommended this place to some friends. We just were disappointed with Thomson and cannot fault anything about the hotel at all. We miss it so much already.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new block beyond level two have a guaranteed ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Fabulous resort & vacation. A small, couples only resort. Very romantic. Gourmet food, beautiful, relaxing beach. The staff were very friendly. The spa was excellent and state of the art. Very clean resort. Overall, a wonderful vacation. Would absolutely go there again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 mi away
Porto Bello Hotel and Residences
Porto Bello Hotel and Residences
#15 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9 reviews
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#56 of 395 in Riviera Maya
1,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
#1 of 462 in Riviera Maya
723 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £253 - £784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing