We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Nearby Hotels
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Maya Beach(Puerto Aventuras)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
US$594
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$438
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
US$472
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LM by Inmense(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,132)
Filter reviews
9,132 results
Traveller rating
6,449
1,736
547
239
161
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,449
1,736
547
239
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgourmet pubseaside suitesbeach bedsklay talayswim up roompersonal conciergeseaside marketmain barour honeymoonpremium blockroom servicenaay spaguacamayas barhidden beachfour posterjacuzzi bathswim up bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,090 - 5,095 of 9,132 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I and another couple stayed here Jan 20 to Jan 31. I have been to a few resorts and El Dorado Seaside Suites is now my favorite!! The resort itself is the perfect size and a beautiful. The canopy of trees gives it an intimate feeling and it's lovely to walk through during the day. Very pretty. The resort is nicely lit up at night as well.

Room - We stayed in the premier building. The room is very large, very clean with everything you need. The spa bathroom is lovely.

Food - Amazing. That sums it up. There is so much to choose from, and the presentation is beautiful. Have fun with this, try new things. You won't be disappointed! You must try the lunch bbq, always a great selection.

Beach - not your typical "beach". It is narrow, but offers beautiful views and snorkeling right there. There are beach beds and loungers.

Activities - I had read some reviews that say there is nothing to do at night. This is NOT the case. We attended shows, themed dinners on the beach, and enjoyed live bands. Most were very good. During the day, there are several activities going on in different areas. There are boards throughout that will have these posted. The entertainment staff work hard to include everyone and ensure a great time!!!

Staff - The staff is what sets this place apart from the rest. They are welcoming, friendly and work very hard to make your stay special. We had a mix up with our room service one morning (no big deal, it happens), that evening we were sent champagne and desserts to make up for it. I was blown away!! I want to give a special mention to Gracelia and Miguel at the premium pool. They were the reason this became our favorite spot. They felt like great friends by the time we left. Guadalupe in housekeeping kept me entertained with the towel art i found each day! Thank you!! Seth at the Italian restaurant was fantastic. There are so many great staff members that stick out, unfortunately I am terrible with names.

The only complaint i have is the towel game. This has nothing to do with staff or the resort itself. In order to get on the beach, be prepared to be up early for the mad dash. By 6:30 am beds and loungers are almost full with towels. Same goes for the pool. Now if this isn't bad enough, then you can sit and watch a lot of these sit empty all day long. ALL DAY LONG! People, if your not going to be on using these seats until 4 pm, don't save them. It's obnoxious and rude. We did remove towels to let other guests use chairs that were still empty at 4 pm. As well, you cannot possibly lay on a bed and sit in a lounger at the same time. Why are people saving both? Please have courtesy for other guests.

We will definitely be returning to this resort. It exceeded my expectations in every department. It truly was our best vacation yet!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sharrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have returned from yet another fabulous week at our favourite resort. We are never disappointed when we are here, it is the most relaxing resort we have ever been to. The staff of course are just the best- all so nice and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. We were in the premium suites this time and I must say I was a little uneasy since the last time we were there this area was just being built and to be honest it did nothing for me. Well, was I wrong to even judge the place before it was finished - it is so beautiful and private. We are really beach people but I can tell you that we did not spend one day on the beach other than our daily walk. We totally enjoyed the pool area and hope to stay in that area again. The lunches at this area were really awesome and convenient, but of course we did go to the Sandwicherie and Vida Garden for lunch also. We like all of the restaurants for dinner and have never had any complaints about the food or drinks. I do agree with the other reviewers that if there really is a policy for long pants in the restaurants (or at least dress shorts) then it should be adhered to, we always come prepared to dress up for dinner every nite - its such a gorgeous atmosphere, why not. We play tennis every morning and then look forward to the rest of the day - what more could you want. We will miss Augustine at the bar in Vida Garden, Graciela at our pool bar, Oscar at Sandwicherie and Cynthia at the front desk. We didn't make it to the spa this time but we are for sure coming back and the spa will be on our list.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2,687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Spent Christmas at El Dorado Seaside Suites in Mexico and it was magical. We arrived on the 18th Dec and has amazing weather. Check in was quick and easy and then taken to our room 3106. Room amazing, large bed and Jacuzzi made it. Our bags arrived in a matter of minutes. Looking out of our room you could see the sea and it was really quiet as near the end of the resort. Our Concierge Alejandra was such a great help and always had a smile and chat for us. If you go, speak to your concierge as they can sort anything out for you, not just complaints. Spent most of the day lying on the beach and it was so peaceful and not crowded. My husband spent his time scuba diving and used Dive Mike who picked him up and dropped him off at the resort.
Food - I have to aviod gluten and the staff were excellent, they made it really easy for me to select food. There is so much choice but during the day we had breakfast and lunch eating at the White Gazebo as was right next to the beach and outside, Brenda made sure we were looked after. Service was brilliant throughout the resort. We had one night were the service was not great and we complained and was asked to go back in a few days which we did and was treat amazingly.
Christmas Day was lovely lying on the beach and Santa wanders along for photos.

If you want somewhere to relax and forget about the outside world this is the place to be. Staff so helpful.
DO NOT go to see about saving money of your next holiday as it is a con and they want £12,000 for a timeshare type deal.
I do not have a bad thing to say about the resort and will go back again

Room Tip: We got a sea view and was lovely as only a minute walk from the beach. Block 27 has the White Gazebo right outside so think it could be noisy. We had no noise in Block 31
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mad_as_cheese72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife Veronica and I stayed at the EDSS from 14th January for two weeks and were fortunate to meet Yvonne and Tino (see previous report - Yvonne S, Croydon) with whom we enjoyed a Tequila or two (thanks Tino). We agree 100% with everything that Yvonne has written and would like to add a few items of our own to her review.

We stayed in room 602 on the top floor of the new block and the view was amazing. The room was HUGE as was the bed which was queen sized and could easily sleep four (no, we didn't). The bathroom was very well appointed with his and hers sinks and a self contained shower room that was approx 4 ft x 5 ft. The shower was always powerful and there were no issues with hot or cold water as you sometimes find in Caribbean resorts. The bath was a hydro version and two would fit in easily. The under floor heating in the loo was a bonus! The balcony was large and had two chairs, a table and bed!

We flew from Manchester and upgraded to the premium section of the Dreamliner. The seats are large and comfortable with more leg room than other jets we have been on, but one issue is the fact that the T.V. is situated in an armrest and has to be lifted out to watch it. This means that if the person next to you wants to go to the toilet, you have to stow away the T.V. so that they can pass. This is a minor irritation though as the rest of the flight was excellent.

As Yvonne has said, the takeoff and landing are so quiet as to be remarkable. On the outgoing journey the sun was shining through the extra large windows on our side of the aircraft, no problems though, as you simply adjust the dimmer switch under the window which dims the window so reducing the sunlight glare.

The food is the usual Thomson standard though and is over reliant on cheese, which if, like me, you are not a cheese eater, the meal becomes something of a main course only. On our return journey we found that the pat of butter supplied with the main meal was rancid and when we brought this to the attention of a member of the cabin crew she managed to find some, taken out of one of the crew’s meals, that was OK. However, when we were served our breakfast meal prior to landing we were served another pat of rancid butter. All in all though, we both felt that the overall premium experience was worth the extra.

Cancun Airport arrivals was awful. There must have been six or seven flights arriving within a short period and the authorities had insufficient staff to cater for so many people arriving at the same time. It took us about 1.5 hours to get through passport control and when we finally got through to luggage reclaim, the cases from our flight had still not started to come through. Another 30 minutes later, now with cases, we made our way to the coach transfer only to find that it was now raining (we landed in bright sunshine). It is 1.5 hours to the hotel and by the time that we had arrived there, we were in the middle of a tropical storm that lasted most of the night. Fortunately, the hotel provides umbrellas in each room so these things must have occurred previously.

The staff has to be the best aspect of the hotel. Wherever you go, no matter who you meet, everyone says ‘Hola’ and smiles. They go out of their way to please you and no request is too large or small to be resolved quickly for you.

A big thank you goes to, Aaron in the Arricifes breakfast restaurant who was the most accommodating manager we have ever met (guest note: if you like hash browns you have to ask for them). The restaurant is both self service and a la carte and the omelettes here were to die for. Blanca the hostess and Wilberth the waiter were also most helpful and we particularly appreciated the plate of pastries with a chocolate message ‘safe trip home’ written on it, which Wilberth and Aaron presented to us on our last morning.

Elmer, the barman and Luisa and Estela, the beach waitresses at the Los Cotorros bar, near to where we sunbathed daily, always supplied us with drinks on a regular basis without us moving from our sunbeds. The drinks were all top shelf and Elmer even had a bottle of Chivas Regal as part of the all inclusive package, however, he kept this under the counter and you had to ask for it. One day he ran out of Chivas as Lief and Annika from Sweden, who we met at the bar and are now good friends, had just polished off his last bottle and no more was available until the next day (thanks Lief).

At the Garcitas bar we met Graciela, Margarita and Miguel who were the friendliest and most accommodating bar staff, in fact once they knew your favoured drink you didn't need to ask for it, it just magically appeared in front of you. On our last day Graciela and Margarita made us some lovely ham wraps to take to the airport as they knew how expensive the airport food could be and we really enjoyed them. It was a lovely touch, many thanks girls.

It was my wife’s birthday whilst we were there and I spoke to our concierge and asked if they could arrange a bouquet of flowers for her special day. For $50 not only did they deliver a fantastically presented display to our room but Abelardo, our room boy, placed balloons all over the room and made a three tier cake from towels, held together by champagne glasses, which looked fantastic and was placed on the bed for when we returned. There was also a bottle of ‘champagne’ in an ice bucket and two glasses. Veronica was so pleased. A big thank you to Patricia and our other concierge (I’m so sorry that I have forgotten your name) and Abelardo, who decorated the room, always keeping it spotless whilst leaving beautiful towel art on the bed each day.

As Yvonne says, the food was amazing. I don’t think that we have ever been to a hotel with such good food and we have been to Sandals, who could learn lessons from EDSS on how to prepare and present quality food.

Our favourite was also La Vida grill with La Carreta (Mexican) a close second and Klay Talay (Asian) third. We thought that the Mia Casa Italian was overrated, especially as the Arricifes becomes an Italian restaurant in the evening and there was usually a thirty minute wait for a table at Mia Casa.(They give you a ‘bleeper’ and ask you to go for a drink until your table is ready).

We only tried the Sandwicherie once and were amazed to find it doesn't do sandwiches. Nevertheless, there always seemed to be queue of people for this one so we only ate there once. It was OK but there were better options.

The gourmet pub is nothing like a pub and the menu we found confusing. The food was good, although our impression of fish and chips and theirs differs considerably.

We did not use room service although the people we spoke to that had used it spoke highly of the service levels.

We know that it is something of a contentious issue with reviewers of EDSS but we come firmly down on the side of those who say that if the management say that there is a dress code for dinner, it should be adhered to. We don’t like to see girls in skimpy shorts, people eating whilst wearing baseball caps, men with shorts and flip-flops etc. during dinner. If there is a rule, they should enforce it or remove it.

We only went to Piccadilly Circus (the theatre) on two occasions and the entertainment was good, however, the theatre is more like a church hall and doesn't accommodate that many people so quickly fills up. The real action takes place at the Guacamayas bar where we saw a couple of live bands who were very good. The bar team here has to be the most hard working of any we have seen anywhere. They literally never stop and are constantly remembering orders from two or three customers at a time and always get it right.

We booked a massage at the Spa and although it appeared expensive (about £110 each) it turned out to be the most amazing day. We didn't just have a massage, we were taken through a series of treatments including, stream room, sauna, plunge pools, hydrotherapy, exfoliation and then the massage followed by the relaxation room. Altogether we were there for about four hours and came out feeling fantastic. We highly recommend the service.

If you like Palm Trees this resort is the place for you, they are literally everywhere. We felt that they had actually taken over the resort to the extent that areas within the complex were almost dark during the day. The hotel’s Eco policy is to be commended but may be a little extreme in some areas.

The beach gave us mixed feelings as the part in front of the main block had been eroded by previous hurricanes and was now replaced by a sea wall and an array of large sand bags so no swimming was possible here. Further down the resort was a beach that was quite nice but was narrow and always busy but at least you could swim here. This was the most disappointing aspect of the resort.

We sunbathed near the Los Cotorros bar which was towards one end of the resort and next door is the Hidden Beach Resort which appeared to be owned by Karisma and is a Naturist hotel. There is a large fence separating the two resorts and although the Naturists can come in to the EDSS (providing they put clothes on) you have to pay $100 for a day pass to enjoy the naked facilities next door (that’s what we were told by our Rep.) should you wish to do so. We had great fun sipping our cocktails on our beach bed regularly watching the guests from EDSS come casually walking past us as though taking daily exercise and then sneaking a peep through the fence when they thought no-one was looking.

The weather spoiled our first week at the resort as, apart from the tropical storm, the afternoon clouds came across each day and it became quite cold in the evenings. This all changed for the second week when the sun finally arrived on a full time basis and there was no need to wear a fleece in the evening. However, the resort does not have an indoor lounge bar where guests can relax with a drink if the weather outside is not so good. We appreciate that this could be a rare occurrence for Mexico but it’s something to take account of, especially as a lot of the guests are of an older generation and don’t always want to listen to live bands.

Apparently the hotel is building a new reception area away from the main body of the complex (near the Spa) and the current reception is to become another restaurant. This should hopefully reduce queues in other restaurants.

There are several WiFi points around the hotel and reception is available in-room also. The charge for this is $50 per week, $25 per three days or $10 per day. We paid the charge but found the reception at the beach to be less than adequate and complained. Frequent messages telling us that the server was unavailable appeared on our I-Pad and at check-out our complaint received a discount. The in-room service was OK though. We understand that from May this year WiFi will be included as part of the all-inclusive package.

We generally had a great time at EDSS, met some very nice people and came home thoroughly relaxed and a great deal overweight due to the excellent food and rather too much Tanqueray Gin, Tequila, Bacardi, Chivas Regal and Jack Daniels (not all together). Generally, the staff, the food, the accommodation and the ambiance far outweigh any negatives that might be picked up from this review and we would thoroughly recommend the resort to anyone who enjoys the luxuries of life as we do.

Room Tip: The new block has excellent rooms and amenities and rooms above the third floor have views above the palm trees to the sea. It seems that if you are in a lower level room the palm trees block a good deal of natural light.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank michael_boshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

What is better than a 5 star adults only all inclusive with 7 restaurants "à la carte" restaurants without reservation? I don't know! Good food, great service, amazing food (they have a Gourmet food policy), very relaxing vacation! The rooms are well furnished, very clean and the bed is soooooo comfortable! The fact that it is not a big hotel, 280 rooms with so many restaurants and no limit to how much food to order makes it even more amazing!
Would definitely go back for another week of heaven!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojoben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews