We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel, but be careful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, but be careful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned after 14 days and can say the hotel is wonderful in a lovely setting. The food is superb especially the Italian and the viva grill. Drinks are always flowing, but not sure they are the best brands or quality even though they are advertised. The beach is small but adequate and the water is warm, shallow and calm. Have to get up early to reserve your bed approx 5.30am, although there are beds available, but these might not be in the best spot. Beach girls always attentive and offering you drinks. Small tips given, but not really necessary for top service. The downfall to our holiday was having someone enter our room and take money £160.00 from our safe. We were advised by a concierge to hide our safe key in the room so not to lose it, which we did to our cost. We reported this to the management who were very supportive and eventually refunded the money only after my husband had signed a waiver to say that he would not sue the hotel or the tour operator. After searching on the internet, we now know we were not the first to have this happen to, so just be aware. I must say that the chief concierge Sammi was very understanding and co-operative with our complaint, but nevertheless this spoilt the last four days of our holiday and we were not sorry to come home.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank kaz9wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 27 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,241
    1,509
    504
    224
    148
See reviews for
213
5,981
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We can't fault this hotel. It's amazing. We stayed for 7 nights for our Honeymoon and booked in the premium suites. I can completely recommend these, the space is unbelievable and the views are lovely!

As it was our Honeymoon we got a free upgrade with private dinner on the beach, special breakfast in our room and a massage for two (we did have to bring a copy of our marriage certificate and travel within 60 days).
These upgrades aside the premium upgrade is definitely worth it with this Hotel (the flight and upgrade with that is another story and one I'm taking up with Thomson).

Check-in at the hotel was really good, a separate room with a talk on facilities and a glass of bubbly! We were taken to our rooms by golf-cart and luggage brought up separately by bell-boy. Very good service in my opinion.
The personal concierge were excellent too and helped us with everything we asked, could not fault any staff.

Everything was fantastic and the service was brilliant, there are so many staff, waiting and gardening/cleaning etc. we couldn't believe but it really shows in how the whole resort is presented. The paths are clean, the pools are cleaned every day and the waiting staff are extremely friendly and polite (there isn't an expectation to tip but we did as they are really good).

There is a good selection of restaurants which are all good, though we did experience some poor attitude of our waiter in the Gourmet Pub but I think that was internal politics coming through! The food is good and they have a very good selection of drinks, there is a wine list for a surcharge bvut the house wine is quite nice. Basically it's excellent!

The weather was brilliant and we spent one day going to Tulum 70 pesos for 2 from the hotel and Playa Del Carmen 80 pesos for 2 from Tulum, both are worth visiting. We used the Collectivo which is the cheapest way to get around and it was perfectly fine. It's better to plan where you want to go the day after you get there and go early to avoid the rush!

The hotel's facilities are brilliant, something for everyone. We stayed to the pool and bar behind the Italian which is nice and quiet, and got excellent service which I presume was from tipping for it! There are some beach beds and loungers on the man-made bit in front of that, which is all really nice if you want a quiet day. Further down the man-made area breaks open for the pier and to the beach which is quite busy, there is the activity pool, volleyball area and large bar which is obviously for the more louder of guests!

An excellent hotel for any coupley trip and one definitely worth going to, we will again!

Room Tip: The higher the room in premium the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We just got back from a 5-night stay here...lovely rooms. If you're a pool person as opposed to an ocean person, book a swim-up. For those of us without one, it seemed like the pools were sort of exclusive, except the activities pool, which always had a volleyball net up (not such an 'oasis' feeling as I've felt at other resorts). If you like to go in the sea, this resort has a very calm, refreshing beach area, and if you bring some bread with you from lunch, schools of tropical fish will swim around you in the beautiful, clear water. It's really fun and not something I have found at other resorts. We were booked for four nights, but due to snow, we had an extra night there, and had to change rooms. The hotel upgraded us to the 5-story luxury suites. We really missed our ground- level ocean view! The 5-story feels like a hotel- true, you have more modern rooms which are brighter, and the sea view is unobstructed by trees and grounds, but there was something really charming and which felt like home about the less-expensive rooms so close to the beach and the nighttime entertainment, which was pretty good. From our room, my husband and I could walk to the bar, get a drink and return to our patio and hear the music quite well. It was just what we wanted. The food ranged from excellent to fair. But, for an all-inclusive, it was certainly above average. I've read reviews that felt the included wine was sub-par. You have your choice of red, white or sparkling house wines. They were all excellent. I didn't miss a choice, but we did spring for a bottle one night, which was very good but only because it was different- the hotel wine is really quite good. The atmosphere and grounds are very romantic. The lobby, which is oftentimes the highlight of a hotel, where they try to make the big impression, is not worth mentioning, but it is likewise not a great indicator of the romance and attention to detail in the rest of the resort. The staff was amazing and friendly. The highlight of our trip was our couples beachside massage followed by a hydrotherapy experience at the spa. This was the best spa we have ever been to at a resort. It was well worth the money. If you like thatch roofs, Caribbean blue waters, natural surroundings, peace & quiet, free-flowing drinks and friendly service- BOOK IT. The pictures here are spot on. If you like them you will like this resort and eating beach barbecue for lunch with your feet in the sand. Lots of butterflies, iguanas, pelicans and tropical fish, too! It didn't feel like nature was squeezed out of this place. Which is the reason for the title of this review. HAPPY TRAVELS TO ALL!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view for sea bathers, swim-ups for pool-lovers :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

before I booked this hotel I read the review and made my own mind up as some people are so negative, as a well travelled person I don't understand why people complain pitty real pitty, nice clean hotel , good food and very friendly people , well organised tours and Itchen Itza is a must.

So please travellers think what you write your on holiday and so many people cant go on holiday like you . appreciate what you have life is simply too short...

;-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry2968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 27 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the beautiful El Dorado Seaside for a hot & sunny week. This was our 8th trip to the Mayan Riviera (our favourite AI vacation area). We have also visited Jamaica, DR & Cuba on various other AI trips. We've stayed at many of the larger resort chains (Iberostar, Palladium, RIU, Melia) and have stayed at both adults only and family resorts.

For this trip, we wanted a smaller resort with excellent food and service, lush grounds and the option to book a swim up room with lounge chairs in the pool out our room's back door. El Dorado Seaside fit the bill perfectly for the key aspects of what we were looking for. The grounds are mature, very well taken care of and very lush. The walkways are covered by palm tree canopies, beautiful bushes and flowers which just oozes with tropical charm. We loved marvelling at the Beaty of the landscape while walking throughout the resort. We also loved to small, quaint vibe this resort had - like we were at a resort on it's own private island. Very nice atmosphere to relax and enjoy.

Food
The food was very good and all meals could be a-la-carte if that's what you wanted. There were also options around the resort at breakfast and lunch for buffet/BBQ if you'd like something more low key. And of course, there was the room service option we used a few times for snacks and lunch. Our favourite spots to eat were Vida for breakfast, Sandwicherie for lunch & Mia Casa for dinner. All the food we had was beautifully presented and most dishes were tasty as well. We never had to wait longer than 10 minutes to be seated for any meal - most of the time we were seated right away. Wine was not the best & I wish I had known to ask for the included wine list; some restaurants offered better house wines than others. You will be given the additional cost wine list and steak/lobster menu at every dinner - we did not feel the need or desire to spend more money. We did, however, genuinely want to tip at every meal because of the attentive service, great atmosphere and good food. There is no feeling that you necessarily need to tip, we just felt like we wanted to. Dress code was resort casual during the day and mixed at night. Some guests were extremely dressed up (like formal nights on cruises) and others were just in dressy tank tops/collared golf shirts and shorts. My feeling is, you're on vacation so wear what you want. The resort seems to agree with this too - we went as both very dressy or more casual and were never turned away from a dinner. Mini rant: The guests that are complaining about how others should dress need to chill out! Everyone is on vacation here, so enjoy who you are with instead of trying to dictate what everyone else is doing or not doing. For those going on vacation here, I'd suggest a few light pants and golf shorts as well as some button up shirts for guys and a couple nice sundresses, dressy tanks/blouses and shorts/capri's for girls.

Rooms
We were extremely happy with our room choice. We booked a swim up room & emailed the resort 1 week before arrival to ask for a very sunny location. The general manager replied saying they would do their best to accommodate & they definitely did (thank you!). We were given a room in block 40, which had the sun on our lounge chairs all day & faced the large Giovatas swim up bar. We were celebrating a belated birthday, and upon arrival to the room we had balloons, music and a towel birthday cake to surprise. It was extremely cute & a very nice way to start off our stay. A bottle of chilled champagne was also delivered after we had settled into the room - awesome & the effort was very much appreciated! The rooms have been recently updated & the bed was very comfortable. All rooms have flat screens and DVD players as well as ample closet and drawer space. The safe was small and old - not digital, but lock & key so we had to carry around the key everywhere. No big deal, just not the standard of other resorts. The minibar has pop, crisps, water and beer (Tecate, Sol, Heineken, Coors light). At night, the rooms are a little dark, but the bathroom was bright enough to get ready for dinners (& has hair dryer + vanity mirror). We enjoyed having our own loungers in the pool and hardly ever went searching for chairs elsewhere until late afternoon. We heard the towel game was I full effect and all chairs + Bali beds were "reserved" with towels by 7am. That would have been frustrating, but luckily we did not have to partake in the game. We were able to find available beds on the beach in the afternoon when we did want to have a siesta in the ocean breeze...we just had to look for a few minutes to find the non-towel reserved ones.

Beach
If the #1 most important thing on your list is a beach that looks like it is from a Corona commercial, this is not the place. However, this is a good spot to try out snorkelling - we saw lots of people snorkelling & checking out the small fish off shore. The beach itself is typical of the area and is finely crushed coral. It is long & you can walk for quite awhile to the south of the resort (you will eventually get to the Grand Palladium). There are numerous Bali beds and beach chairs lining the thin strip of beach (it seems like each couple reserves 2 loungers and 1 Bali bed which leaves others without anything...small issue & not the resorts fault!). Off the shore, there are many areas with coral and a certain area where walking out is possible without water shoes. There are also the large sandbag "whales" all along the beach which are serving as artificial coral. These are breakers to protect the beach from erosion. They are not pretty and mar the view off the beach. The waterfront area with the wall is much worse looking than the far south of the beach, but from every area, those sandbags are very visible. For that reason...if you want unblemished beach views and pictures, this place may disappoint. Just a warning. These didn't bother us, but we have definitely stayed at resorts in the area with beautiful wide beaches & ocean views without sandbags.

Entertainment & bars
We generally kept to ourselves during the day, enjoying our private loungers and the close proximity to our pool bar. We tried all the daytime slushy drinks, although mostly stuck to Bahama mamas and Dirty Monkeys. Even the pool bars have brand name spirits like CM spiced rum, Smirnoff, JD, Bacardi, various tequilas, baileys, etc. All you have to ask for what you want! The pool bar usually got busier later in the afternoon which turned into a small pool party until closing (6pm) At night, Guacamayas is the place to be. It is the main swing bar on the beach. It is a gorgeous setting, both day and night. It does get a little crowded with limited bar stools at the busiest times. Service was quick and the bartenders learn what you are drinking quickly. I don't think we ever had an empty glass. They have a live band most nights around 9:30 with a quiet Dj afterwards. They also did a big beach party with buffet one evening. The one thing we noticed was, regardless of band or Dj, everyone seemed to play the same list of about 20 songs. And most of those songs were pretty old "Play that funky music" has been stuck in my head since getting back! It would be nice if they changed things up a bit. It also died down quite early for an Adults only resort. By 10:30 the bar was fairly empty and pretty quiet. Maybe we were there on a quieter week?! We wished there was a lobby bar or somewhere else to go at night and that some different music was played occasionally. We went to the Piccadilly theatre 3 times and saw some ok shows. The best shows were the Mayan ritual one done by an external company and performed on the beach as well as the fire show. They also set up the Super Bowl in the theatre with a buffet and the game playing on the big screen with Spanish announcers which was fun!

All things considered, we had a lovely time. The resort was perfect for what we wanted on this vacation. The grounds were incredibly lush, the service was top notch and the smaller size lent to the resort feeling more intimate. It is a very popular resort for weddings - and from what we heard, the spa and wedding coordinators did an excellent job! With the smaller size of the resort, it seemed to enable wedding groups to interact with each other a lot and make their own fun as a group, which I think was a nice touch to their vacations.

We would consider coming back and would recommend to friends looking for R&R and good AI food...as long as the beach views would not bother them. We do like to try different resorts, but this one was so great we might be back sooner vs later. I understand why there are so many repeat guests. Thanks to all the staff for making our vacation so wonderful!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We booked through First Choice and flew with Thomsons, (same company), not dreamliner im afraid, couldnt fault the plane or the cabin crew, quite a new plane, couldnt say the same flying back to UK, plane was showing its age. Nothing too much trouble for the cabin crew but then again we did fly premium which i would reccommend for a flight of that length.
We landed in Cancun it took approx one and half hrs to clear immogration, loads of flights landing at same. We booked a private transfer through Canada Transfers, im glad we did, we were at the hotel approx 2 hrs before the tour bus arrived at hotel, i have done a seperate review for Canada Transfers, who were outstanding value. We found the transfer guy, taken to bus, met with cool towels and cold water, trip to hotel was uneventful.
We arrived at hotel, luggage looked after by the bell boys, glass of champagne whilst checking in, which was painless, once checked in we were taken to our roof on a golf cart and bell boy carried cases up 3 flights of stairs. We were in room 4121, top floor which was great, good views all around, Jaccuzi in room, robes to hand, fridge full of beers, soft drinks and watwer, also snacks, you can tailor the contents of your fridge if you so want, the room was right across from the new theatre Picadilly Circus and next to new premium block, dont really see what all the negative feedback ref premium block, we didnt find it obtrusive at all, once we had settled in we went for a walk to try and suss things out.
The beach area was good, the drinks service on the beach was second to none, well done the beach staff, snorkels and kayaks free hire if you want them. The only complaint i am going to write about is the bgeach bed situation, if you are not up and down by 0700 hrs at the latest you have no chance, some selfish people actually had a beach bed and 2 sun loungers, not nice, i spoke to the concierge about this and she said if the people are not back within an hour remove towels from beds, easier sadi than done, that is the only moan from me.
We also spent a bit of time at the Premium pool, most people are under the impression that it is for premium visitors only, not true, the staff there were brilliant, Graciella and Miquel take a bow, service brilliant, 2 more devil insides please, you can also get light lunches there, which are superb.
Restaurants
Our two favourites were Kalay Talay and Mia Casa, the food was outstanding, oriental and Italian, Vida garden grill was also first class, Mexican was good, a lot of people who reviewed it didnt like it but no complaints here. The gourmet pub was a bit out of sorts, only ate there once, food was ok but the menu was confusing, if they go ala carte it would be a bit easier to understand. The Sandwichere was ggod for lunch, gourmet burgers mmmmm, BBQ on the beach for lunch was superb, great choice every day. My favourite place for breakfast was Ariciffes, you had a choice of buffet or menu, try the eggs benidict, to die for, the staff were outstanding, thanks goes to Aaron the manager and my fav 2 waiters Fernando and Gabriel, champagne or mimosa for breakfast without asking, take a bow guys.
The bars were pretty good, the main bar is Guacamayas but there are other bars dotted around the place, every pool has a swim up bar so no lack of choice.
It was our anniversery whilst we acroos so we booked a romantis dinner on the beach, we had it in the white gazebo, your own private waiter for the evening, food was grewat, there were a few add ons with the package like bottle of champers in the room, breakfast in bed the following day and a good deal on wifi, my wife and i were dancing around the gazebo to Lady in Red sung by the live band at the bar, people must have thought we were nuts.
Tips
We were not to sure about the tipping protocol, if you think you recieved good service tip them, at the bars tips of $1 dollar or 20 pesos were about average for drinks, i must stress that the staff were not expecting tips but were very grateful for them.
We met some good people on this holiday from all over, so hello to Sharrie and Rob from Millet Alberta also Jeff and Sue from England.
The best thing about this hotel was the staff and the welcome we got, would we go back again, yes we would without a doubt.
If you are thinking about booking it, dont hesitate, book it.

Room Tip: If you want a bed get up early. if you want a bit of piece and quiet use the premiun pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dycedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by how much we liked this resort. The property was beautiful with tons of palm tree gardens. They even use coconuts as borders for there gardens which eventually sprout and begin to grow into trees. ( I had no idea that coconuts were seeds!) The resort was quieter than we are used too. The activity pool had pool volleyball and water aerobics which is a great way to cool off from the sun. The pools are smaller than most resorts and poolside seating is limited and normally reserved early before breakfast. But the beach has plenty of clean, soft sand and beach chairs. They have break walls about 100' out in the ocean that break up waves and prevent sea weed and debris from floating ashore and also leave you with pristine clear Caribbean water and spectacular snorkeling.
The staff was flawless. From the grounds crew up to the management, everyone treated you like family. Like most commercialized resorts, most of the staff was fluent in English. The bartenders quickly became your best friends. William and Abraham always had our drinks ready for us as soon as the bar opened or if they saw us getting in the pool! The entertainment staff was Excellente! Alex, Cesar, Edgar and Lu Lu were always there to entertain! Housekeeping did a wonderful job on cleaning the room and making towel animals.
We stayed in a swim up suite which had great afternoon sun. The view from the patio looked out across the pool into a garden of palm trees and flowering bushes. Not many rooms had ocean views from what I could tell except for some of the higher level premium suites.
There were quite a few choices for breakfast and dinner everyday. Only a few were open for lunch and two of those were outdoors. You only needed reservations for one restaurant ( the Gourmet Pub). The food was quite nice and we'll prepared.
So here is our list of pros and cons:
Pros: beautifully landscaped, quiet, great staff, excellent nightly entertainment, adult only, awesome beach with clear, calm waters and plenty of beach seating.
Cons: small pools, no locks for safe deposit box at time of visit, no turn down service at night, swim up rooms in shade till afternoon, limited seating by pools, no room service box in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrose5019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
21.6 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,664 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#105 of 385 in Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
2.2 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing