We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic resort!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A fantastic resort!!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just had a week here with my wife and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.

Travelling Premium helps with the flight and had a private transfer as this hotel is just over a hour away from the airport.

We were welcomed with a glass of Champagne (well sparkling wine) on arrival which was much appreciated and were soon shown to our 2nd floor room in block 38.

Quick wash and change and we were straight out to dinner at the Mexican(where else!!) and given a table straight away. A lovely meal in a lovery setting.The Tequila tasting is well worth it. None of that salt and lime mularky.

All the restaurants were excellent, all the staff very polite and food always fresh and well presented. These are not huge portions but well prepared tasty food which is all you need when you are sitting down to breakfast, lunch and dinner every day.

There are only two bars but well stocked and never a wait to get a drink.

The beach is a little disapointing what with all the sandbags to stop it all washing away, but you can just walk straight into the lovely warm water (yes even in February!!) and there are a few fish for those snorkelers, but don't expect too much.

You can walk around the bay to the next hotel, but best not walk to the left as you will be in with the nudist's !!

Beach beds were magnificent being bid double beds which give plenty of shade and still just a few metres from the sea. You do have to get up early to grab them though, but well worth getting up for the sun rise anyway.

Steffanie kept us well watered throughout the day, starting at, i am afraid to say 10.00am, and soon learn't our names and had our drinks coming all day long. Brenda at the beach BBQ always welcomes you with a genuine smile.

The grounds are kept immaculate with loads of Coconuts palms and a few Bannana trees too.Never did find out what the little nail things are in each coconut palm. I did ask a gardener who was thrilled i asked and went on for ages explaining what they do but unfortunately i couldn't understand a word !!

The rooms are clean, well laid out and cleaned daily by excellent staff. New towel art every day. Wife a bit disappointed that there was no separate hair conditioner, but thats about the only gripe.

Overall, this was a lovely week away, excellent restaurants, no bookings required, excellent staff, ( i don't know how many times i said "Hola" in one week!!, and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 27 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,456
    1,549
    512
    227
    151
See reviews for
222
6,220
48
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heysham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Right from the off I want to say this is still a fab resort, you will receive excellent service, rooms, Food, branded drinks, numerous bars and be surrounded by wonderful gardens, excellent and clean pools and comfortable day beds on the beach. The 2 main negatives as a returnee are one, the increased size of resort, the new block, which incidently doesn't impact on the look of the resort but more on the number of people now utilising all the amenities. The bars both day and night are busier, the restuarants are working at capaicity, again day and night and this means you now do have to wait longer to be served or seated. I was told the resort are planning to build 3 more restuarants to cope with the new influx of clients. This will aliviate the wait but maybe increase the size of resort to the point it loses some of it's charm. Second down point for me was the fact the new block clients are differentiated by the use of Gold towels making this resort like so many others now a two tiered clientel in resort. I much prefered it when it was a level playing field for all. I definatley would use the Karisma brand again but not this particular hotel. I beleive I had the best of this resort 20 months ago...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a five day stay (Feb 19 through Feb 25) and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the Premium Suites furthest from the beach. I have zero complaints regarding the service, food, or amenities. The staff was friendly, the property was very clean, and we had some very good meals. We received great service from Lorenzo, Omar, Roberto, Freddy, and Anna. Just to name a few. I would add that the resort is very laid back with an older crowd for the week that we were there. I read a lot of reviews prior to going to give me a feel for what to expect. People need to remember that YOU make YOUR vacation. If you have a miserable time at this resort then it is likely you would be miserable at other resorts.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

If you are in need of relaxing, then this is the place for you. The grounds of this hotel are just impeccable. The bathrooms by the beach/bar extremely clean, all the time. Staff always greet with a smile and are extremely friendly. I felt that they went above and beyond to make you happy. The rooms we had (premium suites) were great. Very spacious and clean. All restaurants are A La Carte. If you enjoy wine, ask for the GI list (gourmet inclusive) which is a better selection than what they offer you at first. It was very quiet in the evening which we didn't mind, but if you want to dance in the evening, then you may have to go outside the resort. The beach had a few rocks but not terrible.

Room Tip: We stayed at the premium suites. The room was approximately 700 sq feet. Very spacious and you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mc Cordsville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The trip to El Dorado Seaside Suites was put together by our Beach Bum representative Lisa Zwiissler. The resort and grounds are beautiful. My favorite thing was the beach massages and use of the Spa. My least favorite was the narrow beach. The swimming area had more rocks than sand. Only disappointment.

Room Tip: We had a premier suite and was more than pleased with the amenities. Outside on balcony the full siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank kindyindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to EDSS (10-17th Feb) and when we arrived we had champagne, chocolates and fresh fruit waiting for us in our room.

Everything was fantastic. We never had to wait for a table and the staff couldn't do enough for us - our favourite was the Asian - they even remembered our names and brought us our favourite wine from the all inclusive wine list - you do need to ask for this.

The beach was a bit busier than last year but that wasn't a problem we managed to get a bed whatever time of day.

We had a swim up room and met up with lots of lovely couples from Britain, America and Canada in the afternoons for Spider-Man/Bumblebee drinks!! (You know who you are!!)

If you haven't got what you want all you have to do is ask and they will go out of their way to get it for you.

Thank you EDSS, we can't wait to go back again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Omg!!do NOT read bad reviews!these people are talking out of there behinds!we had a two week stay in the premium suites (6 floors) and it doesn't stand out that much at all.the entertainment was fab in the Piccadilly theatre lasts from 9-9.30-10/0.30 hardly kept us up all night and couldn't Hear any noise when we didn't go.

Caesar lulu & Diego are exallente! All the staff are so lovely always saying hello with big smiles, they all work extremely hard and why the hell are people moaning that not all of there English is that good enough?can these twits speak another Language enough themselves?!i know I can't so I think they are doing very well!Seriously people your on holiday relax and shut up moaning!

All the food was lovely looks small but very filling if your not satisfied you must eat like a horse!there is always room service if that is the case tho

The grounds are beautiful the beach is lovely if you go to the right of the pier we spent every day down there no probs at all!

The hotel is not as expensive if you book direct found out we'd of paid approx £1500 less so it's Thomson who are expensive will only use them for flights next time!
and as for the wifi again your at a couples resort says a lot if all you want is to have your nose stuck in a mobile or laptop all vacation! ;)

Yes you get loud mouth Americans but this is hardly the hotels fault,the Canadians are lovely and get us Brits humour and good fun to talk to

All in all a wonderful resort which I can't wait to return
Keep doing what your doing el dorado seaside! Our little bit of heaven we miss you already! :(

We will return ASAP :D

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dominique k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,065 reviews
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
2.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
18.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing