We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
livingston, west lothian
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

An hour from the airport, this hotel offers superb accommodation in perfectly tended grounds.
Only a stones throw from the beach it is the perfect location for lazy days at the white sandy beach or lounging around the pool.
You are instantly welcomed by the friendly and professional staff who make your stay very memorable by adopting the personal touch
The restaurants offer a wide range of foods to cater for every taste and is served by smiling staff.the portions are not huge, but you can order more than one portion of anything without issue. We had a veritable feast every time we went out.
The entertainment is typical of this type of resort and the animation team are excellent , inviting you to join in but also being respectful when you decline.
The drinks are of an excellent standard with all the premium brands available.
The beaches are nice with some great snorkelling areas and dipping bits, however they are in the process of removing rocks from the less user friendly areas of the sea.
I did observe several people wearing sea shoes, I , however did not and was fine with this.
Simply put this hotel is ideal for couples who like to be romantic or away from it all and not those looking for a lively holiday.
The bar at night is fairly busy and has entertainment of sorts and has a good atmosphere.
Dress code is typical for this gourmet type hotel but common sense prevails in most cases.
30 minutes from Playa Del Carmen , you can visit Coco,Bongos and 5th Avenue.
A word of recommendation for booking CocoBongos is to do this fairly quickly if wanting VIP ticket as all the hotels together only have 100 tickets and these sell fast. Other than that you will be stuck in the cheap seats which is very busy and you don't get waiter service .
I would definitely recommend this hotel and can only say that those finding fault are being extremely picky
Weather was great the whole week with only a few specs of rain which lasted minutes.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are slightly impaired by trees but you can see through them.Swim ups didn't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLH0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,534
    1,567
    514
    227
    152
See reviews for
227
6,311
48
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My now Husband & I stayed at the El Dorado Seaside Suites for 3 weeks from 03/04/2014 until 25/04/2014 for our wedding & our honeymoon. Here are just a few of the amazing things about El Dorado Seaside (if you have any questions about anything please feel free to message me)

* Dreamliner - WOW this plane is so wonderful, comfortable, clean, good entertainment, wonderful food & was a lovely touch that we had champagne & chocolates as we were getting married, also had a little congrats message pop up on our tv screens.

* Room - We stayed in room 4122 which was right opposite the piccadilly theatre, room was very clean & spacious. Jacuzzi's could do with updating but other than than no complaints. Bed was very soooo comfortable.

* Room Service - You must try room service, was to die for & the waiter comes to your room and sets it up on your table just like you would have in a restaurant. Really comes in handy if you have trips booked early in the morning as you can order the night before & book which time you would like for the morning

* Getting out & about - So simple & very cheap, always make sure you get a collectivo as these are safe & literally come past every 5 minutes along the highway. Just ask at reception if you are not sure which side of the highway you need to go for certain places.

* Restaurants - our favourite restaurant by far was the Mexican & the staff were fun & friendly. The italian (Mia Casa) was lovely food but service not great, always hand out buzzers & wait for about an hour each time we went & then slow service once in there. BBQ by the white Gazebo during the day is gorgeous, so much choice & the best paella I have ever had.
For breakfast we loved arrecifes (great freshly made omelettes) & Vida Garden Grill - You must try the french toast... its to die for!!
Overall would give 10 out of 10 for quality & vast choice of food.


* Staff - Well there are so many people who made our stay special & here are the names of the ones we would love to say thank you too & OLA! Jorge, Rolando, Ricardo, Jesus, Mr Lopez, Caesar, Isabelle, Diego, LU LU.
Every single member of these satff went above & beyond to make our stay so special & we didn;t even tip them until the end... that's what makes a difference when someone has made your stay so memorable because they want to not for money.

* Hotel Grounds - The hotel grounds were kept emacualtate! One thing that made us laugh is we thought the cleaners lived in the cupboards in the toilets as everytime you went in one would appear & say OLA! & start cleaning... very funny :-)

* Wedding Day - Our wedding day was the most happiest day of my life, everything from start to finish went so well & its all thanks to the amazing wedding co ordinators & staff at this hotel. Everything was taken care of from my treatments, hair & makeup in the spa to our wedding cake, flowers & decor. We just want to say the biggest thank you to Patty & Grace. There was not one single thing I would have changed about our day & if anyone has any doubts about getting married here... please don't! book it now... you will have the time of your lives!

* Trips - We done alot in 3 weeks, Deep Sea Fishing, Tulum, Xel-Ha Dolphin Swim, Speedboat trip, Coco Bongos, Coba Maya, Akumal.... If you love snorkelling one of the best places we found was in Akumal called Yal Ku Lagoon, costs 189 pesospp & you can stay as long as you like, breath taking place, amazing & plentiful fish to see.

I could keep going on about just how wonderful this place is, i seriously had the holiday blues when arriving back to England :-( I always said I would not re visit anywhere until I retire but my Husband & I have already said we want to go back for a wedding anniversary. The best holiday we have been on by far.

Room Tip: We had room 4122 which was right outside the Piccadilly Theatre on the 3rd floor. We had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Deniece D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

EDSS is the most romantic resort I've ever visited. With its numerous 2-person lounge beds scattered throughout the property, we lazed each day while being served cocktails by bartenders who were eager to please. EDSS is not your typical all-inclusive resort. The food is truly gourmet. The several pools were delightful, the spa was a real treat, the entertainment was fun, and the service was top-notch.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new high rise building, but rooms in any of the buildings would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastLaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had booked a two week stay end Apr/ beginning May at the EDSS, a swim up suite (and upgrade to Prem Econ on Thomson Dreamliner). Although we had to come home 4 days early due to a family bereavement almost everything was excellent. The only negatives being:
a) ignored once after I had booked a lunch table and people arriving after me being seated before me
b) a 2nd barman is needed at the bar near the Mexican & Italian restaurants (service often very slow for this reason)
c) we probably saw more clod than sun.
But these are small points in comparison to the marvellous experience we had overall. It was meant to be the holiday of a lifetime and it was. Food excellent and portions not too big, staff so friendly and welcoming, room maid so lovely, local concierge - a new experience for me and she too was top rate, lovely size room. Couples only, no kids: great (pity about the occasional loud American). Would love to go back and finish the holiday.
Peter
PS Thomson were brilliant in getting us back early.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went on our honeymoon here in May and we were totally overwhelmed with this place. Its stunning. Everything was perfect from the rooms to the food! It was so clean and well maintained and the staff were friendly and could not do enough for you. We will be going back. The food was gorgeous no matter what restaurant we went into and the hubby was more than impressed with the waiters at the bar, no sooner had he finished his beer there was another one waiting! The beach butlers were brilliant too, we didn't have to move from our seats to get a drink. It was just the relaxing holiday we were after :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraStewart1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

El Dorado Seaside Suites is located in Riviera Maya, Mexico. It's an hour outside of Cancun and 30 minutes from Playa Del Carmen. We booked our vacation through Beach Bum Vacations (Sarah) and she took care of everything from booking our flights, shared transfers to the resort, and asking for an upgrade to a jacuzzi ocean view room. Since we also went during our anniversary window we also qualified for $750 anniversary/honeymoon package. This included free WiFi, champagne waiting in our room, a candlelit dinner on the beach, a couple's massage on the beach and breakfast prepared by the chef delivered to our room.

After reading several reviews of the resort on TripAdvisor I was really worried about the beach area. They had to put in artificial reefs a few years ago because a hurricane came and destroyed part of the beach. I was worried that it was going to look really ugly but I found that it really didn't bother me at all, especially in the area of the beach where we spent most of our time. We never had an issue finding a place on the beach either. I've read from other reviews that people never could find beds. Just make sure and walk a little further down the beach to find one. I loved that we had a beach waiter/waitress who always made sure that we had plenty to drink. Pedro really took care of us and even made me special drinks.

I'm so glad we choose this resort over some of the other ones because of its size. There are tons of huge resorts down there but the smaller size was perfect. Granted, it did feel like a long ways from the airport but I think that it was worth the drive. I never felt that there were tons of people and you could walk everywhere without having to take a golf cart. I loved that it was an all-inclusive adults only resort too. It was nice to be able to choose from 7 different restaurants for dinner and if we didn't feel like going anywhere we could order room service any time. All of the food that we had was really good and we never had to wait long for it to arrive. They also make sure and ask if you have any food allergies. If there is something you want just make sure and ask. They made iced tea for my husband even though they didn't have any on hand.

If you're considering staying here I'd highly recommend it. They definitely spoiled us and the customer service from everyone is amazing! You will leave feeling relaxed and like royalty!!

Room Tip: 2615 has amazing ocean views but you can hear the band and DJs performing in the bar until midnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank melmel645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just arrived home after a lovely 10 day holiday at EDSS. We stayed in a premium swim up room (Room 101) and whilst a few people have suggested they are not worth the extra, in our opinion, they definitely are (there is a massive difference between a standard swim up room and a Premium swim up room- it's a completely different building and pool). We could spend our mornings sat on our terrace with what felt like our own private bit of pool with access to a quiet swim up bar and when the sun disappeared at about 1.30pm we went for some lunch and sat on the beach in the afternoon. We never had a problem getting sunbeds on the beach, usually right near the main bar, so not far to stumble after a wonderful lunch in Sandwicherie. The room was fabulous with lovely furnishings and an amazing bathroom and very comfy (and huge) bed plus a day bed on the terrace and loungers in the pool.
The setting is wonderful with lovely gardens which are all lovingly tended and various wildlife included tropical birds, lizards of all sizes, and quite by surprise one evening a pair of raccoons ran past us near the beach.
The restaurants were good with our favourite being Vida Garden Grill where we ate breakfast most mornings (the French toast is amazing) and had a few evening meals. We enjoyed the Gourmet pub but it has a fairly strange menu and you are presented with an appertizer which includes half a boiled egg and a couple of pickled onions on a cocktail stick - very fancy!!! It was really nice ordering from a menu and having food served to you rather than the usual all inclusive all you can eat buffet. However whilst the food is to a decent standard, if you regularly eat out to a reasonable standard you would not describe the food as gourmet.
As everyone says the staff are really good and there is loads of them so there is always someone to ask if you need anything.
The ambience of the resort is really relaxed and there is no one main area, it is broken down into smaller more intimate areas so you can have different experiences throughout your stay.
A couple of things that they could improve on - there is no proper orange juice, it's a sweet orangey flavoured drink, premium rooms could do with a bottle of wine or spirit to avoid having to carry drinks from the bar up to your room in the evening, be a bit more forthcoming on which wines are available with dinner and a bit more choice of English speaking channels on the TV.
However this is minor stuff and we had a lovely time in a very relaxing resort and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Premium swim up rooms were fantastic - but not room 102 - it was next door to us and was in shade ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,243 reviews
0.6 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
18.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,734 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing