We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wrong choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wrong choice”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked this as we had previously stayed at el dorado royal (sister hotel). Well this hotel does not compare in any way shape or fashion. Entertainment in evening was non existent even though they advertised beach party this was cancelled on both weeks due to wedding party and lack of staff. We spoke to entertainment staff but they stated it was management decision. It felt as though wedding parties had priority over normal guests. Beach is awful, take some type of shoe you can you in sea very rocky and shallow. Drinks not great either. Most of the restaurants serve up the same food for example similiar menu in garden grill and gourmet pub. We both had upset tummy for a good six days after speaking to other guests they were complaining of the same. Janet the beach waitress was an absolute star. If you get to the beach any later 8am then forget getting a sun bed they all have towels on, although their is a rule regarding leaving belongings on beds nobody takes any notice and impossible to get around the pool.

Highlight of the holiday : coming home
This feels such a negative review, I'm very disappointed however I cannot fault their sister el dorado royal as this is a 5 star hotel and seaside suites is a meagre 3* at the best.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 28 December 2016
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,442
    1,544
    512
    227
    151
See reviews for
221
6,203
47
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Me and my wife have just returned from seaside suites were we celebrated 25 years of marriage, upon arrival our hoilday company (Thomson) had not told them that we needed a ground floor beach front apartment due to my wife needing a walking stick to walk they gave us a first floor apartment which we declined it after waiting around for 1 hour at reception they found one for us only for us to see a white wash wall of the beach bar which was being renervated.
The wardrobe in out room had mould on the walls which made our clothes smell, the food was ok but only 5 restaurants open at night.
The beach was not all that good which was a let down would I rate this as a 5 star hotel (NO) more like a 3 star but I must admit the staff were brilliant, polite and friendly

Room Tip: The swim ups rooms look very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank skelly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 28 December 2016
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent 2 weeks at this lovely resort at the end of May. Like everywhere it is always easy to focus on the things that maybe aren't 100% and there were a few things here that annoyed us but overall we felt that this was a beautiful resort and very well maintained and we will definitely come back.

Reception: Excellent welcome after what seemed like the longest transfer ever. Welcomed with a nice cold drink and towel and processed very quickly. We were sent ahead to our room and our luggage was delivered about 20 minutes later.

Room: We stayed in the premium block on the 4th floor and although we wouldn't have chosen this room (would prefer old style but none available) we were really impressed. The room was MASSIVE as was the bed. The bed was the most comfy I have ever slept in. The entire room was well equipped and apart from requesting extra hangers we did not require anything and nor did we have any complaints.

Beach: We did find the beach a little disappointing but we were away of the issues before travelling. The first week we struggled to get a bed without being up before 7am but the second week you could still get one after 10. We didn't really spend any time at the pools so can't really comment.

Food: The food was lovely. Don't get me wrong, it's not 5* restaurant quality but it is well above what you would expect and indeed normally get at an all inclusive resort. For us we liked the Mexican and also the Gourmet Pub. The Pub menu is very odd and takes some getting use to but for us the best waitress on the entire resort works in this restaurant (Sandra). She goes about and beyond.

Bars: We spent quite a bit of time at the main bar, always quick service and loads to choose from.

What I will say is that when is rains they really let themselves down here. We has 3 full days of torrential rain and the place really struggled to cope. The phone lines went down many time for hours at a time. Not able to order room service. Also, quite a few of the restaurants desperately need their roofs fixing as they were leaking. Vida was particularly bad.

I could probably go on for ages but all I will say is that for the money we paid this resort excelled and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yoda04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

At best this is a average hotel in Mexico. There is nothing special about Sea Side especially the food they call Gourmet! Our stay started with us not having the room we booked and a having to deal with the rudest, meanest concierge "Crystal" we have ever had and I can go on and on about her but I won't. If we never return to this place it will because of her and the way she treated us.
On the other hand we had the best butler we've ever had. His name was Candido and he was outstanding in every way. Our first night we eat at the Pub and it was so good we decided to eat there our last night, what a mistake that was. Our food was burnt so bad plus we had to wait over 45 minutes for the main course. The other restrauants are so so at best. The BBQ on the pier wasn't to bad.
If your a beach person who likes to swim go elsewhere as this place is shallow and full of rocks.you had to watch where you were entering the water, the good thing was the water was crystal clear and able to see fish without snorkeling. The ride from the airport is about 1 1/2 hrs.
If we do return it will be because of our butler not because of the concierge!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 28 December 2016
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I know I know that many people have enjoyed their holiday here but really we were not that impressed. The grounds are lovely and the gardeners work really hard but would def. not put this as a 4/5 star hotel, There were falling coconuts from the palms which would and could cause serious injury we found the staff to be robotically functional reminded us of the step ford wives. After a sudden downpour the stairs and the stairwells we slippery and left soaking wet even though the cleaners were sheltering in the block. The pools are too small to accommodate the amount of guests and have no shade unless you chose a cabana and then need to be up at the crack of dawn to get one. There are three beaches one shingle on OK and the other one disgusting. The only time the beaches were cleaned was 30 mins before a wedding other than that bits of wood, seaweed galore just floating around. The Gastro Pub which you have to book is a joke, all the restaurants will ask if you have any allergies and I do I am highly allergic to Fish and what doe they serve yep Salmon and Anchovies. When I advised the waiter that I could not eat anything on the chopping board yes that's right a chopping board I was given 2 slices of plain toast. Nice.The beach waitresses are a joy especially Grace who was a diamond. When we arrived our concierge asked if we were celebrating anything else other than my birthday and we advised yes our anniversary, The Thomson rep Sam is lovely and asked that our room be decorated for my birthday Nothing doing but the cleaner did do a nice birthday cake towel art. Having been lucky enough to have visited the Caribbean several times I can honestly say that Jamaica would wipe the floor with this hotel, Food is mediocre at a push and we survived on room service burgers and the Mexican. The flight over was comfortable on the new Dreamliner but the Gatwick crew were awful. we upgraded to premier and can honestly say the journey outbound was a waste of money but on the way back we had a crew from Manchester what a difference service was excellent. The weather was very kind to us but would never stay at this hotel or Mexico ever again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3212 overlooking the beach nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bjlarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 28 December 2016
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we want to assure you that all your comments are welcomed and a key part of the improvement of our resort. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced any inconvenience during your stay, we are a 5 star rated resort so we are disheartened to hear your recent stay was not reflecting it.

We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer Services at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can review your feedback together and to assure you this is not the standard of our hotel, we will be glad to host you again in our hotel or any resort by Karisma to surpass any past experience.


Best Regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
adurre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Needed to get away to rest and recharge. Stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful time.
Not really into all inclusive resorts but this one was the exception. Go to spa its top notch, beautiful facility and talented staff. We plan on returning soon.

Room Tip: Get up early to get a good spot on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
199 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We travelled in September and when I remember it, it was bliss. My advice is remember to take your marriage certificate because it would be a real shame to miss out on the free extras you get when your on Honey moon. You arrive to a refreshing drink and a cloth to cool you down. Our suite was the bomb. It looked even nicer than the pictures the bath had been run with bubbles and a bottle of bubblie, petals sprinkled on the bed and our names on the TV. There is a great choice of restaurants, I'm a self appointed foodie. I did find the Asian disappointing and I hate to say the Mexican also. It was wasn't bad just not amazing. I think they cater to try and please everyone. The food is not spicy, if you like it hot ask for the hot sauce. The romantic beach dinner was just that very special. The breakfast were divine. my favourite place to have breakfast was on the beach, even if it rained a little it didn't spoil it. I recommend the Bistro for dinner. I really enjoyed yoga at the end of the pier in the morning a great way to start the day. The gym is small but you can do a basic work out. The Spa is one of the best I've been to. What an experience. You really must go, I even managed to drag the new hubby along and we had a great time. The resort its self was small enough not to feel to commercial but big enough to have your privacy. If you don't like walking they have carts to drive you around. We stayed in a beach front suit which was lovely to hear the trees and the Ocean. We found all the staff extremely helpful and friendly. They really try to think of every thing. They have reading glasses and wraps for the restaurants. The selection of drink in the bars and the cocktails were excellent. My hubby had Jonny Walker black label every night. Yes you should tip after meals and drinks so try and get a lot of $1 notes before you go. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NumNumNads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,033 reviews
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#88 of 391 in Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
2.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing