We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have just returned from an 11 night break at the fabulous El Dorado Seaside Suites, what can I say, from reception to the beach and all the restaurants in between, everything was no problem and my pleasure, the staff and quality of everything was definitely number 1. If I tried really hard to fault anything, there are a few rooms that could do with a little TLC and one time when I ordered room service it was 5 minutes late, but hey it was great when it got there, and who cares when you are in such a lovely place, did a few trips, a bit expensive but again, if you are there its got to be done, swimming with whale sharks was a real highlight!!
Overall, the resort was very clean, extremely well staffed ( big thanks to Graciela for sorting us out every day with drinks on the beach) and a pleasure to visit, we will definitely return again.
Dave and Claire

Room Tip: Beach view suites 2905 is where we stayed, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,240
    1,509
    504
    223
    148
See reviews for
213
5,980
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I rely on trip advisor heavily when we choose accommodation for our holidays and as usual it didn't let us down. El Dorado Seaside Suites was absolutely fantastic! We celebrated our wedding anniversary while we were there and felt spoilt rotten, we received such a warm welcome with chilled champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries in our room on arrival, not to mention the amazing 'towel art' and petals on our bed. We also had a romantic breakfast in our room including champagne as well as complimentary massage each and a romantic 4 course evening meal in one of the beach bungalows. The staff were brilliant and bent over backwards to see that our every need was taken care of. The food was superb in each of the restaurants although the Asian restaurant was our favourite, absolutely amazing! We aren't very easily pleased sometimes and have been lucky enough to have stayed in some great places but this was one of my favourite places so far. The beach is so beautiful and the sea is like bath water, we only left the resort three times during our 2 week stay. We visited Tulum which was ok....very pretty, we went to Xcaret which was absolutely brilliant and got to swim with Sea Turtles and Manta Rays...highly recommend this if you are going to do an excursion, it included a delicious lunch and lots of free entertainment ( watching dolphins, flying Mexican men, zoo, snorkelling through bat caves etc) the last thing we did was go shopping in Playa Del Carmen which was good if not a bit too hot and bothered. To be honest, the resort was so comfortable we had to make ourselves go out! The only negative thing I can think of is that we do like to watch a bit of TV before we go to sleep and English speaking programmes/movies were minimal however, the bed was ridiculously comfortable so didn't stay awake for long anyway!! We had one of the swim up rooms and would highly recommend them, it was fantastic to step out of our room in the morning to our own sunbeds on the edge of the pool which was quite private and we were close to the swim up bar where Abraham kept us supplied with lovely cocktails. We made some great friends and enjoyed socialising around the pool bar. All in all I was sorry to leave having had such a wonderful time. If you are considering this hotel, don't hesitate!!! You will have a fantastic holiday....we did!!! N

Room Tip: Definitely go for the swim up if you can, it's great having your own sun bed next to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Gaggini2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Propietario at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We went at the beginning of June and it was great! Kind of a long ride from the airport, but well worth it! Staff was friendly and always helpful, food was great and never became monotonous. We had a great time and would go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kendra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton,Lancashire,England.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here for new year to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. What a let down! Travel agent said we would be blown away but unfortunately the weather nearly washed us away for four days. No acknowledgment of our celebration until last night an invitation was punched under our door inviting us to book a candlit dinner on the beach, too late we were leaving the morning after. Very expensive wifi not even free in public areas. Food ok but very repetitive after two weeks even though this is 5 star a la carte and not buffet style. Lovely BBQ on beach for lunch but only on three time for whole stay and had a tendency to close earlier than advertised. Drinks in main bar hit n miss and premium brand spirits limited to two bottles a day for the bar so when they'd gone they weren't replaced until the next day. No facilities for tea and coffee other than an awful vending machine with loss it cups, not my idea of 5 star!! Most annoying part of holiday was the daily search for a sunbed even though my husband walked down the beach at 8am there wasn't an unsaved bed in sight, surely the hotel know how many guests they have and how many beds are required. Entertainment ok when in bar area but felt like a church hall in entertainment room so only went there once.
On a more positive note it was a relaxing holiday and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Just a shame the weather let us down because there's nothing to do in the rain and the cost didn't reflect the service and standard of the hotel. Wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor suite to enable you to sit outside away from trees, don't bother paying fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NeilandClareWalmsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 8 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is our new June vacation spot. This is our third year in a row and each time we had a wonderful stay. Our room and butler service were perfect. The biggest downside was that the food and wine was not as good as in the past. The Mia Casa Italian restaurant was bad. The steak was overcooked and tough. The house wines were not good, they were much better in the past. When we go to a gourmet all inclusive we expect all quality food and wine. In the past that is what we got here at Seaside. Now they have dropped to an average all inclusive. I still love the Seaside and will return with the hope that they will improve the food and wine. I still recommend going there with the knowledge that they can only improve.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazsterlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 8 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The El Dorado Seaside is the perfect choice if you are looking for an intimate Mexican getaway. You won't find much shopping or a bustling nightlife here but what you will find is great service, a romantic setting, gourmet food, white sand beaches, endless drinks, and an empty cabana with a beautiful ocean view. Upon our arrival we were immediately upgraded to a nicer room. It had a great big jacuzzi tub and a nice patio. The room was well air conditioned and everything in it was functional and in good shape. I would recommend one of the cheaper rooms as we really didn't spend much time in ours. Why pay for a swim up suite when you have the lovely beaches and ocean right outside your door for free? The property itself is kept in immaculate condition and there are a plethora of restaurants and bars to choose from on the grounds, each serving its own unique cuisine. We were mostly impressed with all the food we ate here, with breakfast and lunch consistently being our favorite. It is pretty hard to complain when all the food and drink(alcoholic and non-alcoholic) you can eat is already included in your price. Don't worry about the resort skimping on the quality of food or beverage because it is all inclusive. The asian restaurant was our favorite for dinner, burgers or mexican was recommended for lunch, and the vida garden grill had excellent breakfast. The entertainment was better than expected. They had a live band every night as well as a Mexican fiesta on the beach, mariachi band, and fire dancers during our stay. Snorkeling, tennis, and workout facilities are also provided free of charge. We enjoyed snorkeling right off of the beach as we saw many colorful fish, eels, crabs, etc in the coral reefs. You don't have to worry about crowds here either. We never had to wait for dinner or look far for an empty beach chair or cabana. It is the perfect spot for a romantic getaway with your significant other.

Room Tip: Go with a cheaper room. They have everything you need and you aren't here to spend time in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DavidSaltLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at The El Dorado Seaside Suites this June and loved it. We had a beachfront jacuzzi suite down at the southern end of the resort. If we return (and we certainly would like to), I would request a room at that end. It is quieter and more private down there, and the resort is small enough where everything is still a short walk away. Also, the beach is much nicer at that end, with sandier entrances into beautiful, clear water. There are beach beds scattered all up and down the resort's coast, and many were empty. There are also small bar stations along the way, which the servers use to get you drinks while you lounge.
There are a few pools, though we only used the main one, which is where most of the activities take place. The entertainment/activities staff there is super fun, and they offer games almost all day long, without being overbearing or obtrusive to those who just want to relax in the pool. My husband really enjoyed water volleyball there, and we certainly made good use of the swim-up bar! There is a rather minimal amount of loungers and beds around the pool, and unfortunately we found that couples would claim not only a bed, but two loungers for themselves as well, by scattering around their belongings, and using the bed to relax and the loungers to sunbathe. Needless to say, it was pretty difficult to get a spot if one didn't get up early and claim one. Whenever we couldn't get a spot, we instead took a nearby bed on the beach (these are much more abundant), but still used the pool, and never had a reason to worry about our belongings.
The main bar at the resort is open until 2 am and for a small resort, it was surprisingly hopping! There was almost always some kind of live music, a good crowd, and great service. One can choose to sit at the bar or lounge on low chairs or beds. Top shelf liquors choices are available at all bars.
The food is good, though I wouldn't call it "gourmet." The only restaurant that requires a reservation is the Gourmet Pub, and we made reservations at our concierge on the same morning as the night we ate there. It's nice to dress up a bit for dinner, which we thought made every night a little more special for us, though the resort does seem to be pretty lax about the dress code (we saw men in shorts). Restaurant service is exceptional. The menu at the The Sandwicherie, the lunch spot by the main pool, is pretty limited, but we really, really enjoyed their waffle fries and ice cream sundaes. There is also a grill on the beach right there that serves a buffet lunch everyday. The breakfast buffet is average. The room service menu is available 24 hours but is very limited.
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I miss the resort already and wish I could go back right now, and I only live 20 minutes away, in Playa del Carmen! :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank animalhousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Sp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
21.6 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#56 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,663 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#107 of 385 in Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
2.2 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing