We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What an amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at the El Dorado Seaside Suites in Mexico from Monday 7th July to Friday 18th July for our Honeymoon. We booked with Thompson and flew on the Dreamliner. We were slightly disappointed as we were delayed two hours on our outbound flight and an hour and a half on our return. With it being a ten hour flight it added on a considerable amount of travel time and we were not kept in the loop with regards to updates.

Our arrival at Cancun airport was a little chaotic and my tip is to make sure you have a pen handy to fill out the forms you are given when you get off the plane!

Once we transferred to out hotel from the airport we knew we had picked an amazing place.

On arrival at reception we were given cold face towels to cool off and a refreshing cold drink shortly after we were checked in at reception and take to our room. Our lugguage shortly followed. The staff at this hotel make it the success that it is.

We booked though Thompson and had upgraded to the new Premium Suites, we are on the top floor in room 618. The view from the balcony was breath-taking and we were pleased that we were a little way from the beach as it was lovely and quiet.

The Premium rooms were fantastic with an amazingly comfortable bed, fridge/mini bar which was re-stocked daily, air con and an amazing bathroom with a double jacuzzi bath :) The wifi was great in the Premium Suites.

On arrival you are given a towel card which you take to your concierge and they will give you towels for the beach you can change them as often as required.

There is a new beach BBQ at El Dorado, which was not on any of the literature. It is a buffet style with a great selection of food. The Sandwicherie is a lovely place to eat with lots of choice but both of these location did not follow the dress code, many people were in their swim wear.

We tried some of the other restaurants for evening meal, such as the Mexican, Italian and Vida Grill and all were lovely. Room service is a must as well, feel free to ask for other items that are not on the menu, they are very flexible with orders.

On our Honeymoon we booked a couple of Trips. The first to Coba and to visit the ruins, it was a great day out and gave us an insight into Mexican culture by visiting a Mayan family and their home. We swam with dolphins at Delphinus which was an amazing experience but a little expensive. Akumal bay and the snorkeling with turtles was a great morning out, reasonably priced and an amazing experience.

All in all and amazing Honeymoon which has given us memories that we will not forget!

Room Tip: Pick Premium Suite for a quieter area and amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,241
    1,509
    504
    224
    148
See reviews for
213
5,981
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is by far the best hotel in Mexico. The whole experience blows you away. From the service to the food to the laid back entertainment to the friendliness of the staff. This is a place where you will not want to leave. With a beachfront location and beachfront rooms available at a supplement you cannot get any better than this. I cannot wait now to try the new Karisma property in Croatia.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I am going to the El Dorado on the 7th of July I hope it is as nice as every one is saying and was wondering if the entertainment at night is good, I was also wondering how far it is to the town and how much i should expect to pay for a taxi, just got back from the El Dorado seaside suites Mexico
when I read the reports I thought the owners mum and dad had written them but when I got there it was all it claimed to be, A bit dated but a five star, every one of the staff seemed like they wanted to be there, the boys at the beach Pablo and Alberto were great I had to give them Boxing lessens every day they love boxing, I was asking about the taxi fares don't bother get the bus I think it was about two pounds to get to get to playa del carmen and about four pounds to get to Cancun, fourty pounds in a cab, I was a bit disappointed at chicen nitser, [not to sure how to spell it] Xaret was worth going to

Room Tip: always book your restaurant, stick with vida
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RegandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We just returned from El Dorado Seaside Suites after an 8 day vacation. We had a terrific time on the property, thanks to all the work by Haley at Beach Bums. Thanks to her help, we were able to make our 20th anniversary extra special. We ran into a few minimal snags upon arrival but Haley took care of everything immediately.

I was very impressed with the staff at El Dorado. Every staff member is professional and will go out of their way to make the experience "excellente"! We enjoyed the variety of restaurants on property and of course, the view was simply beautiful.

I would definitely return to the resort but personally, would likely choose a little bit cooler time of year. Oh, and I will never travel without calling Haley at Beach Bums first. She made sure this trip was one we would remember for years to come!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Vcasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We renewed our wedding vows on the beach and it was amazing and meaningful! The trip was so easy thanks to Amy from Beach Bum Vacations! She even scheduled the wedding and the flights perfectly! Service was awesome and we felt pampered and relaxed! I did get roped into a time share/loyalty rewards talk, which was frustrating! The rest was a dream come true!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Jenny58123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Spent 10 nights here on honeymoon.

Wet face towel and champagne on arrival followed by a quick check in and the buggy ride to our room.

Food is mostly a la carte other than the odd restaurant - Visited each restaurant atleast once, favourites were the Italian and the Mexican for evenings. The salmon in the italian and the fajitas in the mexican being really good. We also enjoyed the oriental restaurant which offered things like sushi and chicken teryaki and a seafront balcony view.

Breakfast in Aricefes was really nice with a huge selection of stuff, fruit, smoothies, bacon, sausages, egg station, toast, muffins, crossaints, bagels, pancakes, french toast, cereal and loads more.

Lunch, we didnt generally eat much lunch but did like the beach BBQ (12-3) and the sanwicherie for burgers and snacks.

We spent most days around the activity pool with the entertainment staff who were fantastic, Ingrid, Aldo, Kathy, Jessica, Rodrigo and Ivan. Water Volleyball at 11 then Water Polo at 12 then Crazy games. Great fun and kept everyone laughing all day long.

I would advise if you want to go in the sea to buy some sea shoes as the rocks are pretty sharp and would really cut into your feet if you ventured in without them. The sea is really warm and clear and you can hire kayaks for free and do the snorkelling for free which are both great.

The evening entertainment is okay, nothing spectacular (the Michael Jackson dancer was abolsutely knackered he must be kicking on 60?) but otherwise it was fine for watching with a nice drink.

Spent most evenings in the swing bar socialising with people we met who were all lovely (mostly americans) with some english and scottish.

This hotel is great and I would highly recommend it to all my friends. The waitiers and bar staff cant do enough for you and the food and drinks are great. We nearly managed to drink our way through a pretty substantial cocktail menu!

If your thinking about booking this hotel, just book it! You wont regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite which had a hot tub and a huge bed with double sinks in the bathroom. Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jamouse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chatham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks at EDSS, we did enjoy the holiday but there were a couple of things that for me were a let down. Firstly although there are a few pools but there is a distinct lack of space and sunbeds to sit around and therefore we had to use the beach... Whilst this was not a problem I do prefer a pool to dip in and out of .
In the evenings there is really only one bar to go too which often has live music..nice but..there is not enough seating space and it is extremely hot. A nice air conditioned area with comfy seats would be nice for those that just want to relax after dinner.
However though we wouldn't return we did have a good time ..the staff couldn't do enough and the rooms were great.Big thankyou to our concierge Rachel and Abraham at the bar.

Room Tip: We had a standard Junior suite which was lovely but at this time of year a swim up pool would defini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JanYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 8 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
21.6 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,664 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#105 of 385 in Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
2.2 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing