We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel will take some beating!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I've just returned from an amazing 10 days in Mexico and central to such an enjoyable holiday was the El Dorado Seaside Suites by Karisma. They have thought of everything to the finest detail in order to make your stay as perfect as possible:-

Rooms - Spacious with TV, DVD player, daily stocked refrigerator with branded soft drinks and beers, coffee machine, I-phone docking station, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box, double bathroom with Jacuzzi, king-sized bed and lounge area and even the balconies have a double bed and seating area. The concierge is only a phone call away and any requests/room service requirements are with you within 20 minutes. Also, rooms are fully A/C with modern systems that are eco friendly.

Food - Breakfast is buffet style with everything you can name - from freshly made omelettes to French toast, from sausage and bacon to pancakes and waffles. For lunch there's also the choice of the sandwich bar that serves some awesome burgers and pizzas or you can hit the beach BBQ that is just as fantastic. For evening meal, unlike most 'all inclusive holidays' - there's no buffet style queuing for food but 5 different cultural a la carte restaurants to choose from where I experienced some of the best meals ever (Each evening meal would probably cost you £30+ per head back in the UK) .

Drinks - All branded and free (With exception to bottles of wine/champagne and/or tequila that you can purchase at evening meals)

Pools - Your choice of 3 depending what kind of experience you want - 1 has entertainment throughout the day, the other two are more relaxing and peaceful but all have bars with poolside service.

Service - Flawless - wherever you look while walking the grounds you will see at least 2-3 staff at any one time cleaning. All staff appear to enjoy helping you and will go above and beyond to help with anything.

Beach - although the sand is coral (The only (very) minor fault I could find with this hotel - but who am I to blame the sea!!), there is a more sandy beach just up from the resort yet, back at the hotel, there are sun beds and 4-poster sun beds along the sea front. Good opportunities for kayaking (Provided for free), and snorkelling too.

If you are looking at this hotel then book it! After a few days of staying here I even had to double check everything with my rep - The place was so good that I started to question myself if there was a catch and was I incurring any additional costs but no, not even a single penny/peso to settle on my departure.

I really can't fault this hotel and will definitely be making Karisma Hotels my first point of call when travelling in future!

Just a few helpful hints if you are going...
1) There is a dress code for evening meal - men need a collar and formal shorts/trousers with no sandals or flip flops. Women need shoulders covered and appropriate footwear (i.e. no beach sandals or flip flops).
2) The hotel is very eco-friendly and has a strong recycling ethos. Therefore guests have the opportunity to donate their read books/magazines and left-over sun/after sun creams / insect repellent for other guests to take for free.
3) Get the right change for tipping. The service is so good that its very hard not to tip. However, I only ever had 50 or 100 pesos on me at any one time. Therefore you end up tipping £2.50 - £5 at each meal - times this by 3 meals a day and suddenly you have spent £100 on tips alone. I noticed the American's were tipping around $3 a time which was about £1.50 in sterling.
4) Now book it! You won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: I booked a junior Jacuzzi suite but was upgraded to a premium junior sea view suite on arrival (Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Webman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,452 - 4,458 of 8,905 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Another reviewer commented that the food was often not as described or how it had been served previously (apparently TA rules prevent me from quoting the review?!) This exactly sums up our issues with EDSS.

The resort is beautiful, it is currently undergoing some renovations and one of the blocks is closed for building work, the lunch time BBQ seems to be being renovated and the bar in the centre of the resort is being rebuilt.

Don't think that this means you'll be living in a building site, because the renovations are for the most part well hidden from the guests but it does seem to place an additional strain on the staff.

The main issue was food. The food is excellent quality and very well presented, but this resort markets its self as "Gourmet Inclusive" - Gourmet it isn't!

They have an excellent chocolate brownie which has 3 different names in 3 different restaurants, and they don't seem to know that a Caesar salad should have croutons. In the Asian restaurant, we had Tempura Bananas which turned out to be fried banana so I assumed they didn't know how to make Tempura batter, but the next day for lunch I had a Japanese burger which came with Tempura Carrot in perfect batter. There was just no consistency to the food and it was impossible to predict from the menu what you might receive. This does not alter the fact that the food was excellent, and had they not styled themselves as the Gourmet resort I wouldn't mention it, but honestly the food at Sensatori (run by the same company) is better although the wine list at EDSS is more extensive.

One other gripe, there was no buffet or "snack bar" at lunch time, so your only options were to not eat or have a sit down meal taking 60 minutes away from sunbathing.

The staff are without exception excellent, and were coping well with a full resort. The standards are similar to other premium complexes in Mexico and the lack of kids is a bonus!

Most of the guests are newlyweds or approaching retirement (probably because ones in the middle have to travel with kids). The resort has a chronic shortage of sunbeds and most guests are forced into playing the "towels on the bed" game by 6am if you want to have somewhere to sunbathe.

I would recommend it to any wine enthusiast. I'm not an expert but their Sommelier seems to know their stuff - If food is your thing you might be better looking at Sensatori (but then you'd have to put up with kids!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Scooby7UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Propietario at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at the resort for 2 weeks, we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and nothing was ever to much trouble.

The eating places were good, our favourite was the pub gourmet which you have to book with your concierge.

We did the anniversary package which had extras included such as candle light dinner on the beach and massage. Both of these were excellent, definitely recommend you upgrade the massage package this was brilliant.

The accommodate was very clean and tidy

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JGlenister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was our third trip to El Dorado Seaside Suites and we were overall very happy with our experience. The staff continue to do an amazing job of making us feel at home. Special thanks to Guadaloupe, Omar, Edgar, Wilberth and Marie Carmen and all of the others who took care of us. Wilberth, at Arricefas, remembered our names and what we liked to drink!
The room was comfortable and always spotlessly clean. All of the restaurants were enjoyable with one exception. The Pub (new this year and requires reservations) was a let down. We felt our service was very rushed, the menu is somewhat confusing and the food was just ok.

The beach is nice and the water was warm, the fish were friendly and we met some lovely people from the UK. All in all, Seaside Suites is a great place for a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: We were in Building 30, which is at the quieter end of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank barbandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

So far this place has been wonderful. The service is first rate and the scenery is amazing. Make sure you go see Alberto at the beach dive shop for your dive trips. He is really friendly and accommodating. Also make sure you have a Dirty Monkey and ask for an extra shot of rum. We are in beachside suite 3201 which is the perfect spot if you want to hang out on the beach. Book now with no regrets!

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Airtejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Me & my partner have just returned from 2 weeks here. The holiday couldn't of been any better, it was amazing! The flights & transfer were smooth, checking in a little slow but soon we were wisked off to our suite. We stayed in a ocean view junior jacuzzi suite which was massive. The bed was very comfortable & the jacuzzi was very relaxing & refreshing even if it took some time to fill. The restaurants were all excellent especially the gourmet bistro pub & Italian. The staff couldn't of been more helpful or friendly, the weather was beautiful everyday with only 1 down pour of rain 1 evening. The entertainment staff were full of energy & great fun around the pool, especially BELLY FLOPS! Only thing to be aware of is there's a dress code in the evenings which is a shirt with a collar for men. But the staff seem to pick & choose when to abide by this rule so be sure to pack some collared shirts guys as you might find 1 evening your turned away if not wearing 1. Overall a fantastic dream paradise holiday which we'r missing very much & will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GemmaAndMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon in the premier block swim up our room was 105. Room is tastefully decorated and very large. We got sun from sunrise until 1.30ish. After this we headed down to the beach and always managed to find a sun lounger.

I will start with check in, this was fine we were greeted with a cold towel and drink. However we were asked to sit at reception amongst 7 other arrivals, after travelling for so long there was a long wait. The receptionist would come up and say whos next?! Which I found unfair as we all arrived at the same time but we were 2nd last so around a 30 min wait before we were selected and checked in.

As part of our honeymoon package we received chocolate covered cherries, a bottle of champagne, breakfast to our room usual cost is $110 (room service is free but you can book upgrades) free couples massage on beach which we also upgraded to the top massage package at their Naay Spa at cost of £80 (massage was amazing but my legs were sore the next day as it was a deep massage) candlelit dinner on beach which we also upgraded to have more private and have more choice on menu (we met a racoon that night which came right up to us, plenty of wildlife such as iguanas, snakes, butterflies, wild cats, frogs)

You get a selection of beer, juice and water everday as well as crisps but only 2 flavours given. Would prefer more of a selection. Toilettries everyday, fresh towels twice a day! you get a card for beach towels so no need to bring one with you.

Our favourite restaurant was Vida, food for breakfast, lunch & dinner were always amazing and staff so polite and helpful. Mexican and Italian food was also very good!

I want to point out the bad experiences we encountered

in the Italian they did try a hard sell of wine from their list and even tho my husband said no the waiter still kept going on for over 5 mins even said you can buy a bottle for $20! decided to leave the tablet with menu and went on a bit which spoiled the mood. Since we hadnt even ordered our drinks! Was very awkward asking for house wine after this. You get house wine included which suited me fine as only had a glass or 2 with my meals each night.

The portions are small but we met a couple at the asian restuarant and they advised you can ordered as much as you like, (double portions. 2 starters, 2 mains etc) we saw them do this and we decided to follow. It wasnt until the rude concierge asked why we were doing this to which we replied we were still hungry! I was very annoyed and embarassed he done this since we spent over £4200 to
be there! We arent big drinkers more foodies so we wanted our moneys worth!

We spoke to our personal concierge who apologised and advised we could order as much as we wanted and this should not have been said, we did not eat in there again after that! But all other restaurants were accomidating and gave bigger portions.

We tried the Gourmet Pub which you need a reservation for, starters were good but our main was burnt!

We ate in Sandwich Bar for lunch a couple of times, food was great but service was really bad! Took 10 mins from being seated for waiter (we has the same one but will not name) to take drinks menu then another
10 to receive, He would then leave and come back to take our food order! We saw others seated after us getting their drinks and first course before we ordered our drinks. It wasnt busy around 4 our couples so hard to believe we were actually forgotten about since the same waiter took us to our seat. We sat for 25 mins with our empty plate I wanted a dessert but got tired of waiting so we left.

Most people stick to dress code others not. I was fine with peoples dress code at sandwich bar & bbq on beach but not so nice when you are in a (classy feeling) restaurant and
people come in with see through beachwear, hats at all times of the day!

The main bar has great selection of drinks (usually very strong so dont need a lot) music a little dull and gets boring listening to same songs after 2 weeks but you can request songs for DJ to play. Music can get quite loud felt sorry for people in surrounding villas as music played until 2am. We did not hear any noise from Premium Suites.

Saw quite a few younger couples who paired up with other couples (going to dinners) they just met which we found odd for such a romantic setting. Guests were friendly and was nice speaking to others for a chat but we kept mostly to ourselves.

Entertainment we found to be very good the Rock Show and Regee band were excellent.

Beach is beautiful can see the fish in the water, it isnt deep
which I liked as not a good swimmer but is a bit rocky.

We booked our excursions through Lomos much cheaper than Thomson we did Coco Bongos (highly recommend) swimming with dolphins (was great but customer service awful! Expect to pay £100+ for photos on top of £200 you have already spent for 5 hours only 1 hour in pool with dolphins) and Xcaret which was great but very long day, I would advise you miss the evening show and get a taxi back we left half way through as we didnt like it)

You do not have to tip if you dont want to but my husband and I decided we would as we didnt feel comfortable not leaving one (unless we got bad service or buffet we didnt tip) $1-$2 for breakfast, $2 for lunch $3-$4 for dinner, $2 for cleaner everyday, $1 per round of drinks at night (we didnt drink very often or a lot 8 drinks max!) but we did find we got a better service than others for doing this at one point we had 2 drinks each while the couples next to us had none! We spent approx £800 in 2 weeks for our entire stay which we didnt find too bad as this included 3 excursions, our upgrade packages for our free honeymoon services, and tips.

Few tips -
- If its your honeymoon or anniversary show proof as the free perks were amazing.
- If you are celebrating any special occassion tell them at check in and they may upgrade your room for free! (We were told this when we booked but didnt want to risk not getting a prem swim up as it was our honeymoon)
- If you can go for premium swim up well worth the extra money (would not recommend villa swim up as they all seemed to be in the shade)
- dont be afraid to ask for big / double portions if you are usually a big eater
- tip if you can the staff do work very hard
- take note any services such as spa, dinner on beach, good wine can seem expensive but worth it so I recommend you take enough spending money to cover this.
- gift shop is ridiculously expensive, $8 for a bag of doritos! If you smoke get your cigarettes on the plane £50 for
400 l&b or else its over £6 for 20 in gift shop!

The hotel was truely amazing, beautiful grounds, mostly attentive staff, plenty of food & drink, free room service (which we used a few times and always excellent!) so happy I picked this for our honeymoon and would 100% recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank stacey1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
22.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#53 of 403 in Riviera Maya
1,542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
Hidden Beach Resort by Karisma
#1 of 489 in Riviera Maya
758 reviews
3.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £249 - £680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing