We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 August 2014

First time in Mexico and all inclusive we are normally happy ramblers so the change was welcome lovley hotel very chilled no noise great beach welcomed with a cold towel and cold drink gratful after a 10 hour flight and 1 1/2 hour transfer. Room was lovley jaccuzzi air con (which you are grateful of soooo humid) towel art every day with mini bar re stocked every day.

People work so hard here gardens are well kept beach is raked every evening and sea weed taken out of the sea every day in the morning beds are stripped and replaced with clean sheets daily evening entertainment fab many thanks to Ivan Rodrego Louis Jessica you are such lovley people thanks for sharing your stories with us about you home life hope you al do well.

Food
Breakfast
Ok very amaerican not traditional Mexcian and the end of a 10 day trip was glad to get away from it became boring seems catered to the tourist who goes there i get that but theres only so much eggs benedict thin bacon acrid sausages you can face frist thing in the morning waiter service excellent special thanks to Yridiana Anna Cosme rolando you were so great and attentive.

Food
Resturants
Most are good ala carte best experience Gourmate pub worst the Mexican reason for this was not the food but the attuide of the waiters example my husband wanted to use the bathroom there are not toilets in the resturants you have to go out side being new on site we didn't know this the waiters decided to not tell him where the toilets were and decided to play a game for over 1/2 hour we got the impression that they did not like english people the manager was most rude if i were his manager i would have shown him the door this was also apparent on Mexican night (which is highly reccomended only real mexican food you will get here) as he ignored us for the whole evening talking to every other table apart from ours.

Hotel Reps

Sam and Henrique
thanks for keeping us in our rooms and on site however thanks for not responding to our phone call when the hotel reception tried to call you as we were told by you so many different departure times all we had to go on was the bell boys for coach departures and word of mouth from 5 other couples who had been told by you different information where were you we had a 36 hour delay sent to cancun airport which was shut for 5 1/2 hours before take off with no access to water or food or information ADVICE information from reps are not good check a few days before check out and KEEP CHECKING changes all the time left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing. OUR EXPERIENCE

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,310)
There are newer reviews for El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,866 - 3,872 of 8,310 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked the el dorado suites for our honeymoon from the first minute we arrived to the minute we left we had the time of our life's.
On arrival you get a welcome drink and cold flannel the check In process was really easy and simple. The bell boys then took us to our premium suite which was amazing really spacious bed was huge jacuzzi and a minibar that was restocked daily.
All the restaurants are really nice we liked the Italian the best but tried them all and didn't have one bad meal throughout our 14 day stay, food at dinner time is also of a high standard a few restaurants are open for lunchtime there is also a beach BBQ and la sandwichre which was really nice.
Room service is also a must for dinner or breakfast really fast delivery never had to wait longer than 30 mins.
The beach was lovely had plenty of beds and nice four poster beds on the beach which were nice for abut of shade. The staff on the beach were very good always polite and also serving drinks whenever you ran out didn't even have to ask for a refill, the beach is kept clean all day as there are a team of guys that work very hard all day to keep the beach clean.
Evening entertainment was good live bands etc fire show on beach which was good.
We went to chicen itza which is definitely worth doing also coco bongo which is a definite you won't regret it.
When we booked through thomson we told them it was our honeymoon and they said we would get all the extras but on arrival the hotel didn't know so take a picture or a copy of your marriage certificate and show this ( we got a photo send over) then you will get loads of extras we got candlelit dinner on the beach, special room service breakfast, spa treatment which was fantastic.

We would like to thank the el dorado suite and all there staff for making our honeymoon so amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just had a fantastic fortnight at this hotel and is the best holiday we have had. The check in was really speedy with a welcome glass of champagne. Our room (611)in the Premier Suites block was lovely with a huge bed,bathroom with walk in shower as well as a jacuzzi. There was a balcony with a double sun bed as well as chairs. The view of the ocean was amazing!
Each block has a concierge service which works brilliantly where you change your beach towels, book appointments for the spa etc.
The staff at this hotel are absolutely delightful- everyone says hello. The walk in restaurants work really well- we didn't have to queue once. We had really good food in all of them especially the italian, Mexican and Asian. The "Gourmet Pub" isn't gourmet and some work needs to be done to make the menu more accessible- it's described as Tapas but the portions for some of the first courses are far too big. We had some good food there though.
Dress code- the hotel does have a dress code for the evening although they don't enforce it. Having said that most people,especially ladies,make the effort.
Tipping- it is not mentioned by the reps but there is a culture of tipping in Mexico. We would tip on the beach and in the evening and also our maid on a regular basis because our room was always spotless.
Breakfast was usually at the restaurant on the beach and there was always lots of choice- freshly made omelettes were particularly good. We often had lunch at the same venue which had different buffet choices every day- Sunday was particularly good for fish.
The beach is beautiful white coral sand fringed with coco palms. The sea is shallow and great for snorkelling- you can borrow kit on the beach at no cost. The waitress service on the beach is brilliant with a non- alcoholic cocktail of the day from about 10.30am. The pools are lovely,most of which have swim up bars.
Sun beds-.there is the usual problem of guests reserving sun beds ridiculously early and then not appearing until 10am. Having said that,we usually managed to get one.
The spa is highly recommended - we both had massages and you are able to use the hydrotherapy pool and jacuzzis for an hour beforehand. As Thomson guests,we had 20% discount on treatments.
Candlelight dinners on the beach and in tree houses are very popular. We had a superb 4 course lobster dinner with our own butler all evening- it was fantastic!
Sam and Henrique,the Thompson reps, were so helpful. My husband had left his camera charger at home and they did their best to find a replacement.
Entertainment is varied in the daytime and in the evening- the best night is the Mexican night with Tequila tasting,a lovely buffet, a mariachi band and dancers- great fun.
This was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had!

Room Tip: It is probably worth paying extra for a swim up room. The new Premier suites are lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank janeyaldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Went for 10 days and wished we'd gone for longer, relaxing without being boring. On arrival greeted with champagne and a cooling face towel while checking us in In minutes.
ROOMS: Spacious and comfortable with a jacuzzi, large bathroom with walk in shower, kept exceptionally clean on a daily basis. We requested one above ground level and it came with a large balcony overlooking coconut trees.
GARDENS/GROUNDS: Beautiful, colourful and kept very neat by the gardeners, saw staff work at night to keep them looking just so. Walking through the gardens you hear tropical sounds and see the wildlife that comes in from the jungle, we saw a baby monkey who's family live within the grounds, coati and iguanas a permanent fixture feeding on the plants and flowers.
BEACH: A bit rocky but with areas where you can swim comfortably, walk a few meters out passed the rocks and the sea is clear and safe for swimming. The beach is dotted with Palm trees, deck chairs and beach beds. We visited Akumel beach for the day, one of the best beaches along that coast and a short bus ride away. The swimming here is amazing and the best spot to see the large turtles and sting rays. You can hire a guide to swim out with you as part of a group or if a confident swimmer, go by yourself.
CONCIERGE: On arrival your given a personal concierge housed in huts dotted around the gardens close to your room. Nothing is to much trouble they go out of their way to make your stay special. Friendly, warm and professional available from 8am to help with any advice and information.
STAFF: Every member of staff is courteous,friendly and professional. They work hard and to very high standards, greeting you with an ' Hola ' whenever they see you.
FOOD: With five A la carte restaurants your spoilt for choice. We tried all of them and loved Vida, Italian Mia Casa and Mexican La Caretta . Vida does amazing breakfasts, a favourite was eggs served on a delicious banana bread with evening dinner equally delicious. Areffice restaurant also does a lovely breakfast with lots of choice. Although the restaurants serve smallish portions they are all four course menus and we were always full by the end of the meal, they don 't skimp on quality. The presentation of food is so artistic and something to look out.
ENTERTAINMENT: Evening entertainment is good without being loud,suits all ages. One evening they had a Mexican BBQ on the beach with a Mexican band and dance group. Another evening, a beach party with a live singer and dancing for all. Shows performed in the theatre were entertaining, our favourite was a Michael Jackson performer who gave a stunning performance.
SIGHTSEEING/EXCURSIONS: Lots to see and do, Turtles & Sting Rays, Chichen Itza, Coba & Mayan Villages and swimming with dolphins. Excursions with Thomsons very expensive, Lomas travel in the hotel was much cheaper as was the hotels snorkelling kiosk on the beach, both are safe as licensed by the hotel.
This hotel is well organised and professionally run, they go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. We were celebrating our 30th anniversary and although we informed Thomson of this when booking, they failed to tell us we needed to book a premier suite to benefit from the anniversary package. Even though the hotel was not blame in any way for the mistake When the concierge found out we had not received any of packages associated with special occasions the hotel organised a chilled bottle of champagne, a turn down service with decorations and a special breakfast in our room which was exquisite, a really lovely gesture. Cannot fault this hotel, the staff or the service, everything about El Dorado is bliss.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wiseoldowl378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Sorry for the late review we visited Sept 2013 and can honestly say best holiday We have ever had .
From the moment u get off the coach to the trip back to the airport its amazing
The Thompson staff are so helpful and the drawers of extra suncream and mags are a godsend
All the staff at this hotel make u feel so welcome whatever the time of day or night
We tried all the different places to eat for breakfast the beach buffet was our fav miss it so much
For evening meals we loved the English pub but book in advance
We did a few trips and a tip book from the lads off the beach so helpful and cheaper coco bongos VIP the way to go!!
The place was spotless and the beach and gardens were so tidy
This hotel was perfect in every way and we have both said if we ever get married this is our dream honeymoon place even if u r not the romantic type this hotel brings it out In you we recommend it to everyone thank you to all the staff hope to see u again

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We are used to budget holidays and back packing and doing our own thing, but for our honeymoon we treated ourselves to a luxury all inclusive resort.

We were transferred without problems from Cancun to the resort, we went for the cheap standard room which luckily was furthest away from the bar and any potential noise from the music etc. (we had a few early nights, jet lag). Don't think the expensive rooms would have been worth the extra to be honest. Although to get the honeymoon perks, you have to get the swim up room. (take a copy of your wedding license and show at check in).

The place is beautiful, manicured gardens, great rooms, beach is superb (not powdery sand but good enough fro me) turquoise waters, fish everywhere (and a sting ray).

The staff were the best staff I have ever experienced, english waiters/shop assistants etc should be sent here for training. They were so friendly and were always working so hard, the moment our drinks were empty they would refill without having to be asked. Being english tipping was something we didn't know much about, Thomsons never mentioned it. We tipped after evening meals about 20 pesos, and the cleaner after the first week and when we left.

We did a couple of trips and it was cheaper to do it through the Watersports stand on the beach or Lomas in reception than through Thomsons. We went to Cancun which was very good, and scuba diving which was awesome. Tulum is easy to get to on your own, don't pay anyone to do a tour. Get a taxi or bus.

Some good entertainment at night, some a bit Butlins/cabaret style stuff but good for a laugh, they all try really hard. would have been happy with a pub quiz, karaoke night, darts competition. They had volleyball/soccer games on the beach but always at 12-2 at the hottest part of the day! crazy! it was about 40/45 degrees in the sun!

There was always food to be eaten, we had to skip lunch a few days just to feel hungry again, and even went to th gym 3 times as was eating so much. Breakfasts are amazing, great buffet selection, ommelete station, smoothies at Arrecifes. That was our favourite. Though sitting by the beach is always nice for breakfast we did this at Lunch when they had Beach BBQ everyday with good selection of things to have. Anyone who says they were still hungry needs to lose weight anyway.

Evening meals were god, though after eating out every night room service was sometimes a welcome change. The food is well cooked and superbly presented but wasn't as good as many restaurants we go to here in UK, I needed more potatoes, rice, pasta etc.. sometimes a bit meat heavy. Mexican was good though I thought there would be more spicy dishes.

Always felt like the place was half empty, always got a sun lounger or double beach bed! the beach butlers were great at bringing drinks! and deserve to be tipped.

No kids was a godsend! silent beach.

Anyone who says anything bad about this place, needs a reality check

Pretty much the best holiday ever!

Room Tip: cheaper rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank LDS1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent resort with superb service for the most part and perfect for a relaxing honeymoon or special occasion.

My wife and I returned to EDSS for our honeymoon in July '14 after having a fantastic holiday in July '12 after which we were reluctant to book anywhere else incase we didn't get the same quality/value for money.

Resort has increased in size and possibly lost to some extent the very intimate personal feel it had 2 years back which for us was the special quality it had.

You will still have an amazing time if you go and be blown away by the service,

Stefani, Oliver, Encarnacion, Jonatan, Jorge and Lorenzo (amazing service and worth a mention incase a manager reads this)

and you will love the facilities the Resort offers.

For us, we will probably try somewhere new next time as we felt a little let down that there was no special gesture offered to help us celebrate our honeymoon or the fact that we were returning guests (apart from a tshirt).

Goods: Service (from majority of staff particularly waiters), Italian restaurant, variety of food, relaxing atmosphere.

Not so goods: (being a bit picky): standard suites could do with refurb, pools could be updated, Mexican restaurant menu needs improving, Lobby staff (the ones I dealt with anyway) were not as helpful and lacked the personality the rest of the staff had.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Graeme E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.6 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
4.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
22.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#60 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
18.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,207 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £247 - £622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing