We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Armada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a 3 nights stay. It is a beautiful resort! So many places to relax or lots of activities to do if you want to keep busy. The food was amazing and we loved all the different restaurants. Our waiter, Antonio, in the Italian restaurant made our first night dinner awesome! What great service. Our server, Yuri, for breakfast was also very pleasant and helpful. We loved the new Pub restaurant! And the best meal we had was the moonlight dinner on the beach in a gazebo. Our waiter, Erick, made out experience absolutely amazing, and the view was stunning. I also had an 80 minute massage in the spa, Dulce gave the best massage, and Henry walked me through the water therapy stations in the spa which was unlike any other spa I have been in. I would recommend this resort to any couple or group of friends.

Room Tip: If you want a room in the newest building, you will need to book a premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StephaniesTravels365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,231
    1,503
    503
    224
    148
See reviews for
213
5,968
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I recently got married at ElDorado seaside suites in Riveria Maya Mexico! My Travel Concierge, Kathy Duvall, with Beach Bum Vacation recommended this place and my oh my, was it amazing! The resort is so clean, the entire staff is so friendly and they are such people pleasers! They absolutely catered to us and our large party of 22 people so well! Kathy truly made a great recommendation an even personally went to our resort a week before our trip to make sure everything was perfect for us!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Meaganheady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our fourth trip, we had a relaxing, beautiful week. This resort is 5-star all around: rooms, staff, food, beach, pools, entertainment. Also close to Playa del Carmen and Tulum area attractions. We'll be back, probably next summer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SenorWhiskers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

we stayed here for four nights in august 2014, and the experience was amazing. this was our first time in an all-inclusive and doubt will have a better all around experience. unlike other places, the food was excellent with various types of restaurant offering a la carte menu. the drinks were delicious, too, although they could be a bit stronger. not big deal for free drinks though.
the service was exceptional all around although it would be better if the front desk was more knowledgeable about the activities section.
even though we had junior suite, the room had ample space, very clean and perfect for us. (you aren't going to be staying in the room too much anyways).
the only disappointment is that due to a rip-tide in the ocean, we weren't able to snorkel and kayak in the ocean. not the hotels fault though.
it's about hour and half away from cancun airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank subash m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary here it was amazing the room the staff the food everything we cannot fault a thing and will highly recommend Eldorado Seaside suites to everyone .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was worth of every penny, even more.

The food was great and we like especially the italian restaurant, though every restaurant was very good. The resort itself was gorgeous, what a place... everything was worked like a charm.

The staff have plenty of activities and events everyday to keep anyone busy for the entire stay if wanted to. Every staff member was very friendly and said hello as we passed by, if needed advice everythig was taken cared of very fast, the Lomas trips are also wonderful and the pickup was from the hotel, our hotelroom itself also was wery good with jacuzzi and wery nice sea view. Exxelente!

I can recommend the moonlight dinner, very special romantic time with very good food in the beach area, in special place. What can i say, you have to be in here to understand the place.

Definetly, we will come back for romantic trip here beacause this is the best place we have ever been, miss you already!. And thank you for memorable honeymoon :).

Room Tip: If you like limited sea view, be sure to reserve room with it, it was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JukeVantaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at EDSS from 27 July for 2 weeks. After a long, but comfortable, flight on the Dreamliner we arrived at Cancun airport. Although not part of the hotel review, I thought I would mention that going through security here can be a little chaotic. It did take us a couple of hours. This may not be the norm but I gather other travellers have experienced similar.

We arrived at EDSS to the warm welcome other guests have mentioned - face towel and drink. Check in was quick and the bell boys whisked our cases away which appeared in our room while we were out exploring. We stayed in a standard room which was ideal for us. I was shown a room in the Premium block and would think about upgrading to this in the future, only due to the fact the rooms were bigger, modern and more airy. The standard rooms are a little dark! Apart from that it had everything we needed - hairdryer, iron and board, mini bar which is restocked daily, jacuzzi bath and a separate shower room. Choice of TV channels was fine (for the amount of time you want to watch TV on holiday!). The maid did a fantastic job cleaning every day - towel art awaited us nearly every day.

I must point out the bed - the most comfortable bed and pillows ever! In fact, my boyfriend said that for once he was not looking forward to his own bed on return from holiday!

The Personal Concierge is a nice touch - a point of call whenever you need to ask anything, change beach towels or book treatments/Gourmet Pub etc.

We tried all restaurants on site (numerous times) and our favourites were Klay Talay and Mia Casa. We enjoyed the Gourmet Pub on the first visit but not so much on the second - just personal choice. I didn't find the menu too confusing but the waiters do seem to (with ourselves and a couple at the next table being told different things about the menu structure). Although the food on the whole is excellent, as with anywhere, it can be hit or miss (mainly hit I must add, but want to give a balanced review). We were disappointed with Vida at lunch time but enjoyed it on an evening. The burgers at La Sandwicherie are to die for! Yes not all portions sizes are massive, but you are certainly not left hungry. We both found portions ample size - and you can always ask for more!

My boyfriend would have liked a buffet restaurant on an evening - just to have a break from the 3 course service and be less formal if we wanted, but that is his personal choice.

We were disappointed with the Mexican restaurant … but have found this at other resorts in Mexico. I always have high expectations of Mexican restaurants in Mexico and am often left disappointed.

We didn't have any problem with the dress code however did see some men being turned away from Klay as they were not wearing a collar. The toilet facilities are outside the majority of restaurants which I don't like, but they are quite close to the restaurants.

Room service is good - we waited no longer than 30 minutes for service.

If you enjoy wine, ask for the GI wine list which is included as part of your package. There are some really lovely choices on there which, if you are used to the normal choice of wine at AI hotels, you will appreciate! The bar stocks many named brands of alcohol - just ask if you prefer a certain label.

The beach service is excellent and I have unfortunately forgotten the name of the lady that served us (I'm blaming jet lag!). She was very attentive and remembered our drinks - all the while being friendly and chatty.

Rolando at Guacamayas (on an evening) is a pleasure - all the staff are and the service is outstanding. I was slightly worried by other reviews saying that there was no where to sit and enjoy a drink on an evening but did not find this to be the case. The tables from La Sandwicherie are left out around Guacamayas bar - plenty of seats and tables, not to mention the seats within the bar itself. There is also Cotorros bar, which is a smaller area but seats still available.

You can always guarantee a sun bed, for example we liked to sit around the pool at Gaviotas in the morning and then move to the beach in the afternoon. We always got our position of choice in the afternoon, until the last few days. There's not many resorts where you can change position mid-day. People do seem to be a bit more relaxed about the sun beds, or at least that's what we found. We are early risers (7.30 ish) but you can find a bed much later in the morning.

The grounds are very well kept and the guys work hard at cleaning the beach every day.

We used pesos (did not take dollars) and had no problem. We took plenty of small denominations of pesos for tips. Tips are not expected but are however gratefully received. The staff do work extremely hard. We tipped 20 pesos for good service at meal times (not all the time) and then tipped slightly more to the staff, at the end of the holiday, that we had regularly seen and been served by.

Thomsons give you free wifi in the lobby and at Gaviotas bar which is brilliant. My boyfriend bought wifi for 50 dollars (buy one week get one week free - not sure if this is a permanent offer) - this just goes on your bill at checkout.

Last day touches were lovely - a special pancake platter at breakfast with champagne and our maid had ran us a bath on our last night with petals hoped in a heart. Unexpected and makes you feel that you are a valued customer.

Overall I find it hard to fault this hotel, as did other people we talked to whilst we were there. Any thing I've highlighted as disappointing is just minor really. If you have booked to go I'd recommend joining the Facebook site that two regular guests of the resort have set up - I found this extremely useful to get advice from other guests.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would go back - I would now choose Karisma resorts over any others. If you book you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are fine - don't feel you have to upgrade. We stayed in block 36 and this was ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Karenwal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
21.6 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,657 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
7.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
18.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing