We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Their customer service is top notch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Their customer service is top notch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during the first week of August. We had a standard room. The customer service at every restaurant was great (with the exception of the Italian restaurant which was a little slow. The staff is intent on everyone having a good time. The entertainment staff makes and effort to get the guests involved. The air conditioning in the room is great. it is energy efficient and even in the Cancun heat you can turn it off at night and stay pretty cool. The resort does an great job of fogging for mosquitoes. My wife is very allergic to the bites so this is very important. The restaurant Vida is one of the most romantic in which we have ever eaten. The grounds are manicured beautifully and not overly "jungle-like" We would recommend this for an adults only getaway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlanandAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 8 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,239
    1,509
    504
    223
    148
See reviews for
213
5,979
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon and we're met at reception with a cocktail and cooling face towel. We were checked in privately then whisked off on a golf cart by our bell boy to our beach front junior suite, which contained a wonderfully comfortable king-sized bed, jacuzzi which fits two people in, a lounge area, fully stocked mini bar containing water, soft drinks, beers and crisps, a 42" TV, double wardrobe, and an en suite bathroom with wc, walk in shower large enough for two people... ;-) And his and hers sink areas. The bathroom lighting is movement sensored. Our balcony overlooked a cluster of Palm trees and the beach, which was a few steps away.
Our arrival on day one was late due to delays at Cancun airport, and so we chose room service for dinner. My husband is gluten-intolerant but this was no problem, and within 20 minutes we had a gluten-free burger, salad and fries at our door.
There are several choices for dining: the Vidi Garden Grill provided an al a carte breakfast service with coffee, orange juice and water being constantly refilled, an air-conditioned restaurant nestled in the gardens at the heart of the complex, and beautiful food, both in appearance and taste.
The Sandwicherie offer pizzas, salads, burritos and gourmet burgers. This restaurant is al fresco dining available until 6pm, and is based just next to the pier for a romantic post-lunch stroll.
The Mexican restaurant, La Carretta, is rustic and atmospheric, though had no air conditioning which meant we are and ran as the humidity here was in the 80's.
Arrecifes, Klay Talay and Mia Casa offer international, Asian and Italian cuisine in authentic, beatifully decorated surrounds. These are all placed within 2 minutes walk of one another, so having a walk around to peruse the menus is easy enough.
All restaurants are walk in, except for the Gourmet Pub, which used to feature mostly tapas style food but which is now more like a traditional British pub. If you want to reserve a table, ring or see your personal concierge and they will organise for you.
The hotel offers chargeable wifi for 1,3,7 or 14 days, although if you qualify for their wedding, honeymoon or anniversary package this is free.
The white sandy beach is scattered with comfortable day beds and a number of sun beds. Hotel staff bring your drinks to you whilst you soak up the sun. The hotel also has a man-made coral reef just off the shore, which means the beach is sheltered from the choppier waters. The water within this area is only a couple of feet deep, turquoise and clear, and snorkelling is recommended.
The activities hit on the beach provide snorkelling yours and equipment as well as kayak tours and equipment, free of charge. They also offer excursions which is our experience were $15-$30 cheaper than those offered by the tour operator, and much more flexible in terms of options.
Excursions to Xel-Ha, Tulum, Xplor and Underwater World are a must. Snorkeling through underground caverns, with turtles, then taking a 4x4 jungle tour, or cliff-jumping, or zip-lining over the trees, or visiting Mayan ruins and meeting Maya peoples who still follow the ancient customs....
We were sceptical before arrival that the hotel couldn't meet our brochure-based expectations; it didn't. It far exceeded them.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mand0491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oswestry
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have just got back from this hotel. It was absolutely fantastic. Everything about this hotel is wonderful. Although we only had a standard room it was great; the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept on, large walk in shower, Jacuzzi etc. Our maid left terrific towel art and always made sure that the minibar and coffee maker were replenished. In fact the staff throughout were superb, nothing was too much trouble. We tried all of the restaurants and absolutely loved the food and find it difficult to decide which our favourite was. Make sure you ask for the GI wine list (all lovely) to avoid any unnecessary extra cost. The cocktails at the bars were amazing. We spent a lot of time on the beach and never had a problem getting a sunbed. The spa is out of this world, try to visit if you can, you won’t regret it! We did a couple of day trips, one swimming with turtles which was brilliant and another to Xplor which we would highly recommend if you fancy zip lining across the jungle! All in all this was the best holiday we have ever had and we would not hesitate in recommending it. If fact, we are looking at booking again for next year, which is really unusual as we don’t normally visit the same place twice. If you are thinking of visiting Mexico choose this hotel and you will have a brilliant time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank OswestryLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Myself and my wife stayed at EDSS for 7 nights from 29/7/14 for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. As lots of reviews mention, we were met at the lobby with a cocktail and cold face towels while the very efficient staff checked us in. We were then taken by golf cart to our room which proved to be exactly what we were promised, it was a Swim up Suite and was fantastic. It was great to be able to chill out on our private patio and use our own section of the pool. We used the beach in the afternoon as we lost the sun after lunchtime, and we were always able to have a good choice of sunbeds on the beach. there was a beach waitress always wanting to bring drinks to us on the beach.
We didn't use all the restaurants but the one's we did were magnificent. We used the Italian, The Sandwich/burger bar for lunch and breakfast, and the Gormet pub which was our favourite but remember to book a table. The food was very good. The drinks at all the bars again were very good but remember to ask for the G.I wine list otherwise you will find a bill to pay at the end of your holiday.
The mini bar in our room was welcome during the day however it would be improved by a selection of wine etc for people like my wife who don't like beer. The beach bbq for lunch was amazing with so much food to choose from. Our personal concierge staff near our room could not have been more helpful with clean beach towels available everyday.
If it is your anniversary don't forget to tell them and take your certificate, we had so many extras free of charge including a fabulous candle lit dinner on the beach. All the staff at EDSS were so friendly and could not do enough to make this a special holiday. Room service was also very good.
I would not hesitate to use this hotel again it was pure luxury

Room Tip: Don't get a swim up suite close to the swim up bar as it can get noisy later on in the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a fantastic two weeks here and would recommend it to anyone but.... Firstly we weren't advised of the dress code. Men must wear shirts with a collar in the evening In all the restaurants. I'm not gainst the dress code per se but my husband had only packed a few so he had to keep rotating the shirts and changing after dinner Secondly, the personal concierge sells timeshares for the new premium rooms. It took us a while to work that out, she even took to ringing our room to try to organise a viewing. Now I know an hour of our time to look at apartments isn't much but that's not what our hols are about. Thirdly, the food is delicious but can get a little repetitive. I wished we had booked a week here and a week in cancun or at a different location.

Saying that, we had a great holiday - we were worried about booking adults only and people had wound us up about swingers holidays, but it was fab. It was mostly couples and having no children anywhere gave the place a really chilled out feel. Mealtimes were bliss and the entertainment was all geared towards adults. We had a swim up room and it was fab. Mini-bar was stocked daily with beers, coke, diet coke, water, sprite etc. the wine was fab in the restaurants which is unusual for the Caribbean . The room was big and the jacuzzi bath was ideal. There was no problem getting a sunbed on the beach although I am aware that we were there low season. There are lots of iguanas, squirrels, raccoons, lizards roaming freely so it's not for people with a nervous disposition but you soon get used to them. Lastly the staff were all fabulous, so friendly and it's the first time I've been all inclusive where they're begging you try drinks, have a shot, have a pudding, etc. it really is a lovely place if you want a totally pampered, chilled out, relaxing holiday with good food and wine.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms were fun but you can still access the pool bars without one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carey151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 8 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have recently returned from a two week holiday and WOW, love, love, love it!! I can not recommend this hotel enough. The staff were all amazing, the food was excellent, our room was huge (and we were upgraded to a swim up, which was so cool). I think I've found my paradise!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our first holiday without children and it was fantastic! Staff and visitors alike were so friendly even down to the man who put the patterns on the ashtrays every evening! Auvaldo at our nearest swim up bar was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and if he had not heard of a cocktail he made sure he did for the next day. Mercedes the waiter in la vida the garden grill restaurant was brilliant he also went above and beyond. The food was amazing. Only criticism and it is only a thought for the hotel to consider, perhaps a change of menu once a fortnight would be welcomed. I cannot eat chicken and it did limit my choice a bit although no way can I say I went hungry. The rooms were a little dark but spotlessly clean and once we had got used to it it was fine and nice and cool . The entertainment team were very enthusiastic without being pushy and we saw some amazing shows all put on to a high standard. We met loads of newly weds and even though we have been married 35 years they were all really friendly and more than happy to associate with us in spite of the age difference. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It could be made into whatever you wanted, a quiet relaxing holiday or as lively as you want it to be. We went for the quieter option. No problems with sun beds there were always plenty to go around and some spare.

Room Tip: We were in room 3815 and had no problem with outside noise. We were a bit concerned as it was at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
21.6 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#56 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,660 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#107 of 385 in Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
2.2 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing