We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"fab, fun & friendly"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"fab, fun & friendly"”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves on this last minute trip, I'm really surprised at the negative feedback!!
We found all the staff extremely hard working & friendly, I have been on many all inclusive holidays and never seen staff work so hard. I found the staff so pleasant, and all the people we spoke to and made friends with felt the same. The hotel is kept very clean, even the grounds, you always see staff brushing sand off steps and trimming plants ect, no detail was to small. My friend is going to return with her partner, as she knows he will absolutely love it. As for the food, WOW we ate al la cart every night, the restaurants were amazing, I could not believe the quality and amount of food you got. we ate non stop just because it was all so nice, the snack bar is open most of the day, food is always available, plus there is a pancake & milkshake café on the roof top, heaven, something for everyone, even the buffet food was great, so much choice, we tried something different everyday. I'm missing the food and being spoilt by the friendly staff, holiday blues have set in now! The entertainment team were just too funny, they work all day and nearly every night, but full of energy and friendly vibes, we ending up playing games most days as they made us laugh so much, so much to do and its all free, from Zumba, yoga, water polo, dance lessons, darts, and much more, on top of this you can go snorkelling or on a catamaran, hire bikes and much more all included at no extra cost, just fabulous, as we had a few cloudy days, spoilt for choice with things to do, but on the other hand if you want to chill the sister hotel next door has a more relaxed vibe around its pool, so what ever your looking for I'm sure you will find it. also 10 mins away is a little harbour with dolphins and cute restaurants bars & shops. The cocktail choice was just brilliant, they can make anything even if its not on the menu. Do not miss the evening shows as they are unbelievably funny, so much time & effort has gone into them and it really shows. I must also add the rooms were very spacious, which was great for 2 girls getting ready. all in all this hotel was fabulous. I would most defiantly return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tinkabell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear tinkabell7,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us.

We feel very proud and glad to hear such nice comments from our guests, It is great to know that you had a good holiday with us.

We definitely hope to see you again soon, it will be our pleasure to welcome once again!

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,110
    3,024
    1,056
    420
    254
See reviews for
2,569
3,913
135
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,074)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was our third visit in the past year and a half.We stayed for 17 days in November and we hope our next visit will be in the spring. Megan N. gave a very detailed and precise description of the hotel. We never get bored at this place.It is so condensed with activities, bars, restaurants, the snorkeling,beach, biking and lots more. Best of all, it is a resort within a gated community " Puerto Aventuras" population 6000.It is perfectly safe to explore the town and talk to the residents,visit the marinas, shops, restaurants with live music and swim with dolphins.If you wish to go further,as soon as you exit the gates a collectivo shuttle will show up to take you to Playa de Carmen or Cancun or Tulum.It is safe and inexpensive (25 pesos).
It's not a 5 star but for the price it is definitely great value.If you are outgoing, friendly and not too fussy about small stuff, you will definitely have a great vacation.

Room Tip: Specify your preferences ( ex: quiet room, or upper level) at the reception before your check in.If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Suzanne L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us.

We feel very proud and glad to hear such nice comments from our repeat guests, It is great to know that you always have a good holiday with us.

We definitely hope to see you again in spring, it will be our pleasure to welcome once again!

Happy holidays,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We just got back from our honeymoon here. We first get there and at check inn we were told they didn't have the honeymoon suite that we had booked. So they put us in another room. After spending 3 hours with going back and fourth with trying to get a good room we finally got a suite. The rooms we were told they were ocean front! WRONG!! You can't see the ocean from any of the rooms!!! I was very upset about that!! The food was really good! All the places we had dinner at each night was well worth it. If your going here just understand there is A LOT of children everywhere! The resort was clean, but not what we thought it would be! You can't walk to the main road because its a 2 mile walk to the main road and you have to take a cab to get there. Overall we made the best of this place, but we wouldn't come back. The reviews were right on about the over booking the room you booked and the sad thing is the front desk didnt even care they over booked you. We asked to be moved to another sister resort and we were told we couldn't be moved because we would lose all our money we paid. Just beware when you book this place! We made the best of it, but we won't be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ericka82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Ericka82,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect honeymoon and what you were expecting.

Unfortunately our hotel got involuntarily overbooked in the Privielged honeymoon room category, this unexpected situation obliged us to take the decision of giving you a complimentary upgrade to a Privileged Suite.

We deeply regret that this situation occurred, please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have been experienced and I assure that this situation does not happen often.

We will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Happy holidays,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and i just got back from our holiday . we were very dissapointed as there were so many young children at this hotel. The hotel is advertised to meet all needs but, only seem to cater for people with young families. Why on earth would a parent choose to take a small child on an 11 hour flight to Mexico amazes me. We found the staff polite but not very forthcoming and the service was very poor. They seemed unable to take multiple orders and unable to multitask, they seemed to only be able to clear tables and serve one at a time and were very slow. I do reccomend walking to the back of the dolphin area to a private beach as the beach from the hotel is a very small area and peoples loungers were piled up side by side. So, we asked our rep and he said your allowed to use the preivate beach only because we asked and couldn't bear to be laying like sardines on the beach. I don't reccomend this hotel but, if you have booked it, just make the most of it thats what we did.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fowler, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Everything was good. The Japanese and steak restaurants were excellent. We did not try the others, only the buffets which were what we expected. The staff was extremely nice, the room was clean, the beds were firm, the drinks were cold, and the entertainment staff did a great job with activities. If you want a lounger in the front, you need to set towels out EARLY. I think some people went out at first light to mark their territory for the day. Several topless females, some which should NOT be topless in public, but to each their own. I highly recommend scuba diving. The crew at Pro Dive Mexico were great. Carlos with Olympus Tours was awesome. He is very knowledgeable, accomodating, polite, and quite a pleasure to talk with.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daddyo122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I recently travelled to the Catalonia and had a very disappointing trip. I found many of the staff had bad attitudes and were unhelpfull. We had just travelled to the Iberostar in June and it was great! We holiday quite frequently and I was the most dissatisfied with this resort.The steak ala carte was our favourite and we returned twice. The ocean was clear with many fish.You have to carefully walk in to the ocean as there are many rocks. The kids club was very overrated! If you have small children I definitely suggest Cuba! The front desk staff were not friendly after a long travel to what we thought was going to be paradise. I was very shocked that people had to carry around their water bottles to fill themselves. This resort charges extra for everything that anyone would ever need. If you are planning on travelling to the Mayan Riviera I suggest elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I want to point out that when we arrived we were moved to the sister 5 star resort for 3 of our 7 nights because this one was full.

Even though i will complain about some things, i had a great time and want to thank the staff for being so attentive and kind all the time.

PROS:

- Restuarants. The japanese, Italian, and steak house were great! Much better than the 5 star hotels restaurants.

- Walk from farthest room to beach, lobby or pools very short.

- Attention from staff.

- Cleanliness, staff was moping, and bromming all day.

- Activities even for rainy weather.

- Snack bar!! Hot dogs, burgers and NACHOS WITH CHEDDAR!

CONS

- TOILET PAPER!! OMG!! It was transparent! Spend a few dollars on decent TP!

- Room had very poor lighting.

- Extra charge for safe(most hotels include this)

- The beach is very rocky. Dont forget your water shoes.

- Buffets were not that good, Mercado much better than the other one.

- The hotel needs some tranportation from the lobby to the main road. Its 1.2KM and the walk is looooooongg.

- No coffee machines working for a cappuccino until 3PM

------------------------


We were spoiled in the other hotel for those 3 nights but some of these cons can go away simply by making a few adjustments. Hope the hotel reads this and changes the TP and makes buffets better. Other than that, thanks for an amazing rest!

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade... we didn't and you can see in our review, that some things need to get bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juancaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,648 reviews
16.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#80 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
2,012 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
7,245 reviews
24.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,701 reviews
24.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Property: Catalonia Riviera Maya
Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico
Catalonia Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing