We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 February 2014

On a good note a very clean resort! Bed has very uncomfortable! Room smelt musty! Same food day in day out. Not much entertainment. Booked an l la cart on Sunday for the steak night at 6 got there it was closed til 11 pm. ??? Beach is all rocks. They don't accept American money! Love riviera maya but will never return there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bonbon1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Bonbon1955,

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your last stay with us. We deeply apologize if your vacatiion with us was not a perfect experience, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,837 - 2,843 of 9,448 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was our 3rd. and probably last trip to the Catalonia Riviera Maya. I really think that this resort has been sold to a European company. The resort has always been and still is nice.
The few things I will mention are, If you are a smoker you will love this place as it seems that you can smoke anywhere now (there used to be designated areas).
This resort is now overcome with Europeans which all seem to all smoke on the beach, outside of the restaurants, and inside the bars, which makes it very uncomfortable for all the patrons that do not smoke.
Secondly they turn the air conditioning off in all rooms around midnight, which makes for a lousy sleep, we woke up every night, and then it was hard to fall back to sleep as it was way too hot in the rooms.

Hope this helps

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Bob S,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your third stay with us was not a perfect experience. I would like to mention that the Hotel Catalonia is a spanish chain and this year our european market, as you mentioned, has increase.
Regarding the designated smoking areas we still have them and we do apologize if that policy has not been respected, we will make sure to reinforce it to make the stay of all our customers as enjoyable as posibble.

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Booking my vacation at this resort was done in anticipation, as the rooms appeared to be modern luxury and inviting online. Once my BF and I arrived, we were pleased with the grounds and waited with bated breath to see our room. Well, the rooms were meh...the mirrors had cracks on them, the beds were uncomfortable, and ye old 1970's TV was so unattractive. We had no plans to spend all of our time in the room, as we wanted adventure, food, and fun, so we let it go. Unfortunately, the food was awful, the buffet food was soggy and as if it were sitting under the light for hours. The specialty restaurants were equally bad, and this is major for me, because I am not a finicky/picky eater but enjoy fresh, well prepared meals. I'm not a huge drinker, but the drinks were watered down and just bad. We ended up taking bicycles to a supermarket a mile away to stock up on snacks to avoid eating the ill prepared food, and bottled water to avoid Montezuma's Revenge. On a positive note, the resort staff was friendly and after an episode that landed me in the ER one night, they were extremely attentive, calling the hospital to ensure I was ok. I even returned to my room to find a fruit platter. If I had to rate the resort based on their concern I would give 5 stars, as I am truly grateful, but overall my stay with them was disappointing and hope this will help someone else make their choice to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jantraveldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Jantraveldiva,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

Regarding the food we intend to provide a great variety and quality of food and beverages which are prepared with the best ingredients, and we are therefore extremely deceived for not having been able to satisfy your needs.

I took note of all your comments, we are glad you are feeling better now and certainly we hope you will decide to visit us again in the future to make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

As soon as we arrived at the reception we were given a cold refreshing fruit juice cocktail, the process of booking in and receiving the wrist bands and hotel information was smooth and quick.
We had upgraded to a suite and found at accommodation rather musty at first but extremely clean and with lots of room and a huge bed which must have been 8' wide.
The next day we asked to change rooms as some building work started over the road outside the hotel. The change over took place the next afternoon with help from the bellboys. This time we had a ground floor suite which had a large bath/cooling dip pool on our balcony together with a table and four chairs and two sunbeds.
The complex looked like every picture I had seen. The pools were clean clear and a lovely blue, the grounds were beautifully kept. With 5 a la carte restaurant.there was plenty of choice. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful . There were plenty of bars and as we had upgraded we had our own beach area, sunbeds with nice cushions on them and our own bar which was never busy.
The beach was clean with plenty of sun beds and lots of thatched umbrellas. The hotel has it's own water sports department where you can get snorkelling equipment, organise trips out to do many things, swimming with turtles and dolphins etc. There were plenty of fish in the snorkelling area but one thing to note getting into the sea means going over some rather sharpe and unstable rocks/coral and I would strongly suggest taking some beach shoes with you. I wouldn't have attempted getting into the sea without them. If you want to take some underwater pictures take a suitable camera with you and a replacement film as they are expensive over there. Don't take any towels they are all provided. We had two weeks at Riviera Mayo coming back 4th February 2014 and would love to go back. We went with First Choice where we upgraded our flight which was well worth it.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room looking into the complex rather than one being on the outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Sandra F,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here for the first time in October 2012 - we only paid CAN $1050 each for a week here, which seemed like a lot at the time, but I now see was a fantastic deal! :)
We rented a car at the airport using Aeroplan points as we calculated it would be cheaper than getting the shuttle bus both ways for a couple. I think we ended up breaking even after buying gas and paying the airport taxes. The beauty, thoug,h was the opportunity to drive out to Playa del Carmen with a couple of new friends one night!
Our room was basic but clean, not lacking escept for a fridge which we didn't need anyway (if we got thirsty there was a bar right below our balcony!). The air conditioning worked well, the balcony was large and had two chairs and a small table. The TV channels were mostly in Spanish, but we weren't there to watch TV.
The real highlight of our stay was the day-after day of hot, sunny, splish-splash in the small bar pool near the buffet restaurant. We were here everyday at 10:00 to wait for the bar to open, then dive into the clean water, sip beers and cocktails all day, served by three bartenders that we got to know. A bit of coveted shade around the bar, loungers around the pool, a hot tub next door, and when we got hungry, a short walk (25 metres) to either the large buffet restaurant (which had a different theme everyday) or the smaller buffet that only opened for lunch and supper. Typically, we would grab a plate of tortilla chips, and some bowls of salsa and guacamole and taken them back to the pool with us.
Only one domestic beer available but it tasted good and lots of inventive cocktails to amuse you.
Dining was good - we most often went to the large buffet but did try the Japanese a la carte which is not really a la carte, and that was good, but less relaxing - book a reservation, line up, seated in groups, stuffier room, set order to the meal, etc. Worth doing, but we were grateful for the buffet.
In the evenings we would head to the other pool bar which stayed open later and had nice terrace seating. We also enjoyed the beach bar and watched some volleyball from there.
There were daily activities in the pool areas, including athletic contests, dance competitions, and cooking classes. There was a small market set up outside the large buffet each night which souvenirs to be bought.
The only disappointment was that the pools are closed at night (after 8:00pm) for cleaning and you cannot use them between 8:00pm and early morning.
I use this resort as the benchmark that I measure others to, as I felt the combination of pools, bars, restaurants, layout was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milesfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear milesfinlay,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.

It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.

We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was our 4th time to Mexico and the 4th resort we have been to. There are good and bad like everywhere you go. The property was clean and functional, as always there was improvements going on while we were there, but did not interfere with our stay at all. As you will read in several reviews - it is a natural beach with lots of rocks (and to those who snorkel will see, LOTS of sea urchins) - but this made for a nice snorkeling location without having to go somewhere else. Water shoes were all we needed to manage this. There were quite a few different fish and conch shells for us to see when we ventured out. The Lagoon was a nice substitute to avoiding the rocks and still having a nice place to swim...otherwise there are plenty of pools. You can steal a piece of bread from lunch and feed the fish in the lagoon, but be careful the big ones to bite. The beach was nice and well kept. Booking the included watersports was simple - we brought our own snorkel equipment so not sure about how that is, the kayaks were a nice activity, and the catamaran ride was fun.

Rooms were functional - standard rooms charge for use of the safe and do not have a mini bar - but beds are reasonable for a hotel and everything worked. The negative about the room was the size of bed - we unfortunately did not get a king size bed, and had 2 "full" size beds - the beds are pretty small. The building next to our room was some sort of mechanical building and had noise 24/7 - but did not interrupt our sleep or bother us. We had 2 balconies so we would open both doors and get a nice cross breeze through our room.

The food I felt was pretty darn good as compared to the other resorts we have stayed in previously. We only went to one of the buffet restaurants (the one that is open to the outside) and the snack bar - others in our group went to the other buffet and said it was the same food with smaller area and was more cramped. The food was fundamentally the same everyday while there, but we were fine with it. You had fresh, made to order things every day at every meal; plus there were plenty of things you could make yourself (salads, paninnis). The restaurants food was FANTASTIC - far better than other resorts we have stayed at. As you will read in about every single review - the process to get into these restaurants is a bit ridiculous. We knew from lots of research what to expect - the Japaneses restaurant you need to be there by at least 4:45 to wait in line for over an hour to hopefully get reservations - our biggest problem here was that there was a very large group (28 people) that were at the start of the line. The steakhouse was also a long line to wait just to get reservations, then we waited another hour after our reserved time just to get in - there were quite a few families from overseas who normally have long meals anyway and we had a larger group (6 people). The Mexican and Italian Restaurants were easy to get into. The Crepes place had delicious milkshakes - the crepes varied on goodness.

Drinks - this was the first time that we had gotten tipsy -drunk at a resort. The consistency of the drinks is not there - you can order the same drink several times and it will be different every time. It is just cheap alcohol, but not watered down. Other resorts we have been able to drink all day and lots of it and feel no effects - that was NOT the case here. We even found it funny when we saw a sign that said "we reserve the right to serve intoxicated guests"

The BEST part of this hotel was the Activities staff - we have never really participated in the activities going on about the hotel, but their staff really tried to pull you in the activities. They go around asking if you want to participate, they remember your name (which was impressive to me). They treated you like you have been friends for years. We did archery 2 days - depending on the number of people who decide to participate determines how much you get to do. We also participated in the "Crazy Game", Darts, Volleyball, and one of us did the pool aerobics. Giovanni and Olga were our favorites. The night time shows were a little to be desired, we ended up not going to most of them - the first 2 were just dancing, what we saw of the variety show was dancing, the Comedy show was the best of all of them - maybe because this was done by the daytime activity staff.

None of us had kids - but we did see the kids shows a few times, the Miniclub staff seemed great - paid attention to each kid, made sure everyone was included.

All staff at the hotel were very nice and tried their best to get anything you needed. There were towel creations on your bed every day. One of our group found out that they will NOT clean your room if there are any valuables out (all she had out was her cell phone) - which was actually sort of nice. We just put everything away in our suitcases on the days we had them clean our room.

We all felt very safe here - Puerto Aventruas is a gated area, and no one gets in unless they are supposed to. Everything we needed was right there for us. The only other negative thing is that they do not take US dollars- at all. If you want to buy something in their shops, you have to use a credit card or charge it to your room if you do not have another form of cash. They do have vendors in a few times a week at night to buy things and they will take US dollars.

Room Tip: They advertised "Privileged" rooms a lot throughout the hotel - we just had regular rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Emily C,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We booked this resort a week in advance of leaving. 4 hours later we were enjoying +30 instead of the -30 with huge amounts of snow. The food was excellent, staff friendly, room very clean. If you like to snorkle, this is the place to be. We liked this property because it wasn't too huge. There were 5 a la carte restaurants, and 2 buffets. Food was available almost around the clock. Lots of families with children, but plenty of room around the pool and at the beach. Had no problem getting a lounge chair. Only down-side was that on arrival, they tried to get us to up-grade, and we weren't interested. We waited quite a long time to get into our rooms due to the promotion of the up-grades to people. The promotion could have been done on the bus on the way from the airport to the whole group at once. That would have sped up the check-in process.

Room Tip: We requested a ground level floor due to health issues, so can't advise whether the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MbManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear MbManny,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services.

We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
23 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 6 in Playa Maroma
7,901 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,601 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,818 reviews
2.8 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
0.6 mi away
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Reso...
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £143 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico
Catalonia Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing