We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Upon arrival we were told they had overbooked..we should of listened to the reviews! They seemed to think it was no problem that after spending all day travelling they were sending us to another hotel for a couple if days. Reception staff very rude, couldn't care less. There were a lot of people in the same situation as us, it apparently happens all of the time. We were told they allocate rooms on a daily basis, they'll happily give your room away to make more money. Fortunately we were sent to a far superior hotel the barcelo beach resort who were fantastic and thomson agreed we could stay there for the duration of our holiday. Tour operators need to take this hotel out of their brochures or they will end up with endless complaints

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Mrsklynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,117
    3,025
    1,059
    420
    254
See reviews for
2,576
3,917
135
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,074)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Made reservations 7 months prior to arrive to "Sorry we overbooked and have NO rooms!" You can get a free privilege package if you'll waste a day at another hotel and return. Transported to another hotel where we had to wait 3 hours for a room. Had to call Catalonia to find out what to do next like return there after checkout at 2nd hotel. Returned to Catalonia , told room not ready , until3:00PM. One litre of water is provided in room, and if you need more after being told not to drink the tap water, you may PURCHASE more at any of their stores! Really felt sorry for the "Honeymoon" couple who found the suite they had reserved was not available. Or the group that flew 22 hours from Germany and were put in basically a closet overnight while Mgmt tried to find them a room. The ramp fro the lobby level is painted high gloss black. Extremely hot and SLIPPERY when wet as I slipped on a damp surface when an hour later a wet floor warning was erected. The privilege pkg. allows you to sit on the section of beach reserved, or go to a separate bar to spend $ . FYI upon checkout very few credit cards are accepted. America $ are NOT, only PESOS!.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade, But don't look for me as I've made this mistake twice and will never re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SJersey037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Germain, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We loved the location even though it was about an hour from the airport, it was in a gated area of Puerto adventures. We walked to town almost every day...and swam with dolphins and manatees at dolphin discovery in Puerto adventures it was only about a ten minute walk and again we felt very safe. The resort was nice but lacked entertainment and P.R. pools closed early and the pool bar closed at 6, which sucked because we had so much fun with Leonardo he's the best bartender they have. Food was OK the made to order omlets and eggs were very good for breakfast, crepes were good but you couldn't get them til after 4?? Buffets were good lots of variety...hard to get into some Ala cart restaurants because it's first come first serve they dont take reservations. Unless its you're honeymoon or anniversary dinner also hard to get ahold of photographer's. Housekeepers were great so was the towel art....all in all we loved it and we would go back..remember to say hi to Leonardo at the pool bar and tell him Wisconsin says hi..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembley, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the Catalonia Riviera Maya with a group of 30 for our wedding. The wedding was amazing everything we wanted and more. Heather the wedding planner took care of every detail and was so friendly. We had a private reception at the Bellivista and the staff there were amazing too. We did have a few problems with the hotel during our stay. On our wedding night we came back to our room only to find our key card didn't work so we went to the main lobby and got a new one that one didn't work so they sent maintenance to fix our door but he couldn't fix it so he left and we waited and no one else showed up so we had to go back to the lobby again to get someone else and this went on for two and a half hours until my husband got upset and they finially sent someone to climb up to our belcony on the second floor and break into our room, We got in our room 3 am and the front desk called and said they would send someone to fix it in the morning and a costumer service rep would call us the next day cause we had so much trouble with our room. The next morning came and we were supposed to have breakfast delivered to our room which was included in our wedding package but it didn't arrive and no one showed up to fix our door so i went to the front desk three times that morning before they sent someone. then the next night we got back to our room same thing door wont work so this time maintenance fixed it right away and the next morning they replaced the door lock. But we didn't get no apologies for having to wait 2 1/2 hours or for not getting our breakfast and a costumer service rep never did speak with us. Other than the whole issue with our door everything else was great the al la carte restaurants had awesome service and great food and if you got there at 6pm there was no wait at all. The buffets were ok and we really enjoyed the snack bar. We did a private lobster and steak dinner on the beach one night it was so amazing I highly recommend it. The beach was beautiful but rocky but the lagoon was perfect for swimming especially if you have young kids you don't have to worry about the waves. The grounds and pools were very clean the staff worked all day and night cleaning and maintaining the resorts. The rooms were so nice we were upgrade to privileged and I highly recommend upgrading cause the rooms are beautiful. Some of our guests waited to upgrade when they checked in and they didn't have any privileged rooms available. So there rooms didn't have a fridge or anything. Overall I think this resort is a great family resort but they need to be alot quicker dealing with any maintenance issues especially in the middle of the night when people are locked out of their room. But everyone in our group had a great week and our wedding was perfect.

Room Tip: Privileged suits are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsey485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Catharines
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My Wife and l have been to Mexico several times. We did not like the holdup for $150.00 to get a half price upgrade. If our room was a upgrade then l would hate to be in a basic room. The problem with checking in is the Hotel staff try to sell you the upgrade.If you don`t have it you are basically a 2nd class citizen. You don`t get the normal Fridge that has been in every resort l have even been to ? There are certain Bars and parts of the Beach you can`t go to etc, real money grab. Then after telling us we were going to a upgrade room you`ll like it there was someone all ready in it ? Pissed is the word after waiting to get checked in charged an extra fee for basically a Fridge with two Beers a day and a couple of pop. This is NO RUI.

So after all this we were told we would get another room better than the 1st one Management had put someone in the room without telling front Desk, so we were told. Talk about one hell of a rocky start. After getting my bearings that 1st room was also in a bad location and l would have been very disappointed if that was my upgraded room.

After setting in my wife and l went to the Buffet to eat. It was the worst Buffet l have ever been to in Mexico. I will leave it at that.

The steakhouse was good but you have to line up ? So at peak hours you could have over an hour wait. Our 1st LA cart meal was over a 2hr wait ? You had to go and get your own drinks while waiting ?
But the food at these LA cart restaurants was excellent and the service by staff also great. Think the problem here at this resort is Management.

The Beach is rocky and the worst one l have been to in Mexico, both sides. You had to walk over to another Resort to get into the water without stepping on rocks,which hurt.

Free Bike riding was fun and there is stores and restaurants by the resort but found them expensive.

The Gym was good, it could have a bit more room for free weights. The sports Bar was not really used but it might be O.K. if the was Football or Hockey going on.

Would l go back ? no. This resort has good service but something is wrong with the Management the way things are Organized in this resort.

I think that most people that go to this resort would not go back.

Room Tip: Don`t get a room near the Chilli Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theramswon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Me and my family have been to this hotel on many occasions and each trip the Catalonia Riviera Maya hotel beats our expectations of everything. This place is perfect for families, the cuisine is amazing, the staff are so friendly and this place feels like a second home. I even get emotional when I look through the photos- I love it here and it is the best hotel I have ever been to!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sassysydney17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear sassysydney17

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We really needed a vacation so we booked the 5 nights at Catalonia Yuacatan and booked the garden view room which was less then $2000 for the 2 of us. We arrived at noon and decided we really wanted a king size bed for our stay so for $175 cnd we up graded to the privileged. Our room was ready at 3pm. Our room was on the 4th floor so we had a bit of a work out every time we went to the room. Which was what we needed after eating and drinking. Our room was well appointed and very clean.

I like the fact that you don't need to pre-book the al cart restaurants. The most we waited was 45 minutes and we always found a nice place to sit and have a drink while we waited.

We spent a lot of time in or near the Pure Bar and we enjoyed that very much.

Not sure where the negative comments come from but we really enjoyed our stay and would go again for sure and I have recommended this resort to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaybeGoingSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Valued, MaybeGoingSouth

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,655 reviews
16.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#80 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,025 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,257 reviews
24.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,701 reviews
24.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Property: Catalonia Riviera Maya
Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico
Catalonia Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing