We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!!! Don't even bother!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This place it just awful to Americans! Grounds are nice but other than that it's not worth it! Waited for food for 2 hours and people who came after us who were Spanish or from Europe usually got served first and the people here are sooo rude especially if they know you are from America, overall not worth the trip pick another place!

Stayed: June 2014
9  Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,039)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,451 - 2,457 of 9,039 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I just got back last night, we had been to this resort 5 years ago and it was much better back then! Front desk/management/spa staff is just awful. We upgraded to a "privileged" room and it was nothing more than a standard Hampton Inn room. We paid the extra money for a suite as there was no way the room was suitable for an entire week. The spa is a joke, as a VIP you are only allowed to use the steam room/sauna after a workout once per stay without additional fees. The spa staff was so rude!! We were told you need an appointment to use the sauna.There was no one in the facility and so we wanted to "make our appointment" while we were there and we were told we couldn't come in because we didn't give a 24 hour notice!! The beach is quite rocky so bring your water shoes. The food is just adequate. At first we loved the buffet with the fresh salads, fruit, and grilled fish/chicken but it became old very quickly. The best place to eat is the Japenese restaraunt by far!! the Pure Chill Out Bar/private beach made our trip!! If it weren't for that area, we may have moved to another resort. In this area, you are away from the beer/shot-slinging group that hangs out at the pool swim up bar for 9 hours a day. The liquor is premium and the atmosphere is much more civil. I would highly recommend the beachfront massage to the right of Pure. It is not a part of the hotel I believe, but the massage was fantastic and was half the price of the spa. Small side note, the hotel does not provide any body lotion at all so make sure to bring your own. Take advantage of the pillow menu for sure, the beds were comfortable and the room was cool and dark! Room service was limited, basic sandwiches. Entertainment was god awful! The daytime dancing activities at the pool were tacky and the nighttime singers in the lobby bar were worse than any bad wedding singers you could ever encounter! All in all, if you are looking for a no frills, low budget hotel-go!! If you are looking for a high level of service/high quality food, go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simon09c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have read lots of reviews about the Catalonia Riveria Maya prior to actually going. The key is privileged, and know how to use this extra feature. Ok, so we paid not alot extra when booking back in Jan of 2014 for our trip June 8th through 13th for the privileged family suite. The A/C in this was fantastic, I have stayed in larger rooms, for instance Barcelo Puetro Vallarta, but not too bad. We attented a wedding where the mother of our neices and nephew got married to Samuel J. C.

The food was pretty darn good, if you know how to eat and what foods are good for ya. No, hamburgers and hotdogs are not that good for ya. The fresh fruit, salad, vegetables, egg omlette and the a la carte restaurant about the main buffet for Priviledged, along with coffee, and or however you want to eat. They cater to everyone on the buffet, and have several a la carte restaurantes which we could not even try them all. The Japanese place was always booked solid both attempts. The Terrance el laTara had great food from Spain, the steak restaurante was pretty good as well.

Pay a little extra for privileged, (it really is not that much more) know you can use the coupons they give you for al a carte restaurants, other than buffet, and go above the buffet restaurant upstairs for breakfast and lunch.
The resort was large, using both the sister Catalonio Yucatan next door. the Bay where the beach was pretty beautiful! There is a marina not far you can walk to or ride a bike to.

Plenty of entertainment at resort, or just lounge around. You could go to other excursions and pay more money, but you all you really need to do is relax! Enjoy yourself at the resort. Or go on the excursions, check out Xel-ha, water park is exquisite!

I can't wait to go back and stay 10 nights instead of 5!

Room Tip: Privileged Family suite is the largest room. Good for 3 people comfortably, but can have up to 6...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poweberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 8 days, absolutely loved it. Staff was friendly, rooms were nice and clean. Would definitely recommend the upgrade to privilege, as the rooms are much nicer, plus you also get a lot of extras included in your package. Our favorite snack restaurant was "La Creperia". As far as the bar, The Pure bar for the privileged guests was very nice as long as you were able to find a shaded lounging area.
We will definitely return here again, as we felt safe and comfortable throughout our whole stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank alexycla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Catalonia Riviera Maya last August/September with First Choice & Thompson s.
Although we had some communication after our complaint to them the situation was never resolved.
We paid an EXTRA £200 extra per person for four of us to upgrade our two rooms so that it would include an outside spa bath and a SEA view.
On arrival we were shown to our accommodation which was on the first floor & definitely no Spa bath. To have any view of the sea we would need to crane our necks & fall off the balcony to get a glimpse of the sea.
On complaint to reception I was told the basic SHOWER was the spa & that there actually are no rooms with a sea view.
We eventually spoke to the Thompsons rep who managed to change our rooms & upgrade us to a suite that did include an outside bath ~ the tiles were tatty & not the luxury that was advertised to us. The view was the dusty back road to the hotel ~ no sea view in sight!
We feel were were totally missold this upgrade & it was falsely advertised & wish to warn others not to get caught in the same trap.
In addition there was building work taking place on the roof to the main restaurant on all the sunny days of our holiday with drilling, pneumatic hammering & construction from early in the morning to the evening. This wasnt particularly relaxing & caused multiple leaks into the seating area. The response to this was that it was normal maintenance!!!
Our complaint with Thompsons was not taken seriously & consequently we .will not be booking with them again.

Room Tip: Dont pay for an upgrade!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I'll start off by saying that we paid $700 per person for a week at this resort and the flight. That's a pretty good deal no matter how you swing it.

Our flights went smoothly and finding the shuttle to our resort at the airport was a little confusing, but also went smoothly. We took the shuttle with 2 other couples who were going to different resorts, the ride is LONG (about an hour), but we didn't have to wait longer than 20 min for the shuttle to leave the airport.

Checking in was an absolute nightmare to put it lightly. We arrived around 12pm and were told (even though we upgraded to privileged) that our room wouldn't be ready until 3. I had read that this might happen so we weren't outraged. We took our carry on bags to the buffet and had a nice lunch. Then we sat by the pool for a bit (Bring suits in your carry on so you can change!). At 3pm we went back to the lobby to check in. They said we would have to wait 20 more minutes. 20 minutes? Not too bad, ok. We waited 20 minutes. I went to the desk again….the woman at the front desk told me 20 more minutes. At this point we were hot, sweaty, and just wanted to get in our rooms to shower. 6 hours of flying and 3 hours of waiting and my patience was fading. FINALLY, it was ready. We didn't tip the guy who carried our bags because we were just so frustrated.

The room was beautiful. We had some issues with the air conditioning not working throughout the week, but all we had to do was call and someone came and fixed it. They never gave us the part to the safe that actually works the safe (or even mentioned it), so we had to go back to the lobby to get that. They also forgot our beach towels and we had to call for those.

After everything had been settled we took a moment to just breathe and go explore the resort. It is truly a beautiful place. The grounds are immaculate. The beach is beautiful, but yes it is rocky. I'm not a huge beach swimmer so this wasn't that big of an issue. We snorkeled just about every day and it was awesome!

The buffet food is….ok. La Brisa is definitely not as good as El Mercado, which we realized about halfway through the trip. Dinner at the restaurants was AWESOME. The Japanese and the Tapas were our faves. All of the food just tastes a little off. Foods like chicken nuggets at the snack bar are good, don't get me wrong, they just taste a little strange.

The people at the resort are awesome! Olga (entertainment staff) is always so nice and fun to watch. Juan at the chill out bar was the best bartender! He works from 3-close most nights. Ask for Juan's special…you won't be disappointed.

We meet so many cool people at the resort and we genuinely had a great time. We saved a lot of money by going to this resort, but I think I would want a little more luxury if I were to go to this area again.

P.S: We took a taxi to akumal beach and used our own snorkel equipment to swim with the turtles. Save your money and do it this way! It was $25 each way for the taxi and $12 to rent 2 life vests. You don't need a guide to find the turtles, they're everywhere! We did the same thing for Tulum. Take a taxi, skip the guide. It's far too hot there to listen to someone talk for an hour anyway. After you see the ruins, go to the exit and follow the road all the way down to the left. You'll find the most incredible beach I've ever seen. There are also several small restaurants to grab a beer/food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Havenerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have read some of the the reviews on here for months before we arrived and I can tell you some are way way off base! check in was an absolute breeze,no hard sell on upgrades. In fact we have 4 rooms and we were upgraded by expedia right before we left,and had even asked if we could upgrade one to honeymoon suite but none were available. Rooms are fantastic , grounds are beautiful and the entire staff is great and friendly. I have a total of 8 of us traveling including 2 kids and they can't wait to get up and start playing beach volleyball!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank summertraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
16.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#72 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,721 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
7,552 reviews
24.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,750 reviews
14.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £116 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico
Catalonia Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing