We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of the Caribbean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have read a lot of reviews about this resort and most of them are questionable. I found not one thing wrong with this resort, it was phenomenal! From the moment of check in they were very friendly and accommodating to us all. I was one of a group of 6.
The food was out of this world. We upgraded to Privileged, which was well worth the money. We had access to all the restaurants once and the two buffets all the time. All were exceptional. We had access to the privileged area of the beach. Service was without exception fantastic. On that side of the beach was a couple, not associated with the hotel, set up to do massages. They even gave 10 minute free samples. Got us all hooked. Seaside massages! With the sound of water breaking and the breeze blowing, almost went to sleep!
The drinks are great as well, bartenders very attentive. If you are lucky, you will have Rafael on the privileged side of the beach, Macgiver by the pool, Evelyn was another very friendly face at the Creperie restaurant.
If you have teenagers, I saw an incident that gave me faith that parents not need worry about their kids and alcohol. We were at the Chill out Bar and I saw the bartender refuse service to teenagers. It probably would have been so easy for him to give them alcohol, but he did the admirable thing and refused them.
One night, I over did it with sweets and had problems, my husband got up at 3:30 a.m. and went down to the lobbly to see if they had Gatorade. A few minutes later they delivered a bottle to our room, I was so impressed with their service.
If you have a chance to take in a show, they are sooo cute,. Sure it is cheesy but adorable and well done in my opinion.
Also, I liked that being a gated resort, you don't have to worry about vendors on the beach bothering you all the time.
The water is beautiful , but be advised water shoes are a must. I saw too many people trying to fight getting into the water to swim. Would be much easier to have water shoes.
Sorry, this is long but had so much to tell about, definitely going back!

Room Tip: I would try to get a room away from the bar, a little noisy after 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sassysm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,633 - 2,639 of 9,443 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our 20th anniversary and we had the MOST amazing time! We are addicted and will return every year! We were worried about the amount of rain/thundershowers that were forecasted, but it only rained twice and only for about 5 minutes each time. Honestly, it was big fat warm rain, so it was refreshing!

Check in was a little slow and we were approached by an "executive club" guy, but we declined and he didn't ever bug us again after that. (90 min seminar for time shares-no gracias). We received our welcome cocktail! Yummy! The bell hop took our bags and wheeled them all the way to our room which was a long distance if we would of had to carry them. When we booked, on advice of best friends who had previously been there, we opted for privileged oceanview and our room was beautiful, but the view was to die for! We will be requesting the same room for next year. The staff are allllll amazing, always going out of their way to make you happy.

When you book privileged you get alot of extras...our favourite was the pure chill out lounge on the beach and the nightly bartender Juan!! Miss you Juan!! You're the first person we are heading to see when we get back! We went to all the a la carts, except the tapas bar (next year). Our absolute favourite dinner was the steakhouse. Hubby and I both had the rib-eye and it was AMAZING! All of the food was good. We didn't eat alot in the buffets because you get a la cart breakfast and lunch with your privileged upgrade. With an amazing view! The Japanese (el mikado) DO NOT Miss this...even if you dont like sushi, it was a show and dinner all in one! It was an experience!

The beach and lagoon are amazing, take water shoes so that you don't step on anything unexpected in the water. I did alot of snorkeling and they had beautiful schools of fish everywhere. Even if the waves are crashing in the lagoon is a quiet place to kick back and relax with your Coco Loco.

We ventured off to Tulum and did it on our own. The collectivo (the bus) picks you up just outside the gated community and costs $30 pesos per person. Then we got off at Tulum to see the ruins (59 pesos per person) swam at the beach and we did some fabulous shopping there! The whole day cost us about $50 compared to $100+ per person on an excursion.

We also booked an excursion to Xel-Ha it was amazing, but a very expensive day. We swam with the dolphins, got pics with parrots and tucans.

When we got home we really wanted to have a coco loco drink, but forgot what the ingredients were. I facebooked the resort and within an hour they messaged me back with the ingredients! Phenomenal service!!

We are already saving up for next year! Get ready for us Catalonia Riviera Maya...we are staying for 2 weeks!!! <3

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Mandi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

Dear Mandi A,

On behalf of Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan Beach, we would like to thank the time you are taking to share your feedback of your recent stay.

It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we are grateful you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: the quality of food and beverages, buffet, a la carte restaurant, the beach and specially our friendly and efficient staff. It is always motivating for the staff to receive comments like yours, please be sure that we will share with them that they were part of your happiness.

We hope to see you again in our hotel, remember that each trip to Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan Beach, is a new experience.

Best Regards,

Director General.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I were here from 6-15 thru 6-20 with two other couples and we had a great time. The staff was very accommodating in getting us rooms by the pool with nice views. The staff at the restaurants were always helpful and courteous. The food was good, but make sure you get in line early for the restaurants...they fill up quickly and the wait can be up to 2 hours...

The bartenders at the Tequila Bar (swim up bar) were the BEST! Thanks to Manuel, Alfonso and Antonio for GREAT service each and every day we were there! The beach bar was also very attentive to us...Thanks Miguel!!

There is plenty to do here. The beach is nice, watch out for rocks here & there. If you go into the water you need to have swim shoes because there are rocks in the surf. The lagoon was calm and nice for swimming/snorkeling. Kayaks were available for free...etc,... PADI scuba shop on site for planning dive excursions.

I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice relaxing vacation in Mexico.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

All-inclusive med range priced hotel. The staff was friendly and cheerful, rooms cool and clean, amenities and activities day and night. Things to consider: (1) great beach but they did not dredge the water so there will be rocks. (2) if you want quiet ask for a room not near the Disco (3) will not change dollars for dollars (4) free WiFi not to good in rooms but fine in lobby (5) all four theme restaurants are great, standard restaurants above average (6) 6 out of 20 had stomach/intestine problems even though we drank bottled water...might have been the food prep so take your meds
(7) If you go to the Japanese restaurant go at 5 PM to sign up for when they open at 6, other wise you will have a two hour wait...this is not in print anywhere. (8) if you want to go to the swim up bar area put a towel down on a chair early or you will not be able to fine a spot. (8) if you are not a diver take some of the side trips as there are many. If you are a diver consider a trip through Travel Masters and the dive operator in the area Dive Adventuras

Room Tip: get one not near the Disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank randycameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed 6/15-6/20 - My husband and I have been to this hotel on multiple occasions. We love the Catalonia because it is a smaller hotel right on the beach. You don't have to walk far to get to the restaurants or the pool like some of the other hotels in Mexico. The bartender's at the Tequila Bar (Manuel, Alfonso, Antonio, Luis) were awesome.. We will definitely go back again and again.. Thank you Catalonia for another great stay.

Room Tip: Who spends much time in their room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissSabras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed 18-24 June and had a fabulous time. Pre booked Privilege which was definitely worth it. Lots of extras and the exclusive part of the beach was heaven. Quiet with very comfortable sunbeds and a private bar with a nice seating area to get some shade. It was also great in the evening as the chill out bar, very peaceful and tranquil by the sea. Watched the sun come up one morning from this spot and it was beautiful. Ate at buffet and restaurants and enjoyed both. Freshly cooked meats to order in the buffet were very tasty. Room was very clean as was the whole hotel and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Trips were fantastic, swimming with dolphins amazing at Xelcha and tour of Chitinitza fascinating both not to be missed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
18  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked this holiday with First Choice we upgraded to a privileged package with a sea view (extra charge for the sea view). On checking in we had been allocated a nice room, but the view was of a palm tree and the room was next to the pool bar. I went back to reception to ask to be moved to the room we have paid for (the sea view) and was told that all sea view room only had partial views and that First Choice had not notified then of our request! After a call to First Choice and a wait of about 10mins we were then moved to our room with a sea view!!!

The food in the buffets are great, very good selection, from meat dishes to veggie dishes. We had been given 4 passes each week for the restaurants and we always got seated with 40mins, the longest wait was the Japanese Restaurant, each restaurant had a set menus, and the food was very good.

The beach is great and you do need water shoes, the pure chill out bar was nice, along with the loungers, we always got a shaded area on the beach no problem.

Evening entertainment is ok, the bars are good, and waiter service was very great.

We did a few trips which was great fun. All in all we had a great holiday, I would go back and would recommend this hotel :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SuzeyQ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
23 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 6 in Playa Maroma
7,895 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,583 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,815 reviews
2.8 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
0.6 mi away
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Reso...
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £142 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico
Catalonia Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing