We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, nice little Mexcian stay, Hola Catalonia!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I just got back from a long girls weekend(Fri-Mon) at the Catalonia Riviera Maya Hotel and am refreshed and happy. We got a very good deal for the 3 nights, 4 days we were there and with that in mind, feel like the hotel delivered what we had imagined.

What you need to know:

- The hotel is at least an hour away from the Cancun airport. Having never been to Mexico before I feel that the ride to and from went pretty quickly considering but I'd advise you to take an early fight out. We booked transportation with our package and had one extra person to drop off before us, so arrival was even a bit longer than anticipated.
- The check in desk can be a bit of a mess. It took us over an hour to check in and that was not pleasant.
-The hotels WiFi is HORRIBLE. There is no WiFi in rooms whatsoever. Work out a plan with your carrier beforehand. I roamed and ended up with $170 charges for mostly dropped calls and 2 second chats.
-You do not have to make reservations at the restaurants, which is actually a pain as you have to show up at night and put your name on a list. If you don't put your name on a restaurant list early enough, you're not getting in.
-The Italian and Mexican restaurants were excellent.
-The Tequilas bar had much better drinks than the Margaritas bar.
- Get your butt out early to put a towel down at the pool or beach.
-The rooms were basic but clean and functional.
-I did not see any elevators, so If you're disabled you'd need a first floor room.
-Again .. no elevators. That means you're dragging your luggage down stairs on the last day yourself. Not bad but just be prepared.
- If you're scared of birds, only eat in the enclosed buffet. The birds here are aggressive and in your face. One of the buffets is covered in netting to prevent this but they still got in.
- There is NOTHING going on at this hotel on Sunday night. Totally shuts down. Be prepared to sleep early.
- Both beach and pools are clean and beautiful. The lagoon has nicer sand beneath but it's full of big fish. The regular beach has really big chunky rocks on the bottom . I recommend water shoes if you plan on going in the ocean.
- Had a massage at the spa. Was a bit too soft for my liking but the woman braided my hair at the end. So, there's that?

All in all, I had a really fun, relaxing, time. It's not the Ritz but you're not paying for the Ritz. The staff was excellent and friendly. The entire hotel was immaculate. They were cleaning and up-keeping at all times of the day. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a budget friendly stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear T K,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We regret that stay with us was not perfect.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take it seriously and see possibilities to improve our service.

About the WiFi, We are constantly working to improve the service. Currently, we have increased the bandwidth of the hotel which has favorably improve the signal in rooms. However, it is worth clarifying that there are specific sites that are enabled, to avoid inconvenience.

We appreciate the nice comments and certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance to exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,469 - 2,475 of 9,154 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nice hotel with lovely grounds, set right on a pretty little beach.
Good choice of restaurants and buffet options.
There is a "quiet" pool with no activities and a busier pool where all the games take place.

There was building work taking place when we travelled last October 2013 which did cause a bit of disruption and meant some restaurants were closed on odd nights. This can't be helped but it was quite annoying.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha212d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Samantha2,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the near future and give us another chance, this time to exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Spent 2 weeks at the Catalonia Riviera Maya as a family with 2 teens.

Overall a very good experience and would recommend this hotel.

Rooms: we were initially given rooms near the back of the resort that were rather close to a housekeeping storage area (hence noisy). We asked to be moved and our request was acted upon promptly and without any problem. We were moved to rooms that had (in our opinion) a much nicer location. We had booked standard rooms and no attempt was made by staff to get us to upgrade to the Privileged rooms which have been regularly mentioned in these reviews. We were very happy with the facilities in the standard rooms and we saw no need to upgrade. The resort was not full at the time of our visit. Had it been full, then the upgrade to Privileged status would have been useful to be sure of getting sunbeds and to get priority in some restaurants.
We had a couple of minor issues with the safe in our room and the Technician came within 20 mins both times and fixed it very promptly.

Food: two buffets (one air-conditioned and one more casual, open-sided) both serving the same food. Five a la carte restaurants. We ate at all of them and thought the food was good throughout. After 2 weeks the buffet starts to get a bit "samey" even though the selection is changed daily you still see the same kind of fare on offer. Japanese restaurant is good fun, very entertaining with food cooked as you watch. Reservation system for a la carte restaurants is poor and is run on a "first come first served" basis. If you like to eat early this is not a problem. Turn up at about 5:50-6:00pm and you'll be seated right away. It is a problem if you turn up at say 7 or 8 pm as you'll often be told either the restaurant is full or that you must wait an hour or two. The system is frustrating and could be improved but you soon get the hang of it. Tip: we would try to arrive at the restaurant at about 6:15pm because at this time the first wave of diners would have all been seated and the restaurant would have just filled up. So we would then be one of the first on the wait list and asked to return at about 7:45pm which suited us just fine as we would then go and have pre-dinner drinks at the Tequila Bar :)

Beach & Pools: lovely calm sandy lagoon alongside the hotel was our favourite spot. Also plenty of sunloungers available along the front line. We never had any difficulty getting loungers although those in the shade did tend to get filled up quickly. The sea is clear and warm and great for snorkelling with a small reef just off the beach. Lots of rocks as you enter the water on the main beach. Beach shoes are useful. Can be a bit windy some days which is nice and refreshing when lying on beach but can mean that watersports are suspended. Towels are provided for use at beach or pool so no need to bring your own. Good selection of pools, different sizes and different vibes. Big pool used for entertainment team. smaller pool for kids. Another pool mostly occupied by drinkers at the swim-up Margarita Bar.

Entertainment: daytime, no problem - the usual selection of pool-based entertainments run by a very friendly (but not pushy) animations team. Evenings: not so good ... we thought this was a bit of a weak point as the "show" put on in the Theatre each evening was very repetitive and other evening entertainments were not great, especially for teens. The resort is located in a quiet gated community which makes the surrounding area very safe but there's nowhere much to go in the evening apart from a quiet stroll around the marina. If you're looking for nightlife/evening entertainment then this may not be the right resort for you

Trips: locally its a short walk to the Marina where there are a few small shops (minimart, pharmacy etc) and restaurants and a great ice cream parlour (highly recommended!). You can also see dolphins in the marina as they are kept there for the "swim with dolphins" attraction. Its nice to be able to watch dolphins (and a manatee) but its not great to see them all kept in captivity. Walking or cycling around the Puerto Aventuras gated community is easy and felt very safe. Further afield, we did a day trip to Chichen Itza (excellent) a swim in a Cenote (amazing) and a couple of trips to Playa del Carmen (20 mins by taxi) for a change of scene and a look around the shops.

In summary, a great resort in a quiet location which is kept spotlessly clean and with friendly hardworking staff. We had nice rooms, good food, plenty to drink and a very relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are mostly in two main blocks (A & B) and we thought the better rooms were those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank thorpey63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Thorpey63

We would like to thank you for the comments about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

Thanks again for staying with us; It has been our absolute pleasure to make your stay a very relaxing experience.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Friendly staff, great choice of food, amazing beach for family, nice rooms, good bar. From here you can visit many places by taxi, walking or using the public buses like any other Mexican. It is save.

Room Tip: Corners suites are large, quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ximena1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Ximena1972,

We would like to thank you for choosing Catalonia Riviera Maya for your recent stay.

We appreciate the nice comments about our facilities and service.:)

It will be a pleasure to serve you again in another occasion.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the Catalonia Riviera Maya. We have noticed some nice improvements to the resort and really enjoyed ourselves. This isn't a top of the line resort but very nice and a good value. The resort is a great size, not too big and not too small. Love the thatched roofs and colorful decor. The room was nice; we upgraded and had a suite with a nice rain shower, four post bed and a tub outside on the patio. If you are looking for a white sandy beach into the water this isn't the resort for you. However, it has Wonderful snorkeling right off shore. We enjoyed that! There are small rocks near shore so I would recommend bringing water shoes.
The privileged area on the beach is very nice, cushioned loungers, beds, huge bean bag chairs and your own bar/chill out area. The Tequila pool bar was also a lot of fun. Met some great people. Food was average, favorite was the Hibachi. There is also a nice Crepe place open each evening. Wi-Fi was pretty good throughout the resort. Vendors are invited to the property 1-2 nights per week, but can get better deals in Playa Del Carmen. I have been to Luxury resorts also, but something keeps drawing us back here.
Would recommend you bring an insulated cup and have the bartender fill it up. That way if doesn't melt so quickly. We always have these packed for any of our trips to Mexico.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank LoriB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel in November 2012 and having read the reviews on here I was nervous about what a standard room here would be like, but not to worry, due to some confusion with the room booking we got a free upgrade (they thought we'd booked 3weeks in an upgraded room and although we couldn't have the extra weeks they did let us keep the upgraded room.) We didn't get the wristbands to go with though, so no special seats in the restaurant, but who cares about that.
The room was beautiful and clean, the aircon was ice cold which was brilliant and the mini fridge was stocked with beer and soft drinks daily.
We arrived at around 8pm their time I believe, but obviously this was very late UK time so we abandoned our bags in the room and went straight down for Mexican night at the buffet restaurant, this was brilliant! The food made a good first impression, although perhaps it was a good thing that it was our first night as we may have been sick of Mexican food by the end of the week and not enjoyed it as much. The buffet did become a bit repetitive and it is a good job that they have the choice of a la cartes, in fact we had 4 a la cartes and a meal out in the local marina so we must have only had 2 evening meals in the buffet and were less than impressed the second time. The italian a la carte was a bit boring, but that's just me in general, I'm always disappointed with Italian restaurants. The Tapas was different to what I was expecting but it was decent, really enjoyed the main course. We were a bit drunk after a day in the marina drinking the evening we went to the Mexican restaurant but I enjoyed my dinner, whereas by boyfriend found the cheese thing he had too sickly (although this could be to do with all the drinking!) The Steakhouse was brilliant, no wonder we had been unable to get a table the first night we tried, the night we got in we were there 10mins after opening and we gave our card in and were given 2 hours to go down to the beach bar/go kill time how we chose which meant we were then eating at a good time. Had the T-bone steak and it was great and so were the side dishes and the chocolate brownie desert. Best meal of the week by far. Good choice of lunchtime options by the steakhouse being used as a snackbar in the day, we used the restaurant and the snackbar and they were both good, think I started to look like nachos and guacamole by the end of the week! Breakfast wasn't bad at all, choice of Mexican style hot food and the more traditional english breakfast food, as well as the typical continental selection and not to forget donuts for the Americans!!
NEver had a problem getting a sunbed over at the quieter pool on the other side, the beach we sometimes struggled but there was always somewhere to sit back and relax. The bar staff were great throughout the resort but the beach barman was fantastic, brilliant, friendly service. Brilliant frozen cocktails, had strawberry daiquiri lips all holiday. Despite not having a clue about American football we spent a few evenings down at the sports bar which had a great vibe, table tennis tables and pool tables.
Cannot fault any of the staff, all very friendly and hardworking, the cleaners did a great job the place was always spotless.
Would love to come back here, if only prices to Mexico hadn't shot up since we came!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I spent five days at the Catalonia Riviera Maya with five of my girlfriends and we had an amazing time! The check in was easy and everyone was extremely friendly of course they try to have you upgrade. We chose not to upgrade and were happy with our choice. I do feel like they separate the resort based on whether you are "privileged" or not which, in my opinion, is not necessary. Our stay was awesome and we weren't "privileged".

The buffets are great and breakfast was my favorite. They have a juice bar which is delicious and a great variety of foods. The lunch and dinner buffets were also great! I have been to many all-inclusive resorts and these buffets were definitely great. The Japanese restaurant is also outstanding! We did get there fairly early so our wait was not that long, so I do recommend getting there fairly early. The steak house on the other hand was NOT good. It is actually the snack bar and grill made into the steak house for dinner. The hostess was rude and the wait was ridiculous. We waited for 2 hours for a table while we watched others get seated before us. Once we were seated the food was not good and not worth the wait. I do not recommend wasting your time here. The Creperie, on the other hand, was delicious. It's an ice cream restaurant with the most amazing desserts. The chocolate milk shake, sorbet & crepes were outstanding. We went at night so our wait was not long. If you go earlier in the evening, be prepared to wait. It's worth it.

The bars were hit or miss. Some bartenders were pleasant and others would ignore you completely until you asked multiple times for a drink, even when they weren't busy. The employees overall were friendly and I have no complaints.

The rooms were kept clean and the ac was amazing. I have stayed in resorts where the rooms were cool at best. Not here! After a long day on the beach, the rooms were clean and comfortable.

The pools were clean and comfortable the only negative was that you had to get to the pool fairly early if you wanted a chair. The beach was beautiful with plenty of chairs and shade which isn't always common. The beach itself was very rocky. The beach hasn't been dredged and there are rocks in the water when you first enter, making it difficult to enter. I recommend bringing water shoes if you plan on getting into the water. I enjoyed the beach and spent most of my time here.

Last but not least was the spa. I had a Chocolate scrub that was outstanding and decided to have a second spa treatment. The spa has the typical sauna, vapor room & pools which you have access to before and after your spa treatments. I highly recommend treating yourself to any of the services they offer.

Overall, my trip was great and relaxing. I would return to this resort with my husband or with friends again. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden view and away from the nightly entertainment would be a good choice. Also, rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank latravelers225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,750 reviews
16.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#69 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,462 reviews
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
7,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
14.9 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
13,043 reviews
14.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £123 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico
Catalonia Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing