We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Facebook Page!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hello,

I have added a new group to Facebook for guests and future guests to share their experiences of the Catalonia. Please come along and join so you can share your photographs, opinions & memories of this hotel.

Catalonia Riviera Maya Guests Group

Thank you!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank MissScotland12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear MissScotland12,

Thank you for share this information with us and all the guests!

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,480 - 2,486 of 9,186 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

My two girlfriends and I literally just came back from the Catalonia Riviera Maya. The price was decent and the pictures online look amazing. That is where it ends. The place basically pushes EVERYWHERE the idea of upgrading. I have been to a ton of all inclusive places and never ever felt like I was not as an important guest as another. Here at this resort if you don't upgrade you're told you can't go here and you can't do this or you don't have that. What is the point of booking an all inclusive if it restricts things you need to pay alot of extra money for. I found this place to be slightly below mediocre. The garden non-privileged room was super small and the AC in the room was not cold enough. We were also interrupted several times at our room to change out item in the room (ie: a basket that held the soaps in the bathroom). There were no extra towels when you needed them and they would not give us extra bottled water in our room when requested.

Room Tip: First floor rooms you hear EVERYTHING. Bring water shoes or you can't get into the ocean - har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BrendaLynn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear BrendaLynn15,

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Riviera Maya for your recent vacations.

We regret that we were not able to meet your expectations.

We hope that you can give us the chance to change your point of view.

We remain at your service.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We returned from our visit yesterday and had a wonderful time. We arrived and were warmly greeted by the staff. There was a slight language barrier but, for the most part, they try real hard to accommodate those of us who speak English. We met people from several other countries (France, in particular), so I'm not too sure how easy it would be for them to communicate. I think they offered some sort of orientation, but it wasn't clear, so we figured most things out on our own. It only took us a day to get the lay of the land down. We are not drinkers, and we were with our 3 kids (11, 13, and 16), so it was more of a challenge for us than for some. We checked out the activity list and found soccer on the schedule for Wed. and Sunday. We went to the court and no staff ever showed up. Good thing we had a ball with us, so we organized a great multi-National game. We played 3 or 4 times (staff never showed) and we had usually 6 on 6 games. They had a small (indoor style) court at the archery range. We also took the Kayaks out and took a short sail boat trip. Other than that, we spent time ping-ponging, swimming, making sand Pyramids, laying out in the sun, and taking the bicycles out for a nice ride to the marina. The entire area is a gated community. We felt very safe biking around and exploring. The shopping areas are just too expensive, when you know it's dirt cheap outside the resort. Just be careful if you decide to venture out. Make sure you have a trustworthy guided outing. We were there for 10 days, so it was imperative that we have some off-resort time. We went to Xcaret and on a snorkeling tour.

Xcaret was beautiful, but very hot, too much walking, and really too expensive. We did enjoy the snorkeling river, but there are no fish to see and it is definately cold water. If you do go, don't get the buffet package upgrade. We went to the "Bar en Las Rocas" (something like that). The view was beautiful and we fed our family VERY WELL with 2 fajita platters and huge Pineapple smoothies for about $100. The buffet is $29 per person, so we saved a bit and no doubt had better food. If we were to go again, we would do Xplor instead of Xcaret. Xplor offers much more fun (zip lining, etc.) than walking and looking around.

The snorkeling tour was 2 stops (first was a public beach, but a guided tour which took us swimming with sea turtles). The second was a stop at Dos Ojos Cenotes. These are fresh water sink holes, which were beautiful and very refreshing. The tour took about 6 hours and included "lunch" (sandwich roll with some chicken spread type stuff). We spent about $430 for the 5 of us, but we felt it was worth it because we had an underwater video cam. We booked the tour at the booth on the beach.

DO NOT DO THE ROMANTIC DINNER: Here is the deal...We attended one of those Time Share type presentations. We knew what to expect and had nothing else going on that day, so it was no loss. We met with Eduardo Diaz, who was VERY nice. We booked the presentation at lunch and ate at one of the A La Carte restaurants. We actually considered doing the program, but it was just bad timing. Anyway, they gave us a $100 certificate toward the romantic lobster dinner, just for listening. We had to pay the difference, which was $30. The setting was beautiful. They only had 3 tables, which were situated down by the beach and the lagoon. We were the first ones there. It started with a nice shrimp cocktail, but then IT STARTED! About 3 completely clueless and loud families literally walked right between 2 of the $130 tables and plopped down their bags, towels, clothing, etc. Then they stripped down to there bathing suites and dropped there clothing for a nice picturesque background. Then they began splashing around and screaming while we tried to have our one moment alone. That lasted nearly the entire dinner. The food was good, except for the lobster cream soup, which was cold and salty. Remember we were early, right? Well the service was super slow! The waiter was nice, but he had to walk all the way from the restaurant to the tables for every course and didn't pace himself very well. The dinner took 3 HOURS! I kid you not, I could not see my main course when it arrived because it was so dark and the lighting was terrible. I had to feel the lobster out of the shell (they didn't even separate the meat). It was good, but very challenging. I hope there were no bugs on it! In the end I watched our waiter serve dessert to another couple who arrived 40 minutes after us, while we had been done with our main course for at least 30 minutes. I mentioned that to the waiter and he sort of chuckled uncomfortably.

BUFFETS:
The buffets were great for breakfast. If you have the Privileged status you can go to the A La Carte restaurants for a set number of visits, depending on your length of stay. We stayed 10 nights and received 6 visits plus one to the Tappas Lounge, which was also a nice dinner. For lunch, the buffets were good, but we usually chose the Bombaleo outdoor grill buffet. It was usually good food and near the pools and beach. Don't make our mistake and miss the Creperie from the beginning of your stay. It is located near the A La Carte Restaurants above the Las Brisas buffet and is included with your stay. It is a great place for dessert. The Mocha shakes are great for all and the crepes are very nicely done as well.

ROOM:
We had a privileged family suite. It was nice and we had no complaints. The AC worked well. It was hard to figure out when the room would be cleaned, but it was easy enough to work around their schedule.

POOLS/Beaches:
The pools and beaches were nice. Make sure you throw your towels out early if you want any shade. It seemed all the towels were out by about 7:30am. We were disappointed at the pool hours. We would have loved to have a late night swim, but the pools close at 6pm. I guess we could have gone for a late night swim in the lagoon near the romantic dinner couples.

SHOPPING:
They had a little market set up a few times while we were there, but most of the stuff is expensive and low quality, so we just didn't shop. They also have shops by the marina, but it was about the same.

SAFETY:
I speak enough Spanish to get by, so I spent time asking the locals about safety, police corruption, etc. I thought they were exaggerating when they said all of the police are corrupt. We left the resort at about 4:00am to go back to the Cancun airport (about 1 hour and 15 minute ride). I was talking with the driver (USA Transport) about police corruption when I saw red and blue lights flashing in the background. He pulled over and got out to speak with the officer. When he returned he told me how he paid the corrupt jerk $200 pesos to avoid getting a $900 peso ticket. He seemed to think it was a great deal. Let me be clear here...he was driving fine. I was absolutely appalled at this experience. What is even more upsetting is how the people just accept it. The Mexican people are good people, but the government is unbelievably corrupt. I later researched the possibility of complaining to the Play Del Carmen Police Dept. but, based on my inquiries, estimates place about 90% of the department involved in corruption. What a shame! Just be aware and make sure you choose reliable transportation and travel during the day if you can. For us, that was our only departure option for a non-stop flight.

Room Tip: It's really based on preference. Our room was on the first floor and away from the pools and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Scottlin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My friend and I had never done an all inclusive and neither of us had been to Mexico. It was great in both areas! The staff was attentive and very friendly, the hotel was clean and we always saw people working, and the beach was quiet and well kept. It does have a rocky edge that you need to carefully walk over to enter the ocean but once you're in it doesn't matter! If you go to the rooftop terrace bar, ask Salvador to make you a Mexican Alien shot, it's delicious!! The bartenders at all the stations are quick, friendly and know their drinks! It was a perfect place to ring in my 30's :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We Came In May Of Last Year And We Had A Great Time, All Of The Activities From Snorkelling To Bingo On A Rainy Day Was Brilliant. Staff Were Very Welcoming And Friendly Especially Giovani And Pablo Who Worked In The Steakhouse! Very Clean Hotel And Was Best family Holiday I've Ever Been On! Looking Forward To Coming Back Soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jack_Palmer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel nice and clean, but needs some long term investment /major upgrades when you look closely
Plenty of food and drink choice, but food tends to run out before they replace it, meaning queues.
Drinks plentiful and of good quality, would of been nice if signage had gone up before they closed the main hotel bar for 3 weeks!
Check in was smooth, if a little slow, but was met with a drink.
Room traditionally furnished and decorated, but ok for the amount of time you spend in it. Air con worked well, if a little noisey
Speciality restaurants great, especially the Japanese where you get entertained by the chef, with your food as he cooks it. Always treated very friendly at each of the restaurants.
Beach is a rocky entry into the sea, but if you go around the lagoon side, you can enter either way into sea or lagoon.
Smoothie bar was nice, nice fresh fruit drinks.
Cleaners worked well, keeping rooms clean, as well as nice fresh beach towels when required.
Evening entertainment, ok if you like animation staff shows, but not my taste. Saying that room was packed each night.
Plenty of daytime activity. Volleyball water polo etc. some animation staff on volleyball, gave you the ball and then went chatting to girls, requiring multi national guest to try and run session and scoring themselves!!
Plenty of pool beds, available all day, some more umbrellas would be advantageous as daytime it gets very hot. The differentiation go 'privilege' guests areas, with better sun beds etc, should be rolled out across the hotel, do away with that 'status' that's very old fashioned now
Nice setting in Puerta Adventuras , dolphins and local shops /bars just around corner.
All in all an enjoyable holiday, just gave 4 out of 5 due to the little things above I have commented on

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank SimonMLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear SimonMLincoln.,

We would like to thank you for your nice comments about the resort. We take them very serious. Every little advice provided from our guest´s experienced, help us to improve our services.

We also would like to meet you and take the time to thank you in person! The concierge desk we will be waiting for you :)

All the staff remains at your service.

Enjoy the rest of your vacations.

Warmest Regards,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We didn't pay much for our trip and for the price we paid, it was a good hotel with great food drinks and people. We were really disappointed that they did nothing at all even though we told them at booking it was our honeymoon, sent them a copy of our marriage license before we got there and also showed them our marriage license at check in. We also had a few other requests that we mentioned before hand that were also not taken care of. There is a lot of guests at this hotel, I can imagine that it would be hard to accommodate special requests. The people employed here are very kind and hardworking, it is sad to see them working so hard but they are still very happy and sweet. More veggie options would have been nice, it was hard for us to find food to eat because we are both vegetarians but most days it was fine. It would have been nice to have the veggie options clearly labeled as veg so we knew. We didn't upgrade and really didnt feel the need to. Good for families or people traveling with friends, not a romantic intimate resort for honeymooners. Def. a great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VacationsRAwesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,758 reviews
16.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#68 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,481 reviews
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
7,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
14.9 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
13,072 reviews
14.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £125 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico
Catalonia Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing