We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you could want”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All you could want”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Everything went well with the hotel; the food was as you would expect Mexican food to be (different but good), water is safe, staff is friendly and speaks adequate english, and is well worth the value.

Room Tip: When you get there, you can barter to get a really cheap room upgrade. - We got upgraded to Privileg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear JBolka,

Thank you very much for providing such a nice feedback about our hotel and service.

We would definitely be happy to see you again in our resort and provide you with the best service as you deserve.

Sincerely yours,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,828
    2,886
    1,000
    405
    243
See reviews for
2,347
3,703
131
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,053)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

First, I should mention that this is the first negative review I have ever given- I really am not picky or hard to please. So we originally booked a room at the Catalonia Playa Maroma, however, they totally screwed us over and overbooked and sent us here. Where to begin?? Well the beach is terrible- so rocky and small. Our first day here I cut my knee on the rocks; it bled everywhere, swelled up, and turned black and blue. The room was ok- if you ignored the cockroaches and enjoy sleeping on a mattress that felt like it was made out of bricks. I took the sheet off the mattress to see if, indeed, it was filled with bricks or perhaps concrete and it looked to be about 50 years old-very stained and worn out- my dog has a nicer bed than this. I wouldn't recommend eating the food here. My friend suffered from some severe gastrointestinal issues after eating a propane flavored ribeye at the steakhouse; she didn't leave the bathroom for 3 days. The staff was somewhat unpleasant. Drinks were very weak. Also, we had already prepaid for our transfer back to the airport and since they were scheduled to pick us up at the Maroma, Catalonia said they would arrange for our our transfer to pick us up at the Riviera Maya and pay the difference since it is 40 minutes farther from the airport than the Maroma is. Well it took us going to reception FIVE different times, giving them our flight itinerary, and generally just freaking out on them for not handling it like they promised for them to say "oh we're just gonna call you a cab the morning of your flight and they will take you to the Maroma to catch your airport transfer." Really? It would have taken about a 2 minute phone call to just call our transfer and say hey pick these guys up here instead. But I guess customer service isn't their strong suit..although i still haven't figured out what is. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend?? Only if they have a bug fetish and are fasting. Or if they like to wear steel toed boots to swim at the beach. I would rather sleep in my dog's kennel than book a room at a Catalonia again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I spent 6 days here and the hotel and service were great! Loved the pillow menu and the cold air conditioning in the rooms! You need water shoes for the beach because it's rocky. We never had to wait for a table for dinner and the hotel was at full capacity. I also loved that you could get a daily ride on a hobie cat for free if you scheduled by 8:30 am. They have lots of fun things to do and shows at night. My favorite restaurant was the Japanese one! The chefs are so talented and entertaining! I'd definitely recommend staying!

Room Tip: Hardly any of the rooms had ocean views. I stayed in a privileged room and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelissaL272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Генеральный директор at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Melissa L,

Thank you very much for your opinion!

We are really appreciate your resent stay with us.

We hope to see you soon so you could enjoy a privilege to be our repetitive guest, and "recharge your batteries" with the sun of Mexico. :)

Sincerely yours,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have 1 more day left and I figured I would write a review. This is simply from the "honeymoon privilege package" perspective. We are currently in the Catalonia Riviera Maya side. Not the Yucatan side. I just want to outline the things that I wasn't too fond about. None of which ruined my vacation whatsoever. Beautiful place, great service, not so "privileged". Maybe I was just spoiled in Catalonia Punta Cana, idk. Hotel is located about an hour or more from the airport, depending on how many people need dropped off. It is located in a gated community so you're completely safe. Upon arrival, we received our welcome cocktails. We asked about privilege check in and were told it's at the front counter, with everyone else. So we waited in line. No big deal. We were just happy to be here at that point.

Room:
Afterwards we headed to our room. There is NO beach view, nor pool view from the privileged side. Once again, no big deal. Our room was ready early, everything prepared and looked amazing. Balcony had a tub on it which was a nice feature. Walk in rain fall shower was nice as well. Air conditioning was ICE COLD. Couldn't sleep with it on at night. A few days in, our fridge broke. We called 3 times and nobody came. But, we used ice for our drinks so whatever. Only downside was not having a great view.

Bars:
There are bars everywhere! Getting a drink is no problem at all! Bacardi, Jim beam, early times whiskey, Kaluha. The bartenders know their drinks! If not, let them know how to make it. Simple as that. Being privileged, we figured we get better drinks that everyone else. That wasn't the case. There's an "exclusive club" that gets absolut, jack Daniels, captain Morgan, the good stuff. Oh well tho, alcohol is alcohol. Please note if you're privileged: the "Pure" privileged beach bar, is on the other side of the reasort in front of the Yucatan half. It's a bit of a walk just to be on the privileged side. Seems pretty stupid

Pools:
Pools look great! 3 on the Riviera Maya side. 1 has a swim up "margarita" bar. That's just the name. They don't only specialize in margaritas. Another is a big open pool. And the other is a small quiet pool with a volleyball net. The pool with the bar seems to get most of the attention, even with kids. There's a ledge that runs along the inside of all the pools. So you can sit and relax anywhere. We only swam at the Yucatan pool once. There were I think 2 pools. 1 with a "Tequila" bar. Just the name, they don't only serve tequila. Oh, there's also a juice bar by the small pool. We didn't try that. You need to make sure to secure your pool chairs BEFORE 8:30 or so. They do fill up quick! Especially the ones with umbrellas. No problems with the beach chairs. There are daily activities going on. We didn't participate in them.

Beach:
Very rocky as everyone says, so water shoes are a must. Water is a little dirty but oh well. Not much of a beach on the riviera side. There's a lagoon to the left that you can snorkel in. To the right, in front of the Yucatan side, is a better sandy beach. And of course, the privileged area, far away from the privileged rooms, in front of the "other" hotel.

Food:
After about 3 days of eating breakfast and lunch with everyone else, we found the privileged breakfast and lunch. Non buffet style! Nobody told us this upon check in! There are 2 buffets for everyone. Typical buffet food. They are open from 0700-1030. Upstairs above the buffet is the privileged area. A LOT more nicer than downstairs. You really feel more privileged here. You are served better food and are waited on. These all turn into lunch from 1200-1500. Same thoughts about all, privileged upstairs tastes so much better. There is a snack bar next to the small pool. They have burgers, hot dogs, chicken wings, chicken nuggets. Pretty decent food. But once we found the privileged lunch, we didn't go back. The food at all of the dinners were AMAZING. Only restaurant we absolutely hated was the Tapas terrace. You get a ticket to each one at check in that you WILL need in order to get in. Dress code is shoes, shorts/pants, and a shirt. No flip flops or tank tops. Outside the restaraunts is a little mixer area where you can have finger foods a champagne while you wait. If you go after 7 you may have to wait about 20 minutes. There's a bar outside so no worries. Also, there's a creeps place. They also serve milkshakes and ice cream. We were there everynight for dessert. So good!

Staff:
Every single employee is nice and respectful! Always saying hola as you walk by. Every one speaks English just fine. Obviously not perfect but they do speak English fine

All in all we've had an amazing week! We would recommend this to everyone. It's a great price and just amazing. Just wish privileged was a little better. But it didn't ruin our vacation!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MrAndrews88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear MrAndrews88,

We would like to thank you such nice comments about our hotel facilities. We all are deeply glad to hear that you spent a great time with us. We really appreciate your comments about the hotel and staff, we work every day to give you our best service and make you feel comfortable.

It is great to know that you have a good time. We feel very proud of the impression you have from the hotel and our service.

We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!


Yours sincerely,

Hote Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I'll keep it simple.

Food - Average
Wait Staff - 75% of them excellent. Cook was depressed.
Beach - Beautiful.
Guests: Seemed annoyed or 'to good' -- wanted to high 5 a couple that smiled at us.
Rooms - Average (WIFI is streaming media restricted (ie Netflix)
Drinks/Bars - excellent. Francisco @ the Margarita Bar was excellent.
Spending time with spouse was excellent, the resort had many "hiccup" moments, (ie: luggage wasn't delivered for first 2 hours) (Wife found plastic in salad)

I forgave those until.......

What had destroyed my experience for this hotel all together - the Exclusive Travelers Club AKA: ETC.
We landed back in the states and I researched the 'benefits' further the....

- Exclusive Travelers Club - presentation/purchase. The guys whom put on the presentation are great and should have academy awards. The presentation reality in comparison to this reality is stretched to say best. Misrepresented and construed, not to mention the hours of time it consumed from our stay and the bonus 15 years not even discussed at any point. I have no trust in this resort any longer and will not return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank adamleegriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Firstly you will note all the negative comments are from the Americans, they are very difficult to please. The hotel is fantastic, beautiful settling, great staff, entertainment and activities if you want them and the most relaxing pool if up you don't. Rooms really comfortable and clean. Food good and lots of choice (veggie no problem).
Tips: these are two hotels in one, don't know why but worth checking prices of both as they are identical and you use both.
Book excursions in playa del carmen half the price. Don't need excursion for dolphins, turtles or tulum.
Take pesos not dollars.
There is no fridge in the standard room and you pay for the safe. Wifi ok in room.
No need to upgrade and was only mentioned once when we checked in so no pressure to.
Puerto aventuras is a posh urbanisation with lovely villas, hotels, marina and some shops so unlike some of the riviera maya hotels there is somewhere to walk around. Very safe and secure.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear ArtNSoulEscapes,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us!

We are really appreciate so detailed feedback and believe it will be very useful for other people to read about your experience in Catalonia Riviera Maya.

We transferred your words to Josue and his team, all of them are absolutely thrilled and happy :)

You were right about water shoes, rocks and shells - we are second large world coral reef so this is a part of a game:)

Next time try our internal SPA, you will be surprised with variety and quality of service we provide. Just ask our Concierge desk for reservation and enjoy it without any printed confirmation!

Room upgrade also could be easily made in advance with our Concierge service - just give us a call.

Thank you again and looking forward to host you again soon!

Sincerely yours,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted with smiles and a fruity drink. Once we were able to check in, it was a bust. They did not have our king size reservation and tried to put my husband and I in a double bed room but would switch our room in the morning.. no thanks, we booked this 4 months ago and it is my 30th birthday. He simply stated, "tip me and we will make this happen." Oh... we see how this trip is going to go. Either tip him and get our room switched to be happy, or don't and get our stuff robbed. awesome. So we tipped so that we could have the piece of mind that they will leave our stuff in peace once we left the room.
We stayed one week and the room was only cleaned once. Are you kidding me? Sand everywhere, had to beg for towels, oh and water bottles that were in the refrigerator that were obviously re-filled. Really? We asked for our room to be cleaned but they came when were trying to take a nap after laying in the sun all day. By the way, they were doing construction on our roof that whole week also so actually they could've cleaned the room since we weren't able to sleep. The food... not one taco or enchilada. We had more italian and sushi then we needed.
Basically, just save more money and go to a nicer resort in actual cancun. We were ready to leave by the 3rd day. Such a bummer for my 30th birthday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Amanda R,

We would like to thank you for your modest comments about your recent stay at Catalonia Hotels & Resorts.

We will consider all the items that you have mentioned.

I personally hope that you can give us the chance to be your host any time soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
24.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,585 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
24.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
16.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Property: Catalonia Riviera Maya
Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico
Catalonia Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing