We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

After having made an extensive research we decided to book this hotel. I`ve stayed in Cancun before and this was our first time in Puerto Aventuras. For Us it was a very enjoyable time since our arrival... after having survived a mega turbulence that we had to head back to Montreal airport finally we arrived to our hotel and they welcomed Us with some refreshing drinks, and Alfredo in the reception made Us feel right at home! After telling him about our flight experience he made up to us the time lost by giving Us a free upgrade in our room just steps from the pool. The place is very neat, you are able to walk from place to place without the hassle of the mega hotels. We went for a weeding and spent a night at El Cid in Puerto Morelos, it`s a nice hotel but mega big that you have to use a golf cart to move around, defenitively Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya was perfect for us. We can`t wait to go back! Very friendly staff... remember if you go please tip the waiters and the maid who everyday left Us a different towel figure, so cute... everyone there is fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ClarisMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,710
    2,830
    988
    400
    243
See reviews for
2,291
3,616
127
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,048)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

Okay, this is the straight scoop, no whining about little things that don't matter, just the facts as I saw them. We were at the Catalonia October 23-27 with my wife and 3 grown children and had a great time. This was our first trip to Cancun and would go back without hesitation. We read a lot of reviews before we left and they were generally accurate, except I don't get the negative people. They must not be satisfied with anything. The CAT is not a 5 star, but neither is the price. Great price, service and location. Here is what we experienced: first, we immediately upgraded our room to the Superior. This is $15 per person per night. Good rooms, king bed and added a roll-away for our third. Above average rooms, clean, large bathrooms, great shower, good A/C, very quiet, nice balcony. This was our first all-inclusive and the reviews are accurate. The buffet has a tremendous selection, but average to above average. Kind of a free-for-all getting through the line. The service was always great though. Definitely go the the restaurants on site. You must make reservations up to 36 hours in advance. The Mikado (Japanese is awesome). We made the creperie a daily visit at the end of the day. Not many people knew about this, but they have great desserts and it is a nice view of everything. Top off your meal here. The beach is okay, not the ideal for swimmers (where water shoes) but GREAT for snorkeling. Lots of fish to see just off shore from the hotel. This was our children's favorite part of the trip. They provide snorkel gear. The pools are all good. Kept clean, lots of deck chairs, etc. We went on the Chichen Itza and Xcerat tours. Both were day long trips and spendy if you do the upgrade package (meals, etc.), but worth it. We booked everything on site through Mario, the Lomas rep. He is helpful, honest and gave us great advice. He is a nice guy and has a family so tip him well for the service you will not be disappointed. As far as the negative comments; we never had any power-outages, we never experienced the locals filling up the property on the weekends, we found the food above average, the pools were not overcrowded, no one got sick, the rooms were great (A/C worked, clean, roomy). Overall, we would go back and we would go back. The whole area is hurting for business, so make the trip, tip big if you can and have a great time like we did.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Simongraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

Here is what you need to know before booking. The basic rooms are very clean but very basic. There is a $3/day charge for the safes in the basic rooms. There is no alarm clock in the basic rooms. If you have been to Mexico before, you know the beds are hard. The upgraded rooms have safe included, upgraded furnishings, clock and a mini-fridge. You can eat at the ala cartes three times in a week. The snorkle gear and kayaks can each be checked out 1hr per day. If you are reading these reviews you probably already know this and won't be dissappointed.

We went with a group that include two children (4&8) 3 of us in our 40's and 4 people in their late 60's. Everyone had a great time and would recommend the resort. The people here make the difference. The staff was welcoming and wonderful. The service is friendly and attentive.

The size of the resort is just right. You can walk from one end to the other in 5 minutes. Yet it still has a nice selection of bars, pools, a good workout facility, decent shows and 4 ala carte restaurant choices.

The food at the buffet is good. As far as the Ala Cartes, the Japanese restaurant was our favorite. The food and the service were very good. The staff at the Mexican restaurant were great and the food was tastey as well.

The beer is Dos XX. Most bars have the regular and the Amber. The mixed drinks were good. The call liquor varied from bat to bar. The bartenders, not surprisingly, use well liquor unless you ask. They would happily used whatever liquor you requested if they had it. For those that like tequila, they did not have any anejos but do carry El Jimador, Hornitos, and 100 Anjos reposados. The wine was not as good. Barely drinkable. But I figure I'm in mexico. I should be drinking rum and tequila anyway.

The marina is a nice walk(about 1/2 mile) or you can check out bicycles. The kids loved seeing the dolphins, manatees, and sea lions. There is a free shuttle to PDC but you need to sign up for it the night before. You will probably need to take a taxi back as it only runs once in the am and pm.
If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton, this is not the resort for you. There is less marble, crystal and pretense. If you like a laid back atmosphere with fun helpful staff this is your place. Also it's a great value. This resort more than met our expectations. We have fallen for it. We will go back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rmh1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

Just got home awhile ago, to find out we have been double billed on a credit card, for our upgrade! We were traveling with family members that have the last name and they were double billed as well. When they called, they were told, they had two rooms in thier name. They also had a bottle of wine (which was disgusting) on thier room and so thier total was different then ours. So we checked, to make sure that they were not billed for ours, and found that we were billed twice as well! They called, and were told to fax in thier paperwork from the trip, and refused to go look up the information. We will be getting our credit, if it's the last thing I do, but just a warning... these people are into making money. If I am wrong, and they call and apologize and credit us, I will re-post. Doubt it though.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

we have stayed at 6 resorts, all had good and bad points, but this place has it all, you can't go wrong. beach shoes like most resorts a must.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poetotoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

We stayed 8 nights in the Catalonia and can't say enough great things about it. The staff bent over backwards to cater to your every need. The food was amazing (except for the Snack Bar). The bartenders kept the booze flowing. The shows were fun. The grounds were immaculately kept. The room was SPOTLESS each day. The pools were cleaned often. I would definitely suggest going to Le Creperie often. Also, do not leave your plate unattended, as birds will pilfer food. I would plan meals around the available hours of the buffet (so you can avoid the horrific snack bar). As for the a la carte restaurants, we ate at all four and didn't care much for the Italian. The steakhouse was good, but the highlights were the Japanese and Mexican joints. I would also suggest bringing you own coffee maker and coffee. The stuff that most places have down there is awful and instant. I would call this the perfect honeymoon spot and a great place to bring families, friends, or just get away!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caver2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

My daughter & I had a mom/daughter get-away to this resort last week. It was suggested by a friend .. and I'm glad we took their advise! Our room was exceptionally clean and the staff was alway very accommodating --- especially Marisol at Guest Services.

We only stayed 4 nights -- wish now we had stayed longer. Many extra activities available so we did something each day. Dolphin Discovery just down the road -- what a great experience to swim with the dolphins. The onsite Spa was great also. Also did a sailboat/snorkel cruise with Catamaya ... great team and wonderful steak & lobster lunch.

Enjoyed the various pools ... the openness of the facilities.

YOU DO have to make restaurant reservations fairly quickly when you arrive .. they stayed booked up. We vouch for the Mexican and Italian food! La Creperie is no-reservation and a MUST for their wonderful crepes. ALL the food was great.

Didn't do any of the evening shows because we feel into blissful slumber around 9 PM after our day's activities.

SUGGESTION: Take small US $$ to purchase with ... nothing larger than $5 for normal/non-expensive purchases.

ALSO -- the beach has coral close to the shores which is sharp in places... take swim shoes if you want to go into the ocean.

INTERNET -- free wi-fi. We were on the 1st floor and got good connection from the patio of the room. Others had to go to the lobby area to access ... but pretty reliable service for the area.

We loved the place .. and look forward to going back with the whole family one day!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
24.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,543 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
24.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
16.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#74 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Riviera Maya

Property: Catalonia Riviera Maya
Address: Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Manzana 18 | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Sea's turquoise waters can be seen from this hotel-paradise. Come and get ready to spend some unforgettable days in the heart of the Mayan Riviera, surrounded by marvelous landscapes and seductive, white sand beaches. The hotel is located in the wonderful Puerto Aventuras development. This is a tourist development which boasts a marina for yachts, a golf course, restaurants and dolphin tanks, all within easy reach of the main Mayan Riviera attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Hotel Mexico
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Riviera Maya Catalonia
Hotel Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riveria Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort
Catalonia Riviera Maya All Inclusive
Catalonia Mexico
Catalonia Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing