We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
26 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$180
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$200
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$150
View deal
Hotels.comUS$180
Official websiteUS$199
TravelocityUS$180
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13,436)
Filter reviews
13,436 results
Traveller rating
6,245
4,435
1,663
638
455
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6,245
4,435
1,663
638
455
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas fish snack bar privileged suite el mercado privileged guests gated community standard room japanese restaurant crepes pure chill out bar a la carte restaurants animation team steak lagoon area dolphin discovery the grill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
518 - 523 of 13,436 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2019

We've just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks in Mexico, our 2nd visit to this country and 2nd to this particular hotel.

Things have changed in the last 3 years, mainly for the better.

The weakest thing last time was the food, it wasn't bad, but a little bland and repetitive, however now there is a lot more variety and the quality is better... nothing to complain about in either of the buffet restaurants, and the a la carte restaurants were lovely, our favourite being the Bambolero grill, the steaks in here were very good, especially the tenderloin!!

On arrival (which was a bit slicker than last time) we were taken to our room (a standard) which was immaculate and massive. Unfortunately it had an interconnecting door, and the guests in the next room were noisy enough for us to decide that this one wasn't for us, so we ended up getting a suite.

We hadn't upgraded prior to flying out as we were told that as a returning guest we would have offers on the privileged rooms, and we'd been more than happy with the standard room from our first stay.

8403 was lovely, so much space, an outside bath and garden, massive bed, dual sinks in the huge bathroom, 2 televisions (1 in the bedroom and 1 in the living room with couch) and a fully stocked minibar. It's a very quiet room as it faces the perimeter of the complex, so only the noise of a few cars going past.

The housekeeping was great, and every evening they would return for a turn down service to check on towels etc.

The staff were even better this time than the last, we recognised quite a few, which is quite a warm, reassuring feeling.

All of them would look you in the eye and say 'Hola' with a smile, these are genuine people who are more than happy to help.

In general the hotel is very clean, but we had a few days where the pool in the privileged area was quite full of flies and there was a layer of suncream I think on the surface, but the water in the pools were checked every day, and we didn't hear any reports of people being ill from ear infections etc.

However, we did hear reports of 2 separate incidents where people had defacated in other pools.. accidents happen, but a lot of people seemed to be in the pools all day without going to the toilet...not the hotel's fault but it did make us think...and we saw a very drunk guy passed out, sat at an empty pool bar after a thunderstorm.

Would we return? Absolutely.. without a thought... but we would definitely upgrade to get away from the noise of the main pool... the animation team are there to do a job, but sometimes you just want a bit of peace, the 2nd week seemed to have quieter music, so it wasn't as intrusive.

There's so much to recommend on this hotel, the beach is very clean, we saw hardly any of the green sargassum that had been causing such a problem recently, and the little walkway at the end of the beach that separates the lagoon is a phenomenal spot for sunrise, and to see the lionfish and young barracuda that frequent it.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Barrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2019

Dear Barrie,

We love receiving comments from repeat guests because they always allow us to see which changes have been beneficial and which ones have not, thank you very much for having the confidence to share. Of course we will check the areas of opportunity you mention, it will be a pleasure to know that you are coming back for the third time and we have once again achieved your total satisfaction. Thanks for your preference.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2019

It was a good value for money

Pros:
+ We booked at Catalonia Yucatan instead of Riviera Maya and it was a really good decision as we cold use all the amenities of Riviera's for less price.
+ Hotel is quite good, with good amenities - swimming pool, restaurants, gardens, very clean and friendly staff;
+ Really good thematic restaurants you can book (for free) for dinner! Japanese restaurant is amazing;
+ Inside a private area, really secure, I used to jogging on the outside;
+ 1,5 h from the airport and 2 hours from Chichen Itza

Cons
- The beach is far from Caribbean paradisiacal beaches; they have 2 small beaches inside a bay, one of them with rocks and the other one crowded;
- Hotel is good for couples or friends, but if you travel with kids it is not the best as there are drunk people everywhere; fortnetly we chose the swimming pool witht animation and it was way better but not perfect;
- Buffet restaurant is not the best place when you try to be an healthy person;

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2019

Dear Cristina,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, for us it is very important to receive feedback from our guests as it helps us to identify the areas of opportunity in which we have to work immediately to improve the experience of our guests. Thank you for mentioning your experience in the buffet, sincerely we had not received any comments of this nature however, we will put all our attention. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to be of your choice again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2019

The hotel was Slightly dated. The accommodation, common areas and the grounds were very clean and tidy. The meals in the buffet restaurants were very good and the theme restaurants were excellent. All staff were excellent always polite and helpful

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank kevinparkins855
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2019

Dear Kevin,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Catalonia Riviera Maya. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed from our beautiful facilities to our amazing food in our specialty restaurants.
I will pass your kind words to the team who I am sure will be also happy to know that your overall stay with us.
We hope to see you soon back in Paradise!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2019

Brilliant holiday made by a great hotel with fabulous food, service and an amazing entertainments team. The specialised restaurants were very good, with the grill and tapas restaurants being our favourite by far.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank joedevan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2019 via mobile

Mixed feelings about this place. The staff are in general excellent. However a couple of things to be mindful of are that although you are given a voucher for the Spa you can only use this on 50+ minute massages (does not state this on the voucher) It is also not clear about activities which are included (use of snorkel equipment, kayak in the lagoon and Sea Cat). Excellent disabled access. Good selection of beverages. Average food in the buffet. The speciality restaurants have a higher quality.
The sea is clear with a healthy number of fish . Also a nice temperature for relaxing.
On the beach for a fee you can use a Jet Ski. Scuba packages also available.
Marina is a 10-15 minute walk away with local cafes.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Karyn_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Dear Karyn,

Thank you for taking the time to share. I am glad to read that you enjoyed swimming in the cove in front of the hotel, the marine fauna and flora have been growing year after year and our guests have enjoyed being able to snorkel on the property. On the other hand, the observations you make will be taken into account, especially the conditions of the voucher as the activities included are explained on our official website. Thank you very much for the confidence, we feel very grateful for your preference and hope you can return very soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews