We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but terrible owners that scammed us.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolce Vita

Dolce Vita
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food but terrible owners that scammed us.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We went to Dolche Vita and it was a terrible experience for our group of 8. We ordered 5 appetizers and only three arrived to our table 20 minutes after ordering. Then, after an additional 20 minutes only 3 of us received our entrees - two of which were incomplete dishes. After asking the owners for a status on the remaining 5 dishes, they acted as though we were at fault. Eventually, we received three additional dishes two of which were not what was ordered and the third was a pizza that was raw. We never received the remaining items. Yet, when we attempted to settled the bill for a lesser amount than owed, the owners would not budge ok the amount and threatened to contact the police. We were forced to pay over $400 for meals we did not receive and never received an apology. In addition, our wine was watered down. This place could be great, but the smug and thieving nature of the owners ruin what could be. We are furious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank SophieGirl0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    25
    8
    8
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paamul, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quiet, romantic ambience, good food & drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Dolce Vita by the dolphin pools at Puerto Aventuras offered a quiet, romantic ambience with live greenery, small white mood lights, and pleasant background music that made conversation easy. We had very good pasta, bread made delicious by the flavored oil dip, and Sambuca that topped off the evening and invited us to linger.

Service by Lorenzo was efficient and professional, and contributed to our feeling warmly welcomed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jasstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We ordered their mixed fish platter (sharing for 2) which was expensive at $520 pesetas. It included lobster and we were celebrating so we decided to go for it. Our children ordered fillet mignon. The food was by far the worst we had in Puerto Aventuras. Our fish was so over cooked that it was tough and dry to eat. There was no sauce with it and when we asked for sauce our waiter provided us with a tasteless red sauce which had no salt or herbs in it. To make matters worse, the lobster that should have been included in our meal (the fish platter without lobster was $300) was actually a langoustine. When we pointed that out to them they tried to say that the langoustine is a mini lobster!

Our daughters couldn't eat their fillet mignon. It had a bad flavour and they were hungry when we finished our meal. The couple next to us overheard our conversation with the waiter (when we refused to pay for the lobster we didn't have) and they said they had the worst pizza of their holiday there. They had tried to order one pizza but the waiter said one pizza would be way too small for them to share. They said to us that not only were the pizzas huge but they were tasteless. They just wanted to leave.

A terrible place that serves tasteless food and tries to rip you off. Don't go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank DJSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

A must is try the Cheif Special we had dinner here twice and lunch many times on our trip and both meals had great food with a nice sea view.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place and super hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Location is great. Rooms were perfect. Loved the pool and the privacy. Breakfast every morning was a treat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis1483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolce Vita also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing