We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property and great beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful property and great beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed 2 weeks at Barcelo Maya Beach from June - June 26, 2014. The overall experience is very good but not great. The check in was quick and smooth, We got room that we requested at the time of booking, no questions asked.

The resort grounds are exceptionally clean and well kept. The beach is fantastic. White powdery sand, lots of palm trees for the shade and plenty of sun beds.

We had a room on the second floor in Uxmal building and we had no issues with it what so ever. The room was cleaned every day and the fridge was stocked twice a day. The staff was friendly and professional.

First week we were there the food @ the buffet restaurant was way better than we anticipated. You could tell that food was made fresh every day and there was a lot to chose from even for the pickiest eaters.

The second week things got little busier at the resort and this is where things started falling through the cracks. The food didn't taste so good any more and you could tell it was prepared well in advance. It was more difficult to get clean table and you had to wait for the service.

There are only 2 a la carte restaurants and we didn't like either one of them. The food tasted like it was cooked two days ago and just re-heated in the microwave.

Lobby bar was consistently good in therms of quality of drinks, coffee and overall service.
We had no issues with the safety. I had a haircut at the spa and it was okay experience but nothing out of the ordinary.

The evening shows at the theatre exceeded our expectations. The production was on much higher level than one would expect at the place like this.

If you are a beach lover, this resort is for you. The beach is gorgeous and it`s only few steps away from any room in any building.

We made a mistake and booked a trip to Playa Del Carmen via Lapis Jewellery. That was to say the least not so nice experience. They keep you there for good hour trying to sell you overpriced silver. The sales people are very pushy and they make you feel very uncomfortable .
In the summary we had a very nice vacation and we would not mind going back to this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Terra S; Thank you for choosing Barcelo Maya Beach as your vacation resort, we are happy that we have exceeded your expectations and you have enjoyed the property and services.

Guest feedback is very important for us, and wherever possible we are happy to listen and learn.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,137
    2,236
    747
    336
    237
See reviews for
2,629
2,774
71
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Roberts, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We are regular patrons of Barcelo, particularly Barcelo Maya Beach, we have become friends with some of the staff as we see some of the same faces, which makes for a fun vacation. This time however, there was a major ....huge...issue. IT WAS THE CONSTRUCTION at the Barcelo Maya Caribe....we got informed 1 day before departure of "enhancements", when it was in fact...a complete tear down and rebuilding of the hotel and grounds. From approximately 7am to 8pm or later every night, we were inundated with noise from construction. There was no escaping it, despite the CANVAS wall they had erected, really do not know what they expected that wall to do!!!!...Made for a very noisy....and unpleasant vacation.

The food was another story, loved the breakfast buffer.....but the lunch and dinner buffetts left a lot to be desired....when one goes to Mexico, it would be nice to see some MEXICAN FOOD....such as casadilla's, taco's. burrito's, ....they did have what they referred to as theme nights.....such as Italian....Spanish....French...and so on....but these nights were simply :(inundated with sea food....One would think when you mention Italian night.....Lasagna.....or pasta would be the main dishes??? Or french onion soup on French night no??? Three nites out of the 7 we spent there, we did not eat dinner at all.....:(, We are not picky eaters, but can only say that the food was ......AWFUL...

This was our 4th trip in a 3 year period, and this was the one, where I can say, not sure I will go back there again....I was not happy about not being told about the construction, and the food....well lost 4lbs .....due to not having lunch or dinner on most days....

Room Tip: Ask for upgraded room,....or updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 156BethM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
156BethM; Many thanks for your contact and your comments regarding our services.
We are very pleased that you continue to enjoy your stays and thank you for your continued patronage of Barcelo Maya Beach Resort, however we would like to apologize because this time we were not up to the standards you would have liked.

We regret the inconveniences caused due to the information you received previous to your arrival. We had advised our travel partners in March that Barceló Maya Caribe hotel would be closing for renovations in May of this year and all our regular services are functioning as normal.

Guest comments are a useful tool for us to improve our services and we always treat them seriosly and take appropriate action to continue to better ourselves day by day.

We remain at your services.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed there for 8 days in Junior suite that apparently was renovated. Still, the water did not drain in the shower and leaked everywhere. We had to put towels on the floors every time after shower in order to stop the leaks from spreading into the room. The maintenance could not fix it. For more then $250/night I expect the room to be cleaned every day. Apparently the hotel does not think so. If I did not call for cleaning the room was not cleaned.
The acoustics are bad. When the room above flushes the toilet it sounds like it's in your room. The noise from the hallway is very strong.
We met some guests that got the regular room and we were fed horror stories about not working AC, bad smells in the rooms and rude service.
Hotel has about 5 restaurants besides the buffet that was not good. But it was very hard to get reservations into these restaurants.
The service was not attentive and not really friendly. It looked that the preference was given more to Spanish speaking guests.
At some point we we were not allowed to enter the buffet for lunch because we came from the pool with our bathing suits and shirts covering them, the staff claimed that they looked too damp for them.
I am sure that for this kind of money there are better places to stay.

Room Tip: If you decide to come make sure to stay only in a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Baruch G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Baruch G; Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Beach Resort, I am sorry that on this occasion the non intentional inconveniences in your room have not allowed you to fully enjoy your Vacation.

Guest comments whether negative or positive are very important to us and a useful tool that show us the areas that we need to improve.

I am sorry that we were not able to find a suitable compensation for you on this occasion, our main goal is to make sure that all our guests leave with wonderful memories of their stay here and wanting to return.

We will be happy to have the opportunity to host you again one day with a guarantee that we can exceed your expectations.

We remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I traveled to Barcelo Maya Beach with a large group for a family member's wedding in January. We had some issues checking in, as they had complications sorting out who was in which hotel (between Beach and Caribe). When they finally figured out where we should be, our room wasn't ready.
Aside from the issues at check-in, we had a very nice time. The room and the resort were clean. The pools and beach were gorgeous. It was easy to find a lounger or a hammock in the shade or in the sun. The serving staff was attentive and friendly. I wasn't crazy about the food at the buffet after the 3rd day, but there was always lots of fruits and vegetables and the A la Carte was really good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
gdwas; Many thanks for your comments, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused but glad that you enjoyed many aspects of you Vacation with us. Guest comments are a useful tool for us to improve our services and we always treat them seriously and take appropriate action to continue to better ourselves day by day.

we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at this resort to attend our niece's wedding. Perhaps we were disappointed with Barcelo Maya as we transferred to it after two glorious weeks at Dreams Tulum. We had much to compare.

At Barcelo we found that the staff were not engaging with visitors so.did not give a warm welcome feel. They were not rude at all but did not attempt to enhance the basic customer service.

Only had 2 a'la carte restaurants for which you were limited to a number of reservations only. The main buffet looked impressive and everything had an amazing presentation but the quality and flavour left much to be desired.

I absolutely need to mention their house white wine actually tasted like watered down Tequila!! On a couple of different days I tried it thinking that the first one was a mistake. Nope not a mistake just horrible.

The activity team were very impersonal and I found that their pool aerobics class each day had too much touching of strangers for my liking.

The resort was good for families with small children as it has a nice splash pad and playground.

The rooms were clean and adequate for our stay.

We noticed that resort often had large groups come in for the day so made it a challenge with service.

Our 26 yr old daughter and son-in-law thought the resort was very good but they have not had as many all-inclusives to compare.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hvnahoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hvnahoot; Thank you for sharing your impressions of Barceló Maya Beach regarding your stay with us, I can let you know that all guest comments whether negative or positive are very important to us, as they show us the areas that we need to improve.

We will be happy to receive you again one day with a guarantee that we can exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Rivers, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our second time at the Barcelo Maya Beach and we absolutely love it and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The staff and food are wonderful. The pools and beach are gorgeous! Plenty to do for everyone, including two teenagers! My first concern: we were put on the ground floor and I noticed right away one flaw in their sliding doors. To secure the door, you must push up on a security lock, sort of like a vertical dead bolt. We know for a fact that our security lock was in place. We left for dinner and our room was broken into and some personal items were stolen. Of course, the hotel is not responsible for any lost or stolen items. Lesson learned. NEVER get a room on the ground floor! The second concern I have is this. Our room was cleaned and fresh linens and towels were put in the room. We were waiting for them to finish before entering the room. About 30 minutes later there was a knock on the door. We didn't answer so, the maids used their key cards and just walked in. They were startled to see us standing there and we asked them what they wanted. They asked us if we wanted fresh towels and we told them that our room was JUST cleaned. They hesitated and just turned around and walked out. I see a HUGE concern with this and I believe they were the ones unlocking the sliding doors, just my opinion but this happened twice while we were there. We notified the front desk and security. No follow up was done after that. I know this can happen anywhere at any time, however, just use that safe and keep everything in it! Use locks on your suitcases, never leave them opened. With this being said, would we stay at the Barcelo Maya Beach again? YES! On a side note not related: do NOT book the free trip to Lapis Jewelry Factory and the shopping excursion to downtown Playa Del Carmin! Very scary!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor. I will NEVER have another ground floor room at any hotel. They do have elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Richard J; Many thanks for your contact and your comments regarding our services.

We are very pleased that you continue to enjoy your stays and thank you for your continued patronage of Barcelo Maya Beach Resort, however would like to apologize for the factors that meant you were not able to fully enjoy your Vacation this time.

I will be happy to take your remarks into consideration as a means to improve our services.

We look forward to receiving you again with a guarantee that we can exceed your expectations.

Once again many thanks for sharing your comments.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I read the reviews before we went and wasn't sure if we'd like it. I agree with the person who asked what are all these people complaining about! I think this resort is great value for the money. We went with a group of 54 for spring break and had to keep everyone from tweens, teens and parents happy. I think Barcelo exceeded our expectations.
The resort is beautiful and well maintained. The beach is amazing and goes on forever. You can find beautiful clear water and places to snorkel. There's a variety of pools, including everything from child oriented, party oriented, to adult. If you want entertainment, you can find it.
As for the food... It isn't gourmet, but it's pretty good. Sometimes you need to get a bit creative. If you see a guy cooking up steak for fajitas, but you don't want a fajitas, you can just ask him to cook up some meat to your liking (as long as there isn't a huge line.) I think they do an amazing job. There's always fresh fruit, fresh squeezed juice, you can get eggs to order at breakfast and there's enough variety to eat something different everyday.
Alcohol... if you're a white wine drinker, you will probably be disappointed, but if your desperate for something better, take a cab into Peurto Adventuras and buy some. Also, the liquor options are better if you upgrade to the concierge package (I think that's what they call it here), but it still isn't TOP shelf.
If you're picky about top shelf liquor and gourmet meals, there are plenty of more expensive resorts that offer it.
One last thing, we loved the 24 hour bar with the island! We met there every night! And, we only went to a couple of the specialty restaurants and they were okay. Service was on the slow side and you can only seat 4-6 at a table. This was difficult for our dinner group of 10.
Overall, we would come back here again!

Room Tip: We were in the renovated rooms at the beaches. The other rooms were fine too. None of the rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Chrisnelswon; We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Maya Beach, we are glad we have exceeded your expectations and fully enjoyed your vacations with us.

We also take this opportunity to inform you that Barceló Maya Caribe our sister hotel is preparing new surprises for next year.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Greetings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,182 reviews
10.6 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#68 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,405 reviews
10.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach

Property: Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Barcelo, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing