We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It has it good and bad points” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Maya Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“It has it good and bad points”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed at the Caribe from 2/22/12 thru 2/29/12. There a some mixed feelings on this resort. First of all my wife and I have visited quite a few different resorts over the years ranging from small to large. This is my honest opinion of our experience.

The Good:
Check in was fast and easy. We arrived early and got our room right away.
The room was very nice and clean. Full mini bar stocked daily.
I read some bad reviews on the bartenders and the drinks. I will tell you this, these were the hardest working bartenders around. They have alot to deal with, alot of rude people around. HUGE suggestion...TIP, makes the world of difference with the service and drinks. The bartender staff was courteous and alot of fun to be around. This applies to both the swim up bar and the lobby bar. Great group of people.
The grounds and buildings were very nice.

The Bad:
This chain of resorts is very kid and family oriented. For a couple getting away for a relaxing vacation, pick another resort. We got very tired of the "kid club: kids, kids characters running around doing their dances and songs with the kids. The kids were often unsupervised by their parents so had kids jumping off the swim up bar stools, jumping off the edge of the pool next to you. Not very relaxing for us.
Pool was small (with lots of kids).
Beach was large but was rocky, lots of seed weed. Just average.
Food; Not much selection, same thing every day, average in quality.

By looking at the pictures and reading the reviews, we were expecting alot more from this resort since it is in the Barcelo chain. Very disappointed.

Would we go back??? Only if it was an extremely cheap deal. We have stayed at alot nicer resorts for alot less money.

Who knows, if we would have had less kids during our vacation time, we might have given this resort a little better rating. Very nice clean resort with a great staff, but not couple friendly.

Good Luck!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank VillageKitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear VillageKitchen,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,937
    641
    197
    90
    76
See reviews for
1,333
898
45
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We just returned from Barcelo and after getting over the initial shock of not getting most of the things we expected, we still had a great time. We asked for but did not get the following: accommodations at Caribe (got Beach), adjoining rooms (got side by side), not ground floor for security since we were travelling with our kids (got ground floor). The rooms were musty and sheets were damp (which resulted in a rash for me). Our fridge didn't work initially but they did come and fix it quickly. Our ceiling fan was not useable due to the grinding noise it made--this was never fixed but the a/c worked well so not a big deal. Our safe malfunctioned at one point but they promptly sent staff out to fix it. The door to our patio was extremely difficult to slide and resulted in the growth of arm muscles not previously seen, lol. Having said all of this, the staff are exceptionally friendly and mostly helpful. The resort was oversold when we were there so there simply were no options to move us. The showers were very nice and they supplied shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Towel/maid service was great. Our mini bar was consistently restocked. The beach is magnificent as are the pools. The snorkelling off of the pier is also good--not fantastic but good. The Mexican a la cart was a lot of fun. The only good part of the Spanish a la cart was the wine that we paid $35 USD for and the fact that our kids allowed us a romantic night alone. We were unable to get reservations at ANY of the other restaurants as they were booked weeks in advance even though I was told they were not able to book them for us when I emailed them prior to our vacation. Don't get too excited about the water bikes because they only let them out if the conditions are perfectly calm which did not happen during our vacation. The sports bar at Caribe is a joke--no complete decks of cards or complete game sets. The puck gets stuck in the air hockey and it's so loud, you'll get shunned if you use it.

Thank goodness we are pool and beach people because both of these saved our vacation. They were worth not getting the other things we wanted. I guess you have to decide what is important to you and be prepared to settle for what they give you.

Room Tip: Choose a room not on the ground floor and pray they give it to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lauren322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear Lauren322,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This place was amazing!! For a first time traveler to this resort I was beyond impressed. The rooms are airy, clean, and cool (in Mexico when it's 80+ degrees you want it cool). The staff is very friendly and quick to help you if you need it. The buffets are very well stocked and the all inclusive options are quite plentiful. Go and stay long enough to get a dinner at the ala carte restaurants which you do have to reserve, because it's actually worth it--esp. at Don Quixote the Spanish one. Second, book an off resort tour, they have so many and it's worth it just to see the sites of the area. Tulum is by far superior if you want to see the ruins (at least to Chechen Itza). Secondly, they don't tell you this right off, but this resort is located just south of Playa del Carmen, step outside the gates and catch a local shuttle to Playa. It's a 15 min ride for the equivalent of $2 each way. Once there, go south (toward the beach) two blocks and you're on Cinco Aveneda (5th Ave) the tourist shopping area. Also while there you can connect with the ferry to Cozumel for a day trip. Both definitely worth doing.

I was a bit surprised, they cleaned our room exactly three times each day, which was nice but a bit overdone. Nonetheless I'll be coming back to their hotels.

Room Tip: The walls are thin, so be prepared to hear your neighbors. Don't face the pool or else you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear Jen C,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I've never stayed anywhere I didn't have to go on a scavenger hunt for food, or that was anything more than a base camp for other adventures, but I won this trip from Barcelo hotels. I was a bit apprehensive, since I'd rather do as the locals do, but from the beginning I was impressed with the cleanliness and the service. The resort was spotless and the employees beyond helpful. There was plenty to do and see during the two nights we were there, even on the morning it rained (fortunately it cleared up by the afternoon!)

We only ate in the buffet. The food was good and there were a lot of choices, although most of the fresh fruit was disappointingly unripe. The drinks in the bars must not have been too strong, based on the amount that I drank! But still yummy, Corona Extra on tap everywhere was a nice touch. Swim up bar was fun, although the water in the pool a little chilly. Jaguars Discotheque an interesting Saturday night, although it felt a little more like a family wedding than a disco. All ages represented though, which was kind of neat.

One note of caution: This section of the Barcelo resort (Caribe/Beach) doesn't have the best beach. The water was warm and clear, but I like to swim in the ocean and not just wade. The coral reef starts about waist deep and you can't really go much further, unless you're wearing shoes. There was also a lot of seaweed. Of course it was still a Caribbean beach, but just a caution for those who like to swim. They did have SCUBA, which was pretty neat.

I was confused on was tips; we saw some people tipping (mostly in the bar) but not often, and there were no notes about it in any of the check-in literature. We tipped the bartenders a few times, and left a few pesos for the cleaning service, but didn't tip the bellhops, concierge, and in the buffet. Not sure what the protocol was.

The only issues were that the ceiling fan clunked; there was a very faint closed-up smell to the room and I'd liked to have run the fan instead of the a/c. Plus we could hear everything happening through the ceiling above; didn't affect us at night but we could hear cleaning during the day when we stopped to drop things off. The patio in the room was a lovely for the sunrise on our morning departure. Loved the Mayan statues and the buildings were beautiful. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Top floor if you can, the ceilings seem to be a little thin. The Sayil building has a view closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGetOutGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear TheGetOutGirl,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We (2 adults) have just returned from a week spent at the Barcelo Maya Caribe resort, and we feel great. Service is very good, the resort is beautiful and always kept very clean. There were a lot of families with young kids, but there's room to spare for all, and either at the beach or at one of the various pools you can relax and enjoy your vacation. Food is always plenty and the buffets have a lot of variety. Although the food at the buffets is good, at the restaurants (you have to make prior reservations) it is excellent. On our first night we were put on a room on the bottom floor (the rooms are in buildings with 3 floors) and we were awaken very early by some very noisy upstairs neighbours. However, after we contacted the manager about it, we were promptly moved to a room on the top floor for the rest of our stay. This new room was very pleasant, quiet and peacefull. All in all, it's a very nice resort and we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear Bruno S,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldergrove, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The hotel was wonderful! Full of friendly staff that are eager to help, clean environment and good food!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SNMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear SNMcLeod,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I have just (Feburary 2012) returned from a two week holiday in this wonderful hotel. We can find nothing to fault at all. Our room was comfortable and cleaned every day. Fresh towels and linen as required. The food in all the resturants was varied and plentiful and all tastes were catered for. There was the opportunity to eat al la carte and we particulary liked the Spanish resturant although the others were also excellent. There is lot to do on site, sport, shopping, fitness centre and beauty facilities. It is easy to get to Tulum by local bus or taxi both cheaper than trips from the hotel. There is a cenote just across the road. Could be walked to if you are young and fit, we had a taxi from across the road £7 return and the hire of life jackets included, a must do experience. The Lagoon at Ackamel is also a must do, not advertised much but wonderful snorkelling. This hotel is excellent for Children with lots to do at no extra charge, we are thinking of returning with grandchildren. Lots of places to sit and we never had to look far for a sunbed or hammock All in all this was a great holiday one of our personal bests. Well done Barcelo

Room Tip: We had a roon in the Labna building second floor we looked onto the gardens and Fountain lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank marioncook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear marioncook,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
18.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
1.6 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,009 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Caribe

Property: Barcelo Maya Caribe
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, TravelUp and Travelbag so you can book your Barcelo Maya Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach
Barcelo Maya Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing