We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
tyngsboro, Ma.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok stay”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here for third time we liked it because it was not springbreack friendly. I guess that changed beach and caribe were loaded with collage kids obnoxious is only way to explain it. If yoj dont mind that bsach is best around dive center on site staff friendly and helpful resort is overLl very nice we will go back but stay in another part.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dakotanate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear dakonate,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,195
    740
    243
    106
    89
See reviews for
1,565
1,012
55
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TEMPLETON
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

So to start...DIS-CONNECT FROM THE WORLD AND RE-CONNECT W/ EACH OTHER!!!

1. ) Check-in: Painless! Got there at 2:45 pm no crazy lines. Took all of 15 mins. (only beCause I considered changing rooms for a "bigger family suite" I never actually saw one, but I suspect they are NO different for an add'l. $50 + a night!)

2.) Book your restaurants right away 3 for a 7 night stay. Hold some cash ($5) in your hand while you do this and you will get a perfectly timed reservation opposed to the 9:30 slots or later. There are menus all over the desk to choose from- TAKE THE TIME TO LOOK AT THEM!!! If you are picky eaters you'll need to look! Skip the Mexican- not horrible but not great either! Also make a few separate reservations for the Capt Morgan Grill which doubles as a seafood restaurant at night - no limit there.

3.) Use the shuttle to go to the other resorts if you don't want to walk- its free- and runs frequently, but catch it in the lobby not the off beat paths- sometimes they skip pick ups there.

4.) Food: the closer you get to the Palace the better the beach buffets get. You cannot get booze, at or past, the CoCo bar if you aren't deluxe. You don't need it. Just go to the one before it! However, tour the Palace as it is a sight of it's own.

5.) Beach: the beach is BEST in front of the Caribe hands down! There will be topless-ness no matter where you sit. never a shortage of chairs- EVER! We were there when the hotel was at 90% capacity and it never felt crowded! Bring your own goggles/ snorkels, because its a $50 deposit for one hour of use of theirs on the beach. Don't pay for snorkeling as we saw and touched sea turtles, tons of curious angelfish, stingrays, bone-fish etc. all right in front of the Caribe for FREE! The dock has tons of stuff to see too!

6.) Pools: Awesome!!! cleanliness was average! Party pools have loud music, dancing, games, and drinkers, but it is sooo fun with older kids! Water aerobics is great! Do all the fun stuff- even if you are shy- you will have fun! staff is so much fun!!

7.) Drinks: Mosquito coast= YUM! Drinks don't taste like they do at home, but order one of everything til you find the "one"! FYI: They will serve minors if they look old enough so keep that in mind. If you want better drinks and attention: TIP! Even a dollar every fourth or sixth drink goes a long way and is appreciated this goes for eating as well- If you tip well the first day they remember you!!
he
8.) Maids: I tipped $2. a day for her and $1 or $2 in the fridge for that person who stocks it daily and left a note saying what I wanted in as few words as possible or in Spanish. Rooms are NOT cleaned great, but what can you do? tip and hope for the best! Facecloths must be requested. Get extra sheets for the futon to sleep on and they will make it up as a bed too!

9.) Skip shopping in Playa if you don't want high pressure sales for junk (or drugs- as experienced by my 17 yr. old)! BUT, if you go take the bus on the main road!!! IT"S $2. a person! A cabi will rip you off!!! Last bus back to the hotel is like 10:30 pm to be safe. SHOP AT THE TROPICAL CONVENTION CENTER-PRICES ARE JUST AS BAD THERE!

10.) SAFETY: SEEMS GOOD! BUT CAUTION/COMMON SENSE NEVER HURTS!!!

11.) Shows: For the most part they are really good! Each night 9:30 for an hour!

12.)MONEY: YES, EXCHANGE MONEY! $1 = $12.50 PESOS tip w/ American money but shop with pesos or CC as it get the pesos price!! If you want to change money in Playa - YOU MUST HAVE YOUR PASSPORT!!! Hotel will change money for you but the price moves daily and you may only get 12.20 for a $1. there!

13.) Bugs= yes, use bug spray!

Overall, we will return!!! It spacious, beautiful, relaxing and fun! if you need to escape for real-
SHUT OFF THE TECHNOLOGY!!! IT IS SO NICE W/OUT IT! I ALLOWED IPODS ONLY- NO TXT AND THEY NOT ONLY SURVIVED, BUT ALSO ENJOYED THEMSELVES AND EACH OTHER!

Room Tip: The last two digits of the room number tell you if you are near the beach or near the lobby. Either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank AGIO9890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear AGIO9890,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Just returned from our vacation to the Barcelo Maya Caribe and all i can say is that this resort exceeded our expectations. My wife and I took our 2 adult kids and their spouses for a adult family vacation. From the time we arrived and were greeted by the hotel staff we knew we made the right choice. I would reccomend to take the Club Premium Package. The additional perks are worth the money.
Rooms were very clean and looked very nice. The view was spectacular.
Food was as good as any buffet restaurant that you can go to and they had a huge variety to choose from. The a la cart restaurants are worth the effort to get into. I would suggest that you book your reservations for the a la cart as soon as you get there.
The Barcelo resorts were all accessable and were very well kept up. We felt safe all the time we were there.
There are quiet pool areas and party areas which is nice to have the choice. The beach is spectacular and the beach area at the Caribe is the best of all the other Barcelo resorts " less rocky and more sand".
Nightly shows were very good.
My wife and daughter in law and my daughter used the spa and got a message on the beach and they loved it.
Only disapointing thing i can say is that the non motorized activities were not available often. We tried to go on the big tricicles but were always told it was too windy to use.
Overall this was well worth the money and i think my wife and i will be coming back some time soon.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get club premium rooms. We were in the Labna building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear Denis D,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Second trip to the Mayan Riviera. First time at the Barcelo. Great place! Beautiful beach, yes there are some rocky sections but that only adds tidal pools and interest. You don't even need to snorkel. The water is crystal clear and you can probably walk out at least a hundred feet and still only be up to your waist.

Never had a problem getting chairs. either on the beach or around the pool. Beach bar and lunch buffet close to both. Your choice of active or quiet pools.

Food was good. Not amazing but good.

Rooms were very comfortable. The beds were among the best I've had at a hotel! Pillows were awesome!

Grounds are beautiful, There is a shopping area right in the complex if you need to shop.
Staff was great, very helpful and friendly. Flor in the lobby bar was our favorite.

The shows that they have every night in the theatre are exceptional. Very professional, The singers and dancers are very talented. Nice change from a lot of hotels, where the shows look like amatuer night.

Yes it is a long drive from the airport, but it is well worth it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank seeyaAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear seeyaAlberta,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Second visit to this resort. Value for the money is 3 star. Long drive from airport, you lose almost 2 hours by the time they drop off other vacationners to other resorts.
Food, rooms and service is average. Property is absolutely gorgeous. Beach is nice but very rocky. Pool is nice. Lots of palm trees for those that seek shade.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Verna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear Verna P,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is our fourth time to the Riviera Maya,prev stayed at Bahia Principe,Palladium and Catalonia.We are a family of three, who were in a party of 13. Nobody else had ever been to Mexico, no pressure then as I booked it.

We could not fault this resort.

Beach - beautiful,about a mile long. Load of beds,plenty of water sports.
Rooms - v.clean, had everything you need.
Food - This is what exceeded our expectations,there had been a few negative reviews before we arrived.
Buffet - can use either Caribe or Beach, both the same,plenty of choice and good quality.
Spanish Tapas - good
Steak House - every steak was perfect,dont forget their was 13 of us.
Mexican - good.
Sea Food - exceptional lobster.
All house wines were good,we are big wine drinkers.

Shows were very good especially Fantasia and Michael Jackson.
Beautiful pools,had a look around Colonial/Tropical , lobbys were beautiful ,as was the Palace (beach area not as good as Beach/Caribe).
Wonderful staff. Had to call plumber and house-keeping at 1am - arrived within 10 minutes.

If you come out of the hotel and cross the road their is a cenote to visit. Pay $5US pp,about half mile walk to cenote for local people,well worth it. We took cab from hotel to Tulum $1340 pesos for 8 people,entrance to Tulum ruins $57 pesos,kids free,well worth it.Been to Chichen Iza before exceptional experience a must.We used Cancun Shuttle approx £90 for our round trip airport transfers for 10 people -excellent, got to hotel in 1 hour.

The guys in our party did alot of diving and they said it was fabulous. (onsight dive centre)

We did go in US Spring Break (age 17/18), we had 4 teens in our party.This was not a prob for us as all the teens seemed to stay at the action pools through the day, it was fun watching them singing and dancing. We did not see or here of any problems, there was a bit of noise on the odd occasion late at night when returning from the disco, but there were alot of parents as chaperones. Would not put me off going in spring break again.

All in all we all had a great time, some of our party are thinking of returning at Christmas.I would definately recommend this hotel and would return.

Room Tip: High floors should be quieter,would not have walk through traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank HelenT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear HelenT_10,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is our 3rd time to Riviera Maya and we all agreed that this hotel was the worse of the 3. Don't get me wrong the resort itself is very beautiful, they are always gardening or cleaning rooms. Did think the beach pool could be cleaned alittle bit more.
We are a family of 4 (kids 13 & 10) and loved coming to Mexico, 1st time in April, we usually go in July/August. The weather was very hot, just how we like it. The beach was lovely, white sand alittle seaweed but not like our slimy green stuff. The sea was not very calm i think we saw 1 day were it was flat, but we had fun jumping in waves.
When we first checked in we were taken to a "Premium" room to sign in, by a very unwelcoming lady in the dark. Then she said our room wasn't ready until the following afternoon, which didn't go done to well after our 10 hour flight (tv didn't work in plane either). We had a put-up bed and sofa bed and they didnt say sorry. Then we had 2 drag the boys away from the pool for 3 half hours to change rooms, wait for bell boy with cases then unpack, again with no "sorry". We went to our rep who said she will see what the hotel can do. They put a bottle of sparkly wine & grapes in our room. (we are all inclusive - its free).
The breakfast buffet was great, so much to choose from, lunch buffet was the same thing every day ( check the burgers we had a lot of uncooked meats. The buffet had a theme every day, but pretty much the same thing daily - mind the pink chicken. We went to the Japanese, great show, but rude waitress. Steak house at beach bar was best, but did feel rushed. Brazilian awful over at the Palace..uncooked meat and had to wait ages between meats that everything else got cold.
The evening entertainment was ok if the audience was involved like miss Barcelo , ideal couple or karoke but the shows they put on was awful, and the same each week. Every night they would show a promotional video of the spa and coco bongos. once or twice would be ok but every night...boring!! The bar staff by pool was rude, of they would ignore you. And same in the buffet resturant, you can ask for water and still be waiting half way through your meal. The diving was great and Alex was a good guide. We also did the quad bikes, which were fun, but the swim in the cave was not worth seeing, also did the segway tour around the resort, and i would suggest doing this early on your holiday as they show you around the resort and had so much fun. You have to pay for these, segway were worth it.
Nice resort but staff need to learn some manners. Would not go back.

Room Tip: Our main room 5305 was lovely, on the top floor, facing pool & beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lewjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear lewjam,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,779 reviews
19.3 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,655 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#80 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,023 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Caribe

Property: Barcelo Maya Caribe
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach
Barcelo Maya Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing