We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
derby
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“amazing honeymoon”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My new husband and I stayed at this hotel 2nd May - 16th May, 2 lovely weeks! I will start with the only slightly bad thing I can think of, and that's to do with the holiday company Thomson/First choice not the hotel itself. After a 10 hour flight from Gatwick it took nearly 2 hours to be dropped off to the hotel, we were the 4th drop off which was the last and it was also the drop off that had the most people so I think they should have a dedicated bus for people just at the Barcelo resort, going straight there would only be an hour which is more like it.

Room:
We had read up alot on this hotel before booking and it read really well on trip advisor so we decided to book it for our honeymoon. We did ask the travel agent to make a request for a high floor and to mention it was our honeymoon but when we got there none of these requests had been met but we didn't care, the room we had was a superior double and I think the superior just refers to the bed really, the bed was absolutely huge and really comfy! There was a big flat screen tv on the wall with quite a few english channels. There was a fully stocked mini bar, which was filled everyday. There was fanta, coke, sprite etc.. which we were surprised to see. The maid went into the room everyday and changed the bedding and towels every other day. It was always kept really clean. The bathroom is huge with a nice big shower and the air con is lovely. There was also a free in room safe along with robes and slippers. We stayed in the Labna building which is close to the Caribe pool, it was lovely!!

Grounds:
They are gorgeous and there is are so many staff running around taking care of the place and everyone is so friendly and says "ola!"
There are also iguana's walking around, we only saw 2 the same 2 in the same places everyday, they don't bother you at all they are quite cute!

Food:
There is the main buffet restaurant at the Caribe which is "ok". There isn't much for breakfast that was very english. Only bacon and toast. There are lots of other bits to eat though, I liked the kids corner! There are also a la carte restaurants you can go to, we were allowed to go to 3 a week. We went to the Steak and the spanish, bother are nice, steak is probably the best, both restaurants are really romantic and the service is excellent. You do need to book them early though or they get booked up fast.

Pools and beach:
There are 3 pools that can be used, one at the Caribe (which we stayed in for the majority of the holiday) one at the beach side and one at the colonial. They are huge, they are so inviting and a great place to cool off in the hot sun! Each have a swim up bar and jacuzzi. The beach was one of the best beaches I've ever been to, the sand was white and fine and the sea was crystal clear and really shallow with lots of little fish.

We didn't do any of the excursions while we were there as most involve snorkling and it's not really our thing, but there is lots to do! Do the ATV tour on the quad bikes it was quite cheap and you get to go in a Cenote cave which was really nice. You can book it near the towel shack.

Overall this was the nicest cleanest, most beautiful place we have ever been to and we will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: room walls are really thin and you can hear everything, we were on the ground floor and did get wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank holidaygoerderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear holidaygoerderby,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,186
    739
    243
    106
    88
See reviews for
1,558
1,012
55
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We went to the Caribe as part of a wedding party. Probably our best ever holiday was in Mexico 4 years ago and so we were really looking forward to this holiday as we would also be with family and friends. I can only compare it to our previous holiday in Mexico when we stayed at the Riu Tequila in PlayaCar, and to the hotels we normally stay in.

The location is not nearly as good as Playacar where you can easily walk in to Playa del Carmen, if you stay in Riviera Maya you are about 20 minutes drive further away thus making the journey into Cancun even longer.

The reviews we read before we went had said that the hotel was no good for singles or couples, only for families with children - wrong! For the first few days of our stay there were about 20 youths staying at the hotel whose presence just seemed to take over the place, they could be heard with their loud clapping chant long before you saw them. My 2 and 6 year old grandchildren were with us and once when sitting in the entertainment theatre we had to move as they came and sat next to us smoking and being exceptionally rowdy which scared the children. They were told not to smoke which they did stop but their rowdiness continued and people left. On several occasions we could see other guests faces when they heard the clapping that preceded their arrival. They also woke other guests up when they arrived back between 4 and 6 am several mornings shouting and clapping as they walked to their rooms.

The children's club was terrible, the mini disco was cancelled several times during the 2 weeks we stayed due to not enough children taking part but at other places they would have still run it if they only had 4 children as other children would probably have joined in and so that the children who had waited to do it wouldn't have ended up being disappointed. When the mini disco did go ahead it sometimes consisted of only two songs! On one occasion we were told the mini disco was going to be something special and would he held in the Jaguars club as it was Mexican children's day. We arrived at the time they had told us on the morning only to be told that the time had been brought forward by an hour and it had finished, ours were not the only disappointed children there were others there that had missed it due to their sudden change of time, I expect it was another disco they cancelled as no one would have attended due to the time change.

Another thing we hadn't read in the reviews was that if you go as a wedding group the guests who don't stay at the Palace will be treated like intruders. The evening before the wedding both families and the bride and groom had arranged to have a meal in the French restaurant at the Palace, as we gathered at the entrance ready to dine we were told that 'you four can go in but the two with the wrong wristbands can't', my daughter-in-law explained that she had arranged for the meal but she was told that they wouldn't serve my husband and I unless we pre-paid our meal. I presume it was the restaurant manager that then spent around 10 minutes on the phone trying to sort it out so that we could go in to eat, all round an extremely embarrassing time and the food was awful - never try the Lobster Cappuccino!!! The same welcome was extended to the grooms friends who were also staying at the Caribe, after the wedding - the photographs were being taken and after they had taken the bride and groom for photos on their own the groomsmen and other friends tried to have a drink in the Palace bar until the special transfer bus arrived to take us to the other end of the resort where the reception was being held, they were told that they couldn't drink there as they had the wrong wristbands, they explained that they were with the wedding party and had to wait for around an hour for the bus and were told 'ok you can have a drink but you're only having one' they were spoken to like naughty school children. There were also several other issues that the bride and groom had to sort out when things had already been arranged and agreed but were then changed without authorisation or consultation, one of these things even had to be sorted out on the morning of the wedding - not good to be having to worry about on such an important day. The wedding itself was lovely and in a lovely setting and the reception was really nice - the two waiters who were assigned to us really did the hotel proud and were excellent.

The hotel is a no cash hotel so you cannot buy anything in the shops or other places on site with cash, it either has to be charged to the room or you have to get a slip and take it to reception, this in itself can take time depending on how busy reception is. My son-in-law was told that he had charged a bottle of wine to his room when he hadn't, when he disputed this and tried to sort it out he was told that he would have to sort it out at the Beach hotel which was odd as we were staying in the Caribe!

The buffet food was very repetitive and unappealing there were 'themed nights' each night but it just seemed to be the flag at the front of the buffet was the only thing to show the theme, the food hardly varied. Normally I am very happy with the buffet and don't want to go to the restaurants but here it was a must, the Mexican was very mediocre but the Steak and the Spanish were excellent.

The higher staff, reception, management and people who perhaps aspired to be management were, in our experience, not as good at customer service as you would hope for and were, in our opinion, put to shame by the bar, waiting, cleaning and ground staff who were really nice, pleasant and friendly, the few that weren't you could understand why.

The rooms were ok. Our room smelt lovely when we arrived but over the next 2 days a pungent smell started to appear, we told reception that we thought something may have been spilt by a previous occupant, they sent someone in to sort it out. The same thing happened again as they had only sprayed to mask the smell so the room was sprayed again, this time we arrived back just as it had been finished and we saw that masks had to be worn to do it, therefore when the smell reappeared we decided we would just spray perfume around to mask the smell as it would be healthier for us.

We feel that a really nice holiday was marred by going to this hotel, we would not waste our holiday or holiday leave by trying another Barcelo hotel, it is certainly back to the Riu for us in future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JJOUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 17 October 2016
Dear JJOUk,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us why our service failed to meet your expectations. We value your preference, and would like to address your concerns as quickly as posible and we look forward to receiving you again in the future. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Nice room, always clean and very comfortable beds. Great room service, anything you needed including diet cokes were there within minutes. Loved the food and beach was clean and great for snorkeling.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wyliegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear Wuliegirl,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

First time in Mexico, and very enjoyable stay at the 'Caribe'. Stayed at 'Sayil' building which is close to the beach and all the pools. Weather was great, buffet too, corona on tap just perfect. Rooms were spacious, and service a pleasant surprise. Will not look for another resort when going to Mexico.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VladanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear Vladan,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We had a fantastic trip. Overall better than our Iberostar and Princess Resort trips in the same area.

Few honest points you should know -

Too many drunken Canadian spring breakers. One puking in pool while drinking at the pool bar and one unconscious in hallway by our room at 0130 on our last night. Another kid was found in the grass unconscious and he ended up "tipping" security $100 for being carried back to his room.

Pool bar was always dirty.

Too dark in the Beach and Caribe sections to allow teenagers to walk alone at night.

Lomas transports were effective but always late this time. I always had to call and look for them.

Deplorable activity organization, and when two schedules actually matched - the staff didn't show or were displeased to be there.

Good news -

Superior resort layout being parallel with the beach. I estimate the resort beach was 1 1/2 miles long.

The food was excellent and was better than our Iberostar and Princess Rsort experiences. Wait staff was awesome.

Beaches were amazing, puts Iberostar and Princess to utter shame. It was like the postcards show - no exaggeration.

Very clean resort, except pool bar.

Zipline and cave snorkeling tour recommended by Lomas was astounding.

A lot more things to do on your own here. Pitch and putt, nice mini golf, sports bar, segways, shopping mall.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor. Pay for the upgrade to stay pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChiefPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear CaptL333,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We returned a few days ago to a very cold and miserable UK and already I wish I could go back. The hotel is lovely albeit we never saw the Colonial, Tropical or Palace but I didn't really feel the need to.
The gardens are beautiful with colourful flowers and wildlife everywhere, they are kept so immaculate by the staff too.
The staff are all very friendly and always said 'Hola' even without tips. Some of the reviews I have read say the staff are unfriendly, however, when you witness the way that some of the Americans actually treat them and speak to them, it is hardly surprising that the staff are not very friendly in return!
We stayed in a very spacious room in the Sayil building, we were on the top floor with a nice view of the gardens and could just see the sea. The bed was huge and so comfortable! We had a good size bathroom with a great shower.
The beach was absolutely stunning and the sea was like a bath and crystal clear water. Even on a couple of windy days where the seaweed appeared, the staff cleared the beach in the mornings and it wasn't bad enough to put you off going in the gorgeous sea. We bought fish food from the shop on our last day and fed the fish and had loads of them swimming around us, it was great!
The pools are nice too however, we didn't really spend much time in them as the beach was so gorgeous.
The buffets were good and had a good choice but as with all buffets, got a bit samey after a week. We booked all our A la carte bookings on our first day as they get booked up quickly. The steakhouse and spanish were my favourite.
We did a lot of trips to Xel-ha, Chichen Itza, swimming with Dolphins which was amazing, and snorkelling with the turtles at Akumal. We also got a taxi to Tulum which was very nice too and has a lovely beach to cool off when you get too hot.
We had a lovely holiday overall and I wish we were still there! We met some lovely people too and have some great memories.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank laurz1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear laurz1706,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyngsboro, Ma.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here for third time we liked it because it was not springbreack friendly. I guess that changed beach and caribe were loaded with collage kids obnoxious is only way to explain it. If yoj dont mind that bsach is best around dive center on site staff friendly and helpful resort is overLl very nice we will go back but stay in another part.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dakotanate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear dakonate,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,749 reviews
19.3 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,646 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#80 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
1,996 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Caribe

Property: Barcelo Maya Caribe
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach
Barcelo Maya Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing