We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not all it is cracked up to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Calgary
1 review
“It is not all it is cracked up to be”
Reviewed 1 March 2010

The Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach is a nice hotel, it is not 5 star. If it is than I would like to know what the Barcelo Maya Palace is rated, it must be a 10 star.

First off, the rooms were clean. The resort was really nice on the whole. Here is what I disliked about it....The a la cartes (you get three options), we went to the spanish restaurant the first night and it was really good, an actual restaurant. The other two times we went we got sent to a converted snackbar. The seafood restaurant was in the Capitan Morgan snackbar. We had our meal, we were waiting for our dessert and my wife said she saw a rat. I could not believe it till I saw, not one but two, scampering around the bar and then up into the boat (the bar is a pirate ship). We complained to the restaurant manager and the front desk and no one seemed that put out by it. We asked for a new a la carte slip, and were told that they are all booked up.

The room cleaning and minibar situations were hit and miss. Some days we came back to our room and we had not complaints. Other days we would come back and have no face cloths, no toilet paper and the minibar was not restocked. I was there for a week and I raided the maid cart 2 or 3 times for toilet paper. I had to call guest services the same amount of times to get the mini bar restocked, one time thay never showed up at all.

The buffet food was sub-par, it was okay the first couple days. After that we started to dread eating there. It is a buffet, so that can be expected.

The esthitics of the resort was beautiful . The beach is marvelous, the pools are nice and the land scaping is top notch. The employees are friendly and work very hard. The service at the buffet, the bars and the theatre is great. It was rare for an employee not to say "hola" when you walked by.

I would not recommend it. The rat thing was enough to sour me on the entire resort.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear jimmy789,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,150
    725
    239
    105
    85
See reviews for
1,519
1,001
54
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

I am a very careful traveler and research ahead of time extensively. This was our first trip to any place like this so we wanted to play it safe and go to an International chain. Barcelo knows how to do it right. For the money we paid which we have been told was very reasonable for 5 nights all inclusive it was a great value. We upgraded to Premium when we got there which was a little bit of a racket since we thought we had already paid but they were offering a special $37.50 a night and we saw the value in all that we got (free internet, more ala cartes and a premium room on the end w/ private hammock not a far walk from pool.beach area) The property is beautiful, amazing pools and beaches. They have pool activities available if you want them, staffed with fun Mexican young people! We had a blast each night trying the different restuarants. The nightly shows at the different theaters was an unexpected treat. I can't say enough about this place. Wouldn't recommend the Santa Fe steakhouse ala carte (it was an odd place and they played an entire Dolly Parton CD a little too loud the entire time. It was just weird there but all the other places were really nice. I HIGHLY recommend this resort. No unexpected issues here just a beautiful place to relax and enjoy all the amenities this place has to offer.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dixieeprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear dixieeprincess,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swift current
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

BEACH- The most important thing to me on a trip is the beach as i like to spend most of my time in the ocean. This beach is gorgeous. white sand. shallow water-you can go 50 yards in and still be waist deep. very limited amounts of coral and rock. However, there was no beach bar, so we found ourselves going to the pool bar for drinks all the time. That kind of defeats the purpose of being at an all inclusive.
POOLS- The pools were very nice. pool bars were nice. pools were very big.
RESTAURANTS: Buffet was nice. nothing spectacular, but there was a variety of choices and everything tasted very good. The a la Cartes were very good. We ate at 3 of them and each was terrific.
HOTEL/ROOM- very nice too. however, because of the design, you could hear everyone in the hall ways. there was 3 floors which opened in the middle. this middle had no sound barriers, so you would be woken up by everyone talking, visiting, or arriving.
otherwise, the room was just average. Of the nine resorts we have travelled to, this room was easily the least attractive. honestly, comparable to a super 8.
SERVICE- this is a big one. AWFUL! the staff at the pool bars, buffet, and lobby bar were absolutely awful. they would ignore you. they would go as slow as humanly possible. I personally consider myself to be a big tipper. every resort i have been to i will tip a bartender $20 US off the start. I will ususally tip around $200 in a week. I honestly could not find anyone at this resort that deserved a tip. to give you an example, sitting at the lobby bar, when the waitress finally decided to come ask us if we wanted a drink, (considering there was 10 guests and 3 waitresses on duty), after 15 minutes of waiting I went up to the bar and reordered it. We were able to finish those drinks before she came back. fortunately she saw me do this so not tipping her was very easy!
THE WORST SERVICE OF ANY HOTEL in all my all inclusive holidays!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppadocSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear poppadocSC,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, B.C.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

This was are second stay at the Barcelo Beach and we were even more impressed this time. New comfy beds, white linens and new pillows, flat screen TV's. The food seemed better esp the desserts and we had no complaints last time. Lots of our favourite staff were still there and it was a delight to see them again and wow do they work hard. The lobby bar at the beach is the most fun, with Ives, Sergio, Marcos, Francisco all working hard to keep your glass full and keep you smiling. Ruthie, Guatalupe, Carmela and all the lovely waitresses here are so sweet. So even though the resort is fabulous without these amazing staff it would not be half the fun.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieVictoria_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear AnnieVictoria_B_C,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockton, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

My girlfriend and I went because we wanted a low key, lay on the beach type of vacation. It was my first time to mexico and I wasn't looking for a big party scene or anything, but wanted a great beach with quality food and good accommodations. I would say we picked the perfect spot. The weather could have been nicer to us but the beach was still gorgeous. Plenty of places to relax at this resort. Good snorkeling off the pier and by the Palace. Plenty of food variety and locations to eat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mccalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear mccalli,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

It you're thinking of travelling to the Mayan Riviera, I would recommend the Barcelo hotel chain. We were there for a week, and loved everything about it! The staff was fabulous, the hotel was clean and beautiful (didn't see one bug!), food was great, even for a fussy eater such as myself. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heatherfwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear heatherfwl,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PT
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We stayed there for 15 days.
Loved the hotel, the room, the staff, the food (and the possiblity of eating in diferent places - the main restaurant, the restaurants/bars at the beach).
The hotel beach is very big and amazing, without rocks as other beaches in riviera maya hotels.
We have visited lots of places, some in excursions, others by ourselves (it is perfectly safe to travel around).
We would love to go back to Mexico, and when we go, we definetly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaPt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear AnaPT,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,517 reviews
19.3 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,593 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#76 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,828 reviews
16.6 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Caribe

Property: Barcelo Maya Caribe
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Barcelo, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Maya Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach
Barcelo Maya Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing