We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really fun beautiful resort with everything you need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
richmond, va
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really fun beautiful resort with everything you need”
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Wife and I just got back from Barcelo Maya Caribe resort and loved it. The Caribe/Beach, Colonial/Tropical; and Palace are all very nice and share two big beautiful beaches in tranquil bays, and the same water sports. European and some US guests. We preferred the more natural jungle vegetation in sections of the Caribe/Beach and the fact that unlike the other Barcelo hotels adjacent, the Caribe/Beach lobby, buffet, and theater were open with breezes flowing through. We asked to be moved from the first floor to get a balcony and were accomodated. Pros: buffet food is ok and large selection. Food, drinks, and most water sports including hobie cat sailing are included. Room was nice though no water view. Resort has good snorkeling off pier or in corner of swim area near pier. There are dive boats as well. You dont need to leave the resort to see tropical fish and the occasional turtle. Theater shows were fun though way too loud. Temperature was ideal though water was a little cool. Was fine with bottled water from resort. Staff was usually very friendly. Cons: Check-in was slow, buffet food was mixed quality. Restaurants were heavily booked up for the week, though tables were empty! Theater shows were way too loud!! Could only get a sailboat for 1/2 hr at a time. Got crowded just before Christmas. A few items like wifi/internet and beachside coconut drinks were not included for some reason. Concierge in our building was never at her desk! Had to wait on line for booking sailing. In summary, its a gorgeous spot and all inclusive resort with fun for the whole family and no reason to leave the resort to go anywhere. Just find a hammock and pina colada and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdrosenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear mdrosenk,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,031
    685
    214
    97
    82
See reviews for
1,413
948
49
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Falls, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

After reading many reviews about the Barcelo we booked our trip for Dec 10-15th. We initially were in a King regular room with the all inclusive use of the Maya Caribe and Maya Beach but upon arrival upgraded for an additional $250 (for the 5 nights) for an ocean view room with premium alcohol and food/ala carte use. This meant we could have any alcohol we wanted (with the regular all inclusive you could only have local alcohol) and we could eat at any of the resort buffets, grills or restaurants (except the Palace) With the upgrade we could also eat at a restaurant instead of the buffet every night instead of just one night for our 5 night stay. Let me say the resort is impeccable and offers a large variety of activities including 2 theatres, spa, gym and child/teen programs. The beaches were beautiful with a mile of sand and sun and no problem finding lounge chairs in sun or shade. Snorkeling off the pier was amazing, and you could kayak, as well as do a number of other water activities for free. There were numerous pools throughout the resort and my only complaint for the resort is that they were not heated and the water was cool. The bars were plentiful, and we took large travel mugs so we could take drinks to the beach and not have to go back often for refills. The food was overall very good with a great variety, the only grill we did not like was the Capt Morgan Grill which was really not good. The restaurants we ate at had great service and the food was also very good. The service we experienced was excellent, language was sometimes a problem but we were moslty able to bridge that. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone, we loved it and will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyword1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear lyword1964,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

My 13-year-old daughter, myself and 10-year-old son stayed here spur of the moment after our Costa Rica trip via Mexicana Airlines was aborted (Mexicana is in reorganizational bankruptcy).
[Flew Spirit Airlines. YUCK. They came with the package I bought and would have paid extra for better airline. They charge you for EVERY bag brought on board.]
Luckily, in January 2011, the time-share people in the Cancun airport (blue-shirt guys) will be removed from their primo location just inside the exit. Sweet deal for these scumbuckets, meanwhile, the legitimate guys outside have to wait for you to come out to transport you to your hotel.
Back to Barcelo Maya-it is a lovely location and very large property, all along gorgeous white sand beaches with crystal blue water, palm trees and plenty of reclining chaise loungers. Staff generally very friendly, but not very specific when being asked about amenities, times, inclusions, restrictions. Some of it seemed a language barrier, so if you know Spanish, it's a great help. Times are all suggestions, and there is a lot of homework you need to do to get the most from the resort including Restaurant reservations and their locations, water sport lessons and reservations, and lists of activities for the day and their locations. The adjacent property lines are not clear, and the grills and bars may not be included in your particular resort. Just ask, and you'll likely get the correct answer. If not, they'll charge your room, but first ask to see your ID bracelet.
The resort has great pools, great tennis courts with towel and cold water service, mini golf, putting, a small game room with ?Nintendo?, snorkeling including a coral reef with fish and manta rays (careful!), kayaks, wind-surfing, catamarans, rentable jet-ski's, scuba trips off-property (in pool they have scuba trials to see if you'll like it), a theatre with live performances and movies, a lovely church near the shops (ask for this location - it may be a few days until you find it, otherwise), a disco (didn't go), some dance lessons by pool daily, large outdoor chess board, kid's playground and splash pad, beach-side massages for fees (you may be able to barter when they are slow). My kids particularily loved the slushies at the lobby every day.
Great place if you love all-inclusives but I suggest leaving property if you want cultural experiences.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jme1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear Jme1408,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Have just returned from 2 week stay at the caribe.Loved it !!!Weather was great, food excellent, great entertainment and comfy rooms. after having read a few bad reviews we were a little worried about what we would find but we worried for nothing.The staff were friendly and helpful even though some of the guests were not very polite to them !If you could not find something you like to eat on the buffet you must be very picky- the food was always hot and a graet variety, every night had a different theme.We loved the Mexican a la carte and were able to get booked in without any problems.We also loved the Japanese at the Colonial.
The rooms had everything you need, nice robes and slipers, a safe, flat screen tv with plenty of channels, nice bathrooms etc.
Each night there was a great family show on in the theatre.
The beach was gorgeous , very clean withh plenty of sunbeds as was the pool.
All in all would recommend to anyone !!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank durhamgirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear durhamgirl_9,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Arrival: Apr 18-25
This trip was a last minute change after Skyservice went bankrupt 2 weeks before our departure. We have travelled numerous times and flight/aitport transfer was uneventful. Our room was not ready upon arrival but we simply went for lunch during our wait. We did finally get in our room just past 3pm which was regular check in time.

ROOMS:
We had a regular tropical Gardenview room. Room had spacious bathroom (tub/shower combo), safe, dresser, desk, 2 double beds, table, chair and pull out loveseat. Decor was very outdated.

RESTUARANTS & BARS:
We had zero issues with all of the meals during our stay - ate at several of the a la cartes as well as the buffet daily - good food at all meals with great selection.
We did not have any problems with getting sick and the alcohol was always flowing.

BEACH/POOLS/GROUNDS:
All the pools were well maintained. Pool areas were not nearly as busy as beach areas.
Pool lounge chairs were easy to get around pools as most people seemd to flock to huge beach areas.
Walkways and grounds were very clean.
There is kids play area near pool outside kids club - includes climbing frame and splash pad.

ACTIVITIES ON & OFF RESORT/HOTEL:
We had our son in the kids club almost daily - he enjoyed it although there were not many kids there.
We only booked 1 trip through the resort - to XPLOR. It was costly but the guys loved it - myself not so much - if you dont zipline dont go! They do have small atv vehicles to ride and a cave to swim through but ziplining is by far biggest attraction and it takes 1-2 hours to complete a run. Food was awesome at Xplor.

Other Comments:
We had very little language barrier issues with any of the staff – English is well spoken by vast majority.
We did bring our laptop with us and had in room WiFi.
This resort is a great place for kids-families wanting relaxation, sun and fun with good food. We had a nice time and would recommend this resort as a solid 4 STAR - definitely not 5 STAR as was stated in holiday magazines.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMomInLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear ByDesignCreations,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I was hesitant about our trip to this resort due to some of the bad reviews. We were pleasantly surprised about the high quality of the resort. The check in service was very good, the rooms were clean and above average and the beds were absolutely heaven. The grounds and the resort were extremely well kept and the food in the buffets was more than adequate. All of the personnel seemed very friendly and we were here for a family wedding that was absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed our stay here except for one thing. The air conditioning in the room was great for the first three days and after that it was down hill. It stopped cooling and we called for a maintenance man to come fix it. When he came we had a language problem and he finally was able to get it working about half speed. It became increasingly warmer and on the night before we were scheduled to depart it quit completely. I awoke to a strong burning smell about 1:30 AM and we lost air conditioning and all electricity to the room. We called the front desk and they sent someone up and they said that the air conditioner had "burned up". They got the electricity back up and they brought us a box fan to use until our departure in the morning but sad to say it also did not work. Other than the ongoing air conditioning problems noted by other travelers our stay was a good one and the resort is a real beauty. The beach was unbelievable and the cleanliness was a real plus. Anyone expecting gourmet food in the buffets will be disappointed but overall there was a good selection and we were able to find something for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer63128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear happywandererer63128,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I loved this resort! It has everything you could ever want. It had fine dining, bars, spas. fitness center, water activities, night club....etc. The room was gorgeous, we had a hot tub on our balcony. The price we paid for this quality was outrageous! This vacation to this day was my favorite. A lot of things are close to this resort. Tulem, Xelha water park, and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allynbenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Dear allynbenner,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,972 reviews
18.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
18.2 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
1.6 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Caribe

Property: Barcelo Maya Caribe
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Barcelo Maya Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach
Barcelo Maya Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing