We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast and Lunch”

Hippos Marina Lounge
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lovely breakfast, lunch, dinner and special event restaurant overlooking the dolphins which are less than 15 feet away. Hippo has a great Taco Bar on our second patio with all the toppings you can imagine. Fresh daily fish and lobster sold by the gram. Hand carved American Black Angus steaks cut to size.We have large screen TV's for sports events but keep the volume low so others can enjoy the ambiance. Free fresh popcorn and terrific cocktails and ice cold draft/bottled beers make Hippo a gem in Puerto Aventuras for all to enjoy.
Casper,Wy.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We really enjoyed the breakfasts and lunches we had here. They made us some really good hot wings which weren't even on the menu. They are willing to make just about anything - just ask.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank guitarcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    69
    21
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Came here for breakfast one morning, after not being able to stomach the horrid food at the resort we were staying at (Catalonia). Received fantastic service. The food was excellent. Kids shared a couple pancakes. I had just scrambled eggs and bacon and sausage ( you get two sides with your breakfast) and hubby had an omelette. We sat outside overlooking the dolphin pool, and got to watch the trainers practicing... A free dolphin show which the kids enjoyed. Prices were reasonable, and they took VISA which was good. Oh, and ask for the habanero hot sauce!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteDouglas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Shrimp Tacos and Steak Fajitas were Awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great location, watch people play with the dolphins while you eat. Great food, better than our resort!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mick751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food & relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Good food we had chicken & ribs huge salad. nice choice & relaxed . Groovy sinks in the loo's. Attentive staff.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hollipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not very good, disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We just returned. This is the only restaurant that we were seriously disappointed with. Out of 7 of of us only 1 person liked their food.
Service- slow. We waited for our server forever, He barely acknowledged us.
Food- we had to ask twice how much longer. Restaurant was not even busy yet we waited over an hour for the food to come.??
"Jumbo" but really should have been stated as " small". And WAY OVERCOOKED! Could not even finish it was that bad! Yuck!
The good dish was a pasta with chicken.

They do have big TV and a few smaller ones which is nice for those sports lovers! Thank god we had them it was the only thing that kept the kids somewhat entertained (however we did have one fall asleep at the table waiting for the food
We will not go back here ever.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MN2MEXICO21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hippos Marina Lounge also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Hippos Marina Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing