We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUR FAVORITE DINING EXPERIENCE IN PUERTO AVENTURAS!”

Pelican Point Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dockside alongside the local fishing boats we are fortunate to get first pickings of the best catches of each and every day. Outside Deck Terrace seating as well as inside. Open from 5pm. Open MONDAY through Sunday. Enchanting nautical theme. Good spot for any occasion. Fully stocked bar where you can stop by and have a drink (Martini, Manhatten, Margarita, Daquiris, Mai Tai, Pina Coladas, Beer, Smoothies or a variety of wines by the glass or bottle etc), and also enjoy the view!. A good choice when its hot, there is an air conditioned area. A good choice if its cold, there is heating to make it cozy and warm, a good choice if its raining as it is under a roof. For lovers of good food, a nice attention and romantic evenings, find Pelican Point next to Aventuras Club, Puerto Aventuras Marina. Closed SUNDAYS and for the months of September and october.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OUR FAVORITE DINING EXPERIENCE IN PUERTO AVENTURAS!”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Pelican Point continues to be our favourite dining experience in Puerto Aventuras and area!

We're always greeted warmly by the staff - Guillermo - the owner, Sophia, Juliet and wait staff!

Absolutely love the setting ... lovely breezes and beautiful view of the fishing boats in the marina!

Our table of four were all pleased with our dinners ... filet mignon, pork chops, "Captain's Catch" - all perfectly prepared and beautifully presented! We couldn't be more content!

Already planning our next dinner there before returning home!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanePuertoAventuras, Owner at Pelican Point Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Hello Calgary, my dear new friends. Thank you for your many visits and taking the time to review. I am really looking forward to your return and to serving you again next winter. Thank you, saludos, Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    36
    22
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central NJ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good but some growing pains”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The place is gorgeous- the nicest restaurant in all of PA. It should be considered a "special occassion" dinner as the prices are almost double other establishments in PA (I found all the food to be wonderful and really fair prices). But...the owner, I will agree seems to take over with the brashness of a dictator and has his hand in everything. With the exception of the bartenders, none of the wait staff spoke English. The owner read the specials for 3 miniutes, steering you very strongly to what he thought you should order and then re-translated to the wait staff. When soneoene in our party said "I would like the scallops kabobs" which were on the menu- he said "no you don't" with no further explantion and she ended up with a meal she did not care for. The pork chop special with blue cheese could have fed a family of 4 but had no real outstanding taste. I did enjoy the cesar salad prepared tableside- fun to watch, good but nothing special.

So...I do think this is a wonderful location, with elegant decor and a great place for a special dinner. Maybe give it some time for the staff to come up to speed and for the owner to relax a bit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“At Long Last...”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

As part time residents of Puerto Aventuras, our family has been long tired of the regular restaurant fare offered in the Marina, so Pelican Point is a welcome addition to our dining out. We had the pleasure of trying out the lunch and dinner menus several times over the holidays and can honestly say that it is a refreshing change. The menus offer variety without insisting on page after page of the usual ho hum selections, and the "catch of the day" is truly that! All our meals were fresh, delicious, and beautifully presented. The Kobe beef burger with home fries was outstanding, as was the bagel and salmon lox! Whether arriving from the beach for lunch or casually dressed for dinner, we were always welcomed with a smile and a wait staff wanting to please! The palapa style restaurant is exceptionally clean, and offers a beautiful ambiance in its nautical decor and in its position along the marina where the pelicans stand watch. We highly recommend that you include this restaurant on your next visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mexycan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
354 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Pelican Point @ Puerto Aventuras -drinks only”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

Love PA and support all local establishments. I have heard some good and bad reviews of this place and thought to try ouselves, but only for drinks. Was welcomed and seated in the bar by the owner which is fine bit all the stories seem to be true about him. He is an abrupt individual, speaks very harshly at the patrons and we didn't believe that he should be the one greeting and seating the guests. Drinks fine, service fine, lovely new restaurant, great decor, and i have heard that the food is very good as well. However the prices are too high, regardless of the dining experience he is trying to achieve. We too asked about the local discount and was given a line that we are new and cannot provide the discount. Also asked about the discount that was offered to AC owners and got the same curse response. We may be back to try the food but will have too see if the attitude atmosphere is different.

Helpful?
3 Thank CookyM-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Excellent Experience at Pelican Pointe”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

What an incredible addition to Puerto Aventuras! This restaurant is absolutely immaculately kept. The service was top notch. We went in for the famous cobe hamburgers, and they were to die for. The staff was extremely friendly. Sophia, the manager on duty was very pleasant, and we enjoyed chatting with her. She made sure that we were well attended to. This restaurant is a step above all the others in Puerto. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelican Point Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Pelican Point Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing