We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience for being in Mexico for the first time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Love the hotel can't wait to go back.love the staff and entertainment,and activities

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crystalmount18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,339 - 3,345 of 4,815 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2011

My husband and I recently spent 5 days here on a brief winter break from the cold midwest. The resort itself is ok.

Food and Drinks:
Some of the restaurants are good (Italian and Mexican) some were ok (buffet) and some were very bad (seaside cafe and sushi place). Drinks were plentiful, but often overly sweet. The cheap alcohol is the primary option, but if you ask for the "real" stuff, you get it. Two main complaints about the food and drinks are: 1- the OJ isn't real. In fact, all of the juices were from concentrate... in the worst way possible. The OJ basically tasted like Tang mixed with Sunny Delight. Yuck. 2- The wait for the Italian place was upwards of an hour every night. While the food was good, we found the ambiance to be loud and the wait annoying. We usually ended up in the Mexican place which was good.

Rooms:
Rooms were nice, what you would expect in a warm destination. However, the beds were amazing. Soft yet firm and the bed sheets were softer than mine at home. Unlike many holidays I've taken, I slept well every night. At times it was hard to get hot water, but I think it had partially to do with the "routine" of everyone going back to their room for a pre-dinner shower. Room was clean.

Staff:
Always friendly and helpful.

Amenities:
The non-adult pool area might as well be called kid-central, because they were everywhere. Luckily their is an adult pool area (though the adult pool overlooks the marina rather than the beach). There is a main beach which is indeed overly crowded and tons of kids. However, there was a very small beach area near the "natural pool" that was quiet and mostly kid free.

The hotel is near a marina area where you can talk around (or borrow the bikes) to explore the small community of Puerto Aventuras. There is also a golf course and a "dive with dolphins" place nearby (not connected to the hotel). Some shops where you can buy the normal tourist fair.

On the last day the weather was finally warm enough to go snorkeling around the beach area. You technically have to go out of the marked off area into the beach area of the other resorts, but the snorkeling was amazing. We thought we'd be out for 30 min, we ended up out there for 2 hours. It was like swimming in a fish tank. Immediately near the resort was a bit over crowded with kids and kayaks, but once we got away from them, the view was simply amazing and the highlight of my trip. We saw lots of companies who do snorkeling or diving trips anchoring near our hotel.

Would I stay here again, prolly not. Not because it was bad, but because I'd want to try something different. This was a pretty run-of-the-mill all inclusive resort. Plus there are hundreds of resorts in the area, so they aren't offering anything you couldn't get at another place. Would I stay at a near by resort so I could snorkel there again? Totally.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussiesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The resort is a lot smaller that we expected and yes the beach is small too, but the service is OUTSTANDING! The location is quite nice too, walking distance to little center of Puerto Aventuras, where you can swim with dolphins, sit in cafes, do shopping etc etc.

The people there are just amazing -- the kids club crew (Carolina, Ceidy, Diana and Julieta) must have done everything right. My son's first sentence when he saw me coming to pick him up was "I don't want to go yet" and my 4-yr old was crying when we left -- she "was missing" the hotel already -- we all were!!!

Oh, and Ceasar -- he is the king bar tenders on the adult side pool. He certainly will entertain you and mix the best banana-mango drinks ever!

The grill is great for lunch -- Juan and his boys (Carlos, Armando etc) are personable and always so friendly. And the pretty girls -- Arely and Vidaly -- have always smile on they face! The Italian restaurant did not get such a high rating from us-- we went there only once and service/food was not as good as the other places. I do recommend the Mexican restaurant-- great food and ambiance! The buffet breakfast/dinner was pretty good also, the waiters are just way too busy.

As you see, coming from a person who can never remember anyone's name -- to remember all these people's names -- they are great. I hope to make it back soon!

The only negative is the same old problem -- time share sales!! You would think that 5* properties don't do that -- well, they do!! Be aware!

PS. Juan -- see you in Merida in April :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matkatati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We were told that our resort was 5* but it was definately not 5* but the price we paid was. It was not like it looked on the website, beach was far smaller when full of sun beds and people and it was not possible to walk either side of the beach because of rocks unfortunatly, the adult pool was shown with only a handful of sunbeds but reality it was full of sun beds and only one shade when on the site it shows a lot more shades. Bosts that there are 6 restaurants but really there are 4 main restaurants with limited menu choice the other is the buffet and then there is a snack bar on the side of the beach, breakfast was just buffet and this was very busy so most of the time had room service which was excellent and room service is 24hr whenever you ordered had about a 30min wait. Disapointed with the entertainment, there was no where to go and have a quiet drink in the evening only the sports bar which was always very noisy. Our room was good apart from the bathroom shower above the bath tub use to make the floor drenched our room was situated over the garden/marina view on the 5th floor the rooms over the ocean view are very noisey if looking for peace. Noise seemed to travel very far in the hallways (echoed).
There is some good all the staff where excellant very polite and helpful nothing to much for them especially the staff around the adult pool they made it for us.
Would recommend if paying for 3*+.

Room Tip: ocean view on 2nd floor very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

So I'm lucky enough to live in Playa del Carmen, Mexico ... and im not really into all inclusive hotels... but a friends wedding was worth staying a few night at the resort.
I did the reservation thru' the phone, Oscar was kind enough to have it done in no time :)
at our arrival we were greeted with a smile by the doorman.... even though there was a line for the check in ... some how it was fast enough that we were in the front desk pretty quickly.
Daniel checked us in ... our room wasn't ready yet so we were invited to enter the hotel and enjoy while our room as ready.
We stop by seaside for a quick lunch ... service was quick ....and with a big smile from out waiter ...( sorry i can't remember his name)
Back in reception we were told that due to the high occupation we were upgraded from garden view .... to an ocean view ... family unit in the preferred club ... what??! i could not believe .. I had to tell Daniel ... "If i ever come back .. I hope this never happens again"
We were blowed away .. the room was big ... with an amazing view ... I fell in love with the closet .. the shower so soothing .... and the treatment preferred :)
The wedding was beautiful .. the food delicious .. and the waiters so much fun!
Next day we spent the day at the beach ... all day ...
over all was a nice experience ...
Would i go back? ... yes!
but also i feel curious about the other hotels of the company.
Over all ... I great place to stay ..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Playitagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My now wife and I were married at this resort 12/03/2011 and it was wonderful. It may be easy to look at this through rose colored glasses due to the circumstances of being excited about a wedding, but the facilities were impeccable everyone was greeted with a refreshing cloth and a glass of champagne. The food in general was good with splashes of very good to great. Jacki was a pleasure to work with in dealing with wedding plans, and the service/food/setting surrounding the wedding was nothing short of perfect. This resort is not as big as some in the area which we appreciated because it allowed for us to see and socialize with our guests. The beach was a lot of fun for snorkeling, and there are activities for all ages both on the resort, and surrounding the facility. The pressure for timeshares was minimal to non existent. The resort is inside a gated community where you don't have to feel afraid on any level, and you can walk around inside the community. Book with confidence. Wonderful experience, and excellent bang for the buck.

Room Tip: Ocean front is also poolside, and maybe louder than the adult only side of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank matt d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We just returned home from a week at the Dreams PA. First the bad; if you are a shoreline walker this hotel would not be for you. Walking in either direction from the hotel is blocked by rock formations. Now the good; check in was quick and easy, the food was good to excellent (although one night they closed a couple of their restaurants which led to some lengthy waiting time), the room was great, and housekeeping stopped in twice a day. Now the great; the service from all of their workers was fantastic!! Jennifer absolutely made our vacation by helping us solve our problem trying to connect to the internet. Her energy and willingness to please was unbelievable. Each encounter with her left us feeling like royalty.

This hotel really grew on us as the week progressed, which is a testament to the group of people that worked there. They always had smiles on their faces, and seemed to love what they were doing. Thank you for making our week an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Blue333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
1.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,589 reviews
20.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
10,276 reviews
8.9 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
13,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £162 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa is a getaway with near infinite pleasures. Guests of all ages experience Unlimited-Luxury(R), remarkable amenities led by spacious rooms and suites with lovely views, gourmet dining options, limitless top-shelf spirits and 24-hour concierge service - all wristband-free. Guests are entertained by miniature golf, complimentary greens fees at a nearby golf course, a PADI certified diving center and Dolphin Dreams by Dolphin Discovery, one of the largest dolphinariums in the Riviera Maya resort region. To unwind, Dream Spa by Pevonia(R) offers a generous pampering menu. For couples, the resort presents wedding, honeymoon and anniversary packages, and for business, facilities begin with the 1,646 square foot Playa Ballroom. It's all of this and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Resort Puerto Aventuras
Sunscape Puerto Aventuras Riviera
Sunscape Puerto Adventuras
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing