We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Families-YES!; Couples-NO!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at this Dreams in early December. It is a very nice property. Everything was clean and in good repair, beds were comfortable, food at the buffet was good and plentiful, the a la carte restaurants prepared excellent dishes, drinks were top shelf and strong (unless you asked for less). In short all the basics you would expect from a high end all-inclusive were present and up to the expected standards. I also really liked the location of this resort (once we completed the LONG ride from Cancun). I could walk to a shopping area and run along the Marina and next to a golf course. But, I do think that this resort is much better suited to families than to couples.

Why families-Yes?
The beach is a nice small curve of white sand that offers protected swimming. There is a ‘natural aquarium pool’ that is good for viewing fish. There is a ‘dolphin experience’ within easy walking distance. Everything is in a compact area that would make it easy to keep track of everyone. There is a kids club (and the kids looked like they were having fun). There is a ‘child free’ area which includes a pool and the seafood restaurant, where parents could get some ‘couple time’ while their children were at the club., They had activities during the day that kids would enjoy (pottery painting). Finally, there are a LOT of children with which yours could make friends.

Why couples-No?
There are a LOT of children and only one ‘child free’ area. This area had no view and few activities. Many of the activities in the main area are geared toward children. The resort is very compact-which makes it difficult to get away from everyone.

Finally, I need to give kudos to Felipe at the Barracuda bar who made a special pot of tea so I could have iced tea without sugar.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank IronChefNeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,289 - 3,295 of 4,755 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2011

Traveled 12/14 - 12/24/2011
Second time at Dreams Resort, Ninth time at an all-inclusive resort.
Just returned yesterday from Dreams Puerto Aventuras. Had a great time. Traveled with one other family. Total 9 people (4 adults - 5 kids, ages 6 - 12)
If you are looking for a smaller resort that is very kid friendly, this is the place for you. (Definitely not a quiet resort for couples) We paid extra ($ 45 per night) for the 7th floor "premier" area. Not really worth it...here's basically what you get : 7th floor rrom, access to liquor bar on 7th floor, free internet (in room very weak signal, almost never worked, on balcony works ok, and works good in lobby and on beach), thats really about it. We got room 753, not really ocean view, kind of side ocean...beware of room 753 as its next to the bar on the seventh floor and VERY loud at 7 AM when they are setting up for the day. This was our mistake that we didn't ask to switch rooms, but at the end we ended up getting a 20 % discount, which made it a little better I guess.
Restaurants:
one word : AMAZING, especially the sit down reservation restaurants. Great steak, great Mexican, great deserts ! The buffet, decent, lunch at the buffet was great, dinner ok, but you have a few other choices at the reservation restaurants, which you can use as many times as you want. Also for lunch they have a grill set up outside where they make burgers and hotdogs, the kids loved this. The Sushi bar is a perfect place to relax after the whole day.
The POOL : The main pool is big, but a bit cool water. All day long they have many activities happening near the pool, great and very entertaining. They have a huge 50 person jacuzzi next to the pool. This is mainly used by persons ages 5 - 12..... Not really a "relax" jacuzzi, but the kids loved this as the water in hear is very warm and the bartenders came by bringing them unlimited amounts of cola and colored drinks.
The BEACH : Not very large but very nice. More than enough lounge chairs, never a problem getting a chair, water very clean, and VERY warm. Sea-weed cleaned every morning. Very nice clean sand. Water nice for kids also, they had a blown up ice berg and water trampoline that they liked. Nice for snorkeling also, many fish (bring some bread and you will think you're swimming in an aquarium).

All in all, I would say this is the perfect place for families with small children. The resort overall is very clean but for sure is ready for a major "upgrade"...wear and tear showing all over. Don't purchase the "preferred" upgrade...not worth the $45 per day. Great food, staff very, very nice and friendly, always ready to serve you. Not to far from airport. We used CANCUN TRANSFERS, very nice company, private van service, not to expensive, for a large van that fits 12 we paid $140 round trip. Trip from airport to hotel about 55 minutes.
Would we come back here - most likely :-)
Feel free to email us with any questions

Room Tip: Request ocean view high floor... don't pay for preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

A quick word about hotel ratings (the most confusing travel concept EVER!) Apple Vacations and AM Resorts (parent company of Dreams, Secrets, NOW, Zoetry, Sunscape) are owned by the even larger Apple Leisure Group. Apple Vacations rank Dreams Puerto Aventuras and Dreams Tulum as 6 Golden Apple resorts. This places them in the same category as all Secrets properties, (including Maroma Beach), the Iberostar Grand, The New Iberostar Cancun, The Grand Velas, and Aventura Cove Palace to name a few. Simply put, that's absurd... they're just not. Keep this in mind if you purchase a non adults only 6 Apple Square deal. You may end up at one of the real 6 Gold Apple resorts, but more than likely you'll be on a 1.5 to 2 hour van ride to a Puerto Aventuras or Tulum resort that allows children. And yes, it does take that long to get there because there's construction and traffic.

Now to the review! So while Dreams PA is in no way a 6 star property, it's still a very good value and enjoyable experience as long as you know what to expect. It's a compact property built around the family vacation. The beach is small, enclosed and perfect for kids, and yes, they are everywhere. There's an area around one side of the resort near the Barracuda Bar which is mostly an adult hang-out. There's a small, non-swimming rocky overlook with a natural pool and sandy area. You can get away from the noise here. There's an adults only pool facing the marina by the Oceania restaurant, but it also faces the back of the main building. While it's quiet, the view is completely unappealing and I'd be an unhappy customer if this was my primary option for relaxation. Bottom line: don't come here thinking “I don't mind a few kids because it's a great deal.” If you want peace and quiet, pay a little more for an adults only resort or a much larger mixed property.

The food is perfectly fine in all restaurants we experienced though we liked some better than others. Our party of six at Portofino enjoyed all their steaks, pasta and desserts. We really liked the Seaside restaurant's fresh ceviches and great fish tacos. The “fish of the day” can be prepared in a number of ways, though it's almost always grouper or mahi-mahi. Any of the items on the menu will be prepared how you like them just by asking. The World Cafe has a wide selection of foods for breakfast, lunch or dinner and we found whatever we chose to be tasty. I read some complaints about “limited choices”. No way. If you can't find something to eat here, the problem isn't with the buffet, it's your limited palate! Restaurants don't take reservations except for large parties, yet I also read some complaints about the wait to get in (up to an hour). Well it beats getting on line at 7am to make a reservation like other resorts have you do. Put your name in, get a buzzer, enjoy a cocktail or two at the bar and stop complaining. Geez!

The property is mixed in amongst lots of condominiums and a few private homes. There's a little shopping area within easy walking distance that is home to a “swim with the dolphins” attraction. It's a great place to take the kids and just watch the show or walk around. It feels quite safe and although the shopping was pressure free, expect typical tourist prices. Whatever you do, don't forget your sun screen because a spray can is $26 US, or around 330 pesos!

The staff is super friendly, very accommodating and willing to go out of their way for your pleasure. I can't say enough good things about them. While everyone was wonderful to us, one standout at the services desk was an absolute angel named Jeane. Without her assistance, I'd have been lost.

All in all, there is great quality and value to be found here for families. I can easily recommend this resort for vacationing with children, but I can't see the attraction for couples or young adults. In my opinion, this would not be the best choice for a honeymoon either.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with an ocean view, but don't pay for the Preferred Club unless you get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Wevebeenthere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I just spent a week at Dreams with my daughter who is 7. I think because it was an all inclusive I kept my expectations in check and they needed to be for much of what Dreams has to offer. I'll start with the rooms, they are of ok size, but the wear and tear is showing in many areas, ie. the ipod dock station was out of order, toilet needed repair, no hot water the first day. The food was average, with portifino being the best of the lot and we went there three times in a week. Now for the positives: nice and clean beaches, warm water and plenty of beach chairs to go around. Nice swim up bars, pool water was not heated :( Plenty of wait staff offering drinks. Very kid friendly staff as my daughter spent several days in the kids club and in general they cater to kids.
In summary if your going with kids and dont need a gourmet dinner every night this is a good value for the money.

Room Tip: All the walls seem to be thin but if you can get on the top floor that is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B8zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Beautiful resort with activities all day long. The entertainment staff is so much fun. Great pools and hot tub. Nice reef out front for snorkeling. Find the grassy area out by the reef and you may be lucky enough to see the sea turtles. (Save yourself an excursion LOL) During our stay we saw a magic show, circus, fire and water show, and caribbean show right there at the resort included in your package. Your kids will not be bored! The drinks there are great. Try a Miami Vice. You will be hooked. My only complaint....the food. Not very good. Five restaraunts and couldnt find anything we liked. Hubby lost 7 lbs on vacation. Who loses weight on vacation?? LOL

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms- loud Marina view rooms-quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed week at this all-inclusive resort. Having stayed at many Dreams, hard not to compare to others. It had some standouts but could use a little improvement in a couple areas. Our room was great, corner room with jacuzzi on lanai/balcony (yes, private!) with lots of area in room. Sitting area and excellent bed. Huge shower, so along with jacuz, great amenities with those. Our view was over the Seaside Resturant but was ok. Actually ocean view over the restaurant. Out other side was resort pool and ocean view and great sunrises. Sunsets behind resort, so best to experience that from beach. Excellent bar service thoughout resort with pretty good top brand labels. In the "Preferred Club" they had excellent selection of brands. But, the Preferred Club is where they could make major improvements. We always stay in them because they normally offer private check in, private club/lounge room. Not so at this location. They do have the club, but no special checkin and the club is actually accessible to all guests who are aware of it's existence. They have one attendant who doesn't monitor whose eligible(paid for club) or not. It's located at end of hallway on 7th floor with guest rooms actually opening close to lounge area. NO private breakfast buffet, no appetizers (to speak of) in afternoon/evenings, and again, no one to screen those in club. When you pay about $100 a day extra, then it means something and at this property, it's a waste of money. We'd certainly go back but wouldn't waste the money on this Dreams "preferred club".
The staff is all exceptional, all speak good English along with other languages as well. Concierge desk will do anything for their guests. Really knowledgable on all the resorts functions and locale events and attractions.
Their check-in process could be a little better prepped. We arrived at resort around noon and not expecting room to be ready, they said about 2-3pm. Never got into our room until after 5pm and it just dragged on. They seemed confused and unorganized. After flying all night, making use of "all inclusive" for few hours, we needed a break and with room not ready kind of an inconvenience. But manageable!
Pretty good restaurants throughout the resort. Seaside is good, but the best is Portofino. Excellent Italian restaurant. Adults only! And I had to staple legs on my shorts for this place! The chef comes tableside, has specials every night, so selection is beyond the normal menu. Somewhat "fairly" priced wine list throughout resort. Better than in past. the World Cafe (breakfast/lunch/dinner) buffet restuarant is one of best we've used. Great selection of everything in mornings and no major waiting for anything. Lunches and dinners more than adequate with something for everyone.
Suggest eating dinner late (they stay open until 11pm) as that clears the way from families with kids. Do suggest checking with concierge for nights specific restaurants are open so you don;t miss out on one. The beach grill is also good and most importantly, convenient. Burgers, dogs, salads, they also cook a huge batch of a seafood rice dish. Very good. They have shows every night, but other than Sun/Mon Night Football shown on the beach, we didn't attend other shows. That was jacuzzi time!
Used the beachside spa where they have daily specials right by the ocean. Reasonable and excellent!
Very pleased with resort overall and with a couple very manageable changes, could be excellent.

Room Tip: Until they upgrade Preferred Club, save the money! Check nights restaurants are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WalterInSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Love the hotel can't wait to go back.love the staff and entertainment,and activities

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crystalmount18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
11.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,564 reviews
16.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#70 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,475 reviews
15.1 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
13,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,785 reviews
20.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £140 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa is a getaway with near infinite pleasures. Guests of all ages experience Unlimited-Luxury(R), remarkable amenities led by spacious rooms and suites with lovely views, gourmet dining options, limitless top-shelf spirits and 24-hour concierge service - all wristband-free. Guests are entertained by miniature golf, complimentary greens fees at a nearby golf course, a PADI certified diving center and Dolphin Dreams by Dolphin Discovery, one of the largest dolphinariums in the Riviera Maya resort region. To unwind, Dream Spa by Pevonia(R) offers a generous pampering menu. For couples, the resort presents wedding, honeymoon and anniversary packages, and for business, facilities begin with the 1,646 square foot Playa Ballroom. It's all of this and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Resort Puerto Aventuras
Sunscape Puerto Aventuras Riviera
Sunscape Puerto Adventuras
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing