We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really don't know how to rate this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Really don't know how to rate this hotel”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Having never been to This Dreams Resort before and our trip being last minute I wasn't expecting too much, was really surprised at how much we did like it. I would have said Loved it if it weren't for the problems we had, First Request was king size bed s/b no problem but it was,so were placed in a rm on the 1st flr rm 141 with 2 beds, patio can not go out water all over it and no chairs our rm would be changed next day no problem we are now in rm 535 w king size bed GREAT until we come back from beach and find water in rm with my shoes floating in it and some of my clothes. Call for help and after many apologies they take shoes and wet clothing and promise to have them taken care of which they do and move us to rm 556 which is Oceanfront and very lg rm very comfortable also send champagne and choc covered strawberries which was a nice gesture, Then water again in bathroom which was from Toilet leaking call maintenance come quickly after numerous calls for 3 days problem was never fixed they promised it would be next day which is when we left, We had to put towels and rugs under the leak I didn't understand why it wasn't fixed the first time. Then on last morning there, very early in the morning I am on my way to the elevator and the hallway looks like a river water flowing down it rm 541 which was empty had water pouring out of it few of the rms close by had water called my husband and told him to be careful coming down that hallway. Someone I met fell before anyone noticed it thankfully she was ok. I would have given this resort an excellent review but evidently they have water and maintenance problems. Here are the things that were Excellent: Food the best I ever had at an AI Better than El Dorado Royale and Secrets Capri And Much better than Dreams Villa Magna in Nuevo Vallarta. Portofino we ate there 4 x. Oceana was Great ate there 2x, El Patio Mexican was beautiful but we are not great fans of Mexican and had a steak did not care for it . Lunch was great at Seaside Grille ate there every day and loved the buffet on the beach one day thought it was Excellent!! Service was Excellent!! Drinks were Great!! Always served ice cold and with a smile.A Thank You to Neo Javi and Willy the waiters on the beach!! Maids left rm clean and had an animal every day on bed made out of towels, Beach: Wonderful never went to the pools loved the beach plenty of sun and plenty of Palapas for shade. Spa had a massage it was such a relaxing experience. Mercedes Thank You!! Tips We always tip everyone even though it is included they go out of their way to make you happy so we do give them a little extra. What else can I say I would have given this resort an Excellent rating but the maintenance and water problems were a big problem and I do not need any stress while on vacation I have it on my normal every day life. In spite of the problems we did have a wonderful Stay and I don't know if I would return Would have to be a really good deal to get me back here again.

Room Tip: Even if you pay for ocean view make sure you get 5th floor or above!!! I would not pay for an upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Butsey,

We truly appreciate your taking the time to write and share such a wonderfully detailed review following you recent stay here with us at Dreams Puerto Aventuras.

We apologize for not having exceeded your expectations in every aspect of your stay here with us. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the pertinent departments in order to be addressed and where possible improved. As professionals in the service industry we know that our guests feedback is very valuable, and the key to allow the constant improvement in order to reach an enduring high quality level in services. We are presently experiencing a few difficulties with the water pipe system that is presently being corrected with a .5 million USD investment due to the high volume of calcium that is encountered with our water. The first steps have been stared as the calcium deposits have been addressed however our head engineer remains working very hard on the plans to repair all pipes. We apologize that this interfered with your stay.


All of your feedback will be shared with our operations team, especially with the staff members you took the time to personally mention. They will be particularly pleased to know that they were able to assist you during your time here with us.

We truly hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in the future and we are confident that on any future stay we will exceed all of your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,198
    1,366
    557
    227
    159
See reviews for
2,159
1,439
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great bang for the buck. Relatively inexpensive in comparison to other hotels in the area. Good drinks and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. Rooms were clean and the ac pumped. The adult pool was very quiet and relaxing and loved the baracuda bar and the natural ocean pool. If you are looking for a nice relaxing place that wont empty your bank account this is your place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Rob,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feeedback with us here on Tripadvisor following your recent vacation at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the facilities and amenities that we have to offer.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Construction Construction Construction they are renovating 6 - 8 rooms on every floor but tell us it is a minor upgrade, grabbed an extra $660.00 to move us to a worse room, water pressure almost zero, noise constant then offered us 15% off the $660.00 we left and are at the Omni Hotel Fantastic and cheaper with food and drink than Dreams (Nightmare's) when asked to speak with dreams management were stonewalled by concierge, Do Not Ever go here, bugs in rooms, liars in service, Oh Ya packaged sugar for margarita mix as well, we get better Margs in Whistler BC Canada

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear, John B,

We are very sorry to hear that our facilities did not meet with your full approval and it is truly unfortunate that you chose to leave our hotel rather than allow us to assist you in rectifying any issues you may have had during your stay here with us. We apologize if your felt that management was not availble to you as we understand that you spoke personally with our chief concierge regarding your discomforts.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the remainder of your vacation and we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the near future and change the poor perception you seem to have of us.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, Mi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Great wedding the red headed wedding planner was awesome and paid attention to detail, the staff was very helpful and eager to please. we had an awesome king pillow top bed. The food is great especially El Patio Mexican. The place is well maintained and they are improving every day i was there. The excursion planning needs work, check your bill. avoid the people that attack you as you exit customs to offer you a taxi. the stuck me on the exchange and over charged me. next time i will get out in front of the airport and ask for US price. dont take pesos you dont need them for anything and they dont help.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Edward B,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the Tripadvisor community. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent vacation here at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits and feedback such as yours is always greatly appreciated.

Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our entire team who will be pleased to know they were able to assist you, especially our wedding manager Jacki who you took the time to personally mention.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This by far the best hotel i have ever been to.
the food is great, the services is amazing. I went with my boyfriend for a romantic vacation. it is very peaceful and the beach is beautiful. Many activities on site as well. I would go back tomorrow if i could!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nahla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Nahla A,

As a hotel that prides itself on guest satisfaction, feedback such as yours is truly wonderful to receive. We are delighted that you had the chance to experience our Unlimited Luxury experience and we would love the chance to welcome you both back once again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Aventuras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Great resort. The staff are wonderful. They were very accommodating and service was excellent. Food was great. Oceana, Portofino, Seaside all were great. Portofino was our favorite. Check in and out went smoothly. Pool bar staff were excellent. Alberto, Jessica, Noe, Wily were the best. The chef at Portofino was outstanding and very likeable. General manager of Resort was very helpful with slight problem with hot water problem in room. Relocated us to a great room. Marco with consierage service was outstanding. Our Apple Vacations Rep was also very helpful.. I would recommend this resort to any couple or family wanting to have a great vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary Mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Gary,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent vacation here at Dreams Puerto Aventuras.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the staff members mentioned will be delighted to hear that they were able to assist in making your vacation enjoyable and memorable.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back once again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

POSITIVES - The staff is friendly and the room and grounds appear to be clean.

Negatives- We paid for an all-inclusive deluxe ocean view and received a room, that although faces the ocean, the view was completly blocked. Do not accept a room as ocean view unless it is ABOVE the 5th floor. Front desk could only appologize, and we were told there was no manager on duty. We inquired again we we would wonder through the lobby, but it was just easier to make the best of it. The food is edible, but at a bad Denny's level. We survived only by ordering several dishes and only eating a small portion off each one. We actually felt so wastefull that we quit eating at the resort and ate at the local resteraunts off property. Food was so much better and reasonably priced. We made several friends while staying here and we laughed that we had the same experiences. This would be a great place for the 25 and under. Free drinks and a place to crash.

Room Tip: Only accept an ocean view ABOVE the 5th floor. Music is loud at all floors above the restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Charles E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us following your recent stay at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. We appreciate the kind comments shared regarding our staff members.

We apologize for not having exceeded your expectations regarding the location of your room. Our Ocean view rooms are located between floors 2 through 6 and we are sorry if this was not explained to you at the time of booking. For truly exceptional Ocean views we do recommend our Preferred Club rooms that are on the penthouse floor of our property.

We are concerned that you felt the need to dine outside of the resort as the variety and quality of our food is something that many of our guests comment postively about. You may understand that when it comes to food, taste and perception are involved and it is always difficult to get a 100% of satisfaction, but this does not stop us from continuously looking for ways to improve. We can guarantee you that we will continue challenging ourselves so our guests enjoy our food and all of our guests' feedback is precious for this continuous process.

Again, we apologize for any bad impressions, as we pride ourselves in guest service and strive for overall guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
20.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
24.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,585 reviews
17.5 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
15.1 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#75 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa is a getaway with near infinite pleasures. Guests of all ages experience Unlimited-Luxury(R), remarkable amenities led by spacious rooms and suites with lovely views, gourmet dining options, limitless top-shelf spirits and 24-hour concierge service - all wristband-free. Guests are entertained by miniature golf, complimentary greens fees at a nearby golf course, a PADI certified diving center and Dolphin Dreams by Dolphin Discovery, one of the largest dolphinariums in the Riviera Maya resort region. To unwind, Dream Spa by Pevonia(R) offers a generous pampering menu. For couples, the resort presents wedding, honeymoon and anniversary packages, and for business, facilities begin with the 1,646 square foot Playa Ballroom. It's all of this and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Resort Puerto Aventuras
Sunscape Puerto Aventuras Riviera
Sunscape Puerto Adventuras
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing