We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,385)
Filter reviews
5,385 results
Traveller rating
2,531
1,607
697
309
241
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,531
1,607
697
309
241
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillworld cafeel patioadult poolfamily pooldreams pabarracuda barsushi restaurantpreferred clubexplorers clubnatural pooldolphin viewcoco cafemarina sidewater showfish tacoskids club
Filter
Updating list...
2,854 - 2,859 of 5,385 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We couldn't have had a better time! The resort was BEAUTIFUL, the staff were super friendly, and everyone made us feel like we were stars! Our wedding was perfect, and worry-free. GREAT food, service, and accommodations! We will be coming back again, hopefully every year!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are fabulous, and you can hear the music and pool activities - Great fun! And in case you want your beauty sleep, the whole resort gets quiet by 10:00 pm, as a courtesy to all guests.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 737Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear 737Barbara,

First and foremost, we would liketo congratulate you on your recent nuptials. It was an honor for us to host such a special occasion for you both and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed not only your big day but also your entire stay here with us.

It would be an honor to be able to welcome you back here with us and we truly hope that this stay was the first of many.

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I my opinion the resort was very inviting . All the restaurants were excellent & a very nice adults only area. The resort was just my size, everything was easy to get to ( no golf carts needed here).Great value !

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lllenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear lllenz,

We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Dreams Puerto Aventuras and we would like to truly thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Tripadvisor community.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
Econcierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I was looking forward to the stay at the Dreams Puerto Aventuras. We had stayed at the Sunscape in Punta Cana (Dominican Republic) and wanted to see what the better Dreams category would be like.
The ride from the Cancun airport took us 50 minutes. The hotel is inside a gated community with other hotels, condos and some shops.
The hotel itself is relatively small. It reminded us of the Sol Melia Cozumel.
The big issue we had with this hotel was check-in. We had booked the family room (a bigger room with a sofa bed), which is more expensive than a regular room. When check-in in we specifically asked if the room they gave us was a family room. They said yes.
We get there and sure enough it wasn't a family room. They had changed it on us without even telling us. Back at the front-desk they claimed that bedding was not guaranteed... We're not talking about bedding here, but room type. They claimed that they had given us an upgrade (ocean view). There wasn't even an apology for overbooking. Just that they could give us a family room the next day. We had to stay one night in that other room. The thing we didn't know about that room (316) is where it was. We went to bed at 10pm exhausted from the travel and got woken up at 10:30 with loud music. Room 316 is right above the bar that from 10:30pm to 1am turns into a disco!!!
The next day we moved into a family room and we were able to enjoy the rest of our vacation. But this overbooking was prevalent. We could hear many other guests being told they didn't get the room they booked.

The rooms were nice with marble floors and good beds (not soft, this is Mexico) and the maids did a wonderful job cleaning up. The buffet food was very limited and repetitive. You don't need reservations for restaurants, but the wait at Portofino is 1h. Of course they don't tell you that. They tell you 30min, and when you come back tell you 30min more, because "the guest are taking a long time to eat". We realized why when we finally got seated. The service was sooo slow, probably on purpose to limit the amount of guests served at those restaurants.
The other restaurants (grill, seafood & mexican) weren't as busy so this was only an issue for us once.
You don't get bracelets at this resort, but the flip side is that they have to ask you for your room number and name everywhere. I prefer bracelets.
Now to the good things. The resort was spotless. You can't beat the kids club that is open until 10pm! We were able to enjoy adults-only dinners while our kids were having fun.
The shows are nice, they hire entertainers instead of having their staff perform. There were some famous ones from the US (comedian/juggler, lasso guy, illusionist) as well as local ones (circus performers, rock).
The drinks are good (foreign brands) and the staff is attentive (except for the front desk).
The beach sits near remnants of a coral reef, but the first 3- yards didn't have any rocks. I managed to spot a sting ray, a moray eel, crabs, countless fish.
The hotel has a cafe which serves lattes, cappuccinos, espressos, regular coffee as well as sandwiches and pastries. It also has 2 computers with internet access. There is free WIFI throughout the hotel.

In the end we managed to enjoy our stay despite the overbooking, but won't forget it. I'll stick to larger resorts for the next time. They don't suffer from overbooking as much and have more variety.

Room Tip: Avoid the 3rd floor above the disco like room 316
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel2dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear travel2dive,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback here on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are extremely sorry to hear that our facilities did not meet with your full approval. All guest feedback, both positive and negative, allows us the opportunity to improve our services. Please rest assured that your kind comments regarding our staff will be shared with our operations team.

We apologize that the complimentary room upgrade offered on behalf of our front desk team was not to your entire satisfaction. We are glad to hear that our front desk team were able to relocate your family.

We are concerned to hear that you did not enjoy the no bracelet, no reservation policy we offer here as part of the Unlimited Luxury concept. This is something that many guests comment positively about however we understand that this is down to personal perception and we apologize for any bad impressions this may have caused.

Once again, thank you for expressing your opinion; it is very important to us as we are always looking for ways to improve our service and achieve ultimate guest satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the near future and change the poor perception you seem to have of us.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were there the week of Dec 2-7 and wish we had booked longer. Our trip down on West jet was uneventful with no issues. Our pickup at the airport was good with no delays. Everyone was very helpful in getting us settled.
Upon arrival at the resort we were greeted in the check in line with champagne. The wait to get our room key was a tad long but the champagne reception helped. Our luggage was promptly taken to our room while we stayed in the lobby and chatted with Luis, who was trying to convince us to go to another resort and sit through the time share presentation. We said no at the beginning and he seemed fine with our decision. That was the end of anyone bothering us.
Room: we stayed on the dolphin view side that looked over the adult pool. Our room was fantastic with working a/c, a super comfortable bed and no humidity (like some people complained about). The bathroom was beautiful and everything was well-equipped. The fridge was stocked but warm, but upon investigation we realized it was unplugged so problem solved. We didn't have any chairs on our oversized balcony, but when our luggage was delivered we mentioned this and 2 chairs arrived within 15 mins.The room was cleaned immaculately every day and although we declined turndown service each evening, the staff were always asking if we wanted it. Fresh towels every day too. The robes and slippers were a great bonus. Clean and comfy.
Food: we ate at 4 out of 5 ala cartes. We missed the Asian as we ran out of nights. We dined at the buffet only 2 mornings for breakfast. The selection was lacking but it didn't really bother us. The other 3 mornings we ordered room service which was amazing! Our favorite places were the Seaside Grill for the Juicy Lucy burger, fish tacos and salsa and chips, and the Oceana and Portofino. We enjoyed our dinners at these two restaurants, and never had to wait more than 15 mins to be seated. Try the filet mignon at Portofino, you won't be disappointed. The Coco Cafe makes wonderful lattes and cappuccinos and yummy sweet snacks.
Bars: we had drinks at all the bars and the service was great and prompt. Once you go to the adult swim up bar once, they know who you are and what you like to drink. Beach service was good too, very nice to have someone ask you what you would like and bring it to you. There was one lunch time that there was a buffet on the beach and the food was excellent.
Service: we thought the resort had excellent service and yes there is some construction going on, but every resort we have ever been to is always doing something to improve themselves. We found the resort to be small, but that is what we were looking for. Customized service and ability to be able to walk everywhere without having to wait for a shuttle or golf cart to take you to the beach. We never waited for towels and each morning every lounge chair had a fresh towel on it.
Location: the town of Puerto Aventuras is quaint and lovely. We ventured out one afternoon and strolled through the town and along the marina. We watched the dolphins and manatees, saw some huge stingrays and drank some cheap beers along the pier.
Overall we had a perfect getaway with no issues or complaints. We are already thinking of returning next year.

Room Tip: Room 439 was perfect, quiet and a great view of the dolphins. Huge balcony and no issues with leaks or anything. Plenty of hot water and pressure was good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Rebecca D,

First and foremost, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share such a great review with us and the tripadvisor community following your recent stay with us here at Dreams Puerto Aventuras.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you are already considering a return trip here with us. Our food & beverage manager will be particularly pleased to read such wonderful comments regarding the restaurants and bars.

We truly hope to have the chance to welcome you back once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

first...i am NOT a complainer, at all, ever. this was our (husband and mine) first all inclusive vacation we have taken several cruises and wanted to compare that with an all inclusive vacation. the pros...the grounds, pool areas, and rooms are all immaculate. loved the location of the bars and the cocktails. loved the preferred club lounge area, really convenient. hotel location is close to playa del carmen, cozumel, and the mayan ruins...perfect!!! the beach area and views were beautiful. the bar staff, front desk, and preferred club attendants were exceptional. now for the cons...we booked a preferred club honeymoon jacuzzi room with a king bed...did not get the jacuzzi. i was very specific on my online booking that under no circumstances did i want to change the room type i had booked. BOOM...they gave us an "upgrade" without consulting us. while the view from our balcony was 180 degrees of breathe taking, it was not the room type we had booked. the hotels solution to our problem fell way short of being satisfying. oh well, still a great view. if you are bringing your children...this is the place for you!! though we had a honeymoon room, we had screaming children staying on either side of us the first three days. one was obviously sick and screamed and coughed all night for three nights and days. the beach was full of kids. while i will take responsibility for my own booking mistake, if you are looking for a romantic, quiet stay...move on to a different hotel. this could be improved upon by making the natural saltwater pool area adults only. this would also be a great location for the spas couple massages. right now they are performed near a high traffic area. i was actually sitting at the nearby tiki bar when i saw a female guest get up after her massage was complete totally topless. not a big issue if you are in an adults only area...not so good if you are facing the main beach and volleyball court that is full of kids of all ages. cocktail severs at the adults only pool area would be a huge bonus. the restaurants are hit and miss. our meal at portafina was the best by far- get the filet mignon!! the world cafe was the worst except for the special fried rice, yummy!! NONE of the breakfast choices are good, wait for lunch. the waite staff were mostly slow except at portafina. to sum it up, we will be booking with an "all adults" next time. for families, pack up your strollers and all the youngsters, dreams p.a. is going to welcome you with open brazo!! couples not so much!! hope this helps you make a great vacation decision.

Room Tip: my tip will not do you any good, as with many others who have left recent room suggestions on here you won't get the room you booked anyway.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear laurie p,

Thank you sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent vacation with us. We would like to apologize for not having exceeded your expectations in all aspects of your stay.

The complimentary upgrade provided at the moment of check in here with us was by no means intended to cause any bad impressions and we are sorry for any discomfort this may have caused.

We apologize that you felt there were too many children here at the resort, we are a family orientated resort however we do offer a quiet adults only area for those guests travelling without children. We do hope that you had the chance to enjoy this area during your stay here with us.

All guest feedback, both positive and negative, allows us the opportunity to improve our services and please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the involved departments where they will most certainly be addressed and where possible corrected.

Once again, we apologize for not having exceeded your expectations during your stay and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back once again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews