We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is not a resort for couples. I went with my boyfriend for New Years and probably should have done more research. Check in was very slow and they required you to have a printed copy of your reservation with all the room details. Of course with the information on iPhones and iPads we did not print a copy and they would not accept us showing the PDF on either of these devices. They sent us to on on-site coffee shop to print the document and then bring back. We quickly realized our mistake in booking this resort because of all the families and kids. Of course you can expect this at an all-inclusive resort that is not couples only, but we did not expect screaming kids in the hallway and outside our door at 7AM. The room was comfortable and very nice, but very noisy. The restaurant quality was fine, nothing spectacular but acceptable. As a couple, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Heidi M,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us following your vacation at our resort. It is standard proceedure in all our resorts to ask for a hard copy of the reservation confirmation at the moment of check in however we are sorry if this information was not provided to you when you booked your vacation.

We apologize that you felt there were too many children here at the resort, we are a family orientated resort however we do offer a quiet adults only area for those guests travelling without children. We do hope that you had the chance to enjoy this area during your stay here with us.

Once again we are sorry for not having exceeded your expectations during your time here with us and for any bad impressions that may have been caused.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,360 - 2,366 of 4,753 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Spent a week here near the end of October 2013. Check-in and check-out weren't very efficient; we wound up waiting an extra 2 hours to check-in, even though we arrived two hours BEFORE the check-in time. We waited on the beach with our luggage, not too bad. The lobby is definitely a downer, given that there is no real lounge area except some cushions on a platform in the middle. Also, no bar in the lobby either. Vehicles (buses, taxis) were left idling at the drop-off location bedside the lobby and that tends to stink-up the area, depending on the wind direction.

The room itself was pretty good with regards to comfort; bed was fine, bathroom was roomy, climate control was good (had to turn off the A/C sometimes, too cold). However, the noise level coming from the adjacent room and corridor was very apparent; I slept with ear plugs.
The staff were quite friendly and with regards to drinks, my proverbial cup runneth (ranneth?) over. The food and various restaurants were quite good; we thoroughly enjoyed the sushi, and we had the surf and turf special (extra $$$) at the Mexican restaurant and that was great. The filet mignon was awesome.

The dive shop was pretty decent (Pro Dive Mexico), but we were disappointed with their t-shirt stock (none). We left our dive gear at the shop and nothing was stolen or lost. Local dives consisted of gearing up at the shop and then taking a short (5 minutes max) walk to the nearby marina. The cenotes dives were amazing; not to be missed if you're a diver in Riviera Maya.

One thing that disappointed me considerably was that I had taken the time to write out four postcards to be mailed to my kids and parents; I bought the cards and stamps at the gift shop of the hotel. When asked where should I drop them off, I was told to give them to the "concierge" who would make sure that they get delivered; two months later, still no cards. I should've taken pictures of them. It's all in the details...

Room Tip: The quieter side of the hotel is the dolphin pool side; beautiful sunsets too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScubaZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear ScubaZone,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here on Tripadvisor regarding your recent vacation with us. We apologize for not having exceeded your expectations in all aspects of your stay.

Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with our executive team including our front desk manager in order to be address. We are sorry that our lobby bar areas where not clearly indicated to you as we have both our Desires Lounge and Coco Cafe located in that immediate area. Our head chef will be particularly pleased to read such positive comments regarding your culinary experience.

We do ask that you take into consideration that the Mexican postal system is not as efficient as most people are accustomed to and many guests find that it takes several months for postcards to reach their destination. We ensure to mail all postcards given to us several times a week directly at the local post office. We are sorry for any bad impressions this may have caused and we are extremely concerned that this damped your view of us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again in the future where we are confident that we will surpass your expectations in all aspects.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

As an experienced traveler and on my fifth visit to Mexico, I thought I would try the "Dreams," Experience. It turned out to be more of a NIGHTMARE!

I had booked a 6th floor Dolphin View suite for a fortnight, starting on Dec 3rd--for 14 nights.

After I had booked it, in April 2013, I was a bit disappointed by some of the reviews on TripAdvisor.
They mentioned noise, and musty smelling rooms; particularly on the lower floors.
They also recommended being on at least the 6th floor, if you had a Dolphin view room; otherwise , due to the palms, you would see nothing. I therefor specified; and confirmed, with my travel agent, a 6th floor room.

After a delayed 13 hr flight, and a real hassle at the airport, trying to find our private transfer; I was extremely dismayed not to get the room I had booked.

Reception was fairly chaotic, and our receptionist, had poor grasp of English.
Apparently the hotel was full. and they would try to move us the following day.

Speaking to other people, later, almost no-one got the room they had booked, on arrival. Most had to move at least once during their stay, many, twice. This room switching is TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE.

It appears that, "He who complains loudest--and longest--gets the best room."
Hardly a very fair or ethical way to run a Hotel!!

We were allocated room 359; it was HORRENDOUS!! avoid it like the plague.
It smelled incredibly moldy, and almost nothing in it worked!!
The toilet wouldn't flush, neither of the sinks had a hot water supply, one had no plug and the shower was broken. The mirror was so tarnished, I could not see my face in it; probably just as well, as I was not a happy bunny.

Outside was a small, corner, narrow balcony, half the size of the ones on either side, with virtually no view, due to the high trees and bushes--you certainly couldn't see the Dolphin--or Adult's swimming pool from it!
The balcony furniture was old and broken, definitely not somewhere you would want to spend any time!!

The whole room was in need of a major refurbishment.
We were so tired and fed up--we just went to bed ; without unpacking or eating.
The next morning we were woken very early with the noise of hammering and Banging!
THE HOTEL WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF A MAJOR REFURBISHMENT.

About eight rooms on each floor were being done simultaneously.
Normally if a hotel is having major ongoing work done, all the clients are informed in advance, and offered an alternative or allowed to cancel. Of all the many guests I spoke to, none had been informed.
Trying to get round the hotel was very difficult, of the 14 nights we were there, one of the two guest lifts was out of action for a total of 11 days, the other broke down at least twice, and the service lift--which the guests were forced to use, also broke down several times.

On the second day, after reception had tried on five occasions to move us to an inferior 2nd floor room, we finally got our 6th floor Dolphin view room, hardly 5* star luxury but at least infinitely better than room 359.

Even so the room fridge did not work, and later in the week, about 30 0f them on our floor--were replaced.

My partner and I both ate at the Seaside grill for lunch the first day, and had seafood. We both became ill within hours, my food poisoning, cleared up within a couple of days, but my partner became very ill, and after several days required medical intervention. The hotel, reluctantly paid for the Doctor, ( many of the hotel guests were experiencing sickness and diarrhea,) but we had to pay the $145 cost of the drugs.
So unfortunately, my partner lost the first week of our holiday.

The management did try hard to make sure the rest of our restaurant experiences were better, but in our second week, at the Restaurant round the Adult's only pool, ( the only child free restaurant !) he was served, Mahi, a local fish--which was completely raw in the middle. By the time this was replaced--my meal was long since finished. Another meal ruined!

We found much of the buffet food, cold, even when it was brought straight from the kitchen. Frequently the hot plates underneath the food trays, were not on. They also poured new food, on top of the old, very poor hygiene practice; as the food underneath can be on display for long periods of time!

In the end it was not ," the Gourmet, Dining Experience," we had been led to expect from the Webb page--and Brochure.
We tried. always to have fresh food; cooked in front of us!

The whole Hotel was absolutely full of American Children.They were badly behaved, noisy, ill-disciplined; and on such a small site; very difficult to get away from.

As a water sports enthusiast, I was very disappointed!! Two very old, battered catamarans, only available, infrequently; weather and staff--permitting; and one totally knackered windsurfer--with an even older, patched sail.

Conditions were far from ideal, the reef is very far in, the beach very narrow, and no separate lane for the boats, so avoiding swimmers--was very difficult, The light, prevailing on-shore winds--made getting out--over the reef--even more hazardous!!

I went on several trips, and was very disappointed, they were expensive and poor value. Often four hours a day were spent picking up and returning guests--to other Hotels.
.
Overall, Dreams, is not an experience to be recommended--unless you are an American--with three or more children--and you can get free child places.

The only redeeming thing, was the politeness and helpfulness-within their remit, of many of the members of staff.

Room Tip: To get any kind of View, Ocean is better, or Dolphin, you must be on at least level 6. Below this, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindajane61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear lindajane61,

First and foremost, we would like to apologize for not having exceeded your expectations during your stay here with us. We would like to contest your claim that you had booked a room on the 6th floor of our property as all guests prior to arrival are informed that room location requests are subject to availability and cannot be guaranteed. Our Dolphin View rooms are located on floors 2 through 6 of our property.

It is unfortunate that one of our elevators was undergoing maintenance during your stay here with us however we have two additional elevators available exclusively for guest use. We are sorry if this was not made clear to you.

We are sorry that you felt so strongly about the nationality of the other guests here at the resort during your stay. We welcome guests from all over the world and offer the same Unlimited Luxury experience to all.

We are constantly striving to achieve perfection in all areas of our resort and for this reason you will see our staff repairing, improving or in the case of your photos replacing items throughout the resort. We apologize that you felt this caused a bad impression of our resort as this was by no means our intention. As this time there is no major contruction work being completed at our resort.

We are able to ensure that during the time frame of your stay here with us, no reports were filed with our concierge team by other guests in regards to illnesses. We would also like to mention that we ensure The CRISTAL Food Safety System which assists hotels in producing safe and hygienic food for consumption by guests. The Cristal system is based on the recognized method of hygiene management as known as HACCP, which was first developed to ensure completely safe food operations in the early NASA space programs.

You may understand that when it comes to food, taste and perception are involved and it is always difficult to get a 100% of satisfaction, but this does not stop us from continuously looking for ways to improve. We can guarantee you that we will continue challenging ourselves so our guests enjoy our food and all of our guests' feedback is precious for this continuous process. We can ensure that immediate attention is provided to guests that may appear to have any kind of discomfort or special requirements.

Once again, we apologize for not having exceeded your expectations during your stay here with us.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have to tell you, I read the reviews and I was a little nervous when I went there. My brother and sister-in-law shared the same thoughts on the van ride to the hotel as we all discussed the tripadvisor and yelp reviews. We were all nervous.
I have to say I am writing this because I need to set the record straight. Yes, the beach is small and the basin is mainly a huge wading pool with fish, but it is a very quaint area and easy for a large crowd to find a spot. Yes, there are lots of kids, but they are mostly confinded to the pool. If your main is to sit on the beach, ther is plenty of summer and some nice water to wade in. Not many "kids" hanging on the beach.
No all of the chairs are not covered in bird crap. There are some broken chairs so you need to navigate through but for the most part they are all clean each morning and lined up nice. No need to reserve s spot. Plenty of room and many different views. A volleyball court is on thebeach and ther is some room to throw around a football and a frisbee. Not great snorkling of the beach but there are fish and its not too deep so anyone can do it. There is a trampoline in the water for the kids. There is kayaking (no backs to the kayaks so hard to go far with them) and scuba. Lessons too.
Adult pool had too few chairs as it got busy late in the day. Plus is that itis right next to the dolphin adventure so you can walk over and see the many families taking their turns.
Great bartenders at the swin up bar. Nice level of alcohol although not "top shelf". They keep you weel lubricated. Some nice local tequilas.
I was with a large group so we had a hard time eating all together. We were accommodated most nights with 2 large tables. Started each night at Gohan for sushi and drinks. Sushi is good. Sashimi is also good. Shrimp Salad very good. Domingo was a great bartender. Keep the dirty martinis coming.
We then ended up eating later at one of the restaurants. Not many families out late so it was easy to get a table. Portofino was very good as we ate there 3 times. The pasta dishes are a noce appetizer and the filet and salmon main courses were very good. The soup is advertised though as gluten free (as are items on all menus throughout the various restaurants) however it had croutons and pasta.
Most of the review we read going in said the breakfast was bad. Not really sure where that can come from. Eggs made any way you want, plus many buffet choices. Fresh fruit and pastries. Fresh squeezed orange juice. A person making fresh crepes (banana, peanut butter and granola - yum) and fresh made smoothies. Every morning we saidn to each other "What were those people talking about with regard to breakfast..."
Fresh burgers grilled throighout the afternoon. Drinks on the beach to your hearts content. Water galore.
Rooms were OK. My kids did not have furniture on thrie balcony and despite daily inquires, it took six days before they got some. Never sure why. Our toilet was basically broken for the first 2 days but whenit finally broke they fixed it pronto. Nice walk in showers.
Overall I think this is a great place for families. Compact so you are close by no matter what you want to do and there is plenty beach and pool stuff to do. Good for groups with older people as well. Not much walking from place to place.
If i had to make one criticism it would be ther beyond lounge chairs, there are no other chairs to sit on at the pool or the beach. It is a family place yet no play tables anywhere to play a board game or even a game of Uno. We had to take a table out of Oceana to play some board games. Plus with older people in out group, non-lounge chairs would have been nice to have to sit one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jbeck1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear jbeck1954,

First and foremost, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and the tripadvisor community following you recent stay here at Dreams Puerto Aventuras.

We truly apologize for not having exceeded your expectations in all aspects of your stay. Please rest assured that all of your comments will be shared with our team so that they can be addressed where necessary. Our head chef will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. He always claims that Breakfast is the most important meal of the day!

It would be an honor to be able to welcome you all back once again in the near future and we hope to have the privilege of being able to do so.

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

First of all I would like to say this resort was amazing for our family of 5. It was our first family vacation with all 3 kids 7, 4, and 21mths. We stayed 15 nights from Dec .7-Dec.22. We picked the resort knowing that it was small and more intimate. We have been to two other resorts in the Mayan Riviera that you would have to take trolleys because they are so big.

Room- We had a family room on the garden side 1st floor. Our room had 2 double beds, a pull out sofa and we requested a playpen. We didn't mind being on the first floor. My only complaint is that our room faced the adult only pool so I never wanted my kids to play out on the patio because they were loud. Room was always clean and we never had a musky smell that some people had. I found the air conditioning almost too cold so we would just turn it off once and awhile. We had one problem with our shower with the water coming up the drain in our washroom. We called and it was immediately cleaned up and maintenance came to fix it and it never happened again. The shower head was amazing super strong.

Pool- The family pool side was lots of fun with many activities. You step of the deck of the poolside and you are on the beach. They had a family hot tub which was quite big. It was not hot but warmer than the pool so it was nice for the younger kids who get chilly in the big pool. My kids spent lots of time in it.

Dining- I must admit I am a picky eater. I enjoyed the buffet for breakfast, so many options to choice from, I had an omelet made every morning. I did not enjoy the buffet so much for lunch and supper. I never went hungry though. I have been spoiled with some resorts so I knew that my expectations were really high. A couple employees that would serve us often were Carlos and Mario 1 and Mario 2. The kids loved seeing them. We ate most of our lunches from the seaside grill or the barefoot grill. The fish tacos, wings and burgers were really good. It was great that we could order fries and ice cream for the kids from the seaside grill and the kids could eat poolside. After 14 days Sylvia the hostess from the seaside grill still had a huge smile on her face when she saw our kids coming for more fries and ice-cream.
I enjoyed that you never had to stress about making a reservation at a restaurant. I enjoyed Gohan the most, the sushi place. I think I ate there 3 times. We also ate at the Italian and the mexican and had good meals. The service at the restaurants was always excellent. Room service was a great option when we needed it. We usually just used it for afternoon snack or dinner. It is available 24hrs. Coco Cafe was a nice place to grab a coffee and snack.

Kids Club- What an amazing program they have. The kids club ran from about 10:00am -10pm at night with a break around 4:30-5 for the kids to get showered and ready for dinner. These women were amazing!! I hope I have them all- Ceidi, Sara, Gabriela, Cristal, Karina, Martha. They had crafts, games on the beach, games at the pool, cake decorating on the beach, and so much more. They would take the kids for lunch, dinner, movies on the beach, campfire on the beach. My 7 year old only went a couple times because she is shy but my 4 year old loved to go for a couple hrs almost everyday. It was a nice break for us. I felt extremely comfortable leaving my children with these ladies!!

Entertainment- I did not make all of the shows at night but the ones I did see I thought were really good. i like how they hired people to come in to perform.

Staff- The staff was amazing!! Always such great service. I have been to 6 different resorts and I can't remember a greater group of people!! Some of our favourites were the bartenders at the family pool Benjamin, Richard, Aldaberto, Charlie (I pretty sure Charlie worked everywhere), Noe. The ladies at The Explorers Club as mentioned. They were all so great with our children. Many of these staff members probably work 12-16 hr days. Everyone was so hard working!

Dolphin Encounter- We took our 7 year old and she loved it. She was free with an adult. Make sure you get that deal because we had 1 person say not free and some would tell us free. So of course we want to get her free.

If you are travelling with young children and you want a small resort it is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hazelborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear hazelborn,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share such a wonderfully detailed review followin your recent stay here with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to experience and enjoy so many different aspects of the Unlimited Luxury that we have to offer.

Please rest assured that all of your comments, both positive and constructive, will be shared with our entire team in order to be addressed and where necessary improved.

The ladies in the Explorers Club will be thrilled to hear that you children enjoyed spending time with them and were able to participate in the many activities that they have to offer.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Pros: The service in the hotel was excellent. All the staff was very helpful. They really cared so that we can have a comfortable vacation. We are vegetarian and the manager in World Cafe made sure that we get good vegetarian food. He personally went to chef to prepare food for us. It was very nice of him. The location of the hotel is also very good. They had lot of activities which kept us busy all the time. There is free kayaking, boating, biking, beach side table tennis, volley ball, and all good stuff.
Our rooms were cleaned 2 x day which was really good but they did not clean the floor. The rooms are very spacious.
Cons: There were molds and flies in the bathroom. The bed sheets and pillows had a typical smell which was getting intolerable by the end of the trip. The hallways were too noisy especially being on 1st floor. We had 4 rooms booked together but they gave us far from each other which was not at all convenient for us. The phones in the rooms were not working even after complaining couple times at the reception.

Room Tip: Do not take room on 1st floor. It is too noisy. It rained one night and all the water from the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KSP48104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear KSP48104,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share you review with us and the Tripadvisor community.

We apologize for not having exceeded your expectations in every aspect of your stay here with us. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the pertinent departments in order to be addressed and where possible improved.

We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the food offered and the location of our resort.

Once again we are extremely grateful for your time and preference and please feel free to contact us directly prior to your next visit so that we are able to our very best to fulfill your requirements and demonstrate the type of high quality services we uphold here at Dreams Puerto Aventuras.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

First - the kids club was amazing - Ceidi, Sarai, Gabriela, Cristal, Karina were fantastic! I had no intention of using the kids club since this was our first family vacation, but my kids (8 and 5) wanted to go almost every day of our 10 day holiday. There was always an activity for the kids either from kids club or the entertainment team it was amazing.
Coming from The Now Amber in p.vallarta last year which is brand new made a tough comparison on this older in need of tlc resort, but we had a good time and it was good value for money. This resort is small which we loved! It is easy to get around had an awesome beach so many fish to see - perfect for our kids!
There was some construction going on it was a non-issue.
The buffet was small, but the food was good. The a la carte dining was excellent. Great drinks had many top shelf liquor options available. My huband ws happy since they had fluer de cana rum. I enjoyed both the house red and white wine with dinners and I am a bit of a red wine snob! Great service from staff who were especially nice to me when I got laryngitis - thanks coco cafe for all the hot tea!
Rooms - I highly recommend if your kids are as terrible to sleep with as mine are get a bigger room! Our room had 2 double beds and we had a cot, but beds are too small for me and my 6 foot tall husband and sharing with the kids was awful so get a family room or a king and with cots just too small for us! It is very humid the rooms stayed that way we got used to it after all it is a tropical vacation.
Weather for December was pretty good some rain, but hot every day but 1 was raining when we left, but it seemed to be a quick downpour and then good again.
My husband and son did the dolphin swim they both loved it, but the manatees were my favourite! Do not bother with the walking tour because they just take you around the dolphinarium in the town. Our phone was not working properly for first few days, but then they replaced it with a new one. No towel art on bed for kids we did tip maid daily, but maybe they don't do that at this resort - not a big deal at all. The concierge staff called our room several times over our holiday to check if we needed anything which was very nice. We received breakfast in our room with mimosas for our anniversary.
Overall a good trip and we would return with the kids. If ou have any questions message me.

Room Tip: Need a bigger room if you are a family of 4 the basic garden room with 2 double beds is too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Devona35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Devona35,

We truly appreciate the time to taken to share your review with the tripadvisor community following yoru recent stay with us here at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. We are extremely pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your time here.

Our kid's club staff will be delighted to hear that they made such an impression on your children.

Please rest assured that all of your comments will be shared with the pertinent departments so that they can be addressed and where possible improved.

Thank you for the kind offer to assist our future guests with any questions they may have, That is a very generous offer on your part and we greatly appreciate it!

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
11.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,563 reviews
16.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#69 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,469 reviews
15.1 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
13,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,783 reviews
20.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £140 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa is a getaway with near infinite pleasures. Guests of all ages experience Unlimited-Luxury(R), remarkable amenities led by spacious rooms and suites with lovely views, gourmet dining options, limitless top-shelf spirits and 24-hour concierge service - all wristband-free. Guests are entertained by miniature golf, complimentary greens fees at a nearby golf course, a PADI certified diving center and Dolphin Dreams by Dolphin Discovery, one of the largest dolphinariums in the Riviera Maya resort region. To unwind, Dream Spa by Pevonia(R) offers a generous pampering menu. For couples, the resort presents wedding, honeymoon and anniversary packages, and for business, facilities begin with the 1,646 square foot Playa Ballroom. It's all of this and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Resort Puerto Aventuras
Sunscape Puerto Aventuras Riviera
Sunscape Puerto Adventuras
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing