We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were lucky to spend a wonderful week at Dream Puerto Adventures from Feb 6 – 13. (We have two daughters 8 & 5 years old). We go to different places in Mexico each year - hands down the Explores Club (kids club) here was the best! The activities they have for the kids are amazing but all of the girls who work in the Explores Club really make it; they are genuinely kind, sweet and are great with the kids. (Ceidi, Sarai, Gariela, Cristal & Karina) I really can’t say enough about the Explores club - it was phenomenal. We also thought that the Activities Group (Mitzy, Dorian, Rafael & two others) did a fantastic job; they had a nice variety of things to keep adults and kids entertained each day. In the evening there were things like movies on the beach and the fire & water show which was fun. Lots of choices for food and we never waited in line. We tried a few of the restaurants (the service & food at the Portofino was very good) but even at the buffet there was always something we could find and our girls are picky eaters. The beach was great; didn’t have to worry about the girls swimming because the beach is protected so there isn’t a strong current. Water was beautiful. We thought the pool was great; as well and loved the huge hot tub; around 4pm it was a great place to be! (or at 7am when the kids are bugging you to go swimming!) Our room (316) was nice, spacious with a large balcony the only down side was it was right above the night club. The music did wake us up a few nights around 11ish but we managed to get back to sleep fairly quickly (it didn’t wake the girls) so we didn’t ask to change rooms. Lastly, there is a coffee shop by the lobby which had amazing coffee. They also had delicious looking deserts and soft pretzels in the afternoon. Overall – a great resort!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank familytravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear familytravel09,

We are extremely pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay here with us and we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with the Tripadvisor community.

Our Explorer's Club staff will be delighted to hear such wonderful comments regarding their efforts and service. We are glad you had the chance to enjoy the newest addition to our resort, the coco cafe!

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent family vacation and we truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back here with us in the near future for another wonderful vacation.

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge,drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,301 - 2,307 of 4,755 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

My husband, daughter and I just spent a few days at the resort as I was there on business, but we had an excellent time. The beach area was nice, and always had chairs available in either the sun or the shade, we always had a clean towel and the staff came around frequently to take our drink orders. We stayed in the Deluxe Oceanview room, which I recommend, and it was clean and spacious for a family of 3. We had a king bed and they pulled in a rollaway for our teenager...both were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean...the only thing that I didn't like was that the shower was partially open.

Our favorite restaurant was Portofino (Italian) the food and service was excellent. We also enjoyed the poolside restaurant for our lunch choice. The staff was very friendly, always saying hello, and came around enough that we didn't have to wait long for anything.

There were some facilities that we did not have the time to use, but they looked like fun. We will definately come back to this resort again.

Room Tip: I would upgrade to the oceanview rooms. Our room overlooked the pool area, but was not noisy like s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cpederson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear cpederson2014,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent family getaway at our resort. We are delighted to hear that you all enjoyed the facilities we have available and we hope to have the chance to welcome you all back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Booked using Sunwing Vacations in Toronto (this was my first big mistake). After spending almost $5k for a week, we've found a lot of little things that add up to big things. Cigarette butts on our balcony, music from an adjoining resort that it kept us awake until 2:00 am the day of our travel. No hot water in the shower, burned out light bulbs, dirty hot tub, torn curtains in the room, terrible-extremely rocky beach, non-working T.V. remote. Then the Sunwing Rep (Dauri) had the nerve to try & charge us ANOTHER $40.00 for an advanced selection that we've already paid for!! The moral of the story is "don't book with Sunwing & be careful of the upswell while at a Mexican Resort".

Room Tip: Rooms win the non-ocean are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Gary M,

We are extremely concerned that you formed such a negative perception of our resort after only having spent one night here with us. We appreciate you taking the time out of your vacation to share your feedback wiith us however we find is worrying that you chose to share your allegations here on Tripadvisor rather than approaching our guest service team in the lobby as we are unable to rectify any issues you may be having if theyr are not brought to our attention.

We apologize that the show from our neighbouring resort disturbed you on your first night here with us as we understand how stressful a full day travelling can be.

A member of our guest service team will be in touch with you shortly in order to assist you in anyway possible and we are confident that you will fully enjoy the remainder of your stay here with us.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have been waiting to write this review!

Here are some really great tips, for your stay.
1. Do not rely on electronic copies, please bring paper copies of everything with you.
2. Use the massage therapists just off to the left.
3. Enjoy yourself!

The service at this resort is more than outstanding. Noe, Silvia, and Gaby really deserve kudos. They were consistent, hardworking, and always had a smile on their face. They are what makes this place work staying. Virginia our house keeper was in our room several times a day. Wow. Service here is 5 stars. Noe didn't stop moving. Silvia never stopped trying to accommodate us. Gaby made the best burgers and with such an amazing attitude!

The first day was overcast and the spa was doing a special. The prices at the spa are astronomical and ridiculous. I mean seriously dreams. Ridiculous. I Did purchase a special and had a great massage by Sandra. I regularly get massages and hate spa massages. Sandra was fantastic and very strong. She was so good! My family actually purchased a 80 min massage for me as a thank you and requested her for me. I was so so very relaxed. My brother and husband got massages that are not affiliated with the hotel off the beach. The prices were a fraction of the cost and really good. The spa itself is very nice and I would recommend that mom get a treatment done while away.

I found the food delicious and tried every hotel. We do eat a lot of Mexican cuisine and we found the Mexican cuisine the least appealing. Breakfast was my favorite, tortillas, chorizo, eggs, yum. Their juices are
delicious! I found every restaurant had something for everyone. We had our special family evening at portofinos with a few bottles of champagne. It was special and sweet.

We had a ground level floor room and it opened to the pool. This for a family is absolutely perfect. We just went to the beach or pool and walked in when needed. Security was not an issue at all. I felt super safe. The room was cleaned several times a day and I did tip because we were a mess!
There was a mold smell to the room bit it was fine. They were constantly cleaning it.

The only minus to this place, honestly...the concierges and the front desk staff. What an unpleasant experience. While I did have some pleasant experiences with a wonderful lady at the concierge with more of a British accent, she was the only competent person I worked with. The front desk gentleman
Really needs a re-training on customer service. I came after some people in our party and did not like the way he was talking to them. A few people would flutter by and show him what is going wrong and it would seem to get better. I had to produce paper documents several times. After a long trip, this is the last thing I wanted. They did come by with a glass of champagne and that did help.

I have traveled through 9 countries in the last 3 years. I would highly recommend this place for families with children and large groups.

Overall it was relaxing and enjoyable. I think dreams needs to retrain their office staff or the person in charge needs to take some responsibility.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank statey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear statey,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share you feedback with us following your recent stay at our resort. We are especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and would recommend us!

Please accept our apologies for not having exceeded your expectations in all aspects of your stay. We truly understand the importance of guest feedback and all of your comments, both postive and constructive, will be shared with our management team in order to be addressed and where necessary improved.

We are extremely concerned by the comments shared regarding our front desk and concierge staff. This behaviour is by no means in keeping with the levels of customer service we have to offer and will most definitely be acted upon. It was my personal pleasure to have been able to assist you during your stay.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back once again in the future where we are confident that we will surpass your expectations in every aspect.

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I would say that Jenny C's review of this resort was spot on, so I will only add a few extra points in my review.
We went with family (us, 3 kids and 2 grandkids) and our general concensus was that this had to be one of our best vacations ever!
Credits: Some of the best all-inclusive food, Staff incredibly friendly. We upgraded to a higher floor, (#518) and the view was spectacular from our wrap-around porch. Antony at the front desk was very helpful. Entertainment staff deserve high marks. Other great people: Bautista, Gisela, Mitzy, Rapheal and many more!
Debits: El Patio was least favorite restaurant. Resort credits they give you are a joke, since they are more of a discount than anything free. Loud, thumping music noise coming up through our walls until very late at night was annoying. The town nearby was a rip-off... $26 for 6 tacos and no room to haggle! Beach was nice but small.
The overall recommendation would be very high, simply because of the friendliness of almost all the staff! My wish would be for people who come here for vacation to be a little more respectful towards the staff. We are being pampered by human beings who tolerate our rudeness admireably without complaint. I understand it is their job, but most seem genuinely interested in providing us the best experience possible.
Kudos to Dreams for doing it right!

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 5th floor. Anything lower, and the view is blocked by palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jnhort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear jnhort,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share you feedback with us and the Tripadvisor community following your recent family vacation at our resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us and that you were able to experience the high levels service and quality that we are known for.

We are in the process of updating our Mexican restaurant's menu and we are confident that on any future visit you will be more than satisfied with the new offerings! We apologize for not having fulfilled your expectations in this area during your recent visit.

It would be our pleasure to have the honor of welcoming you all back here with us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We just returned from a two week vacation at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. We enjoyed ourselves very much. The food is very good, with a good variety. The Gohan sushi bar is a nice change.Fish tacos at the seaside Grill were delicious.The staff were all wonderful! Thank you Bettina for keeping our room so nice and clean. It was so nice to see Sylvia's smiling face at the World cafe every morning. The beach waiters were fantastic Noe,who later moved to the Seaside Grill and was just as good there. Gary really hustled to keep our drinks fresh and recommended virgin drinks for ourtwo grandsons ages 7 and 11. Anjelica is another beach waiter we enjoyed talking to. Sorry I don't remember all their names but they were all great.
Our room on the Dolphin view side was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. We had a couple of small problems ,our safe wouldn't work one day and someone came within 10 minutes and fixed it. Same thing with the TV remote. All in all a great vacation and would certainly go back. It was nice to take the short walk to the marina area to the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Dolphin view rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear kr01,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyedy your stay here with us and please rest assured that your glowing feedback will be shared with our entire team, especially those staff members that you took the time to personally mention. They are truly an asset to our team and they will be pleased to hear that their efforts were recognized and appreciated by yourself.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E.Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Loved the hotel, rooms were beautiful, service was really good. Excellent room service. Didn't realize when we booked they had captive dolphins. Disappointing as I love Dreams resorts but won't visit again after seeing the dolphins kept captive. Pretty sad.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Elizabeth,

First and foremost we would like to apologize that you were not made aware of our Dolphin Dreams area when booking your vacation. Dolphin Discovery is ranked among the top dolphinariums in the world and is an organizational member of the International Marine Animal Trainers Association IMATA. It also has the H hallmark and has been recognized as a Socially Responsible Company for the 4th consecutive year. All of our dolphins were born under human care as part of the high successful Dolphin Dreams breeding program.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and for the kind comments shared within your review regarding our resort.

We are sorry that you have formed such a negative perception of our resort based on just one area and we hope that you will choose to return here with us once again in the future.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Tunstall
E.Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
11.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,564 reviews
16.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#70 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,477 reviews
15.1 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
13,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,787 reviews
20.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £140 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa is a getaway with near infinite pleasures. Guests of all ages experience Unlimited-Luxury(R), remarkable amenities led by spacious rooms and suites with lovely views, gourmet dining options, limitless top-shelf spirits and 24-hour concierge service - all wristband-free. Guests are entertained by miniature golf, complimentary greens fees at a nearby golf course, a PADI certified diving center and Dolphin Dreams by Dolphin Discovery, one of the largest dolphinariums in the Riviera Maya resort region. To unwind, Dream Spa by Pevonia(R) offers a generous pampering menu. For couples, the resort presents wedding, honeymoon and anniversary packages, and for business, facilities begin with the 1,646 square foot Playa Ballroom. It's all of this and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Resort Puerto Aventuras
Sunscape Puerto Aventuras Riviera
Sunscape Puerto Adventuras
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing