We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, a little cramped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice resort, a little cramped”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We just got back from Dreams P.A. yesterday. It's a very nice resort, but feels a little crowded. Between the rooms and the beach there is a lot going on with a great deal of activity. I'm not saying it's a bad resort, just cramped. We didn't have any trouble finding a spot on the beach, nor did we have to wait to eat a meal.
The beach is nice, but as you might have guessed, it's kind of small. However, because all beaches in Mexico are public beaches, you can stroll about as you wish. They do a nice job of keeping the beach and grounds clean.
Service is second to none. We have been to Mexico before (Grand Palladium), and we felt as though the staff would have just as soon that we stayed in the States. It was very different at Dreams. All of the staff was very friendly and anxious to please their guests. One of the concierge staff, Noe, who calls himself the Mexican Danny Devito, was really fun to talk to. Yes, he actually does look like Danny Devito, too.
One thing that was kind of neat was that we ran into Sammy Hagar on the top floor of the hotel. That should tell you a little something regarding the property. If it's good enough for the stars, it's good enough for the common folk. :-)
The food was good, but not spectacular. We found the Seaside had the best lunches. I had a very good steak at the PortaFino restaurant.
There were a LOT of kids at this resort. The beach side of the property is open to everyone, which is where all of the kids are. The west side of the property is adults only. One can spend their time on the west side to avoid the kids, but the ocean is on the east side. We did find quiet spots on the east side, south end, that the families with children tended to avoid. For the most part, the kids hang out around the pools.
To recap, Dreams is a nice facility, great staff and service, very nice rooms, compact property.

Room Tip: If you want to see the ocean, request a room in the top three floors, otherwise, you will be looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schutzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear schutzj,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and the Tripadvisor community following your recent stay at our resort.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay here with us and were able to experience the high levels of service that we are known for. We apologize for any bad impressions that may have been caused during your stay. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our operations team in order to be addressed.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,218
    1,374
    566
    235
    160
See reviews for
2,178
1,454
50
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at several Dreams Resorts; this one is the smallest and because of its size lacked some amenities others offer. Having said this, Puerto Adventures provides good value for the cost. Food is excellent; lots of choice. Rooms are comfortable though on bit small side. The Perferred Club needs improvement, compared to other hotels we've stayed at. Beach area is great, clam water and entertainment to enjoy. The nightly shows were great! Brought in good variety. Very kid friendly resort with adult pool area. Loved the marina being so close to walk to and enjoy pubs and shopping.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MooseJaw40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear MooseJaw40,

First and foremost, we would like to truly thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us, especially the location of our resort as well as the nightly entertainment.

Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with pur team in order to be addressed and where necessary improved. As professionals in the service industry we know that our guests feedback is very valuable, and the key to allow the constant improvement in order to reach an enduring high quality level in services.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back once again here with us on a future occasion.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and I just completed our second stay at Dreams P.A. and give it two thumbs up!! Terrific resort. We had a great stay from check-in to check-out. All the staff was great. We enjoyed being located next to the marina with all the shops, boats, walkway, and dolphin lagoons. The food was just a good as we remembered from our prior visit. Like the small family feel the resort gives you. The staff was top notch. Noe was the great. Always meeting us with a smile and making sure we had what we needed. Juan did awesome running the World Café. Amando always greeted us with a smile. All three of these staff member went out of there way to make our stay the best. We really like the location of the resort on the small cove. You can snorkel right off the beach. My wife really enjoyed that she could go running around the village and marina every morning. I would recommend this resort and we will be back.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the side of the resort that faces the marina. It was quieter. One big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Mike,

It is always an absolute honor for us to have had the chance to host you for the second time here with us and we are delighted that your visit this time was every bit as special as the first. Noe, Juan and Amado will be pleased to hear that there efforts were once again recognized and appreciated.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back fro a third visit in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My family enjoyed Dreams P.A. quite a bit. It is a nice, smallish resort that felt very secure.

Check-in was a bit of a mess. It was a slow process, though the staff were courteous. There was a wait to get our room which was expected and not a problem since we arrived before check-in time.

The food was consistently pretty good in the buffet area. Room service is available 24/7 and was tasty. El Patio Mexican restaurant was fairly slow. Portofino is an outstanding restaurant and provided the best steak I've had in Mexico. Special mention to two outstanding Portofino employees, Rigoberto (charming and the best restaurant server at the resort) and Teodoro (who functions as sommelier and possibly also as a manager). Seaside Grill was very slow the night we were there. Oceana was decent. Portofino was, by far, the favored restaurant.

Poolside drink service was typically good, with Willy, Gary, or Yolanda often being very attentive to requests. They will pour premium brands if specifically requested, otherwise well drinks were poured. The bartenders were friendly but staffing of the swim-up bar was spotty and often required long waits.

Rooms were very well cleaned by housekeeping. The property seems older but well maintained.

I did upgrade to the concierge level (7th floor) for the last leg of the trip. This was kind of nice and includes a "private" lounge. We enjoyed getting to know Manuel and Gisela up there. They provide an uncommonly high level of professional service.

It was a very good trip. I would probably consider staying there again, though there are so many good choices for all-inclusives along the Riviera Maya.

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd floor rooms are louder due to pool/lobby traffic. 7th floor rooms require a concierge f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Bigemail,

Thank you for sharing your review with us here on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at our resort. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us and that you would consider returning here with us. We apologize for any bad impressions that may have been caused during the check in process. Please rest assured that all of your comments have been shared with our operations team in order to be addressed and if necessary, improved.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back once again in the future.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

From Osirus at the front desk to cooks Anna and Gabby, our 2 week stay just got better and better at this terrific resort. Being greeted by name by Noe, Walter or Dayren made dining a pleasure. Cleaning service by Escardo or William meant our rooms were always clean and tidy. The bartenders including Juan C really knew there stuff.Then there is Rafael, Javier and their team doing everything possible to keep us all entertained with beach games and lobby and theater fun. Combine all this with a great beach,delicious food at a variety of venues, crystal clean pools, dolphin pools, accessible bars, near-by ruins and adventure parks and you will love this vacation spot. In place of elegance is enthusiastic and smiling staff giving their all to service, service, service. Sincere thanks for a wonderful break from our Canadian winter. Hope to see you again. Advise don't go to collect souvenir medallion. It"s a trick to get you in to a high end jewellery store.

Room Tip: We loved ocean view and it could be seen from two sides of the hotel but dolphin pool side was nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Wayne,

We truly pride ourselves on delivering extremely high levels of service to all guests and comments such as yours serve as true inspiration to our entire team. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and we are glad to hear that besides our service, you were also able to enjoy so many different aspects of the Unlimited Luxury that we have to offer.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back once again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Well, we have just returned from our third visit to Dreams Puerto Aventuras. Our first two visits were as a couple without the kids. After thoroughly enjoying every aspect of the property twice, we felt comfortable bringing our three children (ages 5,5 and 11) along with us this time.
We have to say that, while we were extremely impressed with the friendly staff and excellent food on our previous visits, we were absolutely dumbfounded by loving and attentive care and level of service our children were given on this trip.
The staff at the Explorer Club should be commended for their efforts. Our twin son and daughter, age 5, couldn't wait to get to the Club for the activities of the day. We instructed that they could leave and rejoin us at any time, but they preferred to participate in the Club. Both cried and hugged the girls the morning of our departure.
Our 11 year old spent less time at the club and more time enjoying the water sports and beach with his new friends from Iowa. He took in a deep sea fishing tour and caught a couple tuna.
Special mention should also be given to Gary, who was our regular attendant around the pool and at the beach. Not only was Gary friendly, courteous and attentive, but was also went to great lengths to ensure the kids enjoyed special treatment. From drinks in coconuts decorated with fruit faces to grasshoppers weaved from palm leaves, Gary went beyond any expectation of quality service.
The wait staff in the restaurants are too many to name and all deserve thanks for their courteous service also.
The grounds and facilities could use some tlc at this point, but the overall atmosphere is still beautiful.
A vacation to a tropical destination anywhere is a terrific break from the winter blues we get in the north. Our vacations to this particular resort to spend time with the wonderful people there would be a terrific break any time.
We look forward to seeing you all again in November.

Room Tip: Poolside first floor rooms allow you to walk out directly to the pool area, which is perfect when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Robert,

Thank you so much or taking the time to share your experience with us and the Tripadvisor community, we highly value your loyalty as a returning guest and it’s always nice to know we have met your expectations with our outstanding service. Gary will be extremely pleased to learn that his efforts were recognized.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in November and on many future occasions and we will be happy to make every stay special for you.

Kindest Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

In February, my husband and I stayed at this resort for 2 weeks and can’t say enough great things! The resort is beautiful, the beach is great, the rooms are nice and clean and all of the staff is so friendly. It is a smaller resort, so ignore anyone that says the beach is too small. The beach is plenty big enough for the size of the resort and we never had a problem getting a lounger or towels. The beach has beautiful white sand and the ocean is great to swim in, since it’s in a small cove. There are lots of small fish, so you can snorkel if you like or the marina is a few minute walk if you want to do a catamaran tour. We went for a walk to neighboring resorts and couldn’t believe the huge waves and the amount of rocks on their beaches. This beach was by far the best in that area! Not only is the beach beautiful, but the beach service was awesome! Willy and Armando were always quick to bring you another drink if they noticed your glass was empty!! We are a young couple with no kids, but enjoyed the family atmosphere and could always escape to the adults only side if we were wanting a change.

The food exceeded our expectations. I was worried about staying in an all inclusive for 2 weeks, because I am somewhat of a "picky" eater, but never had a problem finding something I liked. We loved the World Cafe for breakfast, the Barefoot Grill for lunch and especially loved Portofino and Oceana for supper. The service at all of the restaurants was great... Ana made the best omelettes for breakfast, Gaby was great at the Barefoot Grill and we especially loved Noe, Walter and Ulices who waited on us almost every day! Dayren, one of the hostesses, greeted us with the biggest smile and remembered our names every night that we would go for supper! We loved that you didn’t need to make a reservation at any of the restaurants, so you could go whenever you wanted.

One of the highlights of our trip was Rafael and the Entertainment Staff!! From games on the beach to evening entertainment, they were always working hard to keep people involved. We could always count on Javi to put a smile on our face... His enthusiasm and passion for his work could be seen every day! Whether it was 10am or 10pm, they were always doing stuff that you could participate in our just be a spectator.

All in all, we had the best time at this resort and would recommend it to anyone! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Jill,

Thank you so much for sharing such wonderful feedback following your recent stay at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your stay here with us. The staff members that you so kindly took the time to mention will be particularly pleased to learn that they were able to assist you in making you stay even more memorable.

It would be a true pleasure to have the chance to welcome you back once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
20.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
14.8 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,915 reviews
16.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,581 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,209 reviews
1.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa is a getaway with near infinite pleasures. Guests of all ages experience Unlimited-Luxury(R), remarkable amenities led by spacious rooms and suites with lovely views, gourmet dining options, limitless top-shelf spirits and 24-hour concierge service - all wristband-free. Guests are entertained by miniature golf, complimentary greens fees at a nearby golf course, a PADI certified diving center and Dolphin Dreams by Dolphin Discovery, one of the largest dolphinariums in the Riviera Maya resort region. To unwind, Dream Spa by Pevonia(R) offers a generous pampering menu. For couples, the resort presents wedding, honeymoon and anniversary packages, and for business, facilities begin with the 1,646 square foot Playa Ballroom. It's all of this and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Resort Puerto Aventuras
Sunscape Puerto Aventuras Riviera
Sunscape Puerto Adventuras
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing