We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the typical Dreams experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not the typical Dreams experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our family stayed at the Dreams Puerto Aventuras resort from 5/31 to 6/4. We had booked the reservation through 6/5 but decided to leave one day early because of our experience. This had been our fourth stay at a Dreams property. The most recent before this visit was Dreams Cancun in September of 2013. You can read my other reviews for them here on Tripadvisor as well. Our expectations were high because we have always been impressed by the service and the good condition of the properties. Our experience left much to be desired and leaves us wondering if that was our last stay at one of their resorts.

We arrived around 12:30 pm and I did not expect our room to be ready as check-in is not until 3:00 pm. The lobby area was rather small and packed with several dozen people waiting to be checked in or out of their rooms. I was surprised there wasn't a person handing out the cold, scented hand towels or chilled champagne like we had be accustomed to upon arriving at a Dreams resort. First impressions are important and we all noticed this immediately. We waited in line for approximately fifteen minutes before having someone from the Front Desk staff begin the check-in process. After filling out the required paperwork we were told our room wasn't ready which is what I expected to hear given our early arrival. We went to the World Cafe to eat lunch and shortly after returning I went back to the front desk and was told the room was ready.

We booked a Garden View room and got one on the first floor overlooking the adult pool area and Oceana. Upon walking into the room we immediately noticed the strong odor of mold. The air conditioning was not producing cold air and the sink had several cracks in it that had been patched up. The whole room just looked very aged and not well maintained. The room was adjacent to an elevator which was heavily used and we could hear all the servers loading carts in and out of it. It was so loud it sounded like they were rolling them right through our room. Then we did something that we have never had to do in over ten years of staying at an all-inclusive; We requested a new room. Diane and Maritza at the front desk were very accommodating and gave us a new room on the other side of the old one.

The condition of the new room was just as bad as the first but the air conditioning worked and we wanted to get out on the beach so we stayed there for the rest of the trip. These rooms need some major refurbishment and I still don't understand why they have desks in the rooms but no chairs to sit in. I would suggest avoiding the first floor if you can as the rooms are poorly insulated and you can not only hear people directly above your room but also people walking through the hallways on the 2nd floor. These hallways were like echo chambers and we would routinely here people singing, whistling, yelling, etc at all hours of the night. Speaking of disturbances, expect to be woken up nightly when the fire alarm goes off. I was told by a staff member this happens when someone is smoking in their room and the alarm goes off for the entire resort not just that one room. I think they should make an announcement acknowledging the person responsible for making it go off so the other guests can personally thank them for the wake up at 3:00 am.

The food at the restaurants was not as good as it has been in the past but the service was outstanding. Wold Cafe is the buffet that is open for all three meals. The selection of food was fair but not as good as it usually is and we found most of the dishes to be rather bland. Seaside grill was good for lunch but we never went for dinner. Our favorite was the sushi at Gohan but due to its outdoor location it was closed two of the four nights because of heavy rain. I highly recommend trying the banana rolls here and Miguel did an excellent job as our waiter. Oceana is the adults only seafood restaurant and was also quite good . Even when we showed up around 7:30 pm we only had to wait ten minutes to get a table here. El Patio was open for lunch and dinner although we never got to have dinner there due to closures for weddings. One thing that really bothered us was that almost every night one of the a la carte restaurants would be closed for a wedding party. The problem that I have with this is that we paid for our visit just like everyone else but were denied a service to accommodate a special event. There really should be a special facility here for weddings, conferences, etc rather than impacting your other guests' experience.

The beach was a huge disappointment here and I should have believed more of the critical reviews on this property that warned how small it is. If you like to stick to the swimming pools no worries but if you are like us and the beach is more important than you need to look elsewhere. It is extremely small and when the resort is near capacity you won't have much room to swim around because it it basically a small lagoon surrounded by large clusters of sharp rocks. As others have said you need to have a pair of pool shoes or you will cut up your feet if you go beyond waist-deep water. Getting chairs with a palapa was no problem though and the beach drink service is another signature Dreams perk that we love. Juan made sure we did not go thirsty – frequently checking in with us to make sure our blood alcohol levels didn't get too low! There is also a small beach area to the right of El Patio and the beach bar that has a large rock pool full of fish. We preferred to hang out near here because it was a bit quieter, although at times families with small children would come around so they could see the fish. Remember that this is a family resort and there were lots of kids here but they seemed to be well behaved and under control during our visit.

As I mentioned previously the most positive aspect of this resort was the staff. There was a tropical depression during the first three days of our visit that caused substantial rainfall. The entertainment staff did a great job providing various activities and extra snacks. Unfortunately the condition of the property itself makes it difficult for me to recommend it to anyone at the current per person room rates. We have stayed at many all inclusive resorts over the years and I would probably give Dreams Puerto Aventuras three and a half stars. If they put some work into improving the condition of the rooms I think it would be worthy of four. In its current state I personally would not return here.

Room Tip: Stay away from the garden view rooms near the lobby as there is lots of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherokeecruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, E-Concierge at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your overview on your stay with us. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we welcome both positive and constructive comments.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations with your room and general services. We take every comment and feedback very serious, please, rest assure we have shared them with all the staff in order to improve for any future guest.

Once again, we truly apologize for any bad impressions caused and we sincerely hope that you give us one more opportunity to redeem your perception of our hotel in a future.

Best regards,

Maripaz Martinez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,176
    1,349
    542
    225
    155
See reviews for
2,125
1,422
48
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Effingham, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed for 4 nights for our honeymoon and it was INCREDIBLE. The rooms/resort were very clean and the staff was extremely helpful and super nice. Our room was very spacious and clean and we really enjoyed the attached deck. The food was great and we enjoyed every restaurant as well as the room service, which was perfect when we wanted breakfast in bed or a late night snack. Also the drinks were perfect as well - the swim up bars were our favorite, as well as the waiters that came by on the beach to bring you drinks as well. We didn't do any of the extra activities they offered at a price, just because everything that was included within the all-inclusive was perfect enough for us. The best feature of this resort is that everything you need to do, such as beach, pools, bars, and restaurants are all located directly a hallway length away from everything, it was very convenient. We will definitely be returning again someday, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, E-Concierge at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to express my gratitude for the time you have taken to share this review and the valuable comments you've provided in it.

Thank you for sharing your experience, it’s always nice to know we have met your expectations with our outstanding service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back on many future occasions and we will be happy to make every stay special for you.

Sincerely,

Maripaz Martinez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We just returned from our stay at Dreams Puerto Adventuras. It was our first visit to an all inclusive
Resort. Our group consisted of 2 seniors, 3 adults, and 2 children ages 9 and 12. Everyone really
enjoyed the week. The food was excellent with many choices everyday. We went to all of the shows and the kids watched the movie on the beach a few nights. The staff was very friendly and
Anxious to help us enjoy our stay. The bedding is one of the most comfortable I have found in any
hotel. Pools and beach were both excellent for swimming or just relaxing. The resrt was full but we never had to wait for a table or a beach chair. Everyone is looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room overlooking the adult pool and dolphin area. Was very quiet all of the tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindabutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, E-Concierge at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate the time you took to write a review following your visit with us at Dreams Puerto Aventuras.

It's such an honor to know we have exceeded your expectations with our outstanding service. Looking forward to your next visit and please, any assistance you may need in a near future do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,

Maripaz Martinez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Excellent Resort, well-situated in a gated community on the Mayan Riviera with beaches and lots of sight-seeing and activities. The food is wonderful and the staff is typical Mexican hospitality, with smiles and cannot help enough. Get spoiled in the tropical paradise just once and you will back again and again. Did I mention the weather is fantastic and the water emerald green. No snow.

Room Tip: Look for a room facing the water, it's great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithSennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, E-Concierge at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing with the Tripadvisor community your recent experience at Dreams Puerto Aventuras.

It's great to know you enjoyed each area of the resort and your expectations have been met. Hope to have the opportunity to host you once again and please, do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Regards,

Maripaz Martinez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This place was just perfect for all ages. Everyone in our group of almost 40 people loved it. Age range 2 years old to 78 years old, there was something for everyone.

It's small compared to the NOWs in Puerto Morelos. So you can find people in your group easily if you want to catch up for a meal, a cocktail, a catamaran or kayak ride, or a latte at Coco Cafe. World Cafe is just what the young families needed for quick food to feed the little ones and if you made a mess, no one minded. The fancy restaurants allow you to have long leisurely meals with bottomless wine and cocktails everywhere. The best breakfast is late brunch at the Mexican Restaurant. Amazing ocean view, made to order sopes and crepes and fresh fruit among dozens of other options at the buffett. Much nicer that world cafe because it's a smaller scale.

If you're nice to the staff, they will remember you and take great care of you. One of my friends had Tequila Boom Booms twice a day. Many North Americans go to this resort. So even though this is an all inclusive resort where tipping is not expected officially, some staff seem to expect North Americans to tip with dollar bills throughout the day. I'm not a fan of this because part of the pleasure of an all inclusive is that you don't have to carry around a purse.

The wedding package is wonderful. The gazebo setting is gorgeous with amazing views of the turquoise waters. It's romantic and feels private despite the fact that other resort guests are watching your ceremony from the beach. The wedding coordinator Isabel and her assistant Nayeli are calm, organized and pleasant. The photographers on site are also excellent and we left with our photo album completely printed. We received our DVD in the mail shortly after. The food is amazing and abundant. My only complaint about the wedding services is that wedding planners wanted us to wait to start dancing until the meal was over. The meal takes 2 hours. Mind you everyone had already eaten a lot at the cocktail reception. So I was unfortunately bored at my own wedding reception. The wedding reception is only 3 hours long, do the math, we only got ot dance for 1 hour. And the the DJ was used to some cookie-cutter-stereotype of what music North Americans like, so we had to grab our iPads and help him. Not worth $$$$ we paid for DJ. So if you like to dance, my advice is to do the toasts before and after appetizers, do your first dance right after the second course, get people dancing during the LONG meal. Despite my complaining, no one would allow us to dance until after the meal was done.

Room Tip: save money and get the dolphin view rooms. you can still see water. we stayed on the preferred f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagaChita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, E-Concierge at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your beautiful review with the Tripadvisor community. Congratulations on your wedding! It was a truly pleasure to be a part of such a special occasion. We are delighted that you, your family and friends enjoyed the stay.

Your feedback is very important to us, it helps us to improve the standards and quality in our resort. We'll share you comments with the staff. Hope to host you once again and why not celebrate your first anniversary with you.

Best regards,

Maripaz Martinez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went went another couple for a long weekend and we all were very pleasantly surprised with this resort, especially the FOOD!! We have stayed at 4 all inclusives before in this area and none have food that comes close to this resort. Every single dish we had was fresh and delicious. It was so nice to be able to get fresh fish and authentic Mexican food! We loved the smoothie bar each morning, made to order. The breakfast buffets were outstanding. The staff could not have been friendlier and willing to serve. The beach also surprised us; I thought being on a cove we would be disappointed but there were enough waves due to the reef and snorkeling was good. There was enough area to the left to get a beach walk in and interesting terrain to look at; there must be a river/cenote that flows in to the ocean, and good snorkeling. We paid a bit extra for a ocean view room and it was just lovely. The resort is not so big that you have to walk forever to get to the beach which is common at some of the large resorts. One of our very favorite spots was the "crab pool" as we called it; the natural pool that the ocean flows in to. We loved that it was right next to the "swing bar". We visited the disco each night which was fun. The dolphins were a bonus to watch and it was nice to have a small "town" to walk around. They do want you to schedule a time to go down to Tulum and hear about the Apple Vacation Plan, we didn't have time but love Tulum so we might have done it for 1/2 a day to get the discount, they did not pressure us at all. We hope to return and stay longer!

Room Tip: no ceiling fans so I played my sound ap on my phone, rooms from 4th floor up have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjvail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, E-Concierge at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

I would like to express my gratitude for the time you have taken to share this review and the valuable comments you’ve provided in it.

We are glad you enjoyed our first quality food and personalized service. The natural pool is great for our guests to relax while enjoying the beautiful ocean view.

Thanks again for your great comments and hopefully we have the opportunity to host you once again in a near future.

Sincerely,

Maripaz Martinez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The service of all the resort staff was OUTSTANDING, The food in all of the restaurants was very good. The view was stunning. Although the beach seemed man made, it was very well maintained and clean, especially considering all the guests who used it. There was an awesome fire show that we did not expect, so that was an added bonus. Beware of 2 things. It really isn't necessary to pay extra for a private car from the airport, but if you do pay for one, make sure you have documentation of the expense. Also, the resort allowed some vendors in to sell their wares. These vendors can be VERY pushy and may even lie to you about the crafts being hand made by them.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view if you can and on the highest floor possible. You can even see Cozumel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, E-Concierge at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate the time you took to write a review following your visit with us at Dreams Puerto Aventuras.

We are glad you enjoyed the food of our restaurants and our exceptional customer service. As you said the fire show is awesome and is something you cannot miss during your visit.

Thank you for your recommendation. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Maripaz Martinez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
20.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
24.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,540 reviews
17.5 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
15.1 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#72 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa is a getaway with near infinite pleasures. Guests of all ages experience Unlimited-Luxury(R), remarkable amenities led by spacious rooms and suites with lovely views, gourmet dining options, limitless top-shelf spirits and 24-hour concierge service - all wristband-free. Guests are entertained by miniature golf, complimentary greens fees at a nearby golf course, a PADI certified diving center and Dolphin Dreams by Dolphin Discovery, one of the largest dolphinariums in the Riviera Maya resort region. To unwind, Dream Spa by Pevonia(R) offers a generous pampering menu. For couples, the resort presents wedding, honeymoon and anniversary packages, and for business, facilities begin with the 1,646 square foot Playa Ballroom. It's all of this and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Resort Puerto Aventuras
Sunscape Puerto Aventuras Riviera
Sunscape Puerto Adventuras
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing