We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit, still love BARCELO!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Second visit, still love BARCELO!!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We just returned from our second trip to the Barcelo Colonial and once again we had an amazing time. The resort is luxurious by our standards, the grounds, buildings, decor everything is just so beautiful you never get tired of just enjoying the views! The pools are gorgeous and enormous, they are kept spotlessly clean! The beach is fabulous, lots of large palm trees to provide shade for my husband who loves to just recline and look around, beautiful turquoise blue waters and a coral reef right there for me as I love to snorkel and be in the water. I swam with sea turtles EVERY DAY right in front of the resort, the reef has been damaged some by inconsiderate visitors but the fish are numerous and beautiful, it's like swimming in a huge aquarium! The service is great, we had a couple of problems with the language barrier, we don't speak much Spanish and many of the staff don't speak much English but we never encountered any staff member who was rude or unpleasant. Check in was a breeze, we were early and our room wasn't ready yet but we got to leave our luggage and roam around, have lunch and a drink, make our dinner reservations and arrange for internet and by the time we had that done we were promptly given our room key cards. The rooms are very nice, beds aren't what we have at home but they weren't uncomfortable in my opinion, there were four pillows on each bed and no they weren't high end pillows but they worked great for me and I have problems with insomnia! The room was cleaned spotlessly everyday and mini fridge was restocked to our liking. Note, were not preferred club but we were still treated like special guests, I think that's just the Barcelo way! I see people complain about drinks, I never had an occasion where a drink was not mixed the way I requested, if I wanted extra alcohol I just asked, they were eager to please! Loved the nightly shows, I've been to two other resorts and the shows at Barcelo, while not Broadway shows, are superior and the dancers and entertainers are excellent! We enjoyed the food both at the buffets and the Ala Carts, the Steak House and Kyoto were our favorites, not at all impressed with the Seafood but that was probably just a personal thing, enjoyed the variety at the buffets and never felt like there wasn't something enjoyable to eat. We had no problem at all booking the Ala Carts we wanted at the times we preferred. The ONLY negative thing about the entire week was that some of the other guests were just downright rude and overbearing. they acted like they were the only people there and were very demanding of the staff and pushy toward other guests, they left trash everywhere for the hard working staff to have to clean up, moved the recliners into the sea and just left them for the staff to have to re-position, wasted plates full of food and cups full of drinks and just seemed to have a general disregard for the resort and other guests, this was not the fault of the resort!! We are already looking forward to another visit next year!

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room in the Guanajuato building in the Colonial section, loved being up off the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JennyC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Dear JennyC1:

On behalf of Barcelo Maya Colonial staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give your comments following your stay with us. I can see you and your family have enjoyed every time you spend.
I can let you know that all guest comments whether negative or positive are very important to us, as they show us the areas that we need to improve.
We accommodate many guests each day and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. We look forward to welcome your family back in the future.

Warmest Regards
La Gerencia
jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,602
    1,358
    403
    162
    114
See reviews for
2,499
1,740
77
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

first time at the Barceló resorts....great experience, short but enjoyable vacations with the family,
excellent food and service, the only downside are the drinks and if you like to have a good wine the prices are very high also for cocktails
Also the pillows are like a rock....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Dear bobbitto:

Is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay, also thank you for take your value time to share with us your experience, was an honor to have had the opportunity to serve you, we hope to receive you once again very soon.

Best Regards.

La Gerencia
jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the end of September 2013.... What a lovely hotel, we cannot stress enough what a great time we had and how we thoroughly enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer....

The check in was painless, even to the point where our tour operator had dropped us off at the Tropical Lobby not the Colonial, they just got everything run across for us no bother, we walked to the room andall i can say is wow! We had upgraded to one of the junior suites with the hotel directly, the room was spotless and had plenty of room with excellent aroma free aircon, we overlooked the Colonial pool and although obscured by the Palms (which I believe are there to help break the wind) could actually see the beach and the sea.

The Grounds are spotless, there was always someone tidying, cutting or scrubbing, in fact that applied to the hotel as a whole, this was one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in (even the pool bars didn't have that funny smell they can have sometimes)

The food was very good, with a massive choice, yes it is all inclusive so there will always be an element of same old, but that was negated by the sheer choice available, even for breakfast with all kinds of options available, the a la carte restaurants we visited were the Japanese, Italian and Steakhouse, the Japanese was by far the winner, definitely worth getting a show table if you can.

The Beach is well looked after, it doesn't have shade other than the palm trees, but that really isn't an issue, we just got in the sea to cool down, there are rocky areas, but again easily avoided just by looking where you are walking, the further you move from the pier the sandier it gets anyway...

The staff were all very helpful and friendly, tips were appreciated but we never felt obliged to give, we often left a dollar for drinks (but not every time) the maid we left $5 every other day and $2 a day in the minibar ensured we alway had an extra couple of beers in it.

as far as excursions, we did the Trainer for a day at Delphinus/Xel-ha(we've reviewed this under that excursion on Trip Advisor) a Snorkel trip to a local coral reef with the hotel which was $50 each and well worth the money and took ourselves off to Tulum on the local bus service

An absolutely brilliant hotel & holiday

please feel free to message us if you have any questions

Room Tip: worth an upgrade to Club Premium as a definite and to the Junior Suite if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bexs1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Dear bexs1125:

On behalf of Barcelo Maya Colonial staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give your comments following your stay with us.

I appreciate your positive notes about the Hotel, and I was very happy to read that you liked the services that we offer.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort and make your stay nothing but a pleasurable experience.

Best Regards,
La Gerencia
jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo Colonial and the end of August, before the rainy season started in September. Our first and foremost priority for this stay was that it had to be kid friendly, and it sure was. There is a nice kiddies pool area called Barcy Kids Club where our 2 children (4 and 2), could enjoy the water slides and daytime activities.

Since it was an all inclusive hotel, we never had to worry about food and when to feed the kids. If they were hungry, we'd pop into the buffet style cafeterias for an afternoon / early evening snack. The wait staff were very friendly and really paid attention.

The rooms were adequate for our needs. It was well airconditioned and the mini bar was always stocked well with water and soda.

The only downside was the distance from the hotel rooms to the amenities (esp the pool), although it wasn't excessively far, the kids did get a bit restless especially after being in the pool all day.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Dear Rick K:

Is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay, also thank you for take your value time to share with us your experience, was an honor to have had the opportunity to serve you, we hope to receive you once again very soon.

Best Regards
La Gerencia
Jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We recently returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel as part of our Yucatan Tour and whilst the setting and grounds / pool were stunning and well kept we were disappointed by the quality of the rooms, food and service from many of the staff - some of whom were downright rude and then asked for a tip (Italian speciality restaurant, would have got his name but he never stayed by our table long enough to ask or look at his badge!) I say not a 4-5* hotel as I wouldn't expect this level of hotel to provide stained towels and bedsheets, with electrics falling off the walls, telephones not working, mini bar not working, safe not accessible, terrace light not working, air coniditioning leaking - creating a major and constant slip hazard. Some of these items were recitified after a couple of visits to main reception, however had the room been checked over properly between guests these items would have never have been an issue.

2 highlights of our stay here were the service received by Andres Manuel in the snack bar by the Colonial Pool - he was always friendly and happy, the style of his service is something that perhaps the rest of their waiting staff could base themselves on!! Thank you Andres, you made lunch times a fun and pleasant experience!

The other highlight was the Japanese speciality restuarant based at the Tropical, the food was amazing and the service was fantastic, both by our waitress and the chef who cooked right in front of us - he was fantastic! It was a stunning display and he was friendly and fun, I would definately recommend a visit here whether you like fish / sushi or not (neither myself nor my husband like fish or sushi) as their are plenty of other dishes which are stunning. You should not miss out on this. We observed the manager, who made his prescence very discreat throughout the evening but very obviously ran an excellent restaurant, with all the staff well trained, friendly and efficient.

It's a shame as a couple of great staff members and a stunning location, but we would not stay here again and would probably never stay at a Barcelo hotel in the future based on our experience here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Dear Kym B:

Thank you so much for share with us your opinion in reference to your stay in our hotel, please receive our sincerely apologize if we caused you some discomfort, we are taking your comments with special consideration.
The service flaw that you mentioned was shared with our staff involved be sure that all the measure will be taken in order to correct each of the them.

Best Regards.
La Gerencia
Jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We are planning our FIFTH trip to Barcelo Colonial/Tropical - a week before Christmas - we always feel safe and there are tons of things to do near the hotel. Normally we go to the Mayan Riviera in May but last year we went in August and this year we're going in December to recharge our batteries and because this is the most convenient time for a getaway.

Last year we explored several cave systems only 20 minutes from the hotel. We usually spend at least half a day snorkeling the huge lagoon at Xel-Ha, our favorite resort. We also love XCaret - one year we were bicycling through the jungle there and saw a tribe of 16 coati mundi foraging for food - we went and sat down in the middle of the group and they kept foraging all around us which was VERY cool. Another year we saw a large Paca which is a creature that looks like a pig with a rat's face. We always see sereques browsing for food around dusk, and large basilisks ("running frilled lizards") on the terraces, and colorful birds everywhere on the hotel grounds.

We usually scuba dive using the resort service which is at the end of the resort right on the beach - my wife got her scuba certification there one year during a one week stay.

We'll post some photos and let everyone know how our trip goes but we also wanted to say that we always feel safe at Barcelo and the hotel staff is congenial, helpful, service oriented, professional and friendly. One year we left some valuables in our room by mistake and the housecleaning staff put a "do not disturb" sign on the door and left a note reminding us to lock up our valuables. Everyone should keep their valuables locked in the safe when away from the room but this applies to all hotels, everywhere.

We are really looking forward to our first December trip to Barcelo/Maya Riviera - we feel comfortable there and always return feeling relaxed and knowing that we got maximum value for our budget.

Room Tip: Sometimes if you book the Colonial they will switch you to the Tropical but we feel both are compara...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FutureTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Dear FutureTravelers:

On behalf of Barcelo Maya Colonial staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give your comments following your stay with us. I can see you and your family have enjoyed every time you spend.
I can let you know that all guest comments whether negative or positive are very important to us, as they show us the areas that we need to improve.
We accommodate many guests each day and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. We look forward to welcome your family back in the future.

Warmest Regards
La Gerencia
jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just got back from a 10 day holiday to the Barcelo Maya Colonial in the Riviera Maya Mexico and we had a lovely time.
The hotel is joined to the Barcelo Maya Tropical so in reality they are one big hotel.
The hotel is set on a lovely tropical beach with white sands, swaying palm trees and clear blue warm Caribbean water.
The rooms were large and comfortable with good air conditioning, although our bathroom looked like it needed a little updating it was more than adequate.
The buffet food was okay, the food was good quality and a lot of choice although it didn't vary much but there was always something to find that we did like.
The ala carte restaurants were very good and being there for ten nights we could almost use them every night.
The beach restaurants had the usual lunch time snacks which were always tasty.
The beach was lovely, the only criticism is there are no permanent sun shades you usually find on Caribbean beaches so you had to depend on the shade of a palm tree which meant moving your sunbed every half hour, hard life isn't it lol!
Snorkelling off the beach was very good as there is a small reef within a few metres, there is also a small pier with lots of lovely tropical fish swimming around it.
The hotel pool is quite something, one of the biggest free form swimming pools I've seen, warm water with two swim up bars and also a nice big sports pool for those of us who like swimming lengths and playing pool games.
There are lots of shaded areas around the pool so no one need get too sun burnt.
We were there during the quiet season so the entertainment wasn't that good both by the pool and in the evening. They have an amazing theatre there shared by all the Barcelo hotels, we enjoyed a couple of the shows and I imagine during the busy season the shows are quite something.
We enjoyed the Jaguar night club a couple of times although they didn't play a lot of popular disco type music and by the end of the night the music became very heavy club dance style, please note although we are an older couple we do like to party and have a good dance, hotel staff please note not all people on holiday are under 30 years old so please play more modern contemporary/disco music.
We were there in the 'Rainy' season but the weather was perfect, we had plus 30 degrees C every day and only had half hour of rain one afternoon. Although we did hear it rained a lot before we got there.
We did a couple of trips to Chichen itza and Xel-Ha and enjoyed them both.
All in all it was a great holiday and a lovely hotel, certainly worth 4 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robbo55Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Dear Robbo55Kent:

On behalf of Barcelo Maya Colonial staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give your comments following your stay with us. I can see you and your family have enjoyed every time you spend.
We accommodate many guests each day and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one.
We look forward to welcome your family back in the future.

Warmest Regards
La Gerencia
jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,424 reviews
154.9 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
#11 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,205 reviews
16.6 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#72 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
12,085 reviews
19.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Colonial

Property: Barcelo Maya Colonial
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez | Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Colonial 4*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Maya Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Caribe & Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Tropical & Colonial Beach
Barcelo Maya Colonial Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing