We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Maya Colonial
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Maya Beach(Puerto Aventuras)
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
US$458
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$438
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
US$472
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LM by Inmense(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,734)
Filter reviews
6,734 results
Traveller rating
4,278
1,589
512
216
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,278
1,589
512
216
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjalisco buildingseafooda la carte restaurantsmini golfair transatother resortsjapanese restaurantplaya del carmengreat resorttropical poolbowling alleykids water parkpalm treesbarcelo mayafamily vacationwater sportskids club
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,332 - 2,337 of 6,734 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I stayed and got married at the Barceló in February. We came with a group of 43, including 5 children. I have to say this resort is amazing. Bride and groom were treated like royalty....we were even upgraded to pool side room. Everyone in our group loved the resort and there was lots to do at the resort and in the area. Lillian our wedding coordinator was amazing!!! She handled everything!! The resort is big and we honestly didn't see a lot of it...one week is not long enough. My husband and I will absolutely be back! I would recommend this resort to anyone. I really don't know how people post bad reviews...don't believe them!

Room Tip: No matter where you are, you will walk....its either a far walk to the pool/beach, or a far walk to the lobby and restaurants.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear guest,

Barceló Maya Colonial really appreciate your kindly comments. Lilian will be very happy to know you wrote your experience during your stay at this network.

We will be happy to host you the next time... may be for your anniversary?

Once again thank you!

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our first time to visit Mexico, and an all inclusive resort. We loved everything about this resort. The people who worked there, were all very polite and very, very helpful. They always greeted us with a smile, whether it was the groundskeeper, the bartenders at the swim up bar, or the cleaning people. The grounds were gorgegous and immaculate.... The beach was like a postcard, and especially liked that the catamarans, and kayaks are free to use. You just have to make a reservation for them. The food at all the buffets, breakfast, lunch and dinner, were all good. The staff there, too, was very attentive and i dont think we ever had to ask for anything. They were always there filling up our water glasses, and asking if we needed anything. We highly, highly recommend this resort. it was like heaven on earth!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tigerjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Caribe staff involved in your entire satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Started out a little shaky...Booked through Expedia for the Tropical, a wedding group of 38 people and all got down graded to the Colonial...after a lot of bad communication (no English/no Spanish) and a very upset Bride/Groom...
Received 'Premium' for all guests, plus extras and the Couple got a Suite upgrade for the whole stay, plus extras....
Still some sorting to be done with the agency though... But....
Barcelo staff are amazing. They busted their butts all day and night. The wedding planner, Andrea, is out of this world!! Couldn't have been better! Our excursion planner, Adrian knocked it out of the park! But the best guy for the whole 2 weeks was a waiter/porter/personal assistant by the name of Alberto!! He made sure to recognize every member of the group, ensuring we were always at the best tables in the buffets, we had everything we needed for food and DRINK! If I could clone this one guy, I would have the best staff in any profession.
Thank you Barcelo and especially Thank You ALBERTO!!
BOOM, BOOM!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKing64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay at our hotel in Tripadvisor network. We are pleased that we have met your expectations regarding our services.
Barceló Maya Colonial & Tropical are the same category Hotels; including rates, type of rooms and services. It is great to know that all your party enjoyed their stay; also let us comment that Andrea, Adrian and Alberto will be very happy to host you again!
We hope to see you soon at Barceló Maya Colonial & Tropical Hotel!
Best regards!
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Barcelo has something for everyone in this five phase resort complex. Tropical and Colonial are the newest and highest level of residence with the exception of Barcelo Maya Palace next door. We have stayed at Colonial twice now for two weeks each time. The food is excellent and the a la carte Restaurants well worth booking for those special nights. Diving from the resort is good for all levels of PADI divers, and better yet, Cozumel is just a short distance away with beautiful reef dive locations a drift diving. Never got tired of anything about Colonial. So many day trips available from Playa del Carmen just 20 minutes away. Go there on the local mini-bus or Collectivo. Rent a car or scooter. Chichen Itza, Tulum and Coba get you a taste of history and adventure. Save your souvenir purchases for the trip to Chichen Itza - there you will find a wide variety of good quality item from local artisans, where you can negotiate a great price too.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the buildings nearest the pools and beach. These will also be only a short walk to the Palace grounds.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marksman91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear guest,
It is a pleasure for Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical Hotel to review your kindly comments with the staff involved in your entire satisfaction.
Thank you very much for visiting this paradise and we hope to see you again in a near future.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautiful grounds and beach. Lots of food choices so we were always able to find something we liked. Food could have been a little warmer, but that wouldn't keep us from going back. It is very relaxing and low-key here. Some activities throughout the day, but they really don't promote them that much. Some of the staff could be a little friendlier. The dolphin experience was great. Housekeeping staff does a great job every day on the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smpcards15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay at our hotel in Tripadvisor network. We are pleased that we have met your expectations regarding our services.
Your recommendations have been analyzed with our Executive Chef and the Entertainment team; We are sure that the staff will be very pleased to welcome you again.
We hope to see you soon at Barceló Maya Colonial & Tropical Hotel!
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews